Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motoring Pet Peevs

• 25-08-2011 6:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭

Yesterday there was heavy rain in the afternoon and as I was in a car down the M4/N4, I got really annoyed that most drivers will not drive with their lights on when the rain, dark clouds and grey roads and surroundings make everything look grey. There were so many cars that were not visible and that would have been visible if they'd simply turned their lights on...

So I was wondering what other people's pet peevs are while on the road.. (you know - so we can vent here and not have attacks of road rage while driving :))

Another of mine is fog lights on when it is not foggy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Indicators. The refusal to use them when every bloody car has one. The exception being when they are used as hazards thus giving the driver the god given right to do absafuppingloutely whatever they want.

People who drive in the centre and/or overtaking lane of the motorway when other lanes are free. Move the **** over.

People who think the overtaking lane is the "fast lane" and that 75 km/h in that lane is "fast-enough-for-me-so-it's-fast-enough-for-you-too".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

groundhog day:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

corktina wrote: »
    groundhog day:D

The snot of a Roundabout that nobody knows how to use especially if you are from Newmarket..:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Irish Fire

Fools that don't obey the rules in a carpark!!!!

i know how to use it...just keep going and everyone else stops!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

People who hammer out in front of you and then drive 20mph! Why why why?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

Cars that aren't Renaults.

What the **** were ye all thinkin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,156 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

• Inability to use indicators.
    • Inability to use roundabouts.
    • Lack of lights in reduced visibility conditions.
    • Retards with no lights on in heavy rain AND heavy spray conditions (Motorway driving). Particularly those in silver coloured vehicles ...
    • Using fog lights when ... well there's no fog or severely impaired visibility due to blizzard or extremely heavy rain and spray conditions (Motorway driving).
    • A car taking up two or more car parking spaces
    • Tail-gaters
    • Motorway lane-hoggers
    • People who sit beside you for ages on a motorway whilst you are indicating well in advance to move right and there is nothing obstructing them from either moving right to accommodate or increasing speed (within the limit of course). They're perfectly entitled to do as they do, I just find it a bit ignorant.

And my newest pet peev as of this evening .... psychotic road-rage wanquers who start swerving all over the motorway trying to jam on to encourage you to crash into them (and start slamming on in front of other traffic too because they miss the lane you're in in their haste ... ), or keep trying to drive level with you to eyeball you and/or prevent you from overtaking safely and then merging safely to allow other traffic to pass. I drive up and down the M1 between Leeds & Sheffield every day and have done for quite some time and I must say I've seen some aggressive driving - and had some done to me - but never ever in all my driving up and down the length & breadth of either Ireland or the UK have I encountered driving as truly psychotic as that ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Drivers going too slow on main roads:mad:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Most drivers in Cork had their lights in the rain yesterday, unfortunetly a large number had only one working headlight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,473 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Tail-gaters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

For me it has to be the aul farmer pulling the horse box at 30mph on a main rd that refuses to pull in to leave the 2 miles of traffic pass him...:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭cjmcork

Ricardo G wrote: »
    For me it has to be the aul farmer pulling the horse box at 30mph on a main rd that refuses to pull in to leave the 2 miles of traffic pass him...:mad:

snap - I drive from Dublin to Cork every Friday and the most stressful part of the entire journey is the last 25kms where I'm on a single lane behind a a) goddamn hay lorry; b) OA(bloddy)P driving a Micra at 35kph and / or c) a farmer with a trailer who refuses to pull the hell in to let the miles of traffic behind to overtake............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Yesterday there was heavy rain in the afternoon and as I was in a car down the M4/N4, I got really annoyed that most drivers will not drive with their lights on when the rain, dark clouds and grey roads and surroundings make everything look grey. There were so many cars that were not visible and that would have been visible if they'd simply turned their lights on...

In some countries, they solved this problem by making usage of dipped or DRL lights obligatory during the day.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,475 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Whilst driving - drivers who leave their kids play around in the car ( not belted in ) but have their own belt on and drivers that allow their dog lean 90% out of a window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

For me, it would be people who fail to drive on left side of the road.
    I do most of my driving on vary narrow roads, and it's almost every day that I meet car on the blind bend coming towards me right in the middle of the road - and then usually driver is very surprised with my presence. (worth mentioning is that road is wide enought for 2 cars to pass).

The same people very often will never move left when I try to overtake them. I have to move right and drive there just behind him with right indicator and horn for 10 or 20 seconds before the driver will move.
    Madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

Front Foglights when there is no fog.... the known why to highlight your sh1t car.

"swooping" on roundabouts.. i.e. "feck everyone else I'll just straight line it."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

People who don't understand filter arrows

The arrow is straight ahead and the corner to your left now has the green man for pedestrians.
    But drivers see green and swing left and then beep at the pedestrian crossing the road

Or maybe you are the driver, you wait for your green light so you can turn left and the driver behind you wanting to go straight is beeping and pressuring you to break the light

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

si_guru wrote: »
    Front Foglights when there is no fog....

ah lads,lets not go here.we've managed so long :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭junkyarddog

People that don't stop at STOP signs.

smug parent-types with Baby On Board or Daddy's Little Princess (puke) signs and said princess is jumping around the back seat..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭maryxyz

So many people don't wait behind an obstruction (double-parked car, bin lorry, bus or whatever) & allow the oncoming traffic to pass first ! They just barge out as if they had a right to - risking a collision with oncoming cars ! Is the correct procedure not taught by driving instructors any more ?

Maryxyz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

pajo1981 wrote: »

FYP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

**** who will drive past a long queue of people wanting to go straight at a roundabout and then using the turn left lane to floor it past everyone else.
    Mostly they even try to get past cars already in the roundabout.
    Even seen them passing out cars that already have left the roundabout.
    Makes me see red, I just can't help it, I floor it too. And very few make it past me.
    And then they start giving me the evils, one even took his phone out (whilst driving, of course) and took my picture.
    Never heard from him, I wonder what the cops told him. (I was in the wrong lane, trying to overtake people in a roundabout to cut traffic when this guy won't let me past! Well, I took out my mobile phone and whilst steering and changing gear, took his picture. I demand you arrest this blur!):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

Confab wrote: »
    pajo1981 wrote: »

FYP

Thats uncalled for.

Anti renault infraction reported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Number one pet peev for me is misuse of roundabouts....using incorrect lanes in a sort of pick and mix manner...whichever one takes your fancy sort of attitude. Then are are the morans who are on the outer lane and cut right into the inner lane when negotiating the roundabout...and plenty of them there are.

Somebody mentioned not using indicators (which I know is bad) but using indicators incorrectly is just bloody lethal...get off the road ye f**king morans before ye cause an accident.

Another thing that tests my patience and eyes is those that do not dip their lights for oncoming cars at night or are very slow to and plenty of them there seems to be too. Is it that theyre too lazy, away in a world of their own or just toss pots?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,481 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Lack of lane discipline especially on roundabouts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭fando

Somebody mentioned not using indicators (which I know is bad) but using indicators incorrectly is just bloody lethal...get off the road ye f**king morans before ye cause an accident.
    Using indicators could be abandon altogether. Performing manoeuvre based on others indicators is too dangerous anyway. I see most people, on the roundabouts, crossroads, are not influenced by others indicators, eg. they pass when they clearly see what the other car is doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Middle lane hoggers. Naas Road tonighthaas full of them, even at 11pm. They seriously hold up the flow of traffic unless people undertake which isn't desirable either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Must be some sort of miracle, nobody here has any bad habits at all :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

People not saying thanks when you let them out, or something similar. I hate that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭heate

People not saying thanks when you let them out, or something similar. I hate that!

I agree!

One peeve of mine is people taking lessons during rush hour - everyone has to learn but perhaps try it when people aren't already aggravated and just trying to get home and not be delayed my stalls at lights and 15mph driving causing you to miss lights.
    And people in general who take their sweet time taking off of you miss 3-4 lights a journey because of this it costs you 10+ minutes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

People who insist on stopping in the middle of a town to let 10 cars cross over the road while holding up a mile of traffic behind them, 1 or 2 is fine but don't take the piss!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

7544ca78-f5ba-46d3-82dd-aac75110c8c9.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

BX 19 wrote: »
    7544ca78-f5ba-46d3-82dd-aac75110c8c9.jpg

Don't get ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Don't get ya

I'm guessing it's the gardaí ignoring any and all traffic laws, not using indicators and doing whatever they fancy (be it in the line of duty or not tbh)

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

Dunno If this one was mentioned, but when someone pulls out in front of you and thinks its ok because they are getting off the road again shortly..

baddriving.png

"Ah sure im just nipping across the road ill only be a second"

Seems to happen me all the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭heate

Don't get ya

I'm guessing it's the gardaí ignoring any and all traffic laws, not using indicators and doing whatever they fancy (be it in the line of duty or not tbh)

I've no issue with the force driving however necessary in the line of duty all those seconds do count but when I see them casually do things when you can tell they are not in a rush.
    I regularly see them break red lights and drive both ignorantly and aggressively around town. I have been acting courteously toward them at times and been thrown verbal and facial expressional abuse which I would take enough offense to warrant me calling them up on - I have no problem asking them wtf they're problem is.
    What kind of example are they setting with all of this is my prime concern!

damn this thread - another thing that winds me up (city drivers won't get this as much)......getting stuck behind a nervous nelly that brakes every time a car comes towards them................I see it FAR too frequently (if you are a learner, put up a plate - if you are not a learner, give up your licence)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Irish Fire

cjmcork wrote: »
    smug parent-types with Baby On Board or Daddy's Little Princess (puke) signs and said princess is jumping around the back seat..............

A neighbour of mine has a sign with the kids names written on it....... "**** and **** on board" this thing covers the rear window!!! I kid you not......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Irish Fire wrote: »
    A neighbour of mine has a sign with the kids names written on it....... "**** and **** on board" this thing covers the rear window!!! I kid you not......

This worries me no end. Queue dirty old man approaching car when parent runs into the shop. " Hello *****, Your mammy asked me to get you, come with me and I'll bring you to her."

I drive all over this country and have to say that Ardee is possibly the worst for this kind of carry on.

It's expected that you let them out. Not appreciated, expected !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭cozzie55

People who overtake at the stupidest moments possible. Actually i'll correct that people who aren't used to overtaking over taking slow moving vehicles at the worst moment. Like at a bend, brow of a hill, dip in the road, a cross. Have these people no cop on.

People who overtake and then sit in the right hand lane for half the day driving at the same speed as the person who they are over taking.

People who just follow the car in front of them in a line of traffic when they over take. ie "ah sur the guy in front of me is goin to over take the front car so i may as well do it too without looking to see if there is anything coming"

People who erratically use the accelerator. Fast, slow, fast, slow, fast again. Seriously learn to keep yer foot steady and drive at the same pace.

People who slam on the brakes suddenly on a motorway.

People who drive at 80km no matter where. These people tend to drive at 80 on the main road and then stay at the same speed driving through a speed limit. These people think it is safer to drive at 80 on the main roads and that they have control over the vehicle which I can kind of understand(well no i can't really actually) but then I have no idea why they think driving at 80 trough a speed limit is safe by comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭cozzie55

Another one just hit me.
    People who overtake you and then proceed to turn off at the next cross three or four hundred metres down the road. What is the point of it. Esp when I'm driving at 90 to 100km anyway i'm not exactly holding the show up that much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

on a motorway when you're overtaking people and someone on the inside lane ahead of you going significantly slower than you are sees you coming and decides that it's better for them to pull out to overtake something ahead of them right in front of you so you have to slam on your brakes, than it is for them to ease off the accelerator for 5 seconds to let you past before pulling out. :mad:

doubly so when it's something so far ahead of them that you'd have been long past them before they even got to the thing they needed to overtake. :mad::mad:

triply so when they're coming down a slip road and want to overtake something ahead of them on it and pull right out over the slip road chevrons and out into the overtaking lane to overtake something on the inside lane as well as the slip road, appearing out of nowhere from behind a white van on the inside lane, which happened to me about a month ago on the N3 at blanchardstown.

ahole.jpg

bearing in mind that i was doing 10-15km/h more than the van and my wife was 40 weeks pregnant at the time and i almost locked up the wheels in order to avoid slamming into the back of him, i honked my horn and flashed him to let him know what a prick move it was, only to be greeted with a 2 second burst of his hidden blue flashing lights, which apparently means you don't have to obey the rules of the road if you are part of the undercover garda traffic corps.

i was fuming and if it hadn't been for my very pregnant wife crying hysterically in the seat next to me (and my NCT being a tiny bit out of date :o) i was giving serious consideration to flashing him again and getting him to pull over.

i've actually got a black box type dash cam and it was one of the few times it wasn't turned on, which was a real shame or it would be online already.

he wasn't responding to any emergency either as he then calmly (and without lights) proceeded onto the M50 as i continued into dublin on the N3.

i had gotten lazy with it, but needless to say the dash cam is always on now, just in case of further lunacy.

Irish drivers....end of

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭qwytre

Bloody taxi drivers who prefer to pressure you in to letting them get into your lane ahead of you instead of indicating and waiting to be let in. They just keep nudging further into your lane with the intention of making you slow down and letting then in.

I NEVER let them in unless they indicate like any other normal driver.

And honestly, it is always taxi drivers doing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Mr.Boots

People unable to merge/let other cars merge on motorway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

Mr.Boots wrote: »
    People unable to merge/let other cars merge on motorway
    +1 to that.

how fecking hard is it to speed up to match the speed of the traffic you are joining?

feckers pootling down the slip road at 60km/h should be put off the road. :mad:

once, i actually had someone stop right in front of me on a slip road because they were going that much slower than the other traffic that they couldn't get in anywhere and ran out of road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭DanWall

People that are not fully in the RH lane when turning right, blocking people turning left.

The road engineers who determine the marking, they will have miles of single lines and have a short stretch for overtaking that even a Ferrari could not accelerate quick enough to get through, sometimes they give you a bend when it is clearly impossible to pass; or changing the rules of a roundabout with the road markings and not giving sufficient advance notice.

And brake twitches day and night time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,201 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

vibe666 wrote: »
    on a motorway when you're overtaking people and someone on the inside lane ahead of you going significantly slower than you are sees you coming and decides that it's better for them to pull out to overtake something ahead of them right in front of you so you have to slam on your brakes, than it is for them to ease off the accelerator for 5 seconds to let you past before pulling out. :mad:

doubly so when it's something so far ahead of them that you'd have been long past them before they even got to the thing they needed to overtake. :mad::mad:

triply so when they're coming down a slip road and want to overtake something ahead of them on it and pull right out over the slip road chevrons and out into the overtaking lane to overtake something on the inside lane as well as the slip road, appearing out of nowhere from behind a white van on the inside lane, which happened to me about a month ago on the N3 at blanchardstown.

ahole.jpg

bearing in mind that i was doing 10-15km/h more than the van and my wife was 40 weeks pregnant at the time and i almost locked up the wheels in order to avoid slamming into the back of him, i honked my horn and flashed him to let him know what a prick move it was, only to be greeted with a 2 second burst of his hidden blue flashing lights, which apparently means you don't have to obey the rules of the road if you are part of the undercover garda traffic corps.

i was fuming and if it hadn't been for my very pregnant wife crying hysterically in the seat next to me (and my NCT being a tiny bit out of date :o) i was giving serious consideration to flashing him again and getting him to pull over.

i've actually got a black box type dash cam and it was one of the few times it wasn't turned on, which was a real shame or it would be online already.

he wasn't responding to any emergency either as he then calmly (and without lights) proceeded onto the M50 as i continued into dublin on the N3.

i had gotten lazy with it, but needless to say the dash cam is always on now, just in case of further lunacy.

Should have noted the reg and rang Blanch Garda Station.

I've let loose at some desk sargeant/Super before over this ridiculous "we can do what we want" attitude from some of our Keystone Cops brigade

For example, the 2 clowns in a TC car coming tearing up the wrong side of the M3 outside Dunshaughlin about 2 months back - supposedly chasing a car doing the same... except that I joined the M3 at the M50 and didn't pass anything like that, which is something you'd kinda notice (and even if true, the correct procedure would have been to block the exits and toll booth at Dunboyne and intercept that way.. not put other road users at risk as well!)

Dunshaughlin TC seem to do things like this a lot though - like parking an estate TC car half on the driving lane at the top of a rise in the road as you approach that exit from the Navan side so you can't see them of course!

No doubt the AGS fan club will be on shortly though to tell you that "they were driving in the course of duty"/"are exempt from normal traffic laws"/"you're wrong/are making it up because you don't have a link for all to see" :rolleyes: