Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Rise and Fall of Fianna Fail: Tonight at 10PM on TV3

• 05-09-2011 4:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,290 ✭✭✭✭

Ursula Halligan looks at the history of Fianna Fail in a three part documentary, starting tonight at 10 on TV3.

How did the party become so successful, winning the popular vote in every general election between 1932 and 2007? An achievement that is unrivalled in Western Europe.

What impact did Charlie Haughey have on the party's ethos?

Is Bertie corrupt?

I'm looking forward to this programme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,290 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

It boasts interviews with all the main living players, with the notable exception of Brian Cowen and Charlie Mccreevy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,810 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Well here comes the fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Jaysus they are already blaming "economic tsunami"... Lehmans will be mentioned in the next few minutes..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

Bertie talking about the Republican freedom fighters. :rolleyes:

Yea, they'd be so proud of how you managed to f*ck it all up nearly single handedly, you corrupt little goon. :mad:

Eamon O Cuiv is the buld of his grandfather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Eamon O Cuiv is the buld of his grandfather.
    just after saying the exact same thing

Articles 2 and 3 were pretty sacred alright, such a different era now.

Why is Bertie at the cemetry. Bad decision, he is certainly deluded about his standing in Ireland now.

First sighting of the Bull.

There was many slums left after the 1930s in Dublin. What's he on about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Watching this just reminds me further of why I really hate Irish politicians - or at least the majority of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Getting to the interesting parts now :P

Straight away Bertie linked to corruption just before the break after he called the way the party used to do things as useless...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

fianna fail: a useless bunch of good for nothings - Bertie Ahern

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Articles 2 and 3 were pretty sacred alright, such a different era now.

Why is Bertie at the cemetry. Bad decision, he is certainly deluded about his standing in Ireland now.

He reckoned he would have done "alright" in the presidential election if he'd run. He seems to be on another planet altogether.

If he made it to double figures, I'd be angry but not surprised. If he broke 20%, I'd be surprised if he ran.

I wouldn't go mad about tonight's programme. I'm more interested in the recent history of the party, the fall part!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

his ego is obviously the size of a small planet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

Too much back and forth. Bertie one minute, Dev the next. A more chronological approach would make it less muddled.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 858 ✭✭✭Sean Bateman

It was an embarassment.

"And for an unbiased opinion on whether he's corrupt or not...here's Celia Larkin".

F..king gombeenery and paddywhackery...what Fianna Fail does best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭bernardo mac

Reckon Celia Larkin's on a damage limitation mission for FF and Bertie..does not believe he was corrupt during their relationship.This will help her reputation and economic recovery of course.Would not trust her either.We shall see with Moriarty too.Christ,but our parents' ghosts must be sickened at at the gross corruption of their innocent ideals,the cynical exploitation by the self indulgent pariahs that the FF personality cult spawned and loosed on Irish society and the body politic:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

I'd love for the Mahon report to come out on the day of Ahern's birthday bash in Croke Park.
    He can then do what he's always done, hide behind women - his ex-wife, his mother, Larkin's aunts, Grainne Carruth and now his daughters.

That's about the level of the chap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭scholar007

One of the commentators (his name escapes me)who spoke on the programme summed up exactly what Fianna Fail stand for and that is Fianna Fail first and the country second.

I would be curious to know how many Fianna Fail incompetents are in positions they wouldn't otherwise be in, simply because they were members / supporters / relations of Fianna Fail TDs and ministers over the years.

Maybe thats the real reason the country is in the sh1te, too many Fianna Fail incompetents in key positions.

Bertie - "I appointed dem coz de were me friends."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

scholar007 wrote: »
    Bertie - "I appointed dem coz de were me friends."

The most stunning part of that quote is the fact that it was a direct admission of nepotism - i.e. corruption but it wasn't picked up on.....possibly because some people think that type of corruption is OK in this country, and possibly because it was seen as "lesser" corruption than what he possibly did.

But it means that Celia has already been contradicted.....Ahern IS guilty of corruption, and he's admitted it point-blank himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    The most stunning part of that quote is the fact that it was a direct admission of nepotism - i.e. corruption but it wasn't picked up on.....possibly because some people think that type of corruption is OK in this country, and possibly because it was seen as "lesser" corruption than what he possibly did.

But it means that Celia has already been contradicted.....Ahern IS guilty of corruption, and he's admitted it point-blank himself.

Yep, it's amazing this little country of ours - no-one batted an eyelid even though corruption does not always involve cash...
    As for Larkin, her being the recipient of Ahern's 'largesse' (NCA) should have ruled her out in any say whatsoever on whether her ex-bed partner is corrupt - stupid TV3, stupid Halligan, dross.
    As for her claims to be a republican simply to ram home her point that her ex-lover was an amazing politician re:The North, well that type of crap should not be allowed airtime. It's an insult to people's intelligence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭scholar007

gambiaman wrote: »
    As for Larkin, her being the recipient of Ahern's 'largesse'

Now den Celia, brace yerself I am goin ta giv ye some of me largesse....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭maringo

Maybe FF would take up a national collection to help Bertie out with his legal fees - or any tips for a horse might be good - the poor fella looks dead worried - I'd hate to see him having to count the pennies :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,669 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

maringo wrote: »
    - I'd hate to see him having to count the pennies :rolleyes:

would he know how :confused:

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭HellsAngel

Here's an excellent discussion on the Vincent Brown show on the history of FF and where it all went wrong. I agree with one of the hisorians that FF started out well enough but by the 50's it had evovled into the corrupt, rotten, cronyist, nationalist sellout organisation. Indeed as they rightly point out, their was no 'golden Lemass era', Lemass could be a selfish and tricky con man when he wanted to be.

http://www.tv3.ie/shows.php?request=tonightwithvincentbrowne&tv3_preview=&video=39745

Started again now .. part II : The Economic Tsunami..

Bit of a hatchet job on Bertie tonight..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Minister Boyce

Man bertie is in ultra defensive mode tonight - bit of a bloodbath tonight, everyone having a pop at everyone.

Didn't think it was possible, but having watched Ahern smugly declare that "people with 3, 4 and 5 houses have over-stretched themselves and are looking for someone to blame" I think Ahern has just managed to make me hate him even more!

LIES, LIES AND MORE LIES....and completely ignoring people with ONE house who DIDN'T overstretch themselves who are finding it seriously tough going.

Since this is politics I can't say what I'd do to him if I saw him this minute, because I'd be banned.

But this is one scary deluded smug _________.

REALLY, REALLY pushing my self control to not type what I want to type here.

Just roll on the Mahon Tribunal where he might hopefully get a dose of reality.

alarm bells rang Sean Haughey....yes.. it was only after the medical card debacle that the alarm bells rang.... who was your father again sean?

alarm bells rang Sean Haughey.... who was your father again sean?

I kind of thought it was funny when Sean Haughey divulged that his father said to him "if I had all those resources imagine what I could have done"... referring to the amount of money that Bertie had to spent during the boom.... Charlie must have been thinking of the nice clothes / boats / islands he could have bought..

the bull O'Donoghue either has either high blood pressure or is enjoying far too many sun holidays with his severence package

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭take everything

Hanafin's assessment of their difficulties:
    The mejia.
    Lehman's.
    Damn luck.

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

FF are basically parasitic upon the country, their only concern is for themselves, their wealth, their power, public approval. Our native aristocracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Tinker13

the bull O'Donoghue either has either high blood pressure or is enjoying far too many sun holidays with his severence package

Quite a lot of them look bloated and unhealthy. Too much rich food and vino methinks.

Can we have a poll .. Is Mary Hanafin a) conceited or b) delusional... She wanted to be party leader.. they didnt want her and she thinks the people of Ireland want her as President.. She seems to be the person in FF who is most out of touch with reality, and that's saying something..

Can we have a poll .. Is Mary Hanafin a) conceited or b) delusional... She wanted to be party leader.. they didnt want her and she thinks the people of Ireland want her as President..

Both. They're a requirement for being a member of FF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

What a rag tag bunch of liars , thieves and traitors tv3 makes them out to be.

Hold on a minute that's what they were !

It's funny to see them all turning on each other ! Especially berties old mot Celia dishing the dirt after getting thousands in "loans" from the coffers of drumcondra . ( which she paid back in full with interest once exposed)

Tonights TV3 was kind of hard to watch in general TBH. Doesn't look like FF can stomach that they need to reform to me. At least not those at the top who are still convinced it was everyone else in the party and they weren't part of it and sure they are grand...

thebman wrote: »
    Tonights TV3 was kind of hard to watch in general TBH. Doesn't look like FF can stomach that they need to reform to me. At least not those at the top who are still convinced it was everyone else in the party and they weren't part of it and sure they are grand...

Even the newbies to the cult that Vincent Browne interviewed afterwards are just as deluded.

All parties are dodgy and self-serving to some degree, but it's plain to see that the best thing Ireland could do at this stage is to take a bullet to FF.

Just a pity that TV3 didn't have the guts to make this programme prior to the election in 2007.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,922 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

I kind of thought it was funny when Sean Haughey divulged that his father said to him "if I had all those resources imagine what I could have done"... referring to the amount of money that Bertie had to spent during the boom.... Charlie must have been thinking of the nice clothes / boats / islands he could have bought..

i despise haughey and FF but honestly think hewould have spent the largesse from the building boom far more wisely and we would not now be in as big a mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,922 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Just a pity that TV3 didn't have the guts to make this programme prior to the election in 2007.

Why would they? It's about the fall of FF.

It's the rise & fall......and maybe if people who hadn't copped on to Ahern & FF's ethos at that stage had seen it, they'd have copped themselves on when voting in 2007.

Or maybe I'm just engaging in wishful thinking......after all, despite everything that those _______ did, far too many of the electorate even voted for them earlier this year.

Yeah, forget what I said - some people will never see through that cult.

I started this thread and was looking forward to the programmes, but my god, the production is really poor. It seems to be poorly edited and looks rather cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭bernardo mac

Sean Haughey,O'Donoughue,Moloney,Celia Bednotches,Slippery Bertie,O'Cuiv,Willie O'D,those who immediately come to mind,I would trust as adders fangs..Political Reptiles all...that doesn't mean I trust the opposition

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭LLU

Didn't think it was possible, but having watched Ahern smugly declare that "people with 3, 4 and 5 houses have over-stretched themselves and are looking for someone to blame" I think Ahern has just managed to make me hate him even more!

blame it on those pesky Lehman Brothers, not poor Bertie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

thebman wrote: »
    Doesn't look like FF can stomach that they need to reform to me.

Reform? How? The party doesn't stand for anything except winning power and rewarding their backers. How can you reform that?

If you take away the corruption, cronyism and power for its own sake, there's nothing left bar a stained photo of Dev with a flickery electric Sacred Heart bulb under it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭HellsAngel

Reform? How? The party doesn't stand for anything except winning power and rewarding their backers. How can you reform that?

If you take away the corruption, cronyism and power for its own sake, there's nothing left bar a stained photo of Dev with a flickery electric Sacred Heart bulb under it.
    Well there's tickets to All Ireland finals, Rugby internationals, Galway races - or are they also gone too !!!!!

Oh how the mighty have fallen :D