Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Rail - Handling of Complaints

• 25-08-2011 12:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18

Hey All,

I am currently having some issues regarding a complaint I made to Iarnrod Eireann and I'm wondering if anybody here has experienced similar issues or can provide advice.

To keep a long story short, I reserved a seat on the Dublin-Cork train about 6-weeks ago. I printed my ticket when I arrived at Heuston but when I attempted to board the train I was told by security that the train was full. I tried to explain that I had a seat reserved (this was 15 minutes before departure time) but they were having none of it. When I went to the information desk they told me to apply for a refund.

I contacted IE again this week to follow up on my refund request. The response I got said that their records show that my seat was unoccupied (?) and, since I didn't cancel my ticket before departure time, I am not entitled to a refund. I have responded to this email numerous times explaining my situation in more detail, but they have not responded.

Has anybody experienced similar issues before? Aside from calling Joe Duffy, what is the best means of escalating this issue? (On another note, is it standard policy for IE to overbook their trains? I really don't understand how the train could have been full).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,472 ✭✭✭highlydebased

Well, you can only reserve seats from so many carriages- the others are left for people with walk on tickets. Of course, carriages might have been entirely reserved by large groups? But anyway, in short, I'd say you should have been left on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭NedNew2

This is typical pig headedness on behalf of Iarnrod Eireann. They're a law unto themselves. Its' fare paying customers are at their mercy.

Don't give up Op, in my opinion if this was a decent company you would be issued with an apology, a refund and a free ticket to compensate... but then again this is IE.

Switch from email. Write letters, make phone calls, or show up in person. Email is too easy to ignore.

(Most complaints here about Irish Rail I always end up on Irish Rail's side, but this is seriously ridiculous situation, very unfair on you. I wish you all the best)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

If you paid by credit card, initiate a charge back using the details provided above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 FakeSheikh

Thanks for the responses everyone. I finally received an email response from IrishRail last night. They have said that due to the high demand for seats on the train (i.e. it was overbooked) they invoked the "20 minute rule". Now, this sounds reasonable in principle, except:
    • From my own past experience, it is usually not possible to board the train 20 minutes before departure, because the gates are still locked.
    • What would happen to the reserved seat in the hypothetical case of someone who was boarding at an intermediate station?

As a gesture of goodwill they offered me a 20 Euro voucher (my ticket cost over twice that amount). Obviously I'm not going to accept this and will pursue further (by postal mail and phone, if necessary, thanks for the suggestion).

Regarding the charge-back, how feasible is this in practice? Does anybody have any experience of requesting these?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Shelflife

This sounds like total and utter bulls@#*t What's the point of reserving and booking a seat if they then refuse you entry.
    How did they know that your seat was unused?
    Why did they continue to oversell tickets to a train that was full ? Did their records not show this?
    I would esculate this and look for costs that you incurred as a result of their incompetence.
    If they bothered to sort out what was clearly a cock up on their part you wouldn't mind.
    Unfortunately it makes no difference to them whether or not you travel with IR again or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭mistermister

Small claims court

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

FakeSheikh wrote: »
    Thanks for the responses everyone. I finally received an email response from IrishRail last night. They have said that due to the high demand for seats on the train (i.e. it was overbooked) they invoked the "20 minute rule". Now, this sounds reasonable in principle, except:
    • From my own past experience, it is usually not possible to board the train 20 minutes before departure, because the gates are still locked.
    • What would happen to the reserved seat in the hypothetical case of someone who was boarding at an intermediate station?

As a gesture of goodwill they offered me a 20 Euro voucher (my ticket cost over twice that amount). Obviously I'm not going to accept this and will pursue further (by postal mail and phone, if necessary, thanks for the suggestion).

Regarding the charge-back, how feasible is this in practice? Does anybody have any experience of requesting these?

They do request any online booking passengers to take their seats no later than 20 minutes before departure. While it is in the T+C, the question you need to ask now is if it's included in the confirmation emails you'd have gotten upon booking your ticket; if so then you don't have much grounds here as it was flagged to you in advance. If not I'd suggest you reply pointing same out and asking them to reconsider. I know gate opening times can and do chance from time to time but it's apparent that they were open in this case so it's not the wisest point to raise in this case

In relation to a seat booked after Cork, it's either kept empty or else it's vacated from the station it's needed from if somebody is in it; either way it's for that passenger use for their relevant stations en route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

Air France allow check in for an international flight where they have tp xray your hold and cabin baggage up to 20 mins before a flight

Expecting the same for a train is (obviously) boll0cks

TGV's and high speed Italian trains don't announce their platforms until 10 or 15 mins before departure from termini

Just ring your credit card co and say IE didn't let you travel. If IE let you collect the ticket <20 minutes pre departure and you went directly to the platform, it'd be hard to see IE's case, and is probably an unfair consumer term.
    If your credit card co charges back it'll probably cost IE about a hundred euros or so

They do request any online booking passengers to take their seats no later than 20 minutes before departure. While it is in the T+C, the question you need to ask now is if it's included in the confirmation emails you'd have gotten upon booking your ticket; if so then you don't have much grounds here as it was flagged to you in advance. If not I'd suggest you reply pointing same out and asking them to reconsider.

I have double-checked the confirmation email and the T+Cs. It says "Please take your seat 20 minutes prior to departure", but that is all. It does not state that they will give away your seat if you are not there, nor does it state your are not entitled to a refund in such a case. This omission, as well as the fact that the attendant at the information desk informed me that I was entitled to a refund, would suggest to me that my request is valid. What do you think?

I have replied to them rejecting their voucher offer, so if I don't get a satisfactory response sometime next week I will probably initiate a charge-back.

Thanks again everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Question: (a) Did you get to travel? (b) If you did get to travel, were you put at an inconvenience, e.g. you couldn't sit with your friends, you missed a connection / lift or had to pay for a taxi because you were late.

In case (a) a partial refund, while on the face of it is reasonable, is less than what you are entitled to. In case (b) I would be looking for more money.
    FakeSheikh wrote: »
    I was told by security that the train was full.
    Unacceptable. Indeed, there is no standard for "full" and in cases of overcrowding they are usually keen to emphasise that. It is therefore interesting as to how they can make that statement.
    I tried to explain that I had a seat reserved (this was 15 minutes before departure time) but they were having none of it. When I went to the information desk they told me to apply for a refund.
    In future cases, perhaps getting the information desk to endore the ticket as "full refund due to seat occupied / train full".
    The response I got said that their records show that my seat was unoccupied (?)
    I honestly doubt that. While train hosts sometimes do print of the passenger manifest, I have never seen it cross-checked with actual occupancy. At what point in the journey was the manifest checked? And if security said the train was full, who is lying Irish Rail security or Irish Rail records / customer service.

since I didn't cancel my ticket before departure time, I am not entitled to a refund.
    You are entitled to a full refund if they didn't provide you with your seat.
    On another note, is it standard policy for IE to overbook their trains?
    as there is assigned seating, and only in part of the train, I can't see how that is possible. However, it is possible that there was a large number of people with walk-on tickets.

Hey all, just to give a quick update. I have received another email from IrishRail and they're still not budging.

At this stage it looks like I'll have to try getting a charge-back on my credit card. I'll let you know how it goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,292 ✭✭✭goingnowhere

You got 60 days for the date of transaction to file a chargeback request, so probably too late by now

Its not automatic, the vendor can challenge the request and if they can prove the sale was valid and correctly handled you lose.

Is there a legally enforceable condition in the contract of sale?

https://www.irishrail.ie/seat_reservation/ConditionsOfTravel.pdf
    Passengers at terminal stations who wish to claim their reserved seats must be available for boarding at least twenty minutes prior to the advertised departure time of the train.

Seems the exact same as showing up late at the checkin desk at Dublin Airport, no real recourse. Not fair clearly, but you clicked the accept T&C's before paying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

You got 60 days for the date of transaction to file a chargeback request, so probably too late by now

Its not automatic, the vendor can challenge the request and if they can prove the sale was valid and correctly handled you lose.

Is there a legally enforceable condition in the contract of sale?

https://www.irishrail.ie/seat_reservation/ConditionsOfTravel.pdf

Seems the exact same as showing up late at the checkin desk at Dublin Airport, no real recourse. Not fair clearly, but you clicked the accept T&C's before paying.
    Would this not be seen as an unfair condition as it does not apply universally to everyone who has booked seats and only seems to apply when IR need it to prevent customers getting refunds?

Surely anyone with a reservation who is not available for boarding 20 minutes before should lose their reservations and also the right to claim refunds if prevent from travelling by security guards.

You got 60 days for the date of transaction to file a chargeback request, so probably too late by now.

Are you sure about this? I thought I saw somewhere online that the deadline was 6 months for a chargeback? Either way, I better get in gear.

Regarding their T&Cs, when I read it (maybe I'm missing something), they don't specifically say that they can give away your seat and not provide a refund if you are not in your seat 20 minutes prior to departure. So how enforceable is this policy?

In my own opinion, I think I definitely have a genuine claim, and it is ridiculous that they are holding out (especially since I was initially assured that I was entitled to a refund). I just need to find some way of structuring my case so that the credit card company will agree.

Well lads, just to update ye on this. It took a long time but IrishRail have finally refunded my ticket in full. It was the threat of a chargeback that clinched it for me in the end.

Thanks for all the helpful advice lads, especially whoever it was that initially suggested the chargeback (sorry, too lazy to scroll back and find your name). I'll never complain about the €2 credit card surcharge ever again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Declan O

My god, Irish Rail must be run by criminals!!! 1) bought a ticket at the station for 2 people for €155 (!) euro to Dublin, had no idea it would be cheaper online. 2) Had to go back few weeks later, bought 2 tickets online for € 42 due to a bank holiday had to change my ticket for a week later. Could NOT change the tickets, they charged me 20% and then I had to CANCEL my tickets and buy new ones. Bought them online again but now I had to pay €88 for 2 tickets. Why do the prices change! It's a bloody outrage!! 3) Just got back from Dublin but took a train 1 hour earlier!!!! Guess what I had to pay an extra €40 because I travelled an hour earlier!!! These people are fecking insane to charge this much for a ticket. I paid €88 for 2 tickets + €40 because of an earlier train....IRISH RAIL ARE FECKED UP!!! I will NEVER take a train in this bloody country again!!! I have and will again complain, but they don't care. I still did not receive my refund! So your better of taking your car!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

1 - Learn to spell
    2 - Learn to write complete sentences in a format that people can read them in
    3 - Be amazed at the fact that online prices do change for transport options
    4 - Be amazed that prices online can be cheaper than in store
    5 - Be prepared and know when you're actually travelling rather than when you think you might be travelling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭highnc

Declan O wrote: »
    So your better of taking your car!!

no, you're better off booking online!! works for me anyway.

My god, Irish Rail must be run by criminals!!!
    No need for comments like this. I understand you are unhappy, but this would appear to be based on you not doing your research nor reading what you were given.
    1 - Learn to spell
    2 - Learn to write complete sentences in a format that people can read them in
    Behave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

My god, Irish Rail must be run by criminals!!! 1) bought a ticket at the station for 2 people for €155 (!) euro to Dublin, had no idea it would be cheaper online. 2) Had to go back few weeks later, bought 2 tickets online for € 42 due to a bank holiday had to change my ticket for a week later. Could NOT change the tickets, they charged me 20% and then I had to CANCEL my tickets and buy new ones. Bought them online again but now I had to pay €88 for 2 tickets. Why do the prices change! It's a bloody outrage!! 3) Just got back from Dublin but took a train 1 hour earlier!!!! Guess what I had to pay an extra €40 because I travelled an hour earlier!!! These people are fecking insane to charge this much for a ticket. I paid €88 for 2 tickets + €40 because of an earlier train....IRISH RAIL ARE FECKED UP!!! I will NEVER take a train in this bloody country again!!! I have and will again complain, but they don't care. I still did not receive my refund! So your better of taking your car!!

Thats some accusation. It was you that decided to take an earlier train so thats your fault.

1) bought a ticket at the station for 2 people for €155 (!) euro to Dublin,
    Cork-Dublin is listed as €77 open return here: http://www.irishrail.ie/index.jsp?p=118&n=197&a=266 I'm sure you can get the same information at stations and by telephone. Depending on the journey and your circumstances, other fares are available.
    had no idea it would be cheaper online.
    In fairness they do advertise (on-line, print, billboards, TV) that cheap on-line fares are available.
    2) Had to go back few weeks later, bought 2 tickets online for € 42
    Well done. You got them for a quarter of the usual price. This brings some restrictions.
    due to a bank holiday had to change my ticket for a week later. Could NOT change the tickets, they charged me 20% and then I had to CANCEL my tickets and buy new ones.
    This is in line with the term and conditions that you agreed to when you bought the discounted tickets.
    Bought them online again but now I had to pay €88 for 2 tickets. Why do the prices change!
    This is no different to bus companies, airlines and theatres. The closer to the date of travel that you buy, typically the more expensive that tickets are.
    3) Just got back from Dublin but took a train 1 hour earlier!!!! Guess what I had to pay an extra €40 because I travelled an hour earlier!!!
    This is in line with the term and conditions that you agreed to when you bought the discounted tickets. You booked one train and travelled on another.
    These people are fecking insane to charge this much for a ticket. I paid €88 for 2 tickets + €40 because of an earlier train....IRISH RAIL ARE FECKED UP!!! I will NEVER take a train in this bloody country again!!! I have and will again complain, but they don't care. I still did not receive my refund! So your better of taking your car!!
    Not necessarily. You will first need a car and all that comes with it. You will then have to drive a round trip of 530km, which not everyone is willing or able to do. In Dublin, you might have to spend €20-30 a day on parking and have to move the car several times during the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 jack and jill

Hello Everyone, my wife and I traveled on the Westport to Dublin train last month. I am seventy three years old. We chose two seats which were not indicated as being reserved. At a station up the line a lady approached and informed us that she had a reservation for my seat. I somewhat reluctantly (admittedly) gave up my seat and had to look elsewhere on an already crowded train. I reported the matter to the ticket collector who said he would inform a train official who was seated elsewhere. Nobody came to investigate the incident. Returning from Houston at 18.15 we were positioned for the Westport train 45 mins before departure. Again we looked for unreserved seats. We were sitting in those for about ten minutes when the 'seat reserved' sign came on. For the second time that day I had to again look for a vacant seat. The reserved seat was not taken but a lady sat in it and said she would 'vacate it if anyone came along'. I have written twice to EI to complain but so far have got no reply. So much for their Charter of Rights. Surely people should not be treated like this. Any suggestions?

Reserving your seats on your next trip would be one way out of this; Irish rail offer this facility online for those who travel on free passes. Other than than there isn't a lot you can do if seats are reserved.

The problem Losty is that in the first instance there was no indication that the seats were reserved, so until the passanger came along with their ticket indicating the had reserved the seat the Op had no clue that they were reserved.

I travelled last month on the same line and had reserved my seats, on both legs of the journey there was no indication that the seats were reserved by us.

I tweeted Irish rail about it but heard nothing back.

Shelflife wrote: »
    The problem Losty is that in the first instance there was no indication that the seats were reserved, so until the passanger came along with their ticket indicating the had reserved the seat the Op had no clue that they were reserved.

I travelled last month on the same line and had reserved my seats, on both legs of the journey there was no indication that the seats were reserved by us.

I tweeted Irish rail about it but heard nothing back.

I understand that, hence suggesting reserving seats on board the train. While you may run the risk of somebody else sitting in them, you will have the booking for same in event of dispute.

Treated like what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭robertxxx

Shower of **** bags,
    The sooner it's privatised the better for the public.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Banjoxed

robertxxx wrote: »
    Shower of **** bags,
    The sooner it's privatised the better for the public.

Two versions of public transport elsewhere in these islands:

1. Translink: fully publically owned with relatively integrated road, rail and city bus services. Cheap as chips to travel on and very reliable.

2. Great Britain's completely disaggregated bus and rail services, friggin expensive and with only the rail tracks themselves in public ownership.

Mm, yes. What a hard choice that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 VWD8

Sorry but you are being allowed to travel for Free. IE have to give priority to fare paying passengers in the interests of fairness.The fare paying passengers are also helping to subsidise your free travel.

VWD8 wrote: »
    Sorry but you are being allowed to travel for Free. IE have to give priority to fare paying passengers in the interests of fairness.The fare paying passengers are also helping to subsidise your free travel.

Free travel is not the issue here. The op wanted a seat and sat in what he believed to be an unreserved seat. He did the same on his return journey. Due to IR inefficiency the seats he chose were actually reserved and do he had to go and look for seats. Maybe at 73 they aren't so good on their feet and it's a hassle for them to change.

It's not unreasonable to expect reserved seats to be clearly marked, and it's not unreasonable to expect a reply when you write to a business with a complaint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭dowlingm

If the poster above went to the media the Information Minister would be on to say it's their fault for not reserving their own seats...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

I understand that, hence suggesting reserving seats on board the train. While you may run the risk of somebody else sitting in them, you will have the booking for same in event of dispute.

The problem is that on intermediate stops in particular reservations should be listed/notified above the seat from the beginning of the journey such as say in thurles reserved from thurles should be displayed from cork or from Dublin for a seat that is reserved from thurles in either direction, but what happens is there is no indication until the train stops in or leaves thurles when the reservation then shows.

If a passenger boards and takes a seat in Dublin or cork and the warning/notice is there that the seat is reserved from thurles then fair warning is given but if there is no notice of the reservation until the stop then that passenger has every right to keep that seat for their complete journey as the company have failed to give them proper notice they they may have to move out of the seat in thurles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

The problem is that on intermediate stops in particular reservations should be listed/notified above the seat from the beginning of the journey such as say in thurles reserved from thurles should be displayed from cork or from Dublin for a seat that is reserved from thurles in either direction, but what happens is there is no indication until the train stops in or leaves thurles when the reservation then shows.

They have this system already in place.

Any passenger sitting in pre booked seats needs to be given a fine of €100, and it won't take long for people to get the message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭D.L.R.

Irish Rail - Handling of Complaints

292611-wheelie-bin.jpg

Its a problem with the wi-fi , it should come up when the driver inputs the train id but it doesnt always work. It can be done manually but sometimes it fails or staff dont get enough time due to train being late onto the platform .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

Jamie2k9 wrote: »
    They have this system already in place.

Any passenger sitting in pre booked seats needs to be given a fine of €100, and it won't take long for people to get the message.
    It's obviously not working, so it would be easy to appeal such a fine and cost IE even more money.

No Pants wrote: »
    It's obviously not working, so it would be easy to appeal such a fine and cost IE even more money.

Sorry but how is it not working, the signs clearly state for example if I board in Waterford, some seats will say Reserved from Kilkenny.

The only grounds to appeal fines would if no reservations were displayed when the train departed from a terminus however its very easy to check if they were or no as there is lots of CCTV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

Hilly Bill wrote: »
    Its a problem with the wi-fi , it should come up when the driver inputs the train id but it doesnt always work. It can be done manually but sometimes it fails or staff dont get enough time due to train being late onto the platform .
    Hmm, "it doesn't always work" he says. That suggests to me that it isn't working.

It's a problem with trains being left open to board by people before the driver is anywhere near the train. So is it drivers not arriving in proper time for the journey or other staff allowing people onto trains when the driver isn't there or both? Whichever, it's not the passengers fault.

The issue arises mostly with those using free travel passes or those buying at the station, should there not be a notice telling these people to travel in coach A and not leave that open to seat bookings in advance, depending on load factors?

No Pants wrote: »
    Hmm, "it doesn't always work" he says. That suggests to me that it isn't working.

It does work but not always as it should.

It's a problem with trains being left open to board by people before the driver is anywhere near the train. So is it drivers not arriving in proper time for the journey or other staff allowing people onto trains when the driver isn't there or both? Whichever, it's not the passengers fault.

The issue arises mostly with those using free travel passes or those buying at the station, should there not be a notice telling these people to travel in coach A and not leave that open to seat bookings in advance, depending on load factors?

When a train is left open then the train id would have already been entered and reservations should come on above the seats.
    There is never a question of it being the passengers fault if the seat is not clearly marked as reserved. There are some that will sit in seats that are clearly marked as reserved anyway and get annoyed when asked to move.
    Anyone with a ticket for a train should be allowed to sit anywhere on that train regardless what type of ticket they have if the seat is not reserved for someone else.
    There are also those that have reserved a seat and choose to sit in a different seat altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭Jem72

This issue with reservations not appearing is a real pain for long-distance commuters as well as we never have seat reservations. It is mostly an issue where the train arrives in late as there is a general scrum to board and then you are left on a lottery as to whether or not the seat is reserved.

It would be very helpful to regulars if they consistently left one or two cars unreserved. You can refuse to move on the 20-minute rule if somebody turns up demanding their seat 5 minutes before departure.

It would also be very helpful if there was a token charge for the seat reservation when booking on-line. I would think that a high enough percentage of people ignore their seat reservation because it is included for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

VWD8 wrote: »

I don't have a problem with pensioners traveling for free as many use the train to get to and from hospital appointments. If they have mobility or health problems they should get seats regardless of whether they booked one or not.

However it can be annoying when you get large groups of "young" pensioners (often more agile, less tired and in better health than the average exhausted stressed out commuter) taking over whole carriages while barely conscious commuters have to stand for the entire journey before doing a stressful days work to pay for these very people's privilege to sit in taxpayer funded train seats. The trains were inundated with such people for the Bloom garden festival and all traveling on already overcrowded peak time trains. Some of these travellers weren't inclined to move their legs out of the aisles to let standees stand comfortably or allow those vacating the train to pass. This probably occurs more on trains from the worse serviced lines such as Waterford. Passengers were left standing at Newbridge on at least one of those days - it was the 7.10 train from Waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

Jamie2k9 wrote: »
    Sorry but how is it not working, the signs clearly state for example if I board in Waterford, some seats will say Reserved from Kilkenny.

The train could well be full before Kilkenny - what happens then? People have to try to find their reserved seats on a packed train with people more than likely sitting there. Reservations might work on a relatively quiet train but some train lines are not suited to reserving seats.

Emme wrote: »
    The train could well be full before Kilkenny - what happens then? People have to try to find their reserved seats on a packed train with people more than likely sitting there. Reservations might work on a relatively quiet train but some train lines are not suited to reserving seats.

I fully understand however online bookings come first, all other tickets followed by social welfare. Generally they do add capacity if online bookings are very strong however standing if perfectly fine for welfare passes and walk up tickets however overall annual holders should for the most part have seats on services.

Its simple, one carriage designated as a reserve carriage per service like coach G on the Belfast service. If a train is packed and seats unreserved in the designated carriage ,then those seats would be free to sit in on a first come first served basis after the departure of the train .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,726 ✭✭✭Pretzill

The reserved signs are really hit and miss but shouldn't be - it happened to me recently boarding in Dublin and there was someone seating in the seat - no indication it was reserved except the seat number is on my ticket - anyway the person looked comfy enough so I just sat elsewhere. It can be embarrassing to move people if the sign above the seat isn't lit.

Pretzill wrote: »
    The reserved signs are really hit and miss but shouldn't be - it happened to me recently boarding in Dublin and there was someone seating in the seat - no indication it was reserved except the seat number is on my ticket - anyway the person looked comfy enough so I just sat elsewhere. It can be embarrassing to move people if the sign above the seat isn't lit.

Thats part of the problem though, people too uncomfortable to move someone sitting in their seats. Would you move someone sitting in your seat at a show where your seats wouldnt be marked as reserved?

Ive seen reservation signs light but no actual seat there :).

When a train is left open then the train id would have already been entered and reservations should come on above the seats.
    There is never a question of it being the passengers fault if the seat is not clearly marked as reserved. There are some that will sit in seats that are clearly marked as reserved anyway and get annoyed when asked to move.
    Anyone with a ticket for a train should be allowed to sit anywhere on that train regardless what type of ticket they have if the seat is not reserved for someone else.
    There are also those that have reserved a seat and choose to sit in a different seat altogether.

What if, as happened to me, the train is left open, the train ID has not been entered so no reservation names come up but I know my seat number. I sat in Carriage A seat 21 (or whatever), another ten minutes go by, the train ID is entered and the carriages change! Mine went from A to C, queue a scramble of people from one carriage to another.

It's laziness on behalf of staff, either driver or gate staff, not passengers.

Simple solution, don't let passengers on until the Train ID is entered correctly.