Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bandwagon Fans

• 29-08-2011 1:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭

To be fair, I think this only applies to Dublin Football. It fcuking sickened me last week to hear Croker had sold out. I was away and forgot / didn't manage to get a ticket, although from what the lads told me it was very hard. 3 friends who play both hurling and football for clubs in Dublin could not get tickets.

How the hell are these blow ins getting tickets? Everyone has the right to support their county but it sickens me when staunch GAA people, who attend the majority of games can't get tickets when their team 'hit the big time'. I mean there was fcuking nobody at the Tyrone game, their was more at the hurling game the following week and yet the semi final was a sell out!:eek:

This has been a big issue in Dublin, for how long I don't know, I'm only in my 20's, maybe it's always been the case?

Since the early 2000's I've been beside complete tools at Dublin Football games. It was embarrassing to listen to them. They haven't a clue about Dublin or any GAA for that matter. One of the lads was sitting close to a 'blow in' yesterday, 20 mins in he was shouting "bring on Whelo!!"

Sometimes they are nothing more than pure scum. I have witnessed people taking drugs on Hill 16 on more than one occasion, they deserve a lifetime ban from Croker along with there childrens, childrens, children. I will NEVER go to Hill 16 for a football game again (I havent in about 4 years).

Then you have the drunken lout who stumbles in seconds before the ball is thrown in. They are the same people who are late back after half time as they down their 4th half time pint. I seem to remember throw in being delayed a few times because of these clowns.

Now sure enough, there is going to be alot of dissapointed Dublin GAA fans, and kids, who won't get tickets for the game. I reckon there will be more blow in fans at this years AI then true fans.

Also, I think this 'blow in' attitude directly affects the players and their performance. Every year when they make it to the semis (sometimes quarters) and there is nothing less than hyberbole. The Dublin Footballers heads are very easily inflated. There is a reason why they always implode. They can't take the pressure put on them by the massive surge in interest and support. The 'blow in' fans are the very people who abuse them when they lose and say "its da same every yeear wit de dubs, der bleeding muck".

Anyway I hope you true fans get tickets, and shame on the people who are sorting their clueless mates out with tickets, I know this is a problem in some Dublin clubs.

Also, if you want to "support your county" where were you when Dublin battled bravely against Tipperary in the AI Semi Final???

Disgruntled Dublin Fan,

Live4ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,996 ✭✭✭Plastik

There were still tickets for sale on Friday morning through tickets.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Buy a season ticket if they are genuine fans and you are guaranteed a ticket to all games, its a no-brainer really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

People enjoy things like sports to different degrees and at varying levels of fanaticism.

The people who turn up to semi finals and finals have as much right as anyone to their tickets.

Dublin have a season ticket system that rewards people who attend the majority of matches with guaranteed tickets, so there's no issue there.

Tbh, I suspect the sort of people who complain about this sort of thing are more than likely only slightly more interested/dedicated than the people they are complaining about.

This mythical jersey-wearing, drunken know-nothing who lands into Croke Park on All Ireland final day doesn't exist - where would he have gotten a ticket?

People who are involved in GAA in a meaningful way get tickets. Complainers in this vein are most often people who think going to Leinster championship games shows a level of dedication that ought to be rewarded. It doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

In this day and age there are plenty of Dublin supporters who simply can not afford to go to every game or any game, yet would still love to go to the final. There is absolutely nothing wrong with that. They are not any less of a real fan than me who has been to all the games this year. Situations must.

I absolutely despise the terms 'real' fan, 'fair weather' fan, 'genuine' fan etc.., Everyone is equal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

Every county has bandwagon fans not just dublin. It just happens that the population of Dublin is far greater therefore if an extra 10% go it will be a larger number.

I very much doubt anyone said bring on whelo and if they did it must have been in jest. Also, the capacity of crime park is 82000. One or two Dublin fans do not represent the entire Dublin support no more than one or two Roscommon fans would represent the entire roscmon support

I also have no doubt that the op washes jerseys for his local under age team, Sells raffle tickets, has played hurling and football since he was three and has never once missed a Dublin match at any level...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Its a similar situation down here in Kerry although with the drugtaking or booing I will admit.

Each year I am one of those people who stands in the terraces above in Pairc Ui Rinn when Kerry plays Cork in the league (one of only a few hundred to make the trip) and drives all over the country to league matches and to Quarter and Semi-Finals, my biggest hate about Kerry supporters is how little of them will brave going to Pairc ui Chaoimh when we play Cork there, hell Cork even outnumber Kerry in Killarney most years and put in a massive show of support there this year infairness.

Yet when it comes to the All-Ireland, it is always the likes of me who is the diehard will be struggling to get tickets and some feckin ejit who couldn't name the starting 15 will get a ticket. I took out the season ticket in 2010 but did not renew for 2011 and am now kicking myself. I know I will still get a ticket but what really pisses me off then is you get people looking for tickets from their clubs and then selling it to some friend etc. depriving other club members of the opportunity.

We don't have a scummy element but we do have a massive share of bandwagon fair weather supporters and I'd say about 75% of supporters are bandwagon jumpers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭exador

Bluetonic wrote: »
    In this day and age there are plenty of Dublin supporters who simply can not afford to go to every game or any game, yet would still love to go to the final. There is absolutely nothing wrong with that. They are not any less of a real fan than me who has been to all the games this year. Situations must.

I absolutely despise the terms 'real' fan, 'fair weather' fan, 'genuine' fan etc.., Everyone is equal.

Thanks - Don't want to go off the topic but how do you thank a post ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

Every county has bandwagon fans. I was at all the Tipp games last year and the crowds slowly rose until the All-Ireland Final. It's the same very year. Thank god I have my season ticket. Other family members don't attend the league games but I've already have too many tickets for the final this year so it will be looking like the hurling this year might not sell out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

You forgot to get a ticket for Dublin playing in an all Ireland semi final and then rant about true fans? I'm not saying you're not a 'real fan' (whatever that is) but there is a bit of pot/kettle going on there.

EDIT: I bought tickets on my phone on the bus on the way home from the Tyrone game. It wasn't that hard really.

You forgot to get a ticket for Dublin playing in an all Ireland semi final and then rant about true fans? I'm not saying you're not a 'real fan' (whatever that is) but there is a bit of pot/kettle going on there.

There was some Dublin fellows on here commenting the evening Dublin beat Tyrone about how tickets.ie had the tickets for Dub V Don on sale and they had bought some, those guys were using the head and similarly I knew when Kerry were drawn with Dublin back in 2009 to secure tickets quickly as the big fixture with Dublin will always sell out or fill up so quickly to make getting good seats hard to get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

If you go to every match you'll either have a season ticket or you'll know somebody. Even when you don't have either save your ticket stubs, put them in an envelope, send it to the County Office and you'll get a ticket.

If you can't do any of those things I have no sympathy when you have to try to get tickets along with the other hundreds of thousands who want them.

And OP lay off the drunk people. The last time there was a hold-up in Croker for a Dublin match it was because of the usuals who decide to walk to the stadium 10 minutes before throw-in so they're as much to blame as the drunks.

The last time there was a Galway team in a minor football final I tried to get a ticket. I didn't, life moved on. When I heard one of the neighbours who had been critically ill a few months beforehand got a ticket I was delighted. Sometimes there's better reasons for you not to get a ticket in comparison to others OP.

Stinicker wrote: »
    Its a similar situation down here in Kerry although with the drugtaking or booing I will admit.

Each year I am one of those people who stands in the terraces above in Pairc Ui Rinn when Kerry plays Cork in the league (one of only a few hundred to make the trip) and drives all over the country to league matches and to Quarter and Semi-Finals, my biggest hate about Kerry supporters is how little of them will brave going to Pairc ui Chaoimh when we play Cork there, hell Cork even outnumber Kerry in Killarney most years and put in a massive show of support there this year infairness.

Yet when it comes to the All-Ireland, it is always the likes of me who is the diehard will be struggling to get tickets and some feckin ejit who couldn't name the starting 15 will get a ticket. I took out the season ticket in 2010 but did not renew for 2011 and am now kicking myself. I know I will still get a ticket but what really pisses me off then is you get people looking for tickets from their clubs and then selling it to some friend etc. depriving other club members of the opportunity.

We don't have a scummy element but we do have a massive share of bandwagon fair weather supporters and I'd say about 75% of supporters are bandwagon jumpers.

Tbh, it sounds like your club are the fuck up not the supporters.

Most people I know don't bother going to League games and early rounds of the championship because they're too busy with club commitments.

I don't know too many people involved with my club that have time to travel to all the Kerry games, they're too busy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

i agree a lot with the op, have been to all of tipps championship games this year but ill be one of those looking to get them on the day. the more i think of it, i should have got a season ticket but i intend to get one next year, makes sense really and it rewards the fans who go to a lot of the league and championship games.

the last 2 years i was able to get a ticket for the final v kk, there was loads of spare tickets floating around for the 09 final. im still confident of picking up one on the day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Koltashe

In OP defence yesterday at the Dub v Donegal game we had a crowd of lads next to us who were only capable of coming out with the following comments:
    U sheep shaggers f*ck off back to Donegal
    U bleedin c*nts f*ck off to ur bog...
    And other variations of the same contents.... Twice someone had to explain to them why a free was given or what was going on... they were fairly clueless as to even the simple rules of the game....
    Though I highly doubt these lads will be getting their hands on AI final tickets, and judging by their physical state none of them are members of any GAA club, unless there are GAA clubs that added drinking and drug taking as sports to their activities lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,173 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Koltashe wrote: »
    In OP defence yesterday at the Dub v Donegal game we had a crowd of lads next to us who were only capable of coming out with the following comments:
    U sheep shaggers f*ck off back to Donegal
    U bleedin c*nts f*ck off to ur bog...
    And other variations of the same contents.... Twice someone had to explain to them why a free was given or what was going on... they were fairly clueless as to even the simple rules of the game....
    Though I highly doubt these lads will be getting their hands on AI final tickets, and judging by their physical state none of them are members of any GAA club, unless there are GAA clubs that added drinking and drug taking as sports to their activities lol

In offence to the OP, He clearly does not go to that many matches if he believes this issue applies to Dublin Supporters only. I have visibly seen supporters from Various counties involved in Drug taking and being in no fit state to watch a match and giving out the same type of utter crash sh&&e talk and abuse to fans and players from other counties.

So in summation. Some people are arseh***s most are not. Location need not apply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Live4Ever wrote: »
    To be fair, I think this only applies to Dublin Football.

Nah, all counties have this sorta carry on. I know for a fact that if Galway had made it to the final in either code ( :eek: ), I would have seen faces at Croker whom I never saw during the League Sundays or even early round championship games.

I reckon most of the real Dublin fans should get a ticket. They'll know someone or have a season ticket.

keane2097 wrote: »
    Tbh, it sounds like your club are the fuck up not the supporters.

I'm not involved myself nowadays but how it works (or at least used to) usually was that basically every member who wanted a ticket should submit their names to the committee about a fortnight or a week before.

Then say if 50 tickets came on the Monday before the final there would be a meeting which would see every persons name who wanted a ticket entered into a hat and the names drawn out one at a time, the club firstly would hold back the first twenty or thirty tickets for the local players who were going and the organising committees and fellows who would be helping out and doing work for the club. The system is look after your players and workers first and then distribute your surplus to the members.

eg. then there might by twenty tickets available to the general public and usually 3-4 tickets (depending on allocation) would be reserved for a childrens draw giving them a better chance of getting a ticket. Then out of say 50 tickets maybe 17 tickets would be available for the general public usually the worst tickets, Hill-16 and the odd one or two Hogan. A few subs would also be drawn as usually towards the end of the week there might be a second allocation of returned tickets from non-competing counties. Some clubs if they have the contacts are usually involved in ticket swapping and Kerry clubs would give say 5 or 10 hurling tickets to a club in Cork, Tipperary or Kilkenny in return then for football tickets from that club.

Obviously each club has their own system but this was the way I remember my friends father running it when he was secretary about 12 years ago as he would always ensure I got a ticket and myself and his son would go to the hill like two mad feckers! I heard of clubs in Cork last year for the football getting only 34 tickets with 340 names in looking for them, now imagine Dublin only multiply the famine by 20 times, they are lucky to have the Minors in it which will be worth an few thousand extra tickets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

I've been going to Dubs games for the last 30 years. Would still consider myself a fair weather supporter and have no problem admitting it. I was there yesterday and at the Tyrone game, I don't feel I've any more right to a ticket to the final then anyone else and probably won't get one, it was something all my mates discussed after the game yesterday, they've also been attending Championship games on a regular basis for as long as we can remember. If you didn't have the foresight to get a season ticket you're in the same boat as me. Tough ****, get one next year.

As for your discription of drunk idiots on the Hill, I remember when they'd stand on the Canal End as well, it's nothing new at Dubs matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Dont worry lads there is bandwagon fans in every county,I know for a fact that fellas will get tickets for the All Ireland Final and they havent been near a Kerry game all year,but you will meet them the week after the All Ireland and they will tell you how great the match was,but if you ask them about going to the Munster final earlier in the year all you will get is "I wouldnt cross the road to watch them"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Live4Ever

I very much doubt anyone said bring on whelo and if they did it must have been in jest.

I also have no doubt that the op washes jerseys for his local under age team, Sells raffle tickets, has played hurling and football since he was three and has never once missed a Dublin match at any level...

True story, one of the lads told him he retired to which your man replied "ah jaysus, he was bleedting deadly"

Not sure if your taking the piss but currently I am involved with the GAA on a player, management and referee level. My commitment to the GAA, my county and club should not come into question here. Of course I've missed matches.

I was away. Totally slipped my mind. I am human.
    When I heard one of the neighbours who had been critically ill a few months beforehand got a ticket I was delighted. Sometimes there's better reasons for you not to get a ticket in comparison to others OP.

I would happily sacrifice my ticket for that cause also. Yes, there are people who deserve to be there, such as your example. However they hardly count as a blow in.
    listermint wrote: »
    In offence to the OP, He clearly does not go to that many matches if he believes this issue applies to Dublin Supporters only. I have visibly seen supporters from Various counties involved in Drug taking and being in no fit state to watch a match and giving out the same type of utter crash sh&&e talk and abuse to fans and players from other counties.

I've been to ALL Dublin Hurling games this year incl League. I was at the Tyrone, Wexford and Kildare games. I was on holidays for Laois. I was also at the League Final.

I will admit that I also like to have a few drinks before and after the game. It is social and good craic and part of any GAA day out imo. Most of the analysis is done over a pint after the match. However, I've never turned up completely and utterly wasted like some fans do. Sure they can't even remember the match the next day = waste of a ticket.

Yes, other counties do have blow in's and I appreciate that due to the high population in Dublin it may be more apparent.

Yes, I have witnessed scumbags from other counties at matches.

Honestly I have only ever seen Dublin "fans" taking drugs at matches. However, I did have to stand beside Cork fans at the 2004 Munster Final who were nothing less than knackers: t shirts off and about 60 cans between 12 of them. That's not even an exageration I don't know how the hell they managed to get so much drink in but they did. They spent the game guzzling cans and coming up with the most offensive chants (offensive chanting doesnt usually offend me but this was OTT).

I also gave a statement to Gardai after I watched a Kildare man and an Offaly man thump the heads off each other 3ft in front of me on Hill 16. Dublin weren't playing that day I just went in to watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

http://munster.gaa.ie/2011/05/22/munster-senior-football-championship-quarter-final-kerry-v-tipperary/

Quarter-final of the Munster Championship. Attendance at this match in Killarney was 9,500. Assume they are all Kerrymen as who would travel from Tipp (overestimate of Kerrymen).

http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/gaa/29649/

Quarter-final of Leinster Championship. Attendance at this match was 41,876. Assume that as there were two matches, a quarter of the attendance were Dubs (having been there the reality is probably at least 60% were Dubs but let's underestimate the Dubs) giving 10,469 Dubs.

So even on figures biased in favour of Kerry, there were more Dubs than Kerrymen at their respective first-round matches. In reality, there were probably about three times as many Dubs as Kerrymen at the first-round match.

Given that tickets for the final are finite and divided equally, there are likely to be many more fair-weather Kerrymen at the game than fair-weather Dubs.

I could go back and look at league attendances (or O'Byrne Cup games) but it is the same whereever you look. Dublin games attract the biggest crowds because Dublin have the greatest number of genuine fans (how many Donegal fans attended their league games?). Now because they are the most populous county, it makes sense that Dublin have the highest number of genuine fans attending all their games but the corrollary of that (and you can't argue with maths) is that they must therefore have the least number of bandwagon fans at an All-Ireland final.

The inability of those outside the Pale to understand this continues to amaze me as well as the propensity of the media to propagate the lie of the bandwagon Dub. If only other counties attracted such passionate support all year round, then the games would be in a much healthier state.

Godge wrote: »
    http://munster.gaa.ie/2011/05/22/munster-senior-football-championship-quarter-final-kerry-v-tipperary/

Quarter-final of the Munster Championship. Attendance at this match in Killarney was 9,500. Assume they are all Kerrymen as who would travel from Tipp (overestimate of Kerrymen).

http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/gaa/29649/

Quarter-final of Leinster Championship. Attendance at this match was 41,876. Assume that as there were two matches, a quarter of the attendance were Dubs (having been there the reality is probably at least 60% were Dubs but let's underestimate the Dubs) giving 10,469 Dubs.

So even on figures biased in favour of Kerry, there were more Dubs than Kerrymen at their respective first-round matches. In reality, there were probably about three times as many Dubs as Kerrymen at the first-round match.

Given that tickets for the final are finite and divided equally, there are likely to be many more fair-weather Kerrymen at the game than fair-weather Dubs.

I could go back and look at league attendances (or O'Byrne Cup games) but it is the same whereever you look. Dublin games attract the biggest crowds because Dublin have the greatest number of genuine fans (how many Donegal fans attended their league games?). Now because they are the most populous county, it makes sense that Dublin have the highest number of genuine fans attending all their games but the corrollary of that (and you can't argue with maths) is that they must therefore have the least number of bandwagon fans at an All-Ireland final.

The inability of those outside the Pale to understand this continues to amaze me as well as the propensity of the media to propagate the lie of the bandwagon Dub. If only other counties attracted such passionate support all year round, then the games would be in a much healthier state.
    Your theory is flawed whereby the population of Dublin is one million as against Kerry with 145k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭harpsman

I may be wrong but i read on a diff forum that any season ticket holder who attends 70% of games is garuanteed a final ticket if their couny is involved.If thats the case then its hard for any "genuine" fan to gripe if they havent got one.
    The policy with final tickets is that the AI finals are days for the people from up and down the country who play,manage teams,ref etc all year round,as much as for the 2 counties involved which is why the competing counties get a small enough allocation of tickets.I think thats fair enough myself.
    My one bugbear is the amount of corporate tickets and people there who genuinely have absolutely zero interest in the game.But thats life in modern sport-same everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

Your theory is flawed whereby the population of Dublin is one million as against Kerry with 145k.

no, you have missed the point.

Assume all tickets for the final are divided equally (I know that is not the case). Assume the realistic numbers from my previous post (9,000 of the 9,500 are Kerrymen, 27,000 of the 41,876 are Dubs). Assume all of the real fans get tickets.

Dublin get 40,000, Kerry get 40,000.

9,000 Kerry fans were in Killarney on the first day of the Championship so there are 31,000 Kerry bandwagon fans at the final.

27,000 Dublin fans were in Croke Park on the first day of the Championship so there are 13,000 Dublin bandwagon fans at the final.

The higher base of potential supporters means Dublin have more genuine fans than everyone else and less room for bandwagons. More pointedly, there will be Dubs who were at all the Championship matches this year who won't get a sniff of a ticket while there will be plenty of Kerrymen making their first trip to a match who already have a ticket marked for them.

At least, as others have pointed out, the super-genuine follower who goes to the League games is guaranteed a ticket if he got one of the season tickets.

27,000 Dublin fans were in Croke Park on the first day of the Champions

Godge wrote: »
    no, you have missed the point.

Assume all tickets for the final are divided equally (I know that is not the case). Assume the realistic numbers from my previous post (9,000 of the 9,500 are Kerrymen, 27,000 of the 41,876 are Dubs). Assume all of the real fans get tickets.

Dublin get 40,000, Kerry get 40,000.

9,000 Kerry fans were in Killarney on the first day of the Championship so there are 31,000 Kerry bandwagon fans at the final.

27,000 Dublin fans were in Croke Park on the first day of the Championship so there are 13,000 Dublin bandwagon fans at the final.

The higher base of potential supporters means Dublin have more genuine fans than everyone else and less room for bandwagons. More pointedly, there will be Dubs who were at all the Championship matches this year who won't get a sniff of a ticket while there will be plenty of Kerrymen making their first trip to a match who already have a ticket marked for them.

At least, as others have pointed out, the super-genuine follower who goes to the League games is guaranteed a ticket if he got one of the season tickets.

27,000 Dublin fans were in Croke Park on the first day of the Champions
    You then go on to say that dublin get the biggest amount at league and o'byrne cup games. But on a percentage of population basis this is not necessarily true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Madra Maith

The OP has outlined the reasons I never get tickets for the Hill anymore...
    I have been supporting the Dubs since I was small but am not a member of a GAA club (I'm too lazy!) and have attended all but 1 of the games this year as I was away but have slim to none chance of getting tickets either unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭krazyklown

I find this thread interesting, it raises the question of what real supporters are!
    Are real supporters the people who go to all of the games but have no interest in being part of a club?
    Or are they the people who dont go to county games but commit alot of their time working within the club scene which gives them access to an all ireland final ticket?

When Mayo reached the all ireland in 95 my dad was chairman and it was a nightmare. Weighing up ticket demands between club workers, club supporters and local advocates theres one thing certain: there are many genuine supporters who will be disappointed and i agree with the op in that there will be flutes in there who neither support or work within a club but have the contacts who can get them a ticket.

Good luck to the genuine fans in their pursuit of that elusive ticket! (Heres one tip on how to get one: every gaa unit in the country and overseas will get an allocation, usually two tickets. Get on to your cousins/friends/etc that may be involved in the gaa down the country. they might be able to sort ya out!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭ontheditch2

harpsman wrote: »
    My one bugbear is the amount of corporate tickets and people there who genuinely have absolutely zero interest in the game.But thats life in modern sport-same everywhere.

Disagree with you on this point. Sponsorship is crucial to the gaa, more so the clubs than the the association. I know that in my club, the main sponsor will get the option of a ticket to the all ireland final. He might not go to all, if any of the games before this, but he will get the option of a ticket. Its the way the world works.
    If a company spend €10,000 a year on a corporate box, which goes towards the GAA, then i don't care who goes to the corporate boxes, thansk for the €10,000 is what i say.

On the main point, every county has bandwagon supporters, and this happens in every sport, in every country. Thats just life.

Look at it like, i would consider myself a good club man, but i am more likely to miss one of the club league matches than the championship matches. I will be there for the important ones.

And for the record, any all ireland final i have wanted to go to, i have got tickets for. If you are interested in the gaa, and in a club, then you will get the tickets. Best of luck to all looking for tickets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

krazyklown wrote: »

When Mayo reached the all ireland in 95 my dad was chairman and it was a nightmare.

Wasn't that the one where Dublin beat Tyrone?

Anyway, Man United vs Chelsea is on that day so that should help take away a lot of the drunken/drugged hill 16 retards.

In seriousness, the GAA actually has a fair enough system when it come to the only games that normally sell out: the finals. The give the tickets to the clubs. If you are a member or contribute to a club, you will know someone there. Likewise if you go to your local clubs games.

Before people start giving the usual excuses, i.e. time and money.....If you don't have enough time to be a part of your local club then maybe you don't have enough time to go to Dublin games. And helping out and going to club games is generally free.

The GAA is like a community. And like any community, if you don't join in you get frozen out. 95% of the tickets for the AI final will go to the right people.

krazyklown wrote: »
    I find this thread interesting, it raises the question of what real supporters are!
    Are real supporters the people who go to all of the games but have no interest in being part of a club?
    Or are they the people who dont go to county games but commit alot of their time working within the club scene which gives them access to an all ireland final ticket?

IMO they are both fans. Alot of people aren't involved on a club level but attend all the intercounty matches. I find that the majority of people who go to games but aren't in a club don't have kids and are probably living away from where they were born.
    Disagree with you on this point. Sponsorship is crucial to the gaa, more so the clubs than the the association. I know that in my club, the main sponsor will get the option of a ticket to the all ireland final. He might not go to all, if any of the games before this, but he will get the option of a ticket. Its the way the world works.
    If a company spend €10,000 a year on a corporate box, which goes towards the GAA, then i don't care who goes to the corporate boxes, thansk for the €10,000 is what i say.

+1 the GAA needs corporate sponsorship, it's the reason they built the boxes in the first place!!

For the record, I will be able to get an AI ticket, and tbh I've never not been able to get one, so I'm not complaining about being left out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭hisholinessnb

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    95% of the tickets for the AI final will go to the right people.

100% agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

In the fairness to the Dubs they were involved in a sell-out Semi-Final and not just the final. Bit harsh to throw the bandwagon tag at them when most semis involving other counties are half-capacity

[QUOTE=Hulk Hands
    95% of the tickets for the AI final will go to the right people.
    100% agree.[/QUOTE]

100% agree.

While i agree with the sentiment I cant help but believe the figure is a dreamers figure and far too high. Specifically with the Two teams in the final this year. I can see profiteering etc being rife in clubs across the country.

And with people looking for cash on the side.... id say closer to 50-60% of valid recipients if you count valid as fans from either county who have been to championship and league games following their county all the way to the final. with financial support in ticket purchases.

Honestly I can see alot of "fans" who got tickets through their club selling them and trying to make a few quid due to the historic fixture of the football AI and current economic blahdy blah.

Clubs are by and large extremely careful about who they give their tickets to for this exact reason.

The GAA have been frequently known to buy up all the tickets a tout has available, reference which club the tickets were originally allocated to and subsequently dock tickets from future allocations to that club as punishment.

I would imagine the prevalence of this practise is fairly low.

Clubs are by and large extremely careful about who they give their tickets to for this exact reason.

The GAA have been frequently known to buy up all the tickets a tout has available, reference which club the tickets were originally allocated to and subsequently dock tickets from future allocations to that club as punishment.

I cant see that happening, why would the organisation send people out to spend hundreds on one or two tickets from a tout to do that?

Sounds more like an overheard threat than an actual occurrence. Of course clubs have been historically reprimanded 'when caught' but this type of stuff goes on all the time and still will go on. There are money makers in every club, to say otherwise is head in the sand time.

The only reason these people get caught is if its overheard by another club member or more often than not a someone from another club. Then its brought up. Not by secret purchase agents dispatched out..

Really, I've never heard of the GAA doing that... Fair play if it's true. Any idea on clubs that have been stung by this rule?

I've seen complete tools get tickets through their local GAA Football club who are mates / drink with the man who gives out the tickets..

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,527 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Doesn't happen with anyone I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭harpsman

On the main point, every county has bandwagon supporters, and this happens in every sport, in every country. Thats just life.

Look at it like, i would consider myself a good club man, but i am more likely to miss one of the club league matches than the championship matches. I will be there for the important ones.

And for the record, any all ireland final i have wanted to go to, i have got tickets for. If you are interested in the gaa, and in a club, then you will get the tickets. Best of luck to all looking for tickets.
    I agree that the corporate "fan" is a necessary evil and have been the beneficiery of their tickets at all irelands in the past.:DI just find it a little bit annoying when I meet people at games who would have been slagging off the bogball all year or genuinely wouldnt know which team was which without the match programme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭ontheditch2

In fairness, i would reckon most of the tickets that the touts are selling, are the tickets that are allocated to the local residents organisations. I have gone to about 15 matches in croker this year, and there are touts outside at every single match.
    As far as i know, the local residents get tickets for every match, and they just pass them onto a few lads who try to sell them.
    I could nearly recognise all of the touts at this stage. I stay well away from them because they are an ignorant shower. For the non sell outs in croker, i might some times have a spare ticket and i usually end up giving the ticket to some fella who is about to buy from a tout, rather than see them making money.

And just for the matter, i could get a ticket to the Football final, if i wanted to go, but i have no real interest, so i am not going to bother. Hopefully somebody deserving will get it instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Joekers

In fairness, i would reckon most of the tickets that the touts are selling, are the tickets that are allocated to the local residents organisations. I have gone to about 15 matches in croker this year, and there are touts outside at every single match.
    As far as i know, the local residents get tickets for every match, and they just pass them onto a few lads who try to sell them.
    I could nearly recognise all of the touts at this stage. I stay well away from them because they are an ignorant shower. For the non sell outs in croker, i might some times have a spare ticket and i usually end up giving the ticket to some fella who is about to buy from a tout, rather than see them making money.

And just for the matter, i could get a ticket to the Football final, if i wanted to go, but i have no real interest, so i am not going to bother. Hopefully somebody deserving will get it instead.
    If you could get a ticket could you apply for it and sell it to me by any chance ? You would earn a life long friend :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

[QUOTE=Hulk Hands

In seriousness, the GAA actually has a fair enough system when it come to the only games that normally sell out: the finals. The give the tickets to the clubs. If you are a member or contribute to a club, you will know someone there. Likewise if you go to your local clubs games.

Before people start giving the usual excuses, i.e. time and money.....If you don't have enough time to be a part of your local club then maybe you don't have enough time to go to Dublin games. And helping out and going to club games is generally free.

The GAA is like a community. And like any community, if you don't join in you get frozen out. 95% of the tickets for the AI final will go to the right people.[/QUOTE]

Agree with most of this but think your figure of 95% is rather high.
    Lots of genuine fans will be frozen out for the AI final.
    Can see Joe Duffy having a few field days in the weeks ahead. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Attended a meeting last night regarding how our club intends to allocate AI tickets. We're going back over 4 years for people that have received tickets from the club and pro-rating allocations on this basis .... furthermore we have an "arrangement" with a Tipp club to to swap our hurling allocation for their football .. hopefully all those that deserve a ticket will get one. The other point that came out was the cost of a stand ticket is likely to be €80 :eek: ... I have a feeling that the bandwagoner may well go back to their barstool/couch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

On the subject of fairness don't forget the residents, tickets for them too :)

Used to be the most crooked system going, eleven residents groups and of course the senior members of each would look after their friends and families and many would be sold on by touts. Purely down to who you know.

And the different committees would even argue among themselves. :rolleyes:

So a better system was needed.
    Twice a year you'd get a letter in the door and you can fill up the form and send it back to Croke Park.
    Once you are on the database, you're entered for the draw.

Concert tickets could be won and were free
    If you were selected for match tickets then you just call up to reception with your letter and pay face value.

An excellent system and long overdue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,162 ✭✭✭rpurfield

if your a regular fan youll get a ticket.two lads i know one has a pranell park pass and the other the gaa season ticket so theyre sorted.our club here in meath will look after our dub refugees with whatever few we get.the fact that it wont be on ticketmaster will mean the regular attendee will get some before the so called "blow in".as for these fans that the moan is about it happens in every county.there was around 20k in navan at the two home qualifiers we wouldnt get 10k at league games.

What are peoples' opinions on what the "genuine" fans are?

In my mind, somebody who misses most of the county games but works hard for his club is infinitely more deserving of an AI ticket than a guy who goes to all the county's games through the year but isn't a member of a club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

What are peoples' opinions on what the "genuine" fans are?

In my mind, somebody who misses most of the county games but works hard for his club is infinitely more deserving of an AI ticket than a guy who goes to all the county's games through the year but isn't a member of a club.
    I am one of the latter and I've missed 3 Dublin games all year (including O'Byrne Cup). The reason that I am not a member of a club is simple, I'm currently finishing my accountancy exams and simply do not have the time to devote to joining my local club or my own home club.

I don't disagree that people who work hard for their club are more deserving but there are always differing circumstances as to why people go the direction they do. Some of those deserving people are being shafted in the hunt for tickets as well and as a result, some will pare back their devotion to their club by being shown f**k all gratitude when it comes down to qualifying for a ticket.

For the record, this is how the tickets were distributed for the Kilkenny v Cork final in 2006. The capacity was 82,300, which left 67,488 for general circulation after deduction of 10,528 Premium and Box tickets, 4,143 long term Cusack Stand tickets and 141 “miscellaneous”.

That 67,488 were distributed as follows: Competing Counties, 26,028; Other Counties, 24,422; Extra Allocation for Competing Counties, 5,777; Ard Comhairle, 786; Former Presidents, 641; Provincial Councils, 385; Handball, 162; Camogie, 120; Ladies Football, 140; Overseas, 520; Educational Bodies, 2,518; Public Representatives, 132; Staff and Sub-Committees, 1,466; Sponsors, 679; Ard Stiurthoir, 326; Media, 245; Players, 540; Minor Players, 70; Jubilee Teams, 313; Inter-County Panels, 1,920; Pairc an Chrocaigh Ltd., 198; Match Officials, 58; National Referees Panel, 42.

http://www.munster-express.ie/local-news/all-ireland-ticket-hunt-is-on/

I'm assuming that a reasonably accurate description of how they'll be allocated this year.

Yeah reading my post back there I was unintentionally down on the second type of fans.

I suppose I was just speaking in complete generality (which is most often how I get myself into trouble :o), i.e. the case of a person who simply chooses to be a Dublin fan or a Kerry fan over being a clubman out of pure choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,937 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

dcr22B wrote: »
    That 67,488 were distributed as follows: Competing Counties, 26,028; Other Counties, 24,422;
    Thats an awful lot of tickets NOT going to the competing counties.

Thats surely more than 2 tickets per club across the country?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Is that not including minor county finalists though in other counties?