Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guards in my town

• 03-09-2011 9:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭

I was talking to a taxi driver last night, and he told me something about the guards that didn't impress me one bit. He said he knows of many of them that spend their Saturday nights from around 2am-4am chauffeuring young woman home after their night out on the town and just arse around in general.

So some lad could be getting stabbed on the town and certain guards are too busy with chatting up and driving around drunken woman for the craic to pass the time.

I've noticed a lot of Guards to be useless at their job in Clonmel but that's just taking the buscuit in fairness.

And this isn't the first instance I've heard about this, word of this happening has been going around the town for quite some time now.

So, what are the Guards like in your area?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Free ride it's great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,560 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

What sort of drunk girl? The random ones or the incapable of taking care of themselves ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

hondasam wrote: »
    Free ride it's great.

What kinda ride we Talkin bout here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Free ride it's great.

Hmmmm I'm wondering if you used the correct word there ;)

Keno 92 wrote: »
    What kinda ride we Talkin bout here?

A ride in uniform, can't beat it.

kfallon wrote: »
    Hmmmm I'm wondering if you used the correct word there ;)

I did fallon.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

dsmythy wrote: »
    What sort of drunk girl? The random ones or the incapable of taking care of themselves ones?

''The incapable ones'' - I know the sort you're implying but that's not the case here.

It's more the good looking women with their short skirts who flutter their eye lashes at them just to avoid a taxi fare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭AnamGlas

Double entendre lads, a double entendre!

I did fallon.:p

So did you let them take down your particulars??? :p

kfallon wrote: »
    So did you let them take down your particulars??? :p

only after the handcuffs came out.

Happens everywhere in the country I expect.

only after the handcuffs came out.

I'd say you didn't go quietly :p

A fun thread about the guards for a change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

In before some wasted girl cries rape...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Maybe they want to be a ban garda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Ha, When I saw Clonmel mentioned I immediately had to laugh, You could make an awesome TV show about some of them there.

I remember being twisted drunk one night and getting a lift home off them too, All of ten years ago considering I was very well known to them I thought it was sound of them as it was pissing out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,747 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

I live in Navan. Guards are very thin on the ground. You'd never see a patrol. I get the impression the number of police in the town didn't increase proportionately to the population explosion over the last ten years. It's a disgrace. No wonder muggings and drunk assaults are on the rise in Meath :mad:

realies wrote: »
    Maybe they want to be a ban garda.

The banners are worse than the lads for giving lifts.

Ally Dick wrote: »
    I live in Navan. Guards are very thin on the ground. You'd never see a patrol. I get the impression the number of police in the town didn't increase proportionately to the population explosion over the last ten years. It's a disgrace. No wonder muggings and drunk assaults are on the rise in Meath :mad:

This is it. We have a lack of guards in the town as it is and enough stabbings going on.

I don't think they should be giving free lifts to a few birds every weekend to lighten up their night:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 nagolina

I need to start wearing short skirts when I go out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭klose

Haha when I read the thread title at the main page I thought "jeez thats omething ya'd hear of in Clonmel"
    Lo & behind 'tis about my lovely home town biggrin.gif

The only time the guards are really needed are after the classy establishement that is O'Keefes churns out absolute creme de la creme of scobes etc..that Clonhel and its surroundings has to offer after fri,sat and sunday nights. Fights,people paralethicly drunk etc..orders of the night. The odd biting off of the ear also :pac:
    I think they're fairly good to the job, some times they're a bit late but they are understaffed for a town the size and amount of people about at those times.

Some of the estates around here need to be nalpamed or something..

This is it. We have a lack of guards in the town as it is and enough stabbings going on.

I don't think they should be giving free lifts to a few birds every weekend to lighten up their night:rolleyes:

The current Garda Commissioner is Martin Callinan, write and complain to him. He will be just as interested as we are.

Also, if Tipp win tomorow the town will be great fun for the guards to handle, should be good craic all day and night. Liquor HQ

Haha when I read the thread title at the main page I thought "jeez thats omething ya'd hear of in Clonmel"
    Lo & behind 'tis about my lovely home town biggrin.gif

The only time the guards are really needed are after the classy establishement that is O'Keefes churns out absolute creme de la creme of scobes etc..that Clonhel and its surroundings has to offer after fri,sat and sunday nights. Fights,people paralethicly drunk etc..orders of the night. The odd biting off of the ear also :pac:
    I think they're fairly good to the job, some times they're a bit late but they are understaffed for a town the size and amount of people about at those times.

Some of the estates around here need to be nalpamed or something..

I 100% agree with the bolded comment. If parts of the Wilderness and Elm Park were nuked, crime rates would drop significantly.

However, I do disagree the guards do a good job in general. I think they're a bit of a joke tbh.

The current Garda Commissioner is Martin Callinan, write and complain to him. He will be just as interested as we are.

Thanks for the advice, but I'm way ahead of you. Already done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Clonmel isn't a bad place

It's no Tipp Town, now there's a rough spot, the worst in the county
    Maybe we can give it to Limerick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 934 ✭✭✭C-J

Op if your username reflects your age then i'm going to assume you're a virgin/cool dude who hates the powwwlice?! You will discover in life that taxi drivers know EVERYTHING. Every taxi i get consists of a driver who 'could have been James Bond' and whose sharp economic mind would get us out of any recession with a click of the fingers. Grow up like a good lad

mikemac wrote: »

Clonmel may not be as bad as Tipp Town but that's hardly a ringing endorsement.

I've lived in Limerick before and I personally think Clonmel has surpassed it now. It's gone to the dogs these past few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 mickac

just gave up driving a taxi in dublin myself. regurlarly saw guards pick up 5 or 6 "mates" in a mondeo or something just as unsuitable in the wee hours. always seem to be having great fun and who is gonna say anything ,they're the men in charge

Thanks for the advice, but I'm way ahead of you. Already done.

Did it occur to you the taxi driver was just pissed of because he missed out on a fare. How many garda cars are in the town every night?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

That's great stuff altogether. I'd love a lift home some nights, often think the guards would be perfect to ask.
    mikemac wrote: »

Clonmel is a bad place. it's just not widely known, as much as Tipp Town or Limerick.

C-J wrote: »
    Op if your username reflects your age then i'm going to assume you're a virgin/cool dude who hates the powwwlice?! You will discover in life that taxi drivers know EVERYTHING. Every taxi i get consists of a driver who 'could have been James Bond' and whose sharp economic mind would get us out of any recession with a click of the fingers. Grow up like a good lad

I am not going on the word of the Taxi driver, he merely reminded me of the shenanigans. This is something the Guards are known to be doing here for a long time now. You could almost say it's common knowledge throughout the town.

So get down of your high horse before you fall. You could get a bad injury from those heights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Two Gardaí were called in to a pub in Arklow due to a fight, and as the fight had dissipated before they arrived, they decided to get involved with the karaoke and sang a great rendition of "Don't Stop Me Now".

Did it occur to you the taxi driver was just pissed of because he missed out on a fare. How many garda cars are in the town every night?

As said already, I'm not going on just the word of the taxi driver. He merely reminded and highlighted something that I already knew was going on.

Seriously don't believe all the crap you hear about the guards. It's usually from people who have an issue with them.

Aw don't worry i'm sure one of those lovely drunken girls will pop your cherry soon. Or one of the guards you're fantasising over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭AnamGlas

Two Gardaí were called in to a pub in Arklow due to a fight, and as the fight had dissipated before they arrived, they decided to get involved with the karaoke and sang a great rendition of "Don't Stop Me Now".
    A great bunch of lads!

Aye now Tipp town is a mighty hole, just drive straight thru that place all together :D
    Clonmel isint that awful the ratio of nice people to scum is very small but it only takes a few people to tarnish the name of a place! Im lucky to be living in a nice part . Ya can debate weather they're good at their work or not, theres not a whole lot of em and are constintly dealing with sh!t off the same people the whole time, probably fed up because the law system isint keeping the scobes out for long enough.
    Was getting paperwork stamped in there once and a local lad whos known for trouble walked in and acted like he was freinds with em, knew there names, they knew his. Thats how often they were dealing with him, plenty like him aswell.

C-J wrote: »
    Aw don't worry i'm sure one of those lovely drunken girls will pop your cherry soon.

Sorry, but your Mother has already done the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I am currently a serving member of An Garda Siochana in Clonmel. Your IP address has successfully tracked through operation TRACE and boards admin. We will be sending out a member of the force to take a detailed statement from you in the morning. I would now like to remind you that anything you say will be taken down and used against you in a court of law.

Oh how i worry for the future of this country! Can i remind you that you are making accusations against the police in a public forum from which your personal details are very easily obtained?? In the meantime I'd suggest you go confront the guards with these allegations i'm sure they'd love to see you coming!

I am currently a serving member of An Garda Siochana in Clonmel. Your IP address has successfully tracked through operation TRACE and boards admin. We will be sending out a member of the force to take a detailed statement from you in the morning. I would now like to remind you that anything you say will be taken down and used against you in a court of law.

Cheers,any chance of a lift down to the station so I can make the statement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I was talking to a taxi driver last night, and he told me something about the guards that didn't impress me one bit. He said he knows of many of them that spend their Saturday nights from around 2am-4am chauffeuring young woman home after their night out on the town and just arse around in general.

It sounds like your just sore that you had to pay for a taxi home on your own after failing to pull on a night out...so you partook in the national past time of blaming the guards for your failures.

And as for your ridiculous comment about someone possibly getting stabbed....well someone could get stabbed in the area where they were going to and they'd be on it within seconds rather than having to hang around the town baby sitting all the drunken idiots who arent capable of going out for a night, having a few drinks and leaving again in a civilised manner....but sure thats probably the guards fault too.

If so have ye still got the FREE THE WEED posters up in the upstairs interview room, I thought it was fair ironic to see but I reckon ******* himself probably put it up, Ha Ha.

charlemont wrote: »
    If so have ye still got the FREE THE WEED posters up in the upstairs interview room, I thought it was fair ironic to see but I reckon Hennebry himself probably put it up, Ha Ha.

No we have replaced them with your arrest sheet. Covers all the walls in the interview room like wallpaper makes interesting reading especially the indecent exposure caution.:p

PS I am not a member of An Garda Siochana.

No we have replaced them with your arrest sheet. Covers all the walls in the interview room like wallpaper makes interesting reading especially the indecent exposure caution.:p

PS I am not a member of An Garda Siochana.

Ha Ha I love the last bit about indecent exposure, I was being strip searched in an inappropriate location by the small hall that connects the cells/backdoor stairs and public office there over ten years ago and I was completely naked and a BanGarda opened one of the three doors and copped an eyeful, Sure we're all adults and anyway it wasnt my fault, We all just laughed, Fairly sound BanGarda too. At the same time I could hear a lad I knew being spoken to about a stolen keg outside cell 1 and he saying it was up in the Holla.

:eek: Too much information.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Never heard of this happening. Sounds more like a rumour spread by some person with a dislike to the Garda. Then again, I'd say it's much easier to get away with that down the country.

If this was as common spread as you make it sound, I'd be sure some idiot would have made allegations of rape by now.

the Holla.

They should fill that place in with cement, id say ya'd get change out of a 20 for a property there these days :D

id say ya'd get change out of a 20 for a property there these days :D

You'd get one for a couple of Bucks.