Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sheriff YC suspect...

• 30-08-2011 7:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭

There was something dodgy going on in the recent FAI cop match in Tolka and it had nothing to do with Shelbourne

Eligibility doubt over Sheriff YC player
    0 commentsby Extratime Team
    Tue, Aug 30 2011
    The FAI have announced that Sheriff YC may have played an ineligible player in their 3-2 victory over Shelbourne in the FAI Cup. The Domestic Committee have arranged for a hearing on Friday September 2nd to discuss the situation. The statement from the FAI reads in full:

The Domestic Committee of the Football Association of Ireland was today made aware of a possible player eligibility issue in relation to Sheriff YC following their recent FAI Ford Cup match against Shelbourne FC on August 26. The Domestic Committee has written today to Sheriff YC, the Athletic Union League and the Competition Manager requesting their attendance at a meeting on Friday September 2, 2011.

We will bring you more on this as we get it....

http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/6554/eligibility-doubt-over-sheriff-yc-player/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,272 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

Seems there were some unusual bets going on, which drew a lot of attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

titanic-newspaper-article-3.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭invinciblePRSTV

Methinks the lady doth protest too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Paulw wrote: »
    Seems there were some unusual bets going on, which drew a lot of attention.

Paddy Power were hit badly by it, people had even backed Shels H/T Sherriff F/T at big odds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

titanic-newspaper-article-3.jpg

That's about the 17th million time I've seen that joke. It was barely funny the first time.
    I do however feel the idiotic posts deserved to be slagged. Something original though. And re-reading it it wasn't that idiotic. It wasn't previously mentioned in the thread. Not up to your usual best, Tangy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭AstonMartin

ffs. it had more to do with the odds being bigger than they should have been and people seeing a value bet.

the only dodgy thing was whatever happened with the paddy power traders. i heard they have a new sportsbook head manager/odds compiler who priced it up with outdated information.

BOHtox wrote: »
    I do however feel the idiotic posts deserved to be slagged. Something original though. And re-reading it it wasn't that idiotic. It wasn't previously mentioned in the thread. Not up to your usual best, Tangy!

You have me lost here. And what do you mean my usual best? I haven't posted here in weeks. Unless you're watchin me elsewhere :eek:

figure of speech.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

There was something dodgy going on in the recent FAI cop match in Tolka and it had nothing to do with Shelbourne

Could you mean something else dodgy?

dfx- wrote: »
    Could you mean something else dodgy?

Don't know what you're talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Sherrif out of cup, 2 unregistered players. Unlike shels to complain over something like :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Sherrif out of cup, 2 unregistered players. Unlike shels to complain over something like :pac:

You're right, clubs should just be allowed to break rules on eligibility.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭bamboozling

Typical LOI, one major fúck up after the other. If it's not administration, match fixing then it's eligability scandals.

Sheriff YC are not in the LoI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Any link to Sheriff's expulsion?

Get that ****in' into ya.

It also happens in non-league English football the whole time. Clubs with very little administration staff getting docked points or kicked out of competitions for similar offences. Any chance to have a go at the league of Ireland, eh?

Good comment. It also happens in non-league English football the whole time. Clubs with very little administration staff getting docked points or kicked out of competitions for similar offences. Any chance to have a go at the league of Ireland, eh?

I disagree. This kind of thing is always happening within Irish football. When was the last time a non league team in England was thrown out of the FA cup after beating a one time great but now not so great former league champion over eligibility issues?

Well I never said it had to be that specific. It doesn't really happen all the time in Ireland, can't remember the last time it did tbh, but I remember a few English examples.

Bury in 2006
    Droylsden in 2009
    And one I googled - Liverpool ladies in 2009 also.

That's three in the last 5 years.

BOOM!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,289 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Well I never said it had to be that specific. It doesn't really happen all the time in Ireland, can't remember the last time it did tbh, but I remember a few English examples.

Bury in 2006
    Droylsden in 2009
    And one I googled - Liverpool ladies in 2009 also.

That's three in the last 5 years.

BOOM!
    Stinger on Mr Uninformed above you.

Nothing's better then seeing a troll getting owned!:cool:

I disagree. This kind of thing is always happening within Irish football.

Give us a few examples there, even one example from each of the last 5 seasons would be good, if you can. Of either match fixing, or player ineligibility issues. One example from each of the last five seasons is as loose a definition of "always" as most rational and normal people would accept I suppose.

Otherwise, stop posting such ill-informed nonsense in threads where you have obviously haven't the first clue about the subject. :rolleyes:

I'm willing to bet you can't provide those examples, and I'm also willing to bet that you'll either not post in this thread again, or else offer some other bolloxology that you again clearly don't have a clue about.

Jesus fcking christ. "Always happening". Such bullsht. Another example of the kind of thing that we have to put up with in any thread about the LoI, and another example of something that will be swept under the carpet I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,061 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I disagree. This kind of thing is always happening within Irish football.

My mate's son's under 9 side got deducted six points last season. Was the difference between them finishing fifth and sixth.

Shocking stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭smackbunnybaby

Zebra3 wrote: »
    My mate's son's under 9 side got deducted six points last season. Was the difference between them finishing fifth and sixth.

Shocking stuff.

Intertoto Cup for them so instead of Europa League

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Nobody in this thread cares what you think.

A microcosm of the forum at large, I would say.

Intertoto Cup for them so instead of Europa League

Long pre-season. They weren't happy.

And to think Bamboozling is up for nomination to the PL committee. Not getting my vote anyway.

Des wrote: »
    Give us a few examples there, even one example from each of the last 5 seasons would be good, if you can. Of either match fixing, or player ineligibility issues. One example from each of the last five seasons is as loose a definition of "always" as most rational and normal people would accept I suppose.

Otherwise, stop posting such ill-informed nonsense in threads where you have obviously haven't the first clue about the subject. :rolleyes:

I'm willing to bet you can't provide those examples, and I'm also willing to bet that you'll either not post in this thread again, or else offer some other bolloxology that you again clearly don't have a clue about.

Jesus fcking christ. "Always happening". Such bullsht. Another example of the kind of thing that we have to put up with in any thread about the LoI, and another example of something that will be swept under the carpet I suppose.

Grand job, Fairview Rangers thrown out of the cup in 2003, admittedly not last 5 years but is in the recent past,

Look at Derry City getting demoted over player eligibiliyy issues in 2009,

Cork and Drogheda getting deducted points in 2008,

Longford Town couldn't even meet licensing requirements in 2007 for fúck sake,

In 2006 Shamrock Rovers were deducted points for player eligibility issues as were Bohs and if I rememeber correctly Derry were lucky to escape punishment for another player eligibility problem.

Is that enough?

Also I refute the claim that I post 'bolloxology' and that I'm illinformed on the subject. I assure you Des , I'm not.
    Zebra3 wrote: »

Shocking stuff.

Yeah, my point exactly. This is typical of what is happening within Irish football currently.
    stovelid wrote: »
    Nobody in this thread cares what you think.

A microcosm of the forum at large, I would say.

No need for that now. I was under the impression this was a discussion forum.

What makes you think your own opinion is of much value?
    And to think Bamboozling is up for nomination to the PL committee. Not getting my vote anyway.

I nominated myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

In 2006 Shamrock Rovers were deducted points for player eligibility issues

Wrong.

And Derry in 2009 was for irregular contracts, not ineligible players.

Because more often than not, it's not shite and wind-ups.

The issue isn't cock-ups and so forth in the LOI: just that you imply that it only happens in the LOI.

For a more recent example, isn't the Celtic and Sion result now in doubt because of player ineligibility?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Longford Town couldn't even meet licensing requirements in 2007 for fúck sake,

That's a good thing, if the FFP rules are run correctly will you say the same about all countries where a team is punished?

stovelid wrote: »
    Wrong.

And Derry in 2009 was for irregular contracts, not ineligible players.

Because more often than not, it's not shite and wind-ups.

The issue isn't cock-ups and so forth in the LOI: just that you imply that it only happens in the LOI.

For a more recent example, isn't the Celtic and Sion result now in doubt because of player ineligibility?

First of all I don't do wind ups and rarely talk shíte.

I think the issues is to with the fúck ups that happen in Irish football.

I never said that it doesn't happen anywhere else. Please find a quote where I said that or it will be proved that you are making it up.

Yes that match is under investigation, however this kind of scenario happens far more frequently in Irish football than it does in other Western European leagues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Yeah, Europe's close to perfect alright.

Dutch Eerste Division, 2010/11 season (18 team league);

RBC: -3 points
    Zwolle: -1 points
    AGOVV: -9 points
    Veendam: -4 points
    Cambuur: -3 points
    Dordrecht: -4 points
    MVV: -8 points
    Fortuna Sittard: -2 points
    Almere City: -6 points

Töpher wrote: »
    Yeah, Europe's close to perfect alright.

Dutch Eerste Division, 2010/11 season (18 team league);

RBC: -3 points
    Zwolle: -1 points
    AGOVV: -9 points
    Veendam: -4 points
    Cambuur: -3 points
    Dordrecht: -4 points
    MVV: -8 points
    Fortuna Sittard: -2 points
    Almere City: -6 points

That's second division. We're dealing with premier divisions mainly.

Sheriff are nowhere near the premier division????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

The equivalent level to the Championship in England, hardly a few lads kicking a ball about in a park to be fair.

bohsman wrote: »
    Sheriff are nowhere near the premier division????

Hence why I said premier divisions mainly. You may have noticed we were also talking about national cups. Then again you probably didn't.

Töpher wrote: »
    The equivalent level to the Championship in England, hardly a few lads kicking a ball about in a park to be fair.

The equivalant league level or equivalant quality level?

Because if you are using the equivalant league level then isn't Irish First Division the same level of the Championship?

Hence why I said premier divisions mainly. You may have noticed we were also talking about national cups. Then again you probably didn't.

Yea, I believe your statement was that it was happening in the LOI as per usual when discussing a non LOI team. You've been trying to shift the goalposts to suit your argument since then.

dreamers75 wrote: »

Shels didn't complain about anything. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

West Ham and QPR have trouble recently with player eligibility, West ham with Tevez and QPR with Faurlin last season.

I'm fairly sure too that West Ham were thrown out of the League Cup a number of years back after beating Aston Villa in the semi's on pen's (ironically Gareth Southgate missed the pen for Villa IIRC) after bringing on an ineligible player in extra time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

tommyhaas wrote: »
    West Ham and QPR have trouble recently with player eligibility, West ham with Tevez and QPR with Faurlin last season.

I'm fairly sure too that West Ham were thrown out of the League Cup a number of years back after beating Aston Villa in the semi's on pen's (ironically Gareth Southgate missed the pen for Villa IIRC) after bringing on an ineligible player in extra time

Samassi Abou as I recall it.

Any confirmed news on Sheriff, wasn't the meeting today?

I nominated myself .

Ditto!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Lads this guy is a troll. He was in after hours claiming he stole 500 euro of someones money from an atm.
    And if that story was actually true, then do we really care what the opinions of such a person are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭chillian17

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Doesnt this all just mean both will be chucked out when Shels are done for match fixing? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,289 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Doesnt this all just mean both will be chucked out when Shels are done for match fixing? :D
    A very unlikely scenario.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

As per the Shels conspiracy, Sherriff will be found guilty, but keep their place in the FAI Cup because the alternative is letting Shels through:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,980 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

There's no investigation into match fixing!:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,703 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Since when are we dealing with "premier divisions mainly"? Since it suits your argument. FYI, Shels aren't in the premier division, and Sheriff, well....

fullstop wrote: »
    Since when are we dealing with "premier divisions mainly"? Since it suits your argument. FYI, Shels aren't in the premier division, and Sheriff, well....

The parameters of the discussion were premier divisions and cup matches. If you had read the thread you might have had a eureka moment.