Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are we unique in the World?

• 28-08-2011 10:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭

I'm wondering, are there other sites like boards for other countries?
    If ya think about it, this site more or less is Ireland online, you can find everything here.
    There's an unrivaled cross-section of Irish society and opinion.
    So comprehensive is this site in-fact that I market it to my tourist mates for questions I can't answer.

So tell me, is there any comparison?

If you thought this was gonna be another thread about how the country sucks, I'm sorry I disappointed you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

There's an version of Boards.ie in London called Boards.innit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

I thought this was going to be one of those 'God' threads.

*Dam*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭shofukan

I thought this was going to be one of those 'God' threads.

*Dam*
    Sorry to let ya down
    It's a genuine question though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

yes, we were the originals, we also invented the wheel, the helicopter and lamb chops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

For an Irish forum, there is an awful lot of linking to british stories in british newspapers. One could be forgiven for thinking you were looking at the Irish edition of a british red top here most of the time.

For the record, the users of this site do not form a good cross section of Irish society. Its demographic is heavily male, politically correct (except when it comes to roma or travellers), educated and 20 to 35 age bracket

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I think there used to be something like Boards.co.uk but it appears to have gone. I definitely saw a British site the exact same as this a couple of years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Broads.ie

The Kenyan version of boards is www.mashada.com

The Nigerian version of boards is www.nairaland.com

There you go now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

OP is kidding, right? Ireland is way behind Japan in this: they've had 2channel (2ch.net) since 1999. It really took off on iMode mobiles, and is freaking huge. I remember the story of Densha Otoko (Train Man) was in the news here - it started with some postings there, and was made in to a movie. Try the English forum.

2ch is not to be confused with 4chan - which is ... hard to describe. Imagine a cross between AH and b3ta.com where anything goes. :eek:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

:eek: And, incredibly, look what they're discussing in bloody Nigeria!

http://www.nairaland.com/nigeria/topic-745815.0.html

Surreal!

I know... Africans not being violent... madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Ditch wrote: »
    :eek: And, incredibly, look what they're discussing in bloody Nigeria!
    http://www.nairaland.com/nigeria/topic-745815.0.html
    Surreal!
    Why not. It's just the same as discussing it here in Ireland, or Russia, or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

bnt wrote: »
    Ireland is way behind Japan in this: they've had 2channel (2ch.net) since 1999.
    Forgot about 2chan..
    In fairness I have no idea how to navigate that site so I never realised:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Its demographic is heavily male, politically correct (except when it comes to roma or travellers), educated and 20 to 35 age bracket

I'm skewing yore graph.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Any thread here or work forum about IT and they get very busy
    A lot of IT heads on boards

Very knowledgable people, turn it off and turn it on again is the first thing helpdesk tells you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

For the record, the users of this site do not form a good cross section of Irish society. Its demographic is heavily male, politically correct (except when it comes to roma or travellers), educated and 20 to 35 age bracket

I'm a white male, age 18 to 49. Everyone listens to me -- no matter how dumb my suggestions are.

Mmmm. Nuts and gum -- together at last.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

OSI wrote: »
    "Hello, my name is OSI and I'm politically correct."

FYP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

OP is kidding, right? Ireland is way behind Japan in this: they've had 2channel (2ch.net) since 1999. It really took off on iMode mobiles, and is freaking huge. I remember the story of Densha Otoko (Train Man) was in the news here - it started with some postings there, and was made in to a movie. Try the English forum.

2ch is not to be confused with 4chan - which is ... hard to describe. Imagine a cross between AH and b3ta.com where anything goes. :eek:

Boards was launched in 1998.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

Mary McAleese? wtf is she doin there??!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭megaten

Just so no one gets any nasty surprises 2ch and 2channel are very different. 2ch is a discussion board very much for normal people (well, internet normal) while 2channel is very similar to 4chan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

megaten wrote: »
    Just so no one gets any nasty surprises 2ch and 2channel are very different. 2ch is a discussion board very much for normal people (well, internet normal) while 2channel is very similar to 4chan.
    Not exactly: 2ch.net = ni channeru = 2channel, the long-running general forum. The other one I didn't mention is 2chan.net a.k.a. Futaba Channel, which (as you say) attracts more otaku types and is NSFW. :o

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

seanor3 wrote: »
    Are we unique in the World?

Yes we are

Just like everyone else !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Broads.ie wrote: »

There you go now.

Oh look two great places to go trolling!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

Boards was launched in 1998.

Hon the lads!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

For an Irish forum, there is an awful lot of linking to british stories in british newspapers. One could be forgiven for thinking you were looking at the Irish edition of a british red top here most of the time.

Sh!te!!! Only 3 months left to post????!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭filthymcnasty

With the benefit of no stats or other back up AH boards.ie is mainly made of of 18-25 year old student Irish student males and the odd bored/immature tech desk head, with **** all life experience of anything and who are represantive of a limited proportion of Ireland and even less so of the 'World' as whole.
    Its one reason why stuff like the (very enjoyable) Boards.ie General Election Poll ends up inaccurate.

However some are funny bastards, some have genuine good points but most are just ****ing about & winging it and trying to find their way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Mary McAleese? wtf is she doin there??!!
    Mary Robinson is mentioned too!!!

but that's not bad compared to some of the other names mentioned, Merkel and Thatcher!!:eek:

The absence of :rolleyes: makes it impossible to tell if they're takin the pi$$.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Fremen wrote: »
    I'm a white male, age 18 to 49. Everyone listens to me -- no matter how dumb my suggestions are.

Mmmm. Nuts and gum -- together at last.

Quoting the Simpsons doesn't make my observation wrong. But because a large portion are of the demographic I name doesn't mean that others aren't users here too. Much like you'll find more than Mums on mumsnet but the majority are mums.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

governer palins choice of next prime minister yes please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Full.Duck

Always remember you are unique.

Just like everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

Full.Duck wrote: »

Just like everyone else.

I'm not.

Full.Duck wrote: »

Just like everyone else.

I'm not.

Sofaspud wrote: »
    I'm not.

Feck ya! A couple of seconds behind ya.

That's just bad luck..

Anyway, back on topic-ish. Were we one of (if not the) first national forums?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

The Croatian equivalent of boards is Forum.hr, not that any of ye will be able to understand it or anything :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Our sense of humor is very unique I think. I love it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭dr gonzo

cocoshovel wrote: »

Im sure most cultures will say that about themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭The Internet Explorer

There you go now.

Thank you very much. Thank you very much indeed

I don't get it. Is that a troll face?

wtf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭The Internet Explorer

I don't get it. Is that a troll face?

wtf

Yes that's a troll face. It's an Irish troll face. It's me in fact. I was thanking you for sharing the sites, you gave me some food for thought. Some very funny and tasty food for thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,633 ✭✭✭maninasia

cocoshovel wrote: »

You mean the outsized sense of importance for an island most of the world has barely heard of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

We are all unique! No one quiet like you! :)

doovdela wrote: »
    We are all unique! No one quiet like you! :)

Shhhh... be quite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 roberb

I want to try and get this going again. Do any of the Moderators know if there is a UK equivalent to boards.ie? My sis has moved to London and none of her UK colleagues or friends know of one.

Anyone???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

The wiki article for boards says there is also a boards.jp and some other boards. They don't seem to be still going though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

Dónal wrote: »
    Feck ya! A couple of seconds behind ya.

I wouldn't beat yourself up about it, sofaspud is the person you are exactly alike so we would hardly expect you to have a unique sense of humor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

roberb wrote: »
    I want to try and get this going again. Do any of the Moderators know if there is a UK equivalent to boards.ie? My sis has moved to London and none of her UK colleagues or friends know of one.

Anyone???

I think there's too many people in the UK for it to work the same way.

I think Boards.ie works because its designed for a country the size of Ireland. Or rather a population the size of irelands. Somewhere like the UK probably has seperate forums for most of the categories that are included in boards.ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Yes we are!:cool:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Here is another outlier for your statistics
    OldGoat wrote: »
    I'm skewing yore graph.

:P
    With the benefit of no stats or other back up AH boards.ie is mainly made of of 18-25 year old student Irish student males and the odd bored/immature tech desk head, with **** all life experience of anything and who are represantive of a limited proportion of Ireland and even less so of the 'World' as whole.
    Its one reason why stuff like the (very enjoyable) Boards.ie General Election Poll ends up inaccurate.

I have met up with loads of people who post on boards while out on the bike or through work, very few of us fit in that category in my limited statistical view.