Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Soccer Forum Beers

• 03-09-2011 8:54pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭

A Soccer Forum Beers, are you mad?

No, I say, why not join up for a game, watch some good football and get to know the warriors away from their keyboards.

Other forums often have beers yet the soccer forum never does. Why?

Let's put the animosity aside, let's put the petty gross spend, De Gea and all other spurious little aguements aside as well.

Anyone care to suggest a date or venue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I'd love to be a fly on the wall at a Soccer beers.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

It's been done before & it was a good laugh.

I'd fear half the newer members of this forum aren't old enough for a 'beers' tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,107 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

So a load of beer and a load of utd and liverpool fans all together, sounds like a good night to me.

Mr Alan wrote: »

I'd fear half the newer members of this forum aren't old enough for a 'beers' tbh.

Hey!:mad:

:P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭bamboozling

When was the last one and why did the stop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

When was the last one and why did the stop?

Poker forum v Soccer forum match followed by beers is the last one I remember, another rematch would be good.

The last soccer beers was 21/02/2009.

There's been attempts to organise ones since but it never seems to have taken off for some reason.

Do you think there would be much enthusiasm for a new one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

One hosted by you or just one in general?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

We should have it in The Players Lounge...oh wait...

stovelid wrote: »
    One hosted by you or just one in general?

I was thinking one in general. I'd hope my participation wouldn't discourage the LOIers to attend.

I'm not sure chief. But it's worth a shot.

Gaff party in Bamboozlers?

I think it's worth a shot. The banter and sense of fun is gone from this forum.

I remember the good old days when there was a sense of community around the place.

We need something to restore that fire amongst the users.

baz2009 wrote: »
    Gaff party in Bamboozlers?

BYOB. I can make an exception for you, I'll get yours in an offie, save you the hassle of getting an ID.

Ah cheers babz. <3 xx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Bamboozling , Did you not say you live in argentina ?

baz2009 wrote: »
    Ah cheers babz. <3 xx

XxX. *Hugs and Kisses*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

I was thinking one in general. I'd hope my participation wouldn't discourage the LOIers to attend.
    I hope it does

Bamboozling , Did you not say you live in argentina ?

I did, I'm back.

I'm up for a forum weekend to Buenos Aires if people are up for it. Catch a Boca match, get some coke and hookers, have a forum game before we leave?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Ebbs

* obligatory LOI input*

Nice how watching football on TV has been mentioned but not going to an actual match.

Ebbs wrote: »
    * obligatory LOI input*

Nice how watching football on TV has been mentioned but not going to an actual match.

Great idea. Fire ideas out ther guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭holidaysong

So a LOI game in Dublin with pre-match and post-match pints seems to make the most sense to me? Shels or Bohs would be easiest for most people as they're city centre. If they're clashing with other LOI games though we'll obviously be missing a big chunk of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

Ireland v Armenia, 11th October?

You'd like to think everyone would be shouting for the same side anyway even allowing for the disagreements on Trap/Killer/Andy Reid's guitar etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,734 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Where'd the last one take place?

The one in 2009 was in The PorterHouse & then onto The Palace if I remember correctly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭holidaysong

cson wrote: »
    Ireland v Armenia, 11th October?

You'd like to think everyone would be shouting for the same side anyway even allowing for the disagreements on Trap/Killer/Andy Reid's guitar etc etc.

I'm sure most people from here will be at the game though (I will anyway) which means the drinks taking place at 10.30pm or 11.00pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

Jaysus, not catering to those with the tightened purse strings with The Porterhouse [though I do like the place].

I'd say the FAI Cup Final could also be a shout if the FAI do the same as last year with the Aviva and €10 tickets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,880 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Hope Sean Bateman aka De Gea hater is not going,would not like to see that sh1te kick off in person!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Count me in for a game, great idea.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

The one in 2009 was in The PorterHouse & then onto The Palace if I remember correctly

a sure you will never beat the 2008 one with a grand total of 4/5 inc Des & his bird, after which myself and Neil1984 went off trying to pull young ones... ahh memories :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Kingdom Bhoy

Get yourselves over to Sunderland for a match and I will buy you guys a proper drink Double Maxim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Sounds like a bit of fun,I'll stay tuned for further developments but either a LOI game or TV game sounds good,some Saturday in the Woolshed perhaps!? Cheap beers,plenty of screens etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Instead of a game v the Poker forum we could run a 5 a side somewhere? These places usually have bars to have a sesh in afterwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Gillington wrote: »
    Sounds like a bit of fun,I'll stay tuned for further developments but either a LOI game or TV game sounds good,some Saturday in the Woolshed perhaps!? Cheap beers,plenty of screens etc

Was in there for the first time last weekend, definitely a good place to watch a game. Got the "half and half" for 7.50euro, and couldn't finish it!:o
    Liked the mini stand seating area, nice idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

Voltwad wrote: »
    Instead of a game v the Poker forum we could run a 5 a side somewhere? These places usually have bars to have a sesh in afterwards

I'd be on for either of these.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I could definitely be tempted to this, should be mandatory to wear a jersey from your chosen club ;)

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Right, just to say this.... There are women (ahem) who post in here!

And not the woolshed! Sinnotts? Or what's the pub in Rathmines - opp Tesco...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,734 ✭✭✭✭noodler

I kind of like the Woolshed.

Sinnotts is bit...well I don't it is really fit for purpose in this case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

So a everybody goes to a Bohs game and then to the bars in Dalymount afterwards. We can even have a pub crawl from the members bar to the long bar. Sit in the stands after the match while drinking. Sounds good to me.

Why don't we play a game rather than watching one did though, 7 a side would be ideal, don't think we should have trouble getting 14 players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

A 5/7 a side tourny could work well if people did actually wear the jerseys of the teams they supported. I realize we'd have possibly a dozen teams for Liverpool and United but a nothing a set of bibs wont sort out.

Alternatively a LOI v EPL match would be fun :)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

I'd be more inclined in play in a match.

Besides i reckon the standard of a boards match would be similar to one we'd go and watch. (tongue in cheek).

That said anyone i play with, track back and make your passes or i'll give out. A lot.

Right, well some one needs to organise it so, I don't know Dublin very well plus I'm doing the HoF thing too so that rules me out :P
    We need to figure out the numbers first, even considering the amount of posters on here I think we'd be doing well to get ~50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

THFC wrote: »
    even considering the amount of posters on here I think we'd be doing well to get ~50.

You'll do well to get 8.

Having organised the two Soccer -v- Poker matches it will go something like this:

Idea is sprung.
    50 people go: 'Yeah great idea I definitely will!'
    A date is set and about half drop out.
    The week of and night before you lose at least another half or so because lads 'can't make it' or 'forgot I had a <excuse x/y/z>' etc.
    The day of about half the remaining people just won't show up without any explanation.

Frisbee wrote: »
    You'll do well to get 8.

Having organised the two Soccer -v- Poker matches it will go something like this:

Idea is sprung.
    50 people go: 'Yeah great idea I definitely will!'
    A date is set and about half drop out.
    The week of and night before you lose at least another half or so because lads 'can't make it' or 'forgot I had a <excuse x/y/z>' etc.
    The day of about half the remaining people just won't show up without any explanation.

Ya it's a pain in the hole organising anything like this, boards probably even worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,974 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I could definitely see that happening Frisbee.

I'd be up for it so long as I'm not busy that day, could get to Dublin and back cheaply and have someplace cheap to stay.

I'd be more inclined to go if we were to play a match rather than going to a match to be honest.

mars bar wrote: »
    I could definitely see that happening Frisbee.

I'd be up for it so long as I'm not busy that day, could get to Dublin and back cheaply and have someplace cheap to stay.

I'd be more inclined to go if we were to play a match rather than going to a match to be honest.

linesman?? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,974 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

lordgoat wrote: »
    linesman?? ;)

I don't fancy getting pillocked by a run away player!

I'd take ye guys all on on the pitch! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

How about we play a match, then go to a match and then go for drinks?