Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland vs Australia live in the O2

• 26-08-2011 8:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭beglee

I just got an email from the Irish Rugby Supporters club about showing the Aurstalia game live in the O2. The link to read more about it doesnt work though.

Anyone have a link to more info, or know more about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

beglee wrote: »
    I just got an email from the Irish Rugby Supporters club about showing the Aurstalia game live in the O2. The link to read more about it doesnt work though.

Anyone have a link to more info, or know more about it?

I hear it is free in if you wanna bother heading in early on a saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 coylerwhaa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

Great idea...get a good buzz around the place, some giant screens...I note they have an "Australia Supporters Section" too. Looking forward to heading along..wonder if the bars will be open?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

I managed to get one in work but have to be in the Australia supporters area as all i could get. I will be making sure everyone knows who i am behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 clairebear1984

But will the bar be open?that is the vital question here. I made off like a bandit and scored 10 tickets - woot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,317 ✭✭✭gavmcg92

chris85 wrote: »
    I managed to get one in work but have to be in the Australia supporters area as all i could get. I will be making sure everyone knows who i am behind.

I'll see you there! Hahah I couldn't get an Irish one either so on I went to get an Australian one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 MacAttack84

But will the bar be open?that is the vital question here. I made off like a bandit and scored 10 tickets - woot!

10 tickets! nah... its all about having 18 tickets....

Anyone want to give two tickets this way? :P

Only have 2 in the Australian section XD

EDIT : Now I have 2 Australian and 1 Irish! Such a bad idea that they made them free!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Morf3h

Are they seriosuly all sold out?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Me too but then they reduced it to 6 :(

Few naggins - be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Great to see a bit this initiative but it will be more than half empty I suspect. Just too early for people to get themselves organised on a Saturday morning when the game is going to be live on their televisions. If it had been on in the afternoon it might be a different story. Might be a good place to bring the kids to get a bit of excitement for the game. There's no way the bars will be open but that's alright because there's no way I'd ever consider getting the pints into me at 9am.

GerM wrote: »
    there's no way I'd ever consider getting the pints into me at 9am.

There is always a first for everything :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

Great to see a bit this initiative but it will be more than half empty I suspect. Just too early for people to get themselves organised on a Saturday morning when the game is going to be live on their televisions. If it had been on in the afternoon it might be a different story. Might be a good place to bring the kids to get a bit of excitement for the game. There's no way the bars will be open but that's alright because there's no way I'd ever consider getting the pints into me at 9am.

Ah Ger, sure where's the craic in cheering on your team without a few beers on board? I'll be in on the couch in my jim-jams, breakfast roll in one hand and beer in the other (and a defibrillator on stand-by).

Just on the bar situation, I wonder does the O2 have a different licence? Like when the Good Friday game happened in Limerick, Thomond was entitled to sell beer without the exemptions needed by the pubs because it has a stadium licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Morf3h

Ger it's sold out

Of course the bars will be open (well fingers crossed anyway). Why else would o2 put this on? its def not out of the kindness of their hearts anyway. money must be made - merchandise and booze

The best way to survive pints at 9am is to continue through from Saturday night. . . !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 974 ✭✭✭BarackPyjama

I'm so there.

Morf3h wrote: »
    Ger it's sold out

Have you read this thread? :D:D:D

People here have 10-16 tickets each! :P

I can see it know... People lying down on 4-5 seats that they got for free just like they would at home on their own couches :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Stupid idea to give out tickets free, specially 10+ to individuals. You'll end up with the place half empty and people buying as many tickets as they can in case they might want to go. Utter shambles as far as I can see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭beglee

A mate got 3 tickets in the flat seating, and i got 4 in J section in the back.
    Me + the missus will probably sit with my mate near the front.

Kind of got the other 4 speculatively, presuming some other mates will wanna go. With any luck whoever goes will be able to move somewhere a bit closer.

Should be good craic. Wonder if they'll be letting people bring cans in. If the bars are closed, would be kinda sh*t to stop people, but who knows. Mind you as Ger says, really not sure about drinking so early! Maybe ill try it once, see how it takes :D

Are people still picking up tickets? What time did you all get them?

I only managed to get 1 seat right up the top. (block k)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

Anyone got 2 tickets going..?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

There's no way the bars will be open but that's alright because there's no way I'd ever consider getting the pints into me at 9am.

The key there is to not look at it as 9am but as rugby o'clock. And it's always good to get the beers in at rugby o'clock.

Morf3h wrote: »
    Ger it's sold out

I've been to sold out events before that have been half empty. Free tickets mean people will grab them quick enough but a lot of them won't bother going. It would be great if they did but I can't see it happening. When people won't be losing out financially they're not bothered. They've just ensured they have the option to go. When nothing has actually been sold, it's not really selling out.

I'd be surprised if the bars were open as it's surely outside the remit of the alcohol licence of the premises. They'd have to apply for a special licence for the occasion and I can't see that happening nor it being granted. I don't think their target audience are the lads still out on the sauce from the night before.

As for drinking at 9am maybe when I was off travelling. Well, actually not maybe. Definitely. Once bitten, twice shy.

Of course the bars will be open (well fingers crossed anyway). Why else would o2 put this on? its def not out of the kindness of their hearts anyway. money must be made - merchandise and booze

They're the major sponsor of the team. They're normally very good at promoting both themselves and the rugby team and you can be sure this event will have a decent amount of publicity in the lead up to it with the O2 logo emblazoned all over it. It's a win/win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

I've been to sold out events before that have been half empty. Free tickets mean people will grab them quick enough but a lot of them won't bother going. It would be great if they did but I can't see it happening. When people won't be losing out financially they're not bothered. They've just ensured they have the option to go. When nothing has actually been sold, it's not really selling out

It is definitely sold out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

Whats with all the reluctance to have a pint or two at 9am?!? Its the bleedin' world cup!

I wonder will Kiely's in Donnybrook be open. That would be a much better atmosphere. I remember drinking guiness watching the 1st Lions test v Australia at 9am.

Still my best ever rugby memory: The moment when Chris Latham decided it was a good idea to show Jason Robinson the outside in the 3rd minute of the 1st test. D'oh!!! Cue flying fried breakfasts and pints of guiness!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_-bgKkO0KmA

Imagine watching that with a load of pints. And now imagine Tommy Bowe doing the same thing. Wouldnt be the same without a beer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

JustinDee wrote: »

If people have been picking up 10 tickets in one go, I'd say it will be half empty. It always seems like a good idea until the alarm goes off at 7.30 on a saturday morning and the match is on in your front room

steve9859 wrote: »
    If people have been picking up 10 tickets in one go, I'd say it will be half empty. It always seems like a good idea until the alarm goes off at 7.30 on a saturday morning and the match is on in your front room

Possible of course.
    I was just pointing out that the tickets were gone.

JustinDee wrote: »

I've no doubt all the tickets have been bought or whatever the term is for acquiring free tickets. But I'd be shocked if there weren't large empty gaps in the arena on the day. Everyone loves something for free as long as it requires no effort on their part.

I hope I'm wrong as it would be great for this sort of thing to take off and fair play for them actually putting this on.

They definitely should've charged for this. Even something token like €3 and give everyone a free "something".

Having free tickets for these things is a disaster because nobody feels compelled to get their unused tickets to others.

Skunkle wrote: »
    Stupid idea to give out tickets free, specially 10+ to individuals. You'll end up with the place half empty and people buying as many tickets as they can in case they might want to go. Utter shambles as far as I can see.

I got 10 tickets but trust me - they will all be used. I hate waste, and only got the 10 for mates with no access to internet at the time they were released. It is a bit weird that there wasn't a limit, but then again i'm not complaining. I promise, i'll make sure they'll all be used ;)

They're the major sponsor of the team. They're normally very good at promoting both themselves and the rugby team and you can be sure this event will have a decent amount of publicity in the lead up to it with the O2 logo emblazoned all over it. It's a win/win.

You're dead right. I didn't even think of that. Even if the bar isn't open, so be it. i think it will be a fab atmosphere and really looking forward to it! Well done the O2 for organising it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭finatron

I would love to go but i cant :(.
    that's because I'll be in New Zealand at the match!!:):):)

Tickets have been limited to 4 pp but to 6 for people who got there early and booked more than 4...

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,380 ✭✭✭fitz

finatron wrote: »

I had restrained myself from saying something similar, but yeah, I'll be roaring my lungs out in Auckland too! :D

finatron wrote: »

Nice one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭Mister Dread

Who in their right mind would go to this?
    Trekking out at 8am to the poxy o2 to sit in arena watching a match on a big screen wtih all the bars closed. Or you could be at home with a few mates and a few cans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭Blured

Trekking out at 8am to the poxy o2 to sit in arena watching a match on a big screen wtih all the bars closed. Or you could be at home with a few mates and a few cans.

Quite a few people going by this thread. I think events like this are a great idea and would have been going except I'm in France when its on. Its O'Carolan's Pub in Montpelier for me!

I'll be doing the same except on a bigger screen and a few thousand people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭vixdname

Thats just pure F*****g stupid giving out free tickets.
    Alls happened is loads of people who probably nevere went to a rugby match took 8 or 10 tickets simply because they could, and more then likely only a fraction of them will be used.

Typical Irish, "Coz tis free, I'll take 10 of em, eventhough I've no use for em, but I'm fecked if I'm leavin them there for anywon else"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭mrboswell

Haven't been able to watch a match in a bar/venue in years.
    There are always people getting in the way of the screens especially those who are not really bothered about the match anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

Would love to go to this, if there are any spare tickets going I'd greatly appreciate them! :)

vixdname wrote: »
    Alls happened is loads of people who probably nevere went to a rugby match took 8 or 10 tickets simply because they could, and more then likely only a fraction of them will be used.

Typical Irish, "Coz tis free, I'll take 10 of em, eventhough I've no use for em, but I'm fecked if I'm leavin them there for anywon else"
    If O2 had charged, there'd have been complaints about having to pay no doubt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

vixdname wrote: »

Silly post, if they charged nobody at all would go. Would I pay €5 or €10 to watch a match on TV that I can watch on TV at home for nothing? Hell no.

danthefan wrote: »
    Silly post, if they charged nobody at all would go. Would I pay €5 or €10 to watch a match on TV that I can watch on TV at home for nothing? Hell no.

By that logic why the hell would anyone go regardless? People will go for the atmosphere, the difference a charge of a few quid will make is stop all the clowns who dont know if they will go or not or maybe even have no intentions of going grabbing all the tickets before people with every intention of going get to them.

You advertise anything for free and every tom dick and harry in a thousand mile radius will take as many tickets for it as they can whether they know or care what the hell is on.

Small charge would guarantee a high attendance and could even go towards some free food or something making it better all round.

By that logic why the hell would anyone go regardless? People will go for the atmosphere, the difference a charge of a few quid will make is stop all the clowns who dont know if they will go or not or maybe even have no intentions of going grabbing all the tickets before people with every intention of going get to them.

You advertise anything for free and every tom dick and harry in a thousand mile radius will take as many tickets for it as they can whether they know or care what the hell is on.

Small charge would guarantee a high attendance and could even go towards some free food or something making it better all round.

Because it's free, that is the entire logic, I thought I made that perfectly clear.

People will go because and only because its free ? Your saying there is no other draw to this other than the fact that its free ?

Edit: Just to clarify, your first argument against a charge was "you can watch it at home for free". So if its free at home and free at the o2 why go to the effort of going to the o2 ?

People will go because and only because its free ? Your saying there is no other draw to this other than the fact that its free ?

Edit: Just to clarify, your first argument against a charge was "you can watch it at home for free". So if its free at home and free at the o2 why go to the effort of going to the o2 ?

For the things you said. The atmosphere, a bit of craic, etc.

I dont think many people would be put off a good atmosphere and a bit of craic buy a charge of a couple of quid. If they were charging to turn a profit then you'd have a point but a small charge just to stop people needlessly taking tickets they dont need wouldnt put anybody off going.

Would have been a good idea to charge maybe €3.50 and on showing your ticket at the door you received a free pint, shirt, foam finger, breakfast roll or something else.

I don't know... I can see both of your arguments.