Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BMW X3 stolen Dublin

• 26-08-2011 2:17pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭

The wife's X3 was stolen last night outside the house, my question is how can this type of car be nicked when we still have the keys?
    I locked it as usual last night, alarm immobiliser, red light under mirror to show.
    No obvious sign of broken glass, no break in to our house, Garda reckon we might not see it again as it was a pretty high spec model.
    So again forgive my ignorance here but what else can you do to keep your car safe!
    Rambling here I know, still wound up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Stick up the reg, someone may have seen it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭zack01

Stick up the reg, someone may have seen it

Thanks Mr Presentable, forgot that.
    It's a black BMW X3 05D11450
    No X3 badge on back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭Homer

I would have thought if near impossible to drive away a modern car like that without the keys? Unless they simply loaded it onto a trailer or similar.. Which should have set off the alarm :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

Bummer OP, worrying that they got it without the keys, thought that was meant to be impossible, at least it means they didn't come into the house. Could it have been lifted or was it driven away?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭superstoner90

zack01 wrote: »
    Thanks Mr Presentable, forgot that.
    It's a black BMW X3 05D11450
    No X3 badge on back

il keep my eyes peeled and il report it if i see it ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Spare key? Duplicate key? Sounds awful weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Ah maybe they thought it was an x5 so in the dark and will drop it back when they realise its an x3!!

Only messin, **** buz had a car nicked before too:mad: My mate evo was robbed a yr or so ago, was parked in his garden infront of his mothers jeep which was moved:confused: to the side and the evo taken out around it. both had good alarms and neither were set off.

Where was it robbed from OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

When and where was it taken from? Any pics? Throw a thread up on Octane as well. Might get lucky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭qwytre

Whats the deal with the spare key in the glove box of bmws?

Could you break a window in the car\x3 and use it to start the car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭WestWing

Sorry to hear about that OP.

Had the car been in to get serviced recently or been anywhere that someone could have cloned the key?

Have you owned it from new? If you have I would think back to every occasion where the keys were handed over to someone else who may have been able to get a coded copy. Very suspicious though.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,848 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

WestWing wrote: »
    Sorry to hear about that OP.

Had the car been in to get serviced recently or been anywhere that someone could have cloned the key?

I don't think the alarm on the BMW is an anti tilt alarm so it wouldn't go off if it was lifted carefully onto a trailer/tow truck.

qwytre wrote: »
    Whats the deal with the spare key in the glove box of bmws?

Could you break a window in the car\x3 and use it to start the car?

Heh? Are you thinking of the torch?

Thanks lads for your replies, it was taken in Templeogue last night between 12.30am and 8.00am.
    I'm baffled with the keys end of things, hasn't been serviced since last year so I'd nearly rule that out.
    It's not as if it's a fast car, yes it's a 2.5 litre but it's automatic.
    Full of the kids toys and car seats with buggy in the boot.
    One thing though, the tax was out so I hope the Fu****s are stopped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

No he is thinking of the BMWs with keyless entry and start, the KEY he is talking about is actually a plastic copy the same size and shape and cen be permantly left in the ignition and used to start the car by pressing it once the driver has the real key on their person.

Thanks lads for your replies, it was taken in Templeogue last night between 12.30am and 8.00am.
    I'm baffled with the keys end of things, hasn't been serviced since last year so I'd nearly rule that out.
    It's not as if it's a fast car, yes it's a 2.5 litre but it's automatic.
    Full of the kids toys and car seats with buggy in the boot.
    One thing though, the tax was out so I hope the Fu****s are stopped.

also did you put a ad of it on donedeal? should be helpfull

No there is spare plastic fob in the glove box, its kinda hooked onto the glovebox plastic wall. I have a seperate plastic key but I never checked if that plastic fob would actually start the car by itself.

Or other possibility is a very strong electric forklift!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭pcardin

My wifes Alfa 166 was stolen the same way. We had the keys and everything and car was locked. It was taken with a flatbed and during the day. Police found it in compound were AIB keeps all the reposesed cars. And it turned out that previous owner had a finance on it but we had that car for nearly 3 years and never got anyone from the bank contacting us to inform or anything. Just came and took it while we were away.

I'm not saying that this is your case OP but it looks like it was taken on flatbed.

Using a trailer to take a car during the night isn't the quietest way of doing things, especially in a residential area.

I know from recent experience that the guards are too busy to investigate a car theft. I'd ring the all the toll road operators and ask them to check if the car passed through recently.

You would think someone would have heard a flatbed truck coming into an estate and putting a car up onto it?

Was your car on the driveway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,720 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Would have made a lot of noise being dragged (kicking and screaming against it's will) on to the back of a flatbed, or someone would have needed to put sliders under the wheels to get it on the bed.

No finance owed on it and yes your right it's hardly a top of the range car to be stolen to order or whatever is the case. It's a residential area and believe me I would have heard a truck pulling up outside.
    Plenty of other nice cars in the area they could have taken.

No finance owed on it and yes your right it's hardly a top of the range car to be stolen to order or whatever is the case. It's a residential area and believe me I would have heard a truck pulling up outside.
    Plenty of other nice cars in the area they could have taken.

It does sound as it they just got in and drove away. Were the keys left with the car if a puncture was getting repaired, car valeted, etc?

Are you sure you weren't like me this morning and forgot that you left it at a friends house last night?

LOL:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,321 ✭✭✭✭listermint

It is possible to order a key based on your chassis code that is available in your windscreen. Unscrupulous dealers could possibly order replacement key pretending to have original owner details.

LOL:D

Jesus, you had me going there!!!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,848 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

listermint wrote: »
    It is possible to order a key based on your chassis code that is available in your windscreen. Unscrupulous dealers could possibly order replacement key pretending to have original owner details.

But then the key you order has to be paired with the car itself doesnt it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,720 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

jonny24ie wrote: »
    But then the key you order has to be paired with the car itself doesnt it?

Recently got a new spare key for the father in law's E90. Only had to give the dealer the chassis code, they dropped the key over to me and I handed it over to the FIL at home. No coding needed and I think it's the same type of key.

Jesus, you had me going there!!!

WHAT :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

WHAT :confused:
    You really do live up to your username:p

I'd say he meant to quote Limerick man.

Where is the chassis code on the window?

Yep meant to quote Limerick man!

R.O.R wrote: »
    Recently got a new spare key for the father in law's E90. Only had to give the dealer the chassis code, they dropped the key over to me and I handed it over to the FIL at home. No coding needed and I think it's the same type of key.

That's what i thought. It's all too easy to get the chassis\vehicle info and for someone to order a key. Surely BMW would keep a record of replacement keys they issue? Either that, or someone has the equipment to clone the key,

Plug wrote: »
    You really do live up to your username:p

I'd say he meant to quote Limerick man.

HA HA i sure do...i was just so confused , i dident know what was happening lol :pac:

Last time a friend went to get a key coded (for a Merc) he had to bring the logbook and ID. I had to bring my logbook and id the time I got a barrel for my Golf.

i dont understand your cyber lingo :eek:

Logbook is your registration certificate for your vehicle.

And id is I.d, (identification)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Sorry to hear it OP. It's unfortunate, but if a pro wants your car enough, no matter what security you have, they will get it.

Has the alarm been set off at all recently? Are you 100% sure it was working? The reason I ask, and this could be very far fetched, but the alarm/immobiliser could have been faulty, and it was just a chance theft that worked out for the scumbag

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

All I can think of is either you left it unlocked or if you have all keys, then someone along the line has managed to get a copy.

Logbook is your registration certificate for your vehicle.

And id is I.d, (identification)

oh dear , it was just the was i was reading it....im baked

BDJW wrote: »
    Sorry to hear it OP. It's unfortunate, but if a pro wants your car enough, no matter what security you have, they will get it.

Has the alarm been set off at all recently? Are you 100% sure it was working? The reason I ask, and this could be very far fetched, but the alarm/immobiliser could have been faulty, and it was just a chance theft that worked out for the scumbag

Good point, but how often do you check your car alarm, pushing the button, the doors locking and a blink of the lights normally does it for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Good point, but how often do you check your car alarm, pushing the button, the doors locking and a blink of the lights normally does it for me.

Fair point. I know with my previous car, shortly after I got it, I did the usual....press the button, it beeped, lights flashed, light on the dash went on etc, just be chance I was walking by a while later and just grab the handle and the door opened and the alarm didn't go off :eek:

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,641 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Any strange cars/vans parked in the area recently? could have managed to scan the alarm frequency and then cloned it. Wouldnt have been able to start the car, but it could easily have been handbrake off and rolled up onto something/towed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Bearcat

This sounds weird. Appears they had a key. With respect it's not a desirable supercar and certainly I'd say less of a machine robbed to order unless some guy is rebuilding an x3 and needed the spare parts....hmmm then access to a hot key might become more plausible. Me says it's robbed for parts or a rebuild of another x3 and is probably in pieces as we speak. Sorry OP for a negative angle but these b@stards will do anything to further their goals.

Best of luck

Bearcat wrote: »
    This sounds weird. Appears they had a key. With respect it's not a desirable supercar and certainly I'd say less of a machine robbed to order unless some guy is rebuilding an x3 and needed the spare parts....hmmm then access to a hot key might become more plausible. Me says it's robbed for parts or a rebuild of another x3 and is probably in pieces as we speak. Sorry OP for a negative angle but these b@stards will do anything to further their goals.

Best of luck

true that

Thanks again for the replies boys, the Garda did say the chances of getting it back are pretty slim all right, I agree that it's probably been taken apart as we speak.
    Just can't my head around it, if it was a brand new X5 I'd say well yeah it's a nice motor let's have that, but a six year old X3?
    One more question, was on to the insurance and the assessors are on the case, I take it all we will get is Market value?
    If so fine, I'm sure we can pick up a like for like X3 somewhere.
    What happens at the next renewal date? Is our premium loaded?

Any shops or businesses near you that might a cctv pointing to a road near your estate or anything?

Pretty much a long shot though given it would also be nighttime and even if it picked it up I am not sure it will help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭heate

The car is either in bits or on a ship on its way to a new home... not quite stolen to order but if you're buying a stolen car you're hardly a discerning customer.
    OP sorry to hear I see MSL have an 05' X3 2.5i with 50k miles on the clock - at 14950. I can't see your insurance company seeing it at that price.

heate wrote: »
    The car is either in bits or on a ship on its way to a new home... not quite stolen to order but if you're buying a stolen car you're hardly a discerning customer.
    OP sorry to hear I see MSL have an 05' X3 2.5i with 50k miles on the clock - at 14950. I can't see your insurance company seeing it at that price.

How do they value the car then?
    We renewed our policy only recently and valued it at €15,000.
    If the car isn't recovered what happens then.
    Probably stupid questions but I havnt been down this road before.