Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shelbourne Suspect...

• 27-08-2011 12:18am

Defensively, or was there foul play?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,933 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Defensively, or was there foul play?

Listen Paddy Power, you lost okay. :P

I lost 75 quid on handicap bets on Shels, I think handicap bets is the right term for it, how much you up from it?

270 euro

Man, I'd probably take the 2nd one down, its a pretty noticeable number, ya know?

But yeah, you must be well chuffed, who'd you think threw it? Delaney? I've not seen any of the goals, but I heard they were all screamers, though, that could just be hearsay

Man, I'd probably take the 2nd one down, its a pretty noticeable number, ya know?

But yeah, you must be well chuffed, who'd you think threw it? Delaney? I've not seen any of the goals, but I heard they were all screamers, though, that could just be hearsay

They cant do anything tbh

some people will say its fixed others wont

It happens in Russia every weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

This ain't going to end well....

Headshot wrote: »

That's not really an excuse though is it? I think I need to get in with these people though.
    This ain't going to end well....

It has already for some people ahah, I'm wondering if this is going to be in the papers tomorrow.... Poor Shels though, their fans really have been dragged through muck in the last couple of years, such a fall from grace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

1061199054_42270fd3c9_o.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

and in italy most match day across the entire leagues..

Its pretty obvious Italy is, bet on draws and you're in luck. In all honesty though, the snakes in the team told people, they are idiots for that, they bet against their side and they're going to be punished, unlucky lads, here's a quick paycheck to the ****ing dole.

Doubt it will be even investigated

Once the players havent gone near the bookies themselves and they made the game look like a genuine contest, every thing will be grand

Doubt it will be even investigated

Once the players havent gone near the bookies themselves and they made the game look like a genuine contest, every thing will be grand

I've heard rumours they have mate. 4 of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

I've heard rumours they have mate. 4 of them.

Elaborate. Or PM me, whatever suits you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Wow.

I've come home, getting on this forum to explain away tonight's shame. Our worst result since the 1923 Cup Final.

But this I did not expect.

So, as someone who was at the game...............

We were two up and coasting at half-time.

Start of the second half, they get a bizarre goal from just inside our half.

Our players respond well and within a minute we win a peno. Peno is missed. **** happens.

They score a stunning free kick.

Our heads drop, they're up for it in the biggest game of their club's history and players' lives.

They get the winner from a 40 yarder.

They deserved it. We were as poor in the second half as we were in Cork a few weeks ago. Their players fought like demons in the second half. Our support applauded them off the pitch. Good luck to them.

Imo, there was nothing dodgy about what happened tonight.

Highlights, if that's the right word, will be on ShelsTV.com in the next couple of days and people can decide for themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Nice post Zebra

Puts this thread to bed i think

But console yourself that you will be back in the Premier next year

Very good post, Zebra. But for me the Sheriff defense just wasn't good enough to keep Shels out on a regular day. I don't know what went wrong tonight but I hope there isn't anything dodgy about it.

Zebra3 wrote: »
    They score a stunning free kick.

That and the fact Deano didn't move and was miles off with his positioning.
    I don't know what went wrong tonight but I hope there isn't anything dodgy about it.

Casso!

That and the fact Deano didn't move and was miles off with his positioning.

Casso!

Hurry up and clarify what you mean by that before someone says "I saw a Shels lad on boards.ie say that Casso orchestrated the whole thing," You know how rumours work..

Crap ye, I meant that we have no one to break down their defence and it was Casso who was missed tonight.

Sparks43 wrote: »
    But console yourself that you will be back in the Premier next year

I wouldn't bet on it.

No pun intended.

Oh and OP lost 75€ and wasn't at the match? :rolleyes:

I'd say any thread accusing a Brit team of matchfixing would be long since binned. :rolleyes:

I wouldn't bet on it.

No pun intended.

Oh and OP lost 75€ and wasn't at the match? :rolleyes:

I'd say any thread accusing a Brit team of matchfixing would be long since binned. :rolleyes:

Maybe you should check the gambling forum of this site mate. I didn't see it, but, I was told after the game it was fixed, after putting it down to just blatant bad luck, and after hearing the posts on these boards and on others, wouldn't it make you a tad suspicious, I even heard the gaffer was telling fans to **** off.

I even heard the gaffer was telling fans to **** off.

How is that important in the scheme of things?

Maybe you should check the gambling forum of this site mate. I didn't see it, but, I was told after the game it was fixed,.

By who? Other people who lost money?
    after putting it down to just blatant bad luck, and after hearing the posts on these boards and on others, wouldn't it make you a tad suspicious,

No, because unlike those people making stupid claims to explain away their lost bets, I was actually at the game.

I even heard the gaffer was telling fans to **** off.

Who is "the gaffer"? Alan Matthews? Given the abuse that was being heaped on our players by our fans after the game (and rightly so), it wouldn't surprise me if he lost it.

And wtf has that to do with your libellous claims? :confused:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,720 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

I do find it hard to believe that at 0-2, anyone in on it could effect the game unless there were 6-7 players involved, in which case it would be blatently obvious...and very serious. On the other hand it being great goals that got the comeback, was there pressure on the ball, was there tackles, a siege on the Sherriff goal or did Shels give up? 30 minutes left at 3-2, no reason for heads dropping for that long against inferior opposition in a cup game...

I think people might be associating predictions beforehand with Sherriff's genuine comeback.

Still funny to see another Shels collapse :D

By who? Other people who lost money?

By people who bet on the match you plonker, read it, people even in this thread have bragged about their winnings on a sure bet, one which people aren't ashamed to brag about and one which has had posts edited on the Betting forum deleted so that nothing will come of it, there is something up, anyone can tell it.
    No, because unlike those people making stupid claims to explain away their lost bets, I was actually at the game.

So your keeper is positioned badly for 2 of the goals, how often does that happen? Especially from goals from 40 yards out, against a non league side, come on, you're top of the division, if you can't see anything wrong with your side and how it was 2 teams playing tonight you're deluded, with the penalty miss as well, when was the last time he missed a penalty? Or even failed to get one on target, at Monaghan he had a good record too and I don't think he's ever put one into the tolka River before, thats for sure.
    Who is "the gaffer"? Alan Matthews? Given the abuse that was being heaped on our players by our fans after the game (and rightly so), it wouldn't surprise me if he lost it.

Yeah, the lad should be trusted to make substitutes, players had howlers, he did nothing, what a joke of a manager he is, he knows in himself what happened and this is going to be big in Shels for morale and the likes.
    And wtf has that to do with your libellous claims? :confused:

As mentioned above, I've never experienced a manager having a go at the fans, although I'm not a Shels fan (is this commonplace :D ), Something is up, if you think otherwise you're deluded, look at forums, people have been bashing this out since Thursday, and when it comes to the fore, will you still be blindly backing the scum of your team who bashed it, who disrespected the loyal fans with selling themselves for a quid payday, the fans deserve better than what was given tonight, they couldn't string a pass together in the 2nd half, nor win a battle in the air, there will be news about this and 2007 could repeat itself.

its pretty impossible that a team like sherrif could beat veterans like shels from 2 down at half time.

sounds like shels were onto a winner here ..

i was wondering who the f**k sherrif were, thought shels had a friendly or something with the Sheriff Tiraspo outfit...:rolleyes:

its pretty impossible that a team like sherrif could beat veterans like shels from 2 down at half time.

Shows how little you know about Shels and Sheriff that you would make a condescending comment like that.

The highlights are up for all to see and it's obvious who the better team were on the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

http://vimeo.com/28262172
    Highlights above.
    The keeper was ridiculously off his line for 2 of the goals. He didnt even attempt to save the freekick. The peno shels got, he booted it over the bar, looked blatant he wasnt trying to score, showed no dissapointment when he missed it.
    It was a fix imo.

Shows how little you know about Shels and Sheriff that you would make a condescending comment like that.

The highlights are up for all to see and it's obvious who the better team were on the night.

right, so forgive me if im wrong but most guys in ireland have heard of shels..

everyone knows them.

but sherrif fc or whatever they are called...

clearly more people have heard of them !

And of course a teams ability to play a football match is measured solely by how many people have heard of them. That's an embarrassing argument to make to be honest.

Did I argue that more people knew of Sheriff than of Shels?

Clown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

Jesus, that video doesn't cast one or two players in a good light.

And of course a teams ability to play a football match is measured solely by how many people have heard of them. That's an embarrassing argument to make to be honest.

Did I argue that more people knew of Sheriff than of Shels?

Clown.

no but a reserve shels team should clearly have the better of a regional youth side from dublin

unless it was fixed like f*** of course, which seems the case

no but a reserve shels team should clearly have the better of a regional youth side from dublin

You're talking through your hoop and embarrassing yourself further. Sheriff are held in very high regard for the type of football they play and the level at which they play and train. It is not outside the realm of possibility that they could beat Shels or at least half of the other First Division sides on a level playing field ie without any foul play whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Highlights above.
    The keeper was ridiculously off his line for 2 of the goals. He didnt even attempt to save the freekick. The peno shels got, he booted it over the bar, looked blatant he wasnt trying to score, showed no dissapointment when he missed it.
    It was a fix imo.

If thats the case I think a full investigation in to all the Arsenal players from today is needed.

The Sheriff keeper must have been on the take too, he flapped at a couple of crosses and tried to let in the free at the start,

You're talking through your hoop and embarrassing yourself further. Sheriff are held in very high regard for the type of football they play and the level at which they play and train. It is not outside the realm of possibility that they could beat Shels or at least half of the other First Division sides on a level playing field ie without any foul play whatsoever.

of course i am making a fool of myself lol

the bookies clearly had the odds priced accordingly. :rolleyes:

You on the wind up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

Highlights above.
    It was a fix imo.

Should be fined for Lorcan Fitzgeralds celebration alone!!!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

You on the wind up?

Tangy, I've no dog in this fight.

I'd invite you to check out what price Sheriff were to win before the game - very long shots by football standards.

I'd also invite you to ask around, do some google searches for discussions of the game, etc - I think you'll see that there is a lot of smoke here and not all from idiots.

Finally, failing all that, I think you could look at the manner of the goals and missed penalties - while not out of the realms of possibility, it was extremely poor play from some players who have been having a very good season in the first division.

The game was definitely bent imo, and unfortunately it appears as if this type of thing occurs in the LOI a lot more regularly than people think. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    it was extremely poor play from some players who have been having a very good season in the first division.

I don't know enough about any of it - not a gambling man - to make much comment.but while Sheriff are a handy side, Shels appear to have been the best team in the first by miles this season so such a collapse seems weird.

I hope this is all rumour. Lat thing the league needs is another scandal and Shels belong back in the premier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

What odds were Sherrif to win originally and what were they backed into?

Also, it's a common occurrence in match fixing to go 1-0 or 2-0 up during a fixed game in order to drive the price up for the opposition to win in the live betting markets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

stovelid wrote: »
    I don't know enough about any of it - not a gambling man - to make much comment.but while Sheriff are a handy side, Shels appear to have been the best team in the first by miles this season so such a collapse seems weird.

I hope this is all rumour. Lat thing the league needs is another scandal and Shels belong back in the premier.

The key thing is that players who have got into a habit of winning like Shels have this year are so less likely to collapse in this fashion. The vast majority of upsets of this nature happen when the higher division team has been stuttering within their own sphere of competition.

As far as the second bit goes, I genuinely don't think this will affect Shels in any material sense. It will be difficult to prove, and the will would need to be there within the LOI to dig deep and follow up on the matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭MaceFace

No way was that a fix. The three Sherrif strikes were fantastic - worthy of anything you will see anywhere anytime.
    The keepers position wasnt that bad for the first, you see keepers not dive for frees all the time as they think they are going wide, and the final was in the top corner.
    Its a goalkeeper for Shels - not some Premier League keeper, and yes he was poor, but thats just the standard of football on show.

The lad who took the peno could do with staying off the pies for a while.
    The celebration was laughable - save that for the final (oops).
    If this was a fix, they expected a lot from Sherrif - score three screamers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Shels keeper caught off his line twice. mmmmm

The penalty

Its not like there was that much pressure on Philly Hughes' pen. They were 2-1 up. Shocking.

They are the 2 obvious suspects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,946 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Shels keeper caught off his line twice. mmmmm

The penalty

Its not like there was that much pressure on Philly Hughes' pen. They were 2-1 up. Shocking.

They are the 2 obvious suspects.
    Pretty much, yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Sure don't the FAI need another reason to prevent Shels getting promoted ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

I can't believe Dean Delaney would do this. I just don't believe he would put the club at risk like that, one of the best keepers in the LoI and chose to come back to Shels and play in the first division with us, he could be playing Premier Division football.

There is something fishy here though, that much is obvious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

unless it was fixed like f*** of course, which seems the case

Ffs, where's the captain picard facepalm button? Sheriff are not a youth side. They play in Premier A AUL, which is the highest Junior league in the country. Not junior as in kids, junior as in not senior. With the A championship ending Premier A and LSL intermediate premier are essentially the highest standard of football below first division. So cop on and stop being ridiculously ignorant.

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    Ffs, where's the captain picard facepalm button? Sheriff are not a youth side. They play in Premier A AUL, which is the highest Junior league in the country. Not junior as in kids, junior as in not senior. With the A championship ending Premier A and LSL intermediate premier are essentially the highest standard of football below first division. So cop on and stop being ridiculously ignorant.

erm....

right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Des wrote: »
    I can't believe Dean Delaney would do this. I just don't believe he would put the club at risk like that, one of the best keepers in the LoI and chose to come back to Shels and play in the first division with us, he could be playing Premier Division football.

There is something fishy here though, that much is obvious.

Money can do strange things to people sometimes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Blatter wrote: »
    Money can do strange things to people sometimes...

yeah, I agree with that, but having actually met the guy, I just don't believe he'd put his career in this kind of jeopardy.

It's weird.