Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beating your partner... is it ever acceptable?

• 01-09-2011 10:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭

Just after stumbling across a thread over on another forum and my goodness some of the views there are astonishing, with someone even going so far to say its ok to beat the wife if you're not sleeping in the same bed as her.

Other than self defence, I can't think of a good reason to strike out at anyone, let alone a partner. Should we be accepting of other cultures who practice these beliefs, or should we expect them to ditch them to conform to our mores, which from our heritage are judeo/christian?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭oompaloompa

It is never acceptable to lay a hand on anyone regardless of culture etc :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Yeah, if he's just blown your deep undercover operation by telling Montoya something only the police could know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

If any should strike you ask them why. If they shall strike you again run away. Violence begets more violence and should never be an option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

As the wisdom of 'in bruges' teaches us; if she comes at you with a weapon she's fair game.. otherwise big no no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

it does be if your a confident manipulate scumbag,any nights outs witnessing couples walloping each-other i just don't step in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

When it gets to slaps it's time to walk away.
    Simple as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Thread re-opened after req from OP and some content removed from OP.

I was just reading today about some of the things that women in the third world have to go through and it's pretty sickening stuff.
    I will not accept that someone from a different culture beats their child or wife here just because it's ok to do so over there.
    "When in Rome" and all that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Barrt2

never acceptable to physically abuse anyone i guess :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭DjFlin

No. Never. At Anything.

I once beat my GF at bowling. Didnt get any for weeks.

But for reals, No, physical violence is never the answer, for either party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

at fifa? Of course.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

easyeason3 wrote: »
    When it gets to slaps it's time to walk away.
    Simple as that.

I agree, get out - stay out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Well I'm not a punchbag for man or woman and if I'm hit I'll hit back.

Having said that, again man or woman - I'd never strike either without provocation.

I abhor violence - esp. against me.

One thing which sickens me, and I've seen it more times than I could ever remember, is a woman who hits a man knowing full well he most likely won't hit back purely on the basis of her gender.

If you think your good (or bad) enough to give it, you'd better be willing to take it back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

I might as well be honest, I find the muslim religion to be backwards in many ways. Especially when someone is extreme. Keeping down women, women not allowed to show their face in public ... beatings ... ah i could go on.

Its backwards for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

This shouldn't even be a question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Evaex

Having said that, again man or woman - I'd never strike either without provocation.

One thing which sickens me, and I've seen it more times than I could ever remember, is a woman who hits a man knowing full well he most likely won't hit back purely on the basis of her gender.

If you think your good (or bad) enough to give it, you'd better be willing to take it back.

Do you hit back with a proportionate response though? Like if a girl gives you a lame punch, is it okay for you to knock her lights out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

This shouldn't even be a question.

I know , how else do you sort them out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

fair enough, but who would win in a fight between you and manic moran? i've often wondered, would he kick your ass with weaponry, or would you be able to take him on at hand to hand combat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Why would you go out with someone that provokes you to hit them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I gave that bitch a beating, bitches love beatings.

I'm joking of course, personally I don't think it's acceptable to ever hit a woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

help? My missus is raining blows on me right now.. I am on my hunckers backed into a corner, cowering.. protecting my head..

Heeeelp ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭cesc77

Evaex wrote: »
    Do you hit back with a proportionate response though? Like if a girl gives you a lame punch, is it okay for you to knock her lights out?

Are you serious?

The law as far as I am aware will support you in self defence(to a degree).

If a girl slaps you,you may slap back but your slap will or could be a hell of a lot harder than hers.

I find that the less slaps you inflict the better.

If you are abused use your phone as a recording device and tell your friends what is going on.Document everything and let the police know when you feel battered and bruised as opposed to a mutual chest slapping situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

who would win in a fight between you and manic moran?

Well, I'm pretty sure I could kick Dylan Moran's ass despite being a little guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭cesc77

LH Pathe wrote: »
    help? My missus is raining blows on me right now.. I am on my hunckers backed into a corner, cowering.. protecting my head..

Heeeelp ...

Unfunny cnut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭Craebear

Islam treating women like crap?

IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII DON'T BELIEVE IT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

It like the ole saying "What do you say to a woman with two black eyes"? Nothing, You've already told her twice.

*Shame on me :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Lawlesz

Obligatory sexist comment...

Never... From either sex...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

I'm waiting for Damien from Fair City to make an appearance here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

Was the other forum the Landover Baptist church????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

from an army trained mod of self defense?

does the phrase "self discipline" ring any bells? :confused:

there is nothing in my book anyway can be used as a justifiable excuse to hit a woman.

What if the bitch is smacking the sh!t out of you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

A beating? Never.

There might well be certain circumstances where you'll act in self defence, but a beating goes beyond that, and implies a sustained series of blows. It's just brutality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

what are those two things attached to your arse?

oh that's right - LEGS!! you can walk away!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

xsiborg wrote: »

What if she follows you with her ARSE LEGS?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Elmidena

Bit of rough during sex can be quite good, but only if it's common knowledge and not out of the blue! Aside from such a consensual setting, then I don't think it's appropriate. It's easy to say "walk away" til you'd find yourself in that situation. By that stage, esteem and connections to anyone else tend to be burnt off by the OH (man or woman) and it can be a vicious cycle to escape.

I think it's wrong for men to hit women, but no worse than women hitting men (and what they lack in punch torque, they make up with claws, yowza!) I also have no sympathy for rowdy girls that stir cr*p on the basis they're immune to physical damage; they can get what they deserve. If you're gonna dish it, be ready to eat it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

only in the sexual sense is hitting acceptable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Just after stumbling across a thread over on another forum and my goodness some of the views there are astonishing, with someone even going so far to say its ok to beat the wife if you're not sleeping in the same bed as her.

Other than self defence, I can't think of a good reason to strike out at anyone, let alone a partner. Should we be accepting of other cultures who practice these beliefs, or should we expect them to ditch them to conform to our mores, which from our heritage are judeo/christian?

We should expect them to obey the law. Abandoning one set of beliefs for another doesnt change anything and only makes you more susceptible to doing stupid things you read about in some bullshít book.

Theres no difference in what your talking about and an Irish couple moving to Iran adopting Islam and the guy beating his wife because its acceptable and part of their belief system.

Religion itself and the rights people think it gives them is the problem, not the divide between the beliefs of one religion and another.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

there is nothing in my book anyway can be used as a justifiable excuse to hit a woman.

what if I percieve you as one, and hit you - although technically you are not one?

bwahah hypothetical - but seriously, do not hit each other. Woman can hit man back, but that's all. if you really love her, then learn to live with it and take it like a man.

- or restrain whilst pleading for restraint, rather.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

I seen all this in the early 80's with my mother and father.

and before I tell you, I will say that any man that hits or gives a woman a hiding is just a weak c*nt. all you have to do is leave and no one gets hurt.

I grew up with this scenario at age 10/11 as I lived in darndale for 14 years and I used to come home from school and see my mother with blood on her face and black eyes from been beaten from my so-called father, so when he got home from work I got a knife and tried to stab him but he messed me up bad so I could not really do anything plus the cops didn't want to know about family problems back then.

after this day every other day was no different as the olman came home from work or should i say the pub after work and if his dinner was not hot and on the table ready he would go mad, i.e smash plates over my mothers head and also kick her in the head and box her on the face, there were day's when she could not go out because of the hidings she used to get.

this still affects my mental thought to this day but when I got older I could not allow the past to be forgotten as I was 17 years old at this time and he attacked my mother again but I stepped in and almost killed him dead and was arrested by the gardai therafter.

that day was the end of wife beating in my family as he never tried it again.

all I will say is...if there is any women or men that have to deal with this problem, pack your stuff and get out as fast as you can or stay in a friends house if need be to give you time to sort yourself out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Beating anyone really isn't acceptable

Unless it's yourself obviously

But as another poster said this shouldn't even be a question.
    At the same time there's a gas aul lad at home who when he leaves a pub or house always says "Anyways, I must go home and batter the wife", it's hilarious cos he's the most henpecked man known to man.
    but happy out :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Lawlesz

from an army trained mod of self defense?

does the phrase "self discipline" ring any bells? :confused:

Honestly, ridiculous. Some women I have seen fighting are more vicious than men. While I dont condone ever striking a woman, I can see in some situations why it may happen.

As another point; Yes we all know what Makoimi does for a living, but that shouldn't have any bearing on this conversation.

"OK he's army trained, lets kick the f**k out of him"

So, vice versa, he should si down and get slapped round the place?

Yep, perfect rationale...

I'm gonna go ahead and make wild assumptions, here, but I'm imagining you've never had anyone out to actually smash your skull in for whatever reason. This scenario I shall outline does not happen:

Guy: HOLY CRAP STOP HITTING ME!!
    Woman: FUCK YOU, AND TAKE THIS VASE ALSO!! [Throws object at man].
    Guy: I'm going to go over here, now.
    Woman: OK, so, see you later.

EDIT: Post number 666, post count of the beast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

actually, you're wrong there. Generally its wrong to hit a woman. But life is situational. What happens if you had some scumbag skanger coming at you with a bottle. Just because she is a woman "you cant hit her" ? Its all context man.

And dont come back with the BS statement of "i would try to take it out of her hands" - if she was close to you, you'd hit her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Agree with Lawlesz but I also think the principle of proportionality should have a part to play. A slap across the face from an 8 stone girl at her full force doesn't equal a reciprocation of a slap across the face at full force from a 14 stone built man.

But without saying she could be roughly handled and subdued

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

biko wrote: »
    Thread re-opened after req from OP and some content removed from OP.

I was just reading today about some of the things that women in the third world have to go through and it's pretty sickening stuff.
    I will not accept that someone from a different culture beats their child or wife here just because it's ok to do so over there.
    "When in Rome" and all that...

But yet you won't allow a link to another forum on this site where an argument is made for allowing this to happen as a "last resort"? I was reading too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

Sergeant wrote: »
    But yet you won't allow a link to another forum on this site where an argument is made for allowing this to happen as a "last resort"? I was reading too.

The mod who made the comment should be ashamed of himself, those religious forums should be shut down, they are ridiculous

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

I have never been so angry that i would want to slap/ punch my partner, but if I did, I would fully expect a smack back. Equality exists in every situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Have to agree, Ive seen a girl knock a lads tooth out and get away with it cause she was a girl and he was just a quiet lad who was standing up to her boyfriend, I really dont think girls should be let hit lads and it should be treated the same when they do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

LighterGuy wrote: »
    I might as well be honest, I find the muslim religion to be backwards in many ways. Especially when someone is extreme. Keeping down women, women not allowed to show their face in public ... beatings ... ah i could go on.

Its backwards for me.

Im not picking on what you say..its just your point is the easiest for me to start with :)

Twice now in AH,Ive said about my scariest moment or the moment I thought I was going to die...it all started with a single blow.

It ended up with a shotgun to my head and the thing sticking WHEN he pulled the trigger.

I am NOT going to discuss Islam here because at the time,I was,as was the evil monster with the gun, a catholic.

Things like this were hidden away..I mean,who could you tell?
    The catholic church sided with that monster who was my husband,even so much as to help him pay his bills when I ran in the middle of the night with my children.

So please dont think this is a "cultural" or "religious" thing.

The children who go through this?...They're not ok for a long long time.

EDIT: To the OP..No..its never ever acceptable. From either side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

It's not ok to beat anyone but people are a$$holes so it is necessary sometimes. If a girl was attacking me I would first try to restrain her and if I couldn't restrain her or if she didn't calm down then it would be good night sweet princess. I wouldn't hesitate to hit a girl if she was attacking me and why should I? It's called self defence.

POW... right in the kisser.