Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spider season

• 05-09-2011 12:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭

Big mothafcuker just spotted crawling inches from my head as I'm laying in bed about to fall asleep. It seems to be spider season at the moment.

I've already killed a few spotted in the bathroom and kitchen.

Anyone else experiencing any sightings of these hairy bastards ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

swingking wrote: »
    Big mothafcuker just spotted crawling inches from my head as I'm laying in bed about to fall asleep. It seems to be spider season at the moment.

I've already killed a few spotted in the bathroom and kitchen.

Anyone else experiencing any sightings of these hairy bastards ??
    OP's avatar is relevant to this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Always happens this time of year when the weather turns cold. Haven't slept in days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

i found a monster one crawling up the wall behind the couch the other day he was easily 4 inches across.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Let's hope to fcuk that means fly season is over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

joe stodge wrote: »
    i found a monster one crawling up the wall behind the couch the other day he was easily 4 inches across.

The ladies would love him. The girthy bastard!

joe stodge wrote: »

I've seen two bigger than that. Both in the same summer about 7 or 8 years ago, thankfully never since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I like spiders. Don't like flies much though. Spiders are our buddies, they keep the fly pop down
    Except those winged bastards, extinction is too good for them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Sticjones

They're absolutely harmless, if you just leave them alone they'll crawl into the walls/under floors/etc and you won't see them for 6 months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Spiders are brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Sticjones wrote: »
    They're absolutely harmless, if you just leave them alone they'll crawl into the walls/under floors/etc and you won't see them for 6 months.
    That's exactly what I'd expect a spider to say.

Get him lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Yeah, I saw a big one on the other side of the curtain in the bathroom a while ago. I usually don't mind squishing and disposing of them but you have to choose your battles wisely....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

I've no problem with them until they climb less than 2 feet from my pillow

El Weirdo wrote: »
    That's exactly what I'd expect a spider to say.

Get him lads!

lol, on a serious note though they are great for keeping flies and insects in check. I'd rather have a nice house spider than a load of ****ty flies landing on my food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

They're absolutely harmless, if you just leave them alone they'll crawl into your face and you won't see them for 6 months. They will then give birth for several hours and you will die from Spider Birth Face syndrome.

fyp

swingking wrote: »
    I've no problem with them until they climb less than 2 feet from my pillow

Aye, same here. There's times I want to leave them alone and I'm like "Right, come no closer and we're cool!" Fcukers never up for a deal though :P

Fizman wrote: »
    fyp

No, no, that's not what I said at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Columbia

I was lying on my bed a few nights ago when something caught my eye. Absolutely gigantic spider ran across my room and under my bed before I could do anything about it. Illustrating size is difficult, but it was like a good-sized daddy long-legs with a huge spider's body.

I haven't seen it since, because I know for a fact it's waiting under my bed with moistened lips for me to stick so much as a finger under there so it can brush against it and have me running for my life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

wiithout spiders we would be run over with insects..
    more to crawl into your mouth....ear..nose...hell
    even yer arse!!god bless spiders.
    ffs goggle it.the world would be a worse place
    without them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Spiders are frickin awesome.The other day I saw one pwning a wasp,take that you yellow and black striped bastard.Made my week it did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

I always like having a few spiders around the apartment to keep the flies in check, Had a big one living by the windowsill and his victims remains (wasp and bluebottle) are still there but I think the spider himself has died RIP.

Dragon flies are equally as cool cos they eat every little bastard who wants to bite you, even though they look like they want to eat your eyes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I just spotted two different kinds there in my bathroom as I were a brushing my teeth. Thankfully the bigger of the two is the less scary, spindly kind. Wonder if the other one will eat it.

WindSock wrote: »
    I just spotted two different kinds there in my bathroom as I were a brushing my teeth. Thankfully the bigger of the two is the less scary, spindly kind. Wonder if the other one will eat it.

Lol. No. You're gonna have a hybrid spider on your hands, impervious to conventional killers, even rolled up news papers. You're as well off to move out

Spiders are frickin awesome.The other day I saw one pwning a wasp,take that you yellow and black striped bastard.Made my week it did.

I had one go for a giant bee in my porch a few weeks ago. Ran off to get my camera and become a YouTube sensation but no card in it.
    Instead then, I tried to break it up as I like bees and didn't want the spider getting bigger as it was the non spindly kind.
    It was too late, the sticky web had ****ed that bees wings up good.

Lol. No. You're gonna have a hybrid spider on your hands, impervious to conventional killers, even rolled up news papers. You're as well off to move out

A human spiderpede? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Donal Og O Baelach

charlemont wrote: »
    I always like having a few spiders around the apartment to keep the flies in check, Had a big one living by the windowsill and his victims remains (wasp and bluebottle) are still there but I think the spider himself has died RIP.

RIP Thread: So old fluffy legs has passed on. Mod warning on post 1. Keep all replies respectful.

WindSock wrote: »
    A human spiderpede? :eek:

Spiderpig even!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

Hate those dreams where you wake up convinced a spider has ran across your bed. You spend the next few minutes trying to figure out if it's there or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭Kitty-kitty

Hate those dreams where you wake up convinced a spider has ran across your bed. You spend the next few minutes trying to figure out if it's there or not.

I THOUGHT THAT WAS ONLY ME. And you're damn convinced even though you SWITCHED ON THE LIGHT when you woke up freaking out and couldn't possibly have seen a spider in the dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

cant say ive ever dreamed that dream, although the loosing your teeth dream drives me bananas :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Thread comes up about these lads every September on this forum. They come in to avoid the cold, and despite their large size - they are actually harmless and helpful for killing flies which spread disease. They generally piss off at the end of October into hibernation or to a spider disco, or wherever they go..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭lecker Hendl

Currently housing one guy in a takeaway bag that has been in my room for about a month now. He's a pet now so I don't want to upset his new home. I'm more scared of what the unopened 3 in 1 curry looks like at this stage to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

Can we please not talk about this? I've escaped well so far and I'm really sorry for the victims but I'd rather not experience their horror vicariously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

I show them no mercy!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭busyliving

In the last couple of weeks I've seen more spiders than I did in Oz:mad:...was in oz for 4 months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

I killed one the other day. Massive prick. He then slid down the wall and behind my massive Pulp Fiction poster. The bottom of the poster must have caught his carcass and he remains there since!

Keno 92 wrote: »
    I killed one the other day. Massive prick. He then slid down the wall and behind my massive Pulp Fiction poster. The bottom of the poster must have caught his carcass and he remains there since!

One less of the feckers imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

Just kill them all -I can't stand this piece of paper and put em outside crap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

noticed a massive one on the wall at the side of my house were I usually sit at night when I go out for a smoke, now im a fraid to sit down while I smoke.

I hate my phobia of spiders.

why is it wasps dont even bother me yet they are the ones that could actually harm me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭EverybodyLies

Some huge feckers around at the moment. Had one in the bath everyday for the last few days. I don't mind the small/medium ones but these ones are practically tarantulas. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Tubsandtiles

There was a massive one in my sitting room last week and the small ones seem to be everywhere :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Geminicw

aw stop my head is wrecked over them I do freak out when I see them near me hate the creepy yokes!! I have my poor da's head wrecked making him catch them to throw them out :o

Geminicw wrote: »
    aw stop my head is wrecked over them I do freak out when I see them near me hate the creepy yokes!! I have my poor da's head wrecked making him catch them to throw them out :o

Catch them??? Stamp on the feckers!!!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

dlofnep wrote: »
    Thread comes up about these lads every September on this forum. They come in to avoid the cold, and despite their large size - they are actually harmless and helpful for killing flies which spread disease. They generally piss off at the end of October into hibernation or to a spider disco, or wherever they go..

They don't come in to avoid the cold, they just move around more in autumn because it's mating season. Yes, most of these spiders are indoor spiders, they just hide better at other times of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Hrududu

The biggest spider I've ever seen was my room the other night. He was as big as a small mouse. You can say all you want about them killing flies and insects but there is no way I'd be able to sleep knowing that fecker was scuttling about. I stood on him and he made a really loud crunching noise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

People are scared of something 1000 times smaller than them? :eek:

It's a strange world....:cool:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

kingtut wrote: »
    People are scared of something 1000 times smaller than them? :eek:

It's a strange world....:cool:

For me, it's a phobia; an irrational fear. I know they can't hurt me but that doesn't mean I can be in the same room as one. Once I know its there, I don't rest till it is gone.

Still, better than my family's fears; my brother can't stand large bodies of water and my mother is afraid of baloons.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭jenizzle

I was reading the Unsolved Mysteries thread so I was already on edge, and this huuuuuge fooker of a spidey comes shooting up behind my PC. So I freak out, arms flapping an' all, and decide that I can't do anything till this yoke is gone. He was at least 5 inches long.

I grab a boot, but I decide that I'll be too close for comfort when killing him - he could easily jump on my face and kill me. Plus, it'll make a horrendous crunching sound, and stain the wall very badly.

I grab the hoover, and sit waiting for the fooker to make a reappearance. Out he pops, and he's sucked up and the hoover is thrown into the landing and I get a good nights sleep.

Cue two days later, and the muthafookin' spidey crawls up the exact same wall again :eek: Clearly, he's been faffing about when I'm at work, but he forgot that it was a Saturday and didn't turn his alarm off. So, I lash some coins into the hoover so that he gets a whack in the head when he gets in there, and await his appearance again, which he doesn't make for the rest of the day.

Gotta admire his determination. He was there this morning, in the same corner, just chillin' out. He's so feckin' big I could actually see him without my glasses on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

Did you know...on average we swallow 8-9 spiders a year in our seep! :eek: