Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Calving jack

• 31-08-2011 8:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭

Thinking of getting a new calving jack, whats the best one i can get on a budget of 200 to 300 euros and were sells it. Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

mgwhelan wrote: »
    Thinking of getting a new calving jack, whats the best one i can get on a budget of 200 to 300 euros and were sells it. Thanks

The one we have is about 10 year old, cost around €100, and is a Tecnall Calving Jack with the non slip (Moorepark) type head.
    It has been very well tested and is going strong. It's one of the few tools I ever bought hoping never to use it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭darrcow

is that a calving klein jacket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭mgwhelan

Bizzum wrote: »
    The one we have is about 10 year old, cost around €100, and is a Tecnall Calving Jack with the non slip (Moorepark) type head.
    It has been very well tested and is going strong. It's one of the few tools I ever bought hoping never to use it!

neighbor has one similar to yours and the bolt that takes the pressure broke. you said you got no problems with yours, is Tecnall the brand name or the name of that kind of jack.

darrcow wrote: »
    is that a calving klein jacket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

neighbor has one similar to yours and the bolt that takes the pressure broke. you said you got no problems with yours, is Tecnall the brand name or the name of that kind of jack.

we ve one of the them as well, no real problems with it, the moorepark head is essential.

managed to break the ratchet handle in the spring, cow playing, klobber the dumb farmer with flying jack, i ducked, and jack got caught in gate.

the main problem with it is the length of the pin on the head that fits into jack, we had to extend this to about 9 inches, was a pain when you had cow ready to pull, and you'd lift jack to find head had fallen off, sorted now though.

dar31 wrote: »
    we ve one of the them as well, no real problems with it, the moorepark head is essential.

managed to break the ratchet handle in the spring, cow playing, klobber the dumb farmer with flying jack, i ducked, and jack got caught in gate.

the main problem with it is the length of the pin on the head that fits into jack, we had to extend this to about 9 inches, was a pain when you had cow ready to pull, and you'd lift jack to find head had fallen off, sorted now though.

How much did you give for it bizzum payed €100 10 year ago so probable cost more now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

How much did you give for it bizzum payed €100 10 year ago so probable cost more now.

mine's not much younger than that either, cant remember cost of it.
    bought it on the basis of the best one available at the time, as i lost a few calves with the previous one that the ratchet started slipping on.
    there could be better ones now.
    how much hardship do you have to endure to be worth spending a few extra quid.
    decide what kind of jack you want, then shop around for best price

dar31 wrote: »
    mine's not much younger than that either, cant remember cost of it.
    bought it on the basis of the best one available at the time, as i lost a few calves with the previous one that the ratchet started slipping on.
    there could be better ones now.
    how much hardship do you have to endure to be worth spending a few extra quid.
    decide what kind of jack you want, then shop around for best price

will do thanks for your replies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭charityboy

pakalasa wrote: »
    have one of these with years , well worth the money as dar31 said replace pin on the head with a longer one and you will never look back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

charityboy wrote: »
    have one of these with years , well worth the money as dar31 said replace pin on the head with a longer one and you will never look back

I have the one Pak highlighted there, got it from Farmrite can't remember what it cost but they posted it down, great yoke, I had it two days when I took a very large char bull calf backways at 4am ... It paid for itself first visit... I'd have never got him out without it ... I read somewhere you can utilise the equivalent of the strength of six men pulling in the same direction when used correctly!

I've calved cows on my own with the jack, but a second man (or woman) is handy! Serious pressure it can put on too. But, like many things in life, there is a knack to using one. It's important to know when to put on the pressure, and how to apply uneven pressure to slightly turn a calf, and when to stop. But anyone calving a few gets handy at it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

I've calved cows on my own with the jack, but a second man (or woman) is handy! Serious pressure it can put on too. But, like many things in life, there is a knack to using one. It's important to know when to put on the pressure, and how to apply uneven pressure to slightly turn a calf, and when to stop. But anyone calving a few gets handy at it!

The second man(the ole lad!) is a gift though... Leaves you a hand free to open her out

Bodacious wrote: »
    The second man(the ole lad!) is a gift though... Leaves you a hand free to open her out

I tend to do that before I introduce the jack!

The 2nd pair of hands really comes good if the jack slips though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭LostCovey

I have had that one for nearly 20 years, its had a lot of use, absolutely fantastic, really well built, never slipped, never let me down.

Before that I used one of the older design with the round steel shaft and the smooth "thread", rather than the teeth and the squarer aluminium (i think) shaft on this Tecnall jack. The older ones were awful things for slipping.

The only flaw I have of mine is that the Moorepark head was made of very lightly galvanised steel, and it has rusted badly, but works fine (stiff joints on it now). the shaft and ratchet are still like new.

Super piece of design, I am delighted to see it is unchanged, a great endorsement of a product to keep it exactly the same for so long. Right up there with the vice grips as a unique product where I regularly say a small prayer for whoever invented it!

LostCovey

LostCovey wrote: »
    The older design with the smooth "thread", rather than the teeth were awful things for slipping.

Just to clarify: The slipping I was talking about is not the rachet mechanism itself but the head of the jack slipping down along the cow (If standing). I would often deploy the second man just to hold the jack up from slipping!

Sorry yes Bizzum I knew that, but if you had one of those earlier b*stard jacks you would have had both kinds of slipping to worry about, the head and the ratchet, as they came with that God-awful plastic T-shaped head.

My old jack found a perfect use, as heavy reinforcement in the concrete at the foot of a skulling gate!

I wouldn't wish it on anyone, with all I ever cursed on it.

LC

[QUOTE=LostCovey;74146471 if you had one of those earlier b*stard jacks you would have had both kinds of slipping to worry about, the head and the ratchet, as they came with that God-awful plastic T-shaped head.[/QUOTE]

I think they used to be called the "Brush head" type. Not a good job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

We still have the old style calving jack from the 1970's. It uses 2 long ropes which ate pulled on wind around handles. Have been tempted to go for one of the modern type ratchet jacks, but the old jack has never let us down.

Was googleing for a picture of it, but can't find one so i guess they're not making them anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭flatout11

to be honest lads i wouldnt go for that swuar type shaft wioth the moorepark head, i have used them a few times for neighbours and on occaision have ended up going back for my own
    we use the hk design (round barrell) good puling action one leg at a time
    flat - brush head, i have found that the cradle is not that useful for large sucklers - too bloody awkward

flatout11,
    Do you know the name of the Calving Jack that has the round main shaft, rather than the square shaft, as on the Technall jack, as in photo (from www.magenta.ie site);

calving%20jack%20inc%20moorepark%20head.jpg.jpg

I have only ever use the round shaft one myself. It was an old one my neighbour bought secondhand. I though it was a great job the time I used it. I have never used the square shaft type, so can't compare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭flatout11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

over on bff they reckon the Vink was by far the best.
    vink_jack_1_1_1.jpg
    not cheap at 300euro though and hopefully would only have to seldom use one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Justin McCarthy on calving jacks..... ' you'I do more good by the way you feed the cow in the three months precalving, than you'I ever do with a calving jack' :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

reilig wrote: »
    We still have the old style calving jack from the 1970's. It uses 2 long ropes which ate pulled on wind around handles. Have been tempted to go for one of the modern type ratchet jacks, but the old jack has never let us down.

Was googleing for a picture of it, but can't find one so i guess they're not making them anymore.

ya we had one of those for years, the bottom of it broke off for a finish, have the ratchet now

decided on getting the technall calving jack after. Got it last wednesday for €125 in my local farm store

2d19qoi.jpg

Had to use it a lot sooner than i thought. one of our LIM's decided to calve there today, after a hour of leaving her at it brought her into the calving shed. I found it hard to keep the head of the jack in place until some help arrived then she went down on use when we were at the hips, lucky enough we were able to stay going and got him out, big lump of a fella i can see where it's a two man job like ye said. Over all found it a big improvement compared with our old one which could of broke he's legs in such a hard pull.

mother and calf
    9jdsn9.jpg

decided on getting the technall calving jack after. Got it last wednesday for €125 in my local farm store

Had to use it a lot sooner than i thought. one of our LIM's decided to calve there today, after a hour of leaving her at it brought her into the calving shed. I found it hard to keep the head of the jack in place until some help arrived then she went down on use when we were at the hips, lucky enough we were able to stay going and got him out, big lump of a fella i can see where it's a two man job like ye said. Over all found it a big improvement compared with our old one which could of broke he's legs in such a hard pull.

mother and calf

Most broken legs are no fault of the jack, but of the technique, in my opinion.

If you use the ratchet ONLY to take up slack, and move the calf by catching the end of the bar and pushing it down (one person only, because the leverage is enormous), you will never break legs. I was shown this a long time ago by a very wise man, and I have pulled some very big calves without any accidents doing it this way.

Ratcheting the calf out can break legs or do other damage with any jack.

LostCovey

Guys,
    Do you not find the main bar on the Technall too big and rough, with the sharp edges, to handle it comfortably. I picked up one recently in the store and I didn't like the feel of it. I prefered the feel of the round shafted ones.

Guys,
    Do you not find the main bar on the Technall too big and rough, with the sharp edges, to handle it comfortably. I picked up one recently in the store and I didn't like the feel of it. I prefered the feel of the round shafted ones.

I suppose all these things are a personal preference. The big coarse cogs are the reason it doesn't slip, and the reason that dropping it for example doesn't do any major damage to the cogs & mechanism.

It is not a delicate instrument and is built for a heavy job.

The fact the design has been unchanged for so long suggests thaey are on a winner (I think mine is at least 17 years old, possibly 20).

I am not on commission, but I like it!

LC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I prefered the feel of the round shafted ones

hmmm.. really?

Most of the actual 'Calving' is done by leverage rather than ratcheting. You can put on some pressure with leverage.
    I did break a calfs leg once, 18mths ago. One of the calving ropes snapped under pressure and I slipped sideways and done the harm. The calf went ahead well after and you'd never know it was broken now!
    The moral of the story is this though. Throw away those light white calving ropes and buy a set of the heavier Red/Blue ones, they're a much better job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 johnny1

Your right Bizzum, the heavier red/blue ropes are a lot easier on the calf and last a lot longer. We dont use anything else with the technall jack. i get them here http://www.agridirect.ie/index.php/veterinary-equipment/cattle/calving/vink-nylon-calving-ropes-pair.html

johnny1 wrote: »
    Your right Bizzum, the heavier red/blue ropes are a lot easier on the calf and last a lot longer. We dont use anything else with the technall jack. i get them here http://www.agridirect.ie/index.php/veterinary-equipment/cattle/calving/vink-nylon-calving-ropes-pair.html

Them's the very one's Johnny!

Was thinking of upgrading my jack to the Vink jack myself. Have a technal jack but tends to slip down at the back. The head on the vink is supposed to hold better on the pin bones. Is it worth the investment.

johnny1 wrote: »
    Was thinking of upgrading my jack to the Vink jack myself. Have a technal jack but tends to slip down at the back. The head on the vink is supposed to hold better on the pin bones. Is it worth the investment.

I've never used the Vink jack Johnny.
    I wonder would they be available on line? Maybe Agridirect would have them?
    Are Agridirect any good?
    Did you ever buy off Agridirect?
    Isn't is a lovely word.............Agridirect..........Agridirect...........Agridirect
    I can't get it out of my head now:D

Only bought off them a couple of times. Had it within a few days so i was happy enough. Also rang them once as i wanted more info on dosing and they were quite helpful. You have to shop around these days though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Most of the actual 'Calving' is done by leverage rather than ratcheting. You can put on some pressure with leverage.
    I did break a calfs leg once, 18mths ago. One of the calving ropes snapped under pressure and I slipped sideways and done the harm. The calf went ahead well after and you'd never know it was broken now!
    The moral of the story is this though. Throw away those light white calving ropes and buy a set of the heavier Red/Blue ones, they're a much better job.

Would you not move the ropes up above the knee with a tuff pull bizzum. I always would. Its a lot easier to control the pull and less of a chance of breaking the calfs leg aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Aru

Ive tryed a good few types at this stage(I'm a vet),and my personal favourite is the Technal type jack.
    THe Hk round bodies can be tricky to release pressure on and in general can be a bit awkward to use, the vink is a very good jack but I found the exerted even more pressure than the teachal on the cow with less manual strength needed and many of the calves pulled really should have been sections...ie seen a good few downer cows after that jack,thought that might have been just the farmers in question. Good in a tricky situation but I personally dont like them over the technal. Plus in a very very bad situation on the technal you can attach a lever to the handle to allow you more ratcheting power..you cant do that on the vink.You have the same high force all along.

Technal is a nice easy to ratchet shaft,easy to release and reposition,can be halved in a a tricky situation ie if the cow goes down awkwardly....and if you are feeling the pressure on that jack early on unless the cows got a very tight bearing you are as well to start thinking of the side option. Didnt find the head slipped that much than any of the others, but then again Im never alone when im using the jack.

Agree as well that the leverage is as important as the ratchet pulling!and the coloured ropes..great job those.

Attaching a jack is the equivalent of attaching the tractor, its just more direct force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Parishlad

LostCovey wrote: »
    I have had that one for nearly 20 years, its had a lot of use, absolutely fantastic, really well built, never slipped, never let me down.

Before that I used one of the older design with the round steel shaft and the smooth "thread", rather than the teeth and the squarer aluminium (i think) shaft on this Tecnall jack. The older ones were awful things for slipping.

The only flaw I have of mine is that the Moorepark head was made of very lightly galvanised steel, and it has rusted badly, but works fine (stiff joints on it now). the shaft and ratchet are still like new.

Super piece of design, I am delighted to see it is unchanged, a great endorsement of a product to keep it exactly the same for so long. Right up there with the vice grips as a unique product where I regularly say a small prayer for whoever invented it!

LostCovey

Same story here. The head has completely rusted up but apart from being a bit stiff it works fine. Was thinking of getting a replacement head and have seen them on Magenta Direct for around €25. Full kit (Moorepark Head and Square shaft) is €120 and was even thinking of getting it as a backup if the old one ever gives in.