Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 99: An Important Question

• 24-08-2011 3:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,997 ✭✭✭

So today, for only about the 3rd time this year, i decided to purchase myself the king of ice creams - A '99 Cone.

As a licked up the creamy goodness i pondered as to whether other people observed the same long-standing tradition that i have of eating the flake last, or if they gave into temptation and ate it first.

An interesting idea also formed in my head. Chunks of flake mixed with the icecream as it churned. Now that'd be an ice cream.

But anyway AH, how do you eat yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Flake first. Gives the ice cream some time to melt just a little mmmmm....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

With my mouth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Lady von Purple

Who eats the flake last? That's so awkward!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

I eat it all at once without swallowing, like a duck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

You can actually make that ice cream yourself, either break a flake up and mix it into some softened vanilla ice cream, or you can lob a flake / twirl into a food processor with cold ice cream and whixz it up. Careful though, as it will heat up quickly in the food processor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Mr Trade In

That would be a Flake McFlurry Sir Ronald beat you to the punch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,997 ✭✭✭Degag

Who eats the flake last? That's so awkward!
    It makes the chocolate really cold and yummy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

half the flake first to make the iced cream* more manageable, then bits more of flake as i make my way down to the cone. then the delicious cone.

*incl. red sauce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Little Johnny was sitting in class doing math problems when his teacher picked him to answer a question, "Johnny, if there were five birds sitting on a fence and you shot one with your gun, how many would be left?" "None," replied Johnny, "cause the rest would fly away." "Well, the answer is four," said the teacher, "but I like the way you're thinking."

Little Johnny says, "I have a question for you. If there were three women eating ice cream cones in a shop, one was licking her cone, the second was biting her cone and the third was sucking her cone, which one is married?"

"Well," said the teacher nervously, "I guess the one sucking the cone."

"No," said Little Johnny, "the one with the wedding ring on her finger, but I like the way you're thinking."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Chips Ahoy

i got 99 problems but an ice cream cone ain't one, hit me

You can actually make that ice cream yourself, either break a flake up and mix it into some softened vanilla ice cream, or you can lob a flake / twirl into a food processor with cold ice cream and whixz it up. Careful though, as it will heat up quickly in the food processor.
    Bought ice cream is uncomparable to the whipped stuff straight from the machine.
    That would be a Flake McFlurry Sir Ronald beat you to the punch.
    Yes, you are correct but do they still sell that variety?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

Feck ye! Have a major goo on me now.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

I push the flake as far as it will go down the cone. Then I lick the ice-cream from the base in circular motions. then I nibble the bit of flake protruding, bite gently at the bottom of the cone and suck some ice-cream through that hole.

All I am left with is an ickle flake and wilted cone ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Cones? Yuck. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Peripheral ice cream first followed by mixture of cone, flake and remaining ice cream.

Malari wrote: »
    Cones? Yuck. :(
    I knew your type were around somewhere but let me tell you, you are not welcome in this thread.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭nicol

Stick the flake down into the cone wafer. Then at the end you've got this great combination of flake, wafer and ice-cream to enjoy!! Can't be beaten!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

I push the flake as far as it will go down the cone. Then I lick the ice-cream from the base in circular motions. then I nibble the bit of flake protruding, bite gently at the bottom of the cone and suck some ice-cream through that hole.

All I am left with is an ickle flake and wilted cone ;)
    Durty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    Little Johnny was sitting in class doing math problems when his teacher picked him to answer a question, "Johnny, if there were five birds sitting on a fence and you shot one with your gun, how many would be left?" "None," replied Johnny, "cause the rest would fly away." "Well, the answer is four," said the teacher, "but I like the way you're thinking."

Little Johnny says, "I have a question for you. If there were three women eating ice cream cones in a shop, one was licking her cone, the second was biting her cone and the third was sucking her cone, which one is married?"

"Well," said the teacher nervously, "I guess the one sucking the cone."

"No," said Little Johnny, "the one with the wedding ring on her finger, but I like the way you're thinking."

I don't get it :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

I don't get it :/

Maybe when you're older son

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    Maybe when you're older son

Promise? :P

The joke might make more sense if it was from the 1950's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Degag wrote: »
    I knew your type were around somewhere but let me tell you, you are not welcome in this thread.:mad:

Fine, I'm off to get a white chocolate Magnum...:( You will just have to live with not knowing how I eat it! :mad:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Eat top part of ice cream first, use flake to scoop rest out of cone, eat flake, eat cone.

Or if I get one of those sad, sorry ice creams without a flake, break off the bottom of the cone, use it to scoop off bits of ice cream and eat them as miny-cones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

The 99 or the 69? Both involve some degree of licking and sucking on shaft-y things.

Malari wrote: »
    Fine, I'm off to get a white chocolate Magnum...:( You will just have to live with not knowing how I eat it! :mad:
    We're not discussing sub standerd ice creams here....:mad::mad:

Overheal wrote: »
    The 99 or the 69? Both involve some degree of licking and sucking on shaft-y things.

shaft-y things? as in more then one?

PM me ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,287 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

A 99 with a flake a some some red syrup......feck ye OP...THE WANT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

I wear the head off it first....then and only then do I let the chocletie goodness of the flake melt on my lips..............oh the thought of it.

Heh,

Cream all over her face.

Sweet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,898 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Degag wrote: »
    Bought ice cream is uncomparable to the whipped stuff straight from the machine.

That stuff from the machine isn't ice-cream, it's pukey chilled cream. There's big difference!!

I don't care what it is... i likes it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

In a corner by myself while growling at
    anyone that approaches me.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Maggie Thatcher used to support herself in her earlier days by being part of a team which developed emulsifiers for ice cream.

See how easy it is to swallow now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

Maggie Thatcher used to support herself in her earlier days by being part of a team which developed emulsifiers for ice cream.

See how easy it is to swallow now.

makes it all the more sexier i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 garyc1987

flake first... eat bout 3/4 of it then sprinkle the rest over the ice cream :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

garyc1987 wrote: »
    flake first... eat bout 3/4 of it then sprinkle the rest over the ice cream :)

I never thought of that. You legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

nicol wrote: »
    Stick the flake down into the cone wafer. Then at the end you've got this great combination of flake, wafer and ice-cream to enjoy!! Can't be beaten!!
    This.

Nyom nyom nyom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

69' are way better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I got a really soft 99 lately. They must've just put the cream in the machine 5 minutes before I walked in. It melted all over me hand before I even got back to the car.. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

bite the bottom off the cone then suck the icream till you hit air...then eat the rest of the wafer cone from the bottom up, and the flake last.
    Not eaten one in ages...prefer proper ice cream these days, not that whipped stuff.

1. Lick it into a manageable dome shape.
    2. Use flake as a spoon for the rest until the ice cream is flat in line with the edge of the cone.
    3. Push the flake down as far as possible into the cone, making sure there's ice cream all the way down the cone*.
    4. Nibble until it's all gone.

*Having worked serving 99s, you know when your server likes you because he'll/she'll have filled the cone as well as doing the above cone bit. Where I worked we weren't allowed to fill the inside of the cone, so we only did it on the sly when we liked the customer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭Valentina

Eat the ice cream then the flake and throw the cone away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭babyfratelli_x

1. Lick it into a manageable dome shape.
    2. Use flake as a spoon for the rest until the ice cream is flat in line with the edge of the cone.
    3. Push the flake down as far as possible into the cone, making sure there's ice cream all the way down the cone*.
    4. Nibble until it's all gone

This exactly. Nyom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,351 ✭✭✭✭starlit

My favourite ice-cream other than chocolate, venetta, magnum, hagen daz, cornetto, vanilla and cappuccino flavour...mmm 99!