Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ladies . do you like your men, all man. Or a bit on the femme side

• 26-08-2011 11:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭

In work today, a girl commented on a man packing the shopping,
    while his wife/girlfriend looked on,
    The girl said to the next customer,
    jesus look at that .
    Give me a real man anyday ?:confused:

Can anyone define what " a mans man " is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

My husband cooks, packs the shopping, minds the kids as a stay at home hubby but he doesn't use hair straightners, tan, wax etc...............

To me he is a real man's man even though he is essentially the traditionally held view of the wife/mom in some respects..:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

I fail to see a problem with a guy packing the shopping.

I pack the shopping, and then I carry most of it. It's the gentlemanly thing to do, hardly a feminine thing to do :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭johnr1

dollyk wrote: »
    jesus look at that .

Saddo /ignore her.

If that girl thinks a "real" man would be in a bar or playing poker with his buddies, or even down the buuuukies while she did the shopping, I'm sure she'l find plenty of guys to keep her happy. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Appearance-wise, I far prefer "manly men" to more feminine looking men, although I know plenty of girls who love the girly-looking type of man. In terms of behaviour, I wouldn't consider packing shopping or helping with cooking and such as feminine. In fact, I'd far prefer a man who would be willing help with such tasks. I would however consider tanning, or eyebrow plucking or other beauty regimes as a bit off-putting. I think that kinda thing is a bit too feminine for me, but again to each their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Irish_Elect_Eng

I like this definition:

Man's Man

A man who is strong and masculine; meaning he pursues, defends, conquers and rules. Rather than being a "nice" guy, he's a "good" guy - not a pushover but strong in his convictions, values and resolve. (Example: someone who can "man up") This is not dependant on his socio-economic status, but rather his willingness to embrace his God-given masculinity.

A lot of women like a man's man; because they are strong and offer something different and very valuable to the experience of being female. When a woman finds a man's man who is a "good man" instead of a "nice man" she gets to have the perks of being with a "bad boy" -the strength, toughness and masculinity, without having to actually be with a bad boy. It's an ideal situation.

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Man's+man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭seenitall

I like this definition:

Man's Man

A man who is strong and masculine; meaning he pursues, defends, conquers and rules. Rather than being a "nice" guy, he's a "good" guy - not a pushover but strong in his convictions, values and resolve. (Example: someone who can "man up") This is not dependant on his socio-economic status, but rather his willingness to embrace his God-given masculinity.

A lot of women like a man's man; because they are strong and offer something different and very valuable to the experience of being female. When a woman finds a man's man who is a "good man" instead of a "nice man" she gets to have the perks of being with a "bad boy" -the strength, toughness and masculinity, without having to actually be with a bad boy. It's an ideal situation.

Uh-oh. Problematic. I wonder what kind of response this post will garner on here.

Aside from the featured assumption that "pursuing", "defending", and natch, "conquering" and "ruling" are God-given traits of masculinity/manhood :rolleyes:, what really makes a man's man/"good man" different from a "good woman" who is not a pushover but strong in her convictions, values and resolve..?

Good people are good people. All the rest is garnish and a matter of personal, and very individual, tastes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭looky loo

Russell Crowe in Gladiator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

looky loo wrote: »
    Russell Crowe in Gladiator.

:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭stacexD

Packing and carrying the shopping is what a real man does!!
    2 friends that I often go to tesco to do the shopping with, the mans man always packs and carries my shopping when i go with him, the other one who every one is waiting on star jumping out of the closet will ask me to carry his heavy things like a twin pack of coke etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

I'm not sure what is considered as 'feminine' My lad packs the shopping up as well as myself but I don't think packing groceries is masculine or feminine. He cleans, cooks, hangs out washing but he also drives a big truck and works in a trade where he uses heavy and tough machinery. I adore him the way he is :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭LeeHoffmann

all this bullsh1t about what a 'real man' or a 'real woman' is is drives me up the wall. To me it reads like a shopping list at best, or a prescription at worst - don't be yourself, god no, these are the rigid requirements of you, and if you don't follow them exactly you will open yourself to ridicule as being inferior to the rest of your gender.

Any woman or man who makes comments like that about strangers in a shopping queue, deserves a slap* around the face with a wet fish

* in case the mods are looking, I am not actually advocating people take to the streets, vigilante-style, armed with wet fish to dole out my personal brand of justice. I'm just grumpy this morning and venting. Lee Hoffmann does not advocate the use of violence as a means to solving problems (ever)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Morgase

What LeeHoffman said.

Some people might perceive some of my bf's traits as "femme" but to me he couldn't be any more of a man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

That woman sounds like a serious gombeen. My God...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

sh1t, I do my own cooking, washing, clean my house regularly, make sure it looks and smells nice and do my own ironing and shopping, you mean I need a woman to do all this so its not distracting me from my timber chopping and wolf wrestling manly duties?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

jesus look at that .

So she would consider a "real man" a guy who looks on while she packs the shopping? What a bizarre notion. :pac:

I know guys who are stay at home dads, artists, writers, poets, mechanics, lawyers, doctors, etc, etc and I wouldn't consider any that aren't "real men"...

I don't know what a "mans man" is - I suspect it's got more to do with those of limited self-esteem and lacking cosmopolitan social conditioning trying to make themselves feel better or big themselves up, rather than anything the men in question are doing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

jesus look at that .

Right, so a single man doing the shopping only a man's man if he stands back and lets the check-out lady do the packing? Give me a break.

My boyfriend not only packs the bag, he often IS the bag, if we've forgotten to bring one. Damn, he can carry quite a bit in his strong, manly arms....:rolleyes::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

I like this definition:

Man's Man

have to say I thought it basically meant a man with no/very few feminine characteristics, the most extreme example being a football hooligan or something like that. :confused:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Saila wrote: »
    have to say I thought it basically meant a man with no/very few feminine characteristics, the most extreme example being a football hooligan or something like that. :confused:
    Ahh I dunno hooligan is a fair bit removed from "not a pushover but strong in his convictions, values and resolve". One of the men I'd admire and judge myself by would be very like this and the lad is as gay as christmas, or a "terrible queen at times" as his boyfriend of many years describes him :D. He's very much a man who "pursues, defends, conquers and rules" though I'd not say rules, more like takes control when he needs to. One of the bravest people I've ever met. Very strong emotionally and mentally too he makes Alan Carr look overly "masculine". But hooligan he is not.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭Hunchback

Yer wan in the OP's opening post has limited mental horizons.

and so pass-remarkable :eek:

well, there's someone for everyone, even her ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 virtus1

too much gender essentialism in this thread for my liking >_<

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

jesus look at that .

And women wonder why their role is still seen by many as being in the home! Seriously... :rolleyes:

So she would consider a "real man" a guy who looks on while she packs the shopping?

Surely not? Wouldn't she consider him to be a "wimp", while a "real man" wouldn't be seen dead within 200 metres of a supermarket?

For some reason, I'm reminded of the old joke about the fella who says to his wife "I thought we might try swapping positions tonight." She replies "Good idea. You wash and dry the dishes, and I'll lie on the sofa drinking beer and scratching my bollix." :pac:

Wait - since when is being chivalrous, mannerly and kind considered as being not manly.

I would wonder what kind of men that woman grew up with!

I'm definitely not a man's man, I'll be the first to admit this, but it doesn't mean I won't step up when it's needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

I was told just the other day that I had 'gay traits'.

I was straight, but I listened to music and liked politics and read a lot, which are, apparently, 'gay traits'.

Also, I didn't hold my cup in a manly way and bang it down on the table like a real man.

I was utterly confused.:confused:

I was told just the other day that I had 'gay traits'.

I was straight, but I listened to music and liked politics and read a lot, which are, apparently, 'gay traits'.

Also, I didn't hold my cup in a manly way and bang it down on the table like a real man.

I was utterly confused.:confused:

You have no idea how often I get this! Apparently being thoughtful, kind, romantic and considerate are gay traits.

There is a line : "if you can't appreciate what you have, then you'd better have what you can appreciate". The next line goes : "a man with a thick pair of lips to kiss you with, and a thicker pair of boots to kick you with"

It comes to mind in this case.

I'd quote the source but it would be un-manly to know it :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

total crass

I used to go to veg markets at 5 in the morning And pack the van full of food to bring to the kitchen to then cut up into nice peaces... being honest its like women and shower gell

If the guy dont bye his own hel end up using this flowerey smelly perfume stuff for women...

Any way besides If i had a gf she wouldnt have a choice because im a controll freak for supermarkets

wont eat certain brands or garlic made in china...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭LisaLee

A man is a man. For me, my ideal man is good hearted, strong, conscientious and happy in his own skin. I wouldn't be overly keen on a guy who whips out the hair straighteners and slaps on the fake tan, but some girls are.

Different strokes for different folks etc.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

I'm with LeeHoffMan on this one, I've never heard anything so nonsensical in my life.

It's bullsh1t like this that has men and women so confused about the other sex, it just feeds into the gender stereotyping so prevalent in our society. It really annoys me, it's so damaging to both genders.

If a man can't pack his shopping for fear of being dismissed as a nancy boy, then I truly despair for society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭LittleBook

In work today, a girl commented on a man packing the shopping, while his wife/girlfriend looked on. The girl said to the next customer "jesus look at that. Give me a real man anyday"

I always find that when people pass remarks about other people, it says a lot more about them than it does about the subject of their remarks. And I don't just mean that they're rude, I mean the comments themselves give you an insight into the person making them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

johnr1 wrote: »
    There is a line : "if you can't appreciate what you have, then you'd better have what you can appreciate". The next line goes : "a man with a thick pair of lips to kiss you with, and a thicker pair of boots to kick you with"

It comes to mind in this case.

I'd quote the source but it would be un-manly to know it :rolleyes:

Pygmalion fan or no, promoting the idea that women deserve domestic violence for any reason is highly inappropriate, especially in this forum.

Please acquaint yourself with the forum charter before posting again.

Pygmalion fan or no, promoting the idea that women deserve domestic violence for any reason is highly inappropriate, especially in this forum.

Please acquaint yourself with the forum charter before posting again.

Oh Jesus !!!

Just to clarify on your point, I was in NO way suggesting the above !!

The point I was trying to make was that there are wholly ridiculous stereotypes of a manly man which go back hundreds of years, are best left behind in any civilized society, and people like the girl who the OP overheard just reinforce them.

Apologies for the offence caused. I should have explained myself.

Off topic, you Ickle could know from my other posts here and elsewhere that to promote the idea that women deserve physical or any other form of abuse would be the last thing Id want or try to do.
    I'm not arguing your comment, just do not want that impression of my opinion left on the thread.

I'm out now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

As a man, I like women who make comments like that.......... so I can avoid them and know they would drive me insane if I got into a relationship with them! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 806 ✭✭✭getzls

I always pack the shopping. My wife would use 10 bags when 4 would do. Easier for me to carry.:)

]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

I dont like effeminate men at all, just not my type. Big strong, tall dark and handsome...yeah i dont go with stereotypes at all :( cant help it though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭merlie

My ex was a wonderful man and still is. He used to carry my shopping, cook, clean. He loved to go shopping and would come with me to many clothes shops and look at the clothes as well. He used to like painting my nails and even put my make up on me. He is a very manly man, stocky built, slightly defined, he looked after himself well, showered everyday, put mousse in his hair and slapped aftershave on. He always shopped in Next to buy himself clothes and is always wanting to keep up with styles, though he always had his own. There are some people he looks a bit like. eg.. Russell Crowe, Noel Edmonds ( his eyes ) there are a few others but I can't think of them at the mo.

I guess I do like a man who is manly man but who is also in touch with his feminine side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,279 ✭✭✭Lady Chuckles

jesus look at that .
    Give me a real man anyday

She is clearly an idiot.