Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tipping

• 31-08-2011 11:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭

What's the point of tipping?
    I only ever tip if it's included in the charge, or if I believe that a person has does an excellent job.
    I never understand why only certain services are tipped.
    It's very un-pc not to tip, but I don't care!

http://www.mint.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/110302-MINT-TIPSa.png

(Waits for 'funny' jokes about penis tips, cow tipping etc..
    Newsflash - they're not funny lads!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

What did the leper say to the hooker? Keep the Tip!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

It doesn't make a lot of sense in Ireland where the minimum wage is very high, whereas in other countries where there is no minimum wage the staff need these tips to survive.

But in saying that, good service with a smile always deserves a tip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭FetchTheGin

Here's a tip, shut up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭ronaneire

Best tip ever.......

Don't stand up in a canoe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

(Waits for 'funny' jokes about penis tips, cow tipping etc..
    Newsflash - they're not funny lads!)

This is just the tip of the iceberg
    MugMugs wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭vangoz

I'n Japan its an insult to tip..... its great :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

I also kinda hate the way waiters seem like they are sometimes only nice or overly nice just for the fact that they want a better tip, and then when you leave it or give the person the tip you are wondering if its enough.

but ye I dont really tip too much but I do say keep the change to taxis and pizza delivery people just to round it up sometimes.

Tipping? It's not just a city in China you know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

What's the point of tipping?
    I only ever tip if it's included in the charge, or if I believe that a person has does an excellent job.

Why did I ask a question and then answer it myself?
    I guess its because I asked a question and answered it myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

All those tips go to pay for the up keep of Tipperary.

No?

Hangs head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

Just back from living in the US for a while and the tipping thing there drives me insane. Since it's expected even crappy service apparently 'deserves' 15% of the bill. When tipping becomes de facto mandatory it sort of defeats the point of the whole concept.

Same views as Mr. Pink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭DjFlin

I used to work in retail, and the odd tirme people would try to tip me. This one time, I had helped a guy decide what to get his son for Christmas. Off he went to the tills to buy an Xbox. Comes back to me 5 minutes later, Xbox in hand, and offers me a tenner for helping him out. I didn't accept it, but jaysus was he persistent.

It seemed really strange to me, I always tip my waiter in the restaurant/bar when the service is good, but I never thought people tip retail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

Here's a good tip
    Don't eat yellow snow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Eever

MugMugs wrote: »

I tip 10% if the service was grand. I guess because that's what's expected. I'l tip more if the service was great or they somehow went above and beyond. But if the service is crap I won't tip at all. If someone has been rude and unhelpful I have no idea why someone would tip them. My boyfriend does it automatically. We'll go out somewhere and the waiter could be downright nasty and the service in general absolute crap and out of habit he throws down 10%. He kinda goes by a "10% for crap service and 15% for good service".

I tip waiters & delivery drivers. I don't tip hairdressers or taxi drivers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

I only ever tip when I have too many black bags and they won't fit in the Wheelie bin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,071 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I usually leave about €2-3 if the service is decent. Can't be arsed doing the whole 12.5 or 15% thing. If they expect a fixed amount to be paid as a tip they should include it on the bill as a service charge.

When I lived in the US I used to get some seriously dirty looks from waiters if I only gave a few dollars tip instead of the holy 15% which might only be 50 cent extra. Some places over there actually include a service charge and still expect a tip.. fcuk that. Larry David had it right, man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Beggared

If you are already paying €10.00 for a burger made with €1.50 worth of meat I can't see the justification of charging an extra 12.5% service charge to eat it seated at a table. Never mind the gall of expecting another tip for carrying it to the table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

jester77 wrote: »
    It doesn't make a lot of sense in Ireland where the minimum wage is very high, whereas in other countries where there is no minimum wage the staff need these tips to survive.

....but why should they have to get tips to supplement their wages? Surely the boss should be paying them a decent salary!

If I was in a country where there was no minimum wage I'd be asking my employer for a fair wage and not for tips. So many employers get away with murder! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

Eever wrote: »
    I tip 10% if the service was grand. I guess because that's what's expected.

Why not tip because you want to tip and not because it is expected!! Makes no sense to me to do it because it is 'expected' :confused:

Who says it is expected?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Eever

kingtut wrote: »
    Why not tip because you want to tip and not because it is expected!! Makes no sense to me to do it because it is 'expected' :confused:

Who says it is expected?

I don't know really, I just thought it was the norm. I think I'd feel a bit mean walking out without tipping if the waiter did nothing wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

If you leave the restaurant without paying anything, then you don't have to worry about tipping!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

I like to think of a tip not as a gratuity for a service already carried out but as insurance of continuing good/exceptional service. If I find a place that I like then tipping gets me better service on return visits.

I buy barstaff a drink every now and then so that on the hectic weekends when the punters are 3 deep clammering for redbulls I can just stand at the back, nod to 'my' barman and carry on chatting with friends in the sure knowledge my drink order is being reddied and will be brought to me. Thats the service I tip for.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Retrovertigo

I've a tip for you, try using the search function before starting a thread that's already been done to the death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

OldGoat wrote: »
    I like to think of a tip not as a gratuity for a service already carried out but as insurance of continuing good/exceptional service. If I find a place that I like then tipping gets me better service on return visits.

I buy barstaff a drink every now and then so that on the hectic weekends when the punters are 3 deep clammering for redbulls I can just stand at the back, nod to 'my' barman and carry on chatting with friends in the sure knowledge my drink order is being reddied and will be brought to me. Thats the service I tip for.

A bit like protection money then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

kingtut wrote: »
    ....but why should they have to get tips to supplement their wages? Surely the boss should be paying them a decent salary!

If I was in a country where there was no minimum wage I'd be asking my employer for a fair wage and not for tips. So many employers get away with murder! :mad:

Welcome to America. Waiters might only be paid $1.00 an hour or something and expected to make the rest up in tips because the restaurant owners are too mean to pay decent wages.

I don't believe that a tip is a tip if its added to the bill. You should tip because service is good, and you want to tip. Not because you have to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Ya if I know the waiter/waitress I will tip them and if they gave a good service I definitely tip them! Either tip them a euro or two or tip them what ever change I get when I pay for my meal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Why not til the girl at the till in tesco, or the lady in the shoe shop, or the security guy in the shopping center, or the receptionist at the hotel your staying at?
    I just don't get it.

Whenever I go to dinner with friends (which isn't often mind), but I always feel pressured into tipping.

Know it's not important, and done to death, just bothers me.

How do people feel about tip jars? A friend of mine hates them, apparently one of the waitresses is a horrible b*tch, and she still ends up getting a tip because the jar is split. On the other hand of course, it means the cooks get a tip, which is good, because they are the ones making your food after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

All those tips go to pay for the up keep of Tipperary.

Tip...........................That place is a tip...............................

johnayo wrote: »
    Tip...........................That place is a tip...............................

Thats because they get no tips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

If I liked food - I tip.
    If don't like food - I don't tip.

Unfortunatly chefs rarely get tips. Trust me I know...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

I tip, greenbacks in the garter baby......:D

If the music's good, the drinks are strong and the views are exceptional I can tip all night.....:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

I read before that in some places the service charge on a bill isn't given to the staff, anyone know if this is true?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

I only tip if the staff are nice. Dont mind doing it then because its a change from the usual unmannerly bastards. Most teenage girls shouldnt be allowed to serve the public.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I only tip taxi drivers.

(I may or may not be acting the bollox).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

Cant stand Tipping.

Its NOT America its Ireland. There should be no tip jars and no expectations of a tip anyplace.

I goto McDonalds and buy a Burger and there is no Tip Jar or no pressure to give a tip. Workers there ask me what I want and give it to me, if its not ready they drop it down to the table.

I goto Eddy Rockets, I'm made wait at the entrance before being shown to a seat!!! somebody asks me what I want at the table and brings it down to me, and there is a pressure to leave a tip at the counter.

I find it difficult to get my head around the whole American Based system.

You go out to eat your expected to tip a certain %
    yet you go into a shop and your not expected to tip.

The whole thing with Bell Boys?? or being in a hotel where
    someone shows you to your room? and your expected to give them
    money for doing so ?

I went to Boston years ago on a Business trip (flew all that way to look
    at a website :rolleyes: ) Had not got a clue about tipping.
    I ended up tipping a Bar Maid 5USD each and every time I bought a drink
    being clueless about what I was expected to do and not wanting to appear stingy. (She remembered what I drank for the whole week)

Growing up I never saw Tip Jar's any place in Ireland.
    around the mid 90's I noticed all these Coffee Houses opening
    which sold VERY overpriced Tea and Coffee and the likes of sandwich like food. These were the only places I saw Tip Jars or ashtrays at the counter where you would Pay your bill after you ate.

Another thing thats creeping in lately in Ireland is places advertising offers for services
    and not including the Vat in the price.

~B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

used to work in NYC as a bartender for 3 nights and made a steady 1k every week.

Tipping rocks

bullets wrote: »
    Cant stand Tipping.

Its NOT America its Ireland. There should be no tip jars and no expectations of a tip anyplace.

I go to McDonalds and buy a Burger and there is no Tip Jar or no pressure to give a tip. Workers there ask me what I want and give it to me, if its not ready they drop it down to the table.

I go to Eddy Rockets, I'm made wait at the entrance before being shown to a seat!!! somebody asks me what I want at the table and brings it down to me, and there is a pressure to leave a tip at the counter.

I find it difficult to get my head around the whole American Based system.
    go to
    You go out to eat your expected to tip a certain %
    yet you go into a shop and your not expected to tip.

The whole thing with Bell Boys?? or being in a hotel where
    someone shows you to your room? and your expected to give them
    money for doing so ?

I went to Boston years ago on a Business trip (flew all that way to look
    at a website :rolleyes: ) Had not got a clue about tipping.
    I ended up tipping a Bar Maid 5USD each and every time I bought a drink
    being clueless about what I was expected to do and not wanting to appear stingy. (She remembered what I drank for the whole week)

Growing up I never saw Tip Jar's any place in Ireland.
    around the mid 90's I noticed all these Coffee Houses opening
    which sold VERY overpriced Tea and Coffee and the likes of sandwich like food. These were the only places I saw Tip Jars or ashtrays at the counter where you would Pay your bill after you ate.

Another thing thats creeping in lately in Ireland is places advertising offers for services
    and not including the Vat in the price.

~B

FYP :P

Its about service, if you thought the service was great, you might want to give them a little something extra. Thats why you dont tip in a McDonalds/BurgerKing/Shop.

After every school year students give their teachers gifts, that could be considered a type of tipping.

But as you say, it is an American thing. It doesn't originate from Bus boys, but the entire service industry, so bus boys, waiters, etc. The reason for it is that the American rate of pay was/is quite low. A lot of people rely on tipping because their pay just isn't enough. And if it encourages them to do a good job, I'm all for it. In America, there are actually two minimum wages. If your working a non-tipping/commission job, you will get $10 an hour, but if you work a job where you get commission, you'll get $5. (Not actual figures of course, just examples.

That brings us to Ireland, where the minimum wage is actually pretty high in comparison to other places, and everyone has the same minimum wage, so the concept of tipping is a little silly.

And as I said before, people can tip if they like. But all this mandatory tipping stuff, utter nonsense. if its on the bill, its a charge, not a tip.

gsxr1 wrote: »
    used to work in NYC as a bartender for 3 nights and made a steady 1k every week.

Tipping rocks

Well thats NYC, I cant imagine you'd get that much anywhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,660 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Sitec wrote: »
    Thought this was about a serious matter.

Like tipping cows.

Ah those were the days... :D

*Sheds a tear*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

I know a lad who got chased down a road in New York for not tipping a taxi driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Arnold Layne

I don't tip Taxi Drivers as they are getting paid the fare to drop me from A to B.

I do not tip barbers as I am already paying them to cut my hair, and the prices are not cheap. Would they give me money back if I was not happy with the cut? Not a chance!

I do not tip in restaurants where it is stated that a service charge is included. I do tip waiting staff in restaurants where this is not the case providing the staff are deserving of it.

I do not see the point in tipping someone for doing what they are supposed to do and are getting a decent wage out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Lawlesz

Lived in Canada the last few months, them f*****s expect a tip, regardless of how well they have done their job. I have even heard the bar maids in the local complaining when the customer doesn't tip. Surely its at the customers discretion whether its a tip? People are not obligated to tip.

Nobody comes into my work place to tip me regardless of how well I do my job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

I just give out Q-tips, because you just can't buy good advice.

Although I did use to tip the barber, but that was more so protection money than anything else...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭paky

the noodle bar on talbot street has a tip jar at the counter. the place is pretty much fast food/take away and they have the gall to ask for a tip? why would u tip them for?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭paky

Lawlesz wrote: »
    Lived in Canada the last few months, them f*****s expect a tip, regardless of how well they have done their job. I have even heard the bar maids in the local complaining when the customer doesn't tip. Surely its at the customers discretion whether its a tip? People are not obligated to tip.

Nobody comes into my work place to tip me regardless of how well I do my job.

i use to work as a dishwasher at the back of restaurant, cleaning all the greasy sh.it off pots and pans and dumping animal carcasses and stuff. the waitress and cashier use to get together at the end of the day and count their tips. anyone in the back kitchen use the get fcuk all.

where is the logic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

When I went to New York for the first time, I found it hard to get used to the money, with all the dollars being the same colour and shape etc. When I went to a bar, I awkwardly fumbled through my money every time I got a drink, looking for tip money. I also left it out on the counter so I could keep an eye on it, not realising that everyone else's tips were on the bar. At regular intervals, the bar man did a trawl of the counter collecting all the tips up. I had left some of my own change on the counter accidentally. He hoovered up a $20 bill that was in front of me. I had to stop him in his tracks to get it back. It made me think. Tipping is ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭m.j.w

I do usually tip when i go out but one time in salou on holidays i went to an italian resteraunt for dinner. after waiting about 20 minutes to order, both pizzas came out with the wrong toppings. I was cracking up because I was starving so I didnt tip anything when it came to the bill. We left and the waiter ran out shouting at us saying we hadnt paid. He said we didnt pay the service charge and I said they didnt desrve it because the service was poor and he went mad at me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Lawlesz

Also, were working outside a cafe, and I went in to get a snack for myself and the two boys I was working with. Grabbed 3 bottles of coke from the fridge, and 3 Kit Kats off the shelf thingy, put them on the counter. She punched in the amount on the till, I paid it over, and as she hadn't moved from the spot I didn't see the need to tip. She actually had the cheek to ask for one.

She never moved - I gathered up the stuff I wanted, its not like she had to make me a sandwich or actually do any work, wheres the sense in that?