Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When Saturday Sometimes Comes: LOI Fixtures 3 September

• 02-09-2011 8:06am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭

Premier Division

3 September

Dundalk vs Shamrock Rovers 5.30pm
    Sligo Rovers vs Derry City 2.45 PM
    Bohemians vs Bray Wanderers 7PM
    St Patrick's Athletic vs Galway United 7.30PM
    UCD vs Drogheda United 7.45PM

First Division

3 Sep 2011

Cork City vs Limerick 5pm
    Salthill Devon vs Athlone Town 7PM
    Longford Town vs Mervue United 7PM
    Finn Harps vs Monaghan United 745PM
    Shelbourne vs Wexford Youths 8PM

TV GAMES:

Dundalk FC vs Shamrock Rovers (Setanta Ireland 5.30PM)

Sligo Rovers vs Derry City (RTE2 2.45PM)

Tables

pd.jpg

first.jpg

Info http://www.airtricityleague.ie/

Draw at the Showgrounds and an away win at Oriel please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,561 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Sligo and Derry are also on RTE at a 2:45pm kick off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Sligo and Derry are also on RTE at a 2:45pm kick off

Apologies. Updated the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,031 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Is this the first time the LoI has had two live (league) games on the one day?

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Is this the first time the LoI has had two live (league) games on the one day?

Aye, I assumed there would only be one. Hopefully it will keep up for the run-in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Bohs game before going on the sauce tomorrow night. Lovely jubbly.

Got into the members bar the other night. What are the chances of getting in tomorrow evening?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

That_Guy wrote: »
    Got into the members bar the other night. What are the chances of getting in tomorrow evening?
    Shouldn't be any issue whatsoever, it's called the members bar, but isn't specifically for members. I've never really thought about it :pac:

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

You won't have a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

It's only the players bar you'll have a problem getting into, the other two will be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Cheers lads. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

14:45 Sligo Rovers ? - ? Derry City RTE
    17:30 Dundalk ? - ? Shamrock Rovers SETANTA
    19:00 Bohemians ? - ? Bray Wanderers
    19:30 St. Patricks ? - ? Galway
    19:45 UC Dublin ? - ? Drogheda United

236-01.gif

Unlikely the league will change morrow but Dundalk have a habit of playing well vs Greatest Club Ever™, Galway always play well vs us :(

Think if Derry get the win there they may actually push Greatest Club Ever™ close.

For ****z and giggles a Sligo win and Greatest Club Ever™ defeat would be brilliant :D

dreamers75 wrote: »
    14:45 Sligo Rovers ? - ? Derry City RTE
    17:30 Dundalk ? - ? Shamrock Rovers SETANTA
    19:00 Bohemians ? - ? Bray Wanderers
    19:30 St. Patricks ? - ? Galway
    19:45 UC Dublin ? - ? Drogheda United

236-01.gif

Unlikely the league will change morrow but Dundalk have a habit of playing well vs Greatest Club Ever™, Galway always play well vs us :(

Think if Derry get the win there they may actually push Greatest Club Ever™ close.

For ****z and giggles a Sligo win and Greatest Club Ever™ defeat would be brilliant :D

Thank god you slipped in that tiny mention of your own club's fixture. I thought it had slipped your mind they were playing.

stovelid wrote: »
    Thank god you slipped in that tiny mention of your own club's fixture. I thought it had slipped your mind they were playing.

yes we participate in the Shamrock Rovers League of ireland, and its ****ing galway :(

my thread title was better so neeeeehhhhhhhh!!!!

EDIT wtf you including them fekkers in the other league for? is it policy now ?

yes we participate in the Shamrock Rovers League of ireland, and its ****ing galway :(

my thread title was better so neeeeehh

EDIT wtf you including them fekkers in the other league for? is it policy now ?

Them lot coming up next season will stop you obsessing about us for a while anyway. :)

they will **** it up somehow, i love your the new golden boys :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,264 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Should be some very good crowds down the X this month. Limerick tomorrow - Behan and Gamble return to Cork for the Munster Derby. Pats arrive later for the Cup qf and Derry in the lge cup final - busy month ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Don't expect a big crowd at the Cross tomorrow mind.

The 5 pm kick off will clash with a lot of people's plans I'm guessing.

Think they will score so we will have to score 2. Should be a good game. Just to get to watch Daryl Horgan(Duff Mark II) is worth the entrance fee alone these days.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,725 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Who's in charge at Oriel...don't care as long as Hancock isn't and Douglas isn't an 'assistant'.

Could do with an easy uneventful understated calm dull win rather than recent league visits to Oriel...

Galway 25-1 for the win.

Maybe Pats can make the money back spent wasted on the players in Europe...:pac:

Decent preview of the game on RTÉ..

What a goal from Ndo!!

'Keeper should've at least tried to save it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,636 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

'Rovers at a bit of a muddle in defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

I'd love to take that drum and stick it up his fucking hole.

Won't have that.

Great drummers.

1-1 now.

Sligo almost made it 2-0 just before that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Lucan Bohs

That 1st half was 10 times more interesting then that ****e last night

Sligo playing a lot of long ball stuff to Doyle in particular and even Ndo. Neither keeper looking very secure on crosses...

dfx- wrote: »
    Sligo playing a lot of long ball stuff to Doyle in particular and even Ndo. Neither keeper looking very secure on crosses...

Its working tho Doyle has Greacen if they can get him one on one with him in the air or ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

So it's "Keane" now. It was "Kane" for the previous 20 minutes.

"Ireland's European Pioneers"

I'm liking Setanta lately...terrific organisation, shining example, wonderful employees..

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,264 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

2k enjoy a 3-3 cracker down the X

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,636 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Shocking refereeing decision for the Shamrock Rovers goal.

We have been spoiled with some of the goals at the Cross this year.

Cummins & Davin adding another couple of peaches onto the list.

For me not as exciting as the 3-3 scoreline suggests.

Very disappointing in the 1st half and Limerick deserved to go in level. Upped our game in the 2nd and Daryl Horgan was the main man after a shocker of a 1st half by his high standards.

Stupid time to have a game in fairness and a decent crowd considering.

Draw at the Showgrounds and an away win at Oriel please.

You should ask more often:cool:

Felt sorry for Galway tonight, still we stopped playing for an hour. Could have been double figures easily.

236-01.gif

cant see anyone overtaking them now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

3-0 Shels, Hughes with two and Sean Byrne with the third

wow UCD

20' [1 - 0] P. Corry
    25' [2 - 0] S. Belhout
    45' [2 - 1] G. Brennan
    58' [2 - 2] J. White
    61' [2 - 3] P. Hand
    64' [2 - 4] L. Lynch
    80' [3 - 4] D. Meenan
    84' [4 - 4] R. Creevy
    89' [5 - 4] G. Rusk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

wow UCD

20' [1 - 0] P. Corry
    25' [2 - 0] S. Belhout
    45' [2 - 1] G. Brennan
    58' [2 - 2] J. White
    61' [2 - 3] P. Hand
    64' [2 - 4] L. Lynch
    80' [3 - 4] D. Meenan
    84' [4 - 4] R. Creevy
    89' [5 - 4] G. Rusk

FIX!!!!!!

Hope that's Ricketts setting out the stall. Two assists for the penalty and the goal and looked good if a little rusty. Solid debut by Paterson too. Thought the peno was a little soft but we deserved to win overall.

Stevens didn't play because his sister died. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Ebbs

Good open game. Pitch is horrible and it seems its been rubber beaded a bit too much. Awful bounce on the ball.

Definitely a peno. It was NOT a head injury. He hurt his back/leg and fell on his body with his head cushioned onto the deck. Setanta commentators never mentioned that once.

Good debuts all around. 2-0 would have flattered us a little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

Pats barely broke a sweat and still won by 5 goals.

It was good to see Gary Dodgers up to his old tricks though. :P

Apparently there was a Pats fan ejected from the ground for (racially?) abusing Jin Gu Kim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,977 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Nothing better than coming home from work and seeing the table! 8 points clear with a game in hand over Cork and a cracking goal difference!

Monaghan not good enough to take advantage of our draw.

Pretty confident we'll take them at the Cross and that should be enough.

Shels clinical again. Still in shock that we drew with that Wexford side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Dub XV

Yeah wasn't a great Shels performance but still 3-0 is a good result.

Dub XV wrote: »
    Yeah wasn't a great Shels performance but still 3-0 is a good result.

Yup, defo beats drawing 2:2 with them anyway.

We've a 100% record against all the sides out of the top four this season.

Great results elsewhere yesterday for us. :cool:

We probably need no more than three wins from our remaining eight games to go up. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,977 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Zebra3 wrote: »
    We probably need no more than three wins from our remaining eight games to go up. :pac:

Shut up Barry!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭doncarlos

Ebbs wrote: »
    Good open game.

Says a lot for Rovers style of play if you think that was a good game.... Both teams played terrible with Rovers less terrible.
    Thought that Richie Winter was shocking some really weird decisions and all of them in Rovers favour. Haven't seen the replays but peno looked soft and was strange that he didn't stop play when we had a player down injured and did a few minutes later when a Rovers player went down. We had what looked like a clear peno turned down and had a player dragged to the ground in what would be a good rugby tackle and winter played on. Madness.

Having said that didn't think we did enough to win the game and thought a draw would have been a fair result.

Was wondering why Enda Stevens wasn't playing. Really sad news.

doncarlos wrote: »
    Says a lot for Rovers style of play if you think that was a good game.... .

Not having a go but I don't know how you can put up with that pitch. Barcelona couldn't have played a passing game on it on Saturday.

Haven't seen the replays but peno looked soft and was strange that he didn't stop play when we had a player down injured and did a few minutes later when a Rovers player went down. We had what looked like a clear peno turned down and had a player dragged to the ground in what would be a good rugby tackle and winter played on. Madness.

Pretty clear penalty, the Dundalk lad said as much afterwards. Rice had a head injury (clash of heads?), whereas the Dundalk player didn't have a head injury. Should've been a free-out for Twigg's jump though.

The 'pitch' was several shades of awful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭doncarlos

Not having a go but I don't know how you can put up with that pitch.

Probably due to the fact that it brings in close to a grand a week in rentals.

Pitch did seem a little bumpy in places. Probably needs to be looked at in the close season as it hasn't been playing as well as it had been.
    dfx wrote: »
    Pretty clear penalty, the Dundalk lad said as much afterwards. Rice had a head injury (clash of heads?), whereas the Dundalk player didn't have a head injury. Should've been a free-out for Twigg's jump though.

Looked both offside and then looked like he went down easily. Haven't seen replays so I'm only going on first viewing.

How could the ref know that the Dundalk player had a head injury or not. Looked like he went down holding his head. All we can ask from referees is consistency as then it's an equal playing field for both teams. If the game is stopped for what appears to be a head injury once, it should be stopped all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Ebbs

Looked both offside and then looked like he went down easily. Haven't seen replays so I'm only going on first viewing.

How could the ref know that the Dundalk player had a head injury or not. Looked like he went down holding his head. All we can ask from referees is consistency as then it's an equal playing field for both teams. If the game is stopped for what appears to be a head injury once, it should be stopped all the time.

He did go down a little easy but Dundalk player (McHugh?) went straight into him and bundled him over. No way offside either.

Rice clashed heads, the ref seen that. He also seen that twigg didnt raise an arm or there was no clash of heads. The ref was consistent on both occassions. He made two correct decisions as the second wasnt a head injury.

No idea what Peno Dundalk should have had? Quigley falling over himself in the box? When he got up he didnt even complain he knew he just ran out of steam. If its the Sullivan challenge in the corner of the box, he didnt touch him either.