Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Castlecomer Sportive with S Kelly.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

michael196 wrote: »
    http://www.deensidewheelers.com/calendar/details/20-castlecomer-challenge-with-sean-kelly.html

inaugural event last year and this year run by deenside wheelers .....

just informing people, as information is difficult to find on WWW about this one. No other involvement myself, other than could be participating......

Sorry for being a pedantic Pat but this is the third year. Deenside Wheelers is a new club set up this year in north Kilkenny (our club is better though). It's a nice route and is generally done in a good spirit.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Just decided to do this, which gives me less than two months to get from 65k to 100k.
    Queue two months of torture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Daithi BC

I'll be aiming to do this one. Gives me something to keep training for later in the year.

I thought Deenside did a great job of organising the Helping Hand sportive earlier in the year, so this should be good as well. The details page on the website comes up blank in my browser, and I can't find a mapmyride route either. Anyone have any route details?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭michael196

emailButton.png printButton.png
    Calendar

Event

Title: Castlecomer Challenge with Sean Kelly When: 16.10.2011 Where: Ballycomey - Castlecomer Category: Events Description

The third annual Castlecomer Challenge will take place on Sunday October 16th.
    Sean Kelly will be present and cycling on the day for what promises to be an excellent event. For more information click here.

Venue

Venue: Ballycomey - Website City: Castlecomer Description

Erins Own GAA, Ballycomey, Castlecomer

http://www.bikeroutetoaster.com/course.aspx?course=182464

click on summary to see the gradients........

Think the cats in deenside are having a nap on the job here........

luckily the tipp lads can show the cats how to get organised.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 DWheelers

Details of the Castlecomer Challenge are now up on www.deensidewheelers.com , looking forward to another great end of season sportif.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

DWheelers wrote: »
    Details of the Castlecomer Challenge are now up on www.deensidewheelers.com , looking forward to another great end of season sportif.
    Fantastic, I am looking forward to this Event :).

Just by the way...

Sean Kelly will cycle on both the 50km cycle and the 100km cycle. Arrive early to soak up the atmosphere! The 100km route rolls out at 10am while the 50km route pushes off at 11am.

How is Sean going to do that? Do those two routes go through the same roads most of the time?

Originally posted by Seweryn
    How is Sean going to do that? Do those two routes go through the same roads most of the time?

Yes both routes share the same roads as far as Arles, as can be seen in the route description, so both the 100k and 50k cyclists will get their fair share of the great man.

Ah, sure... That is fair enough.

The food stops for both routes are located in different places, so Sean can do each one. That is probably what he is after :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭moggs1972

register on the day?? this could be a nice season ender

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

100km Challenge:
    Castlecomer- Killeshin- Carlow – Arles –Stradbally – Abbeyleix-Ballinakill- Castlcomer. There will be a food stop in Stradbally. This is a rolling route on excellent roads. The only significant climb is towards the end coming from Ballyragget back to Castlecomer.

whats the significant climb like at the end, i cant very well throw my ass into the ditch, would it even be regarded as a climb in Cork?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭ashleey

It's a fairly long hill, like the last one out of Kinsale last week but steeper. It's a country road so wind won't be so bad though. I thought Cork was flat? There are real hills here in Kilkenny.

whats the grub like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭aquanaut

Couldn't find any details for price of entry etc, any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

This looks interesting! Anyone know what the entry fee is?

Captain Havoc was out of the saddle a lot!:D
    nice videoing.
    The Waterford boys fairly shoved their way to the front!

Originally Posted by michael196
    all i can say is grub was great last year, but ''under different management'' this year.
    Same group of lads doing all of the organising but this year they've formed a club.

€23 entry price. Very reasonable considering you get to cycle with one of all the greatest cyclists of all time, and its for a very worthy cause in the Castlecomer Day Care Centre and the Carlow/Kilkenny Homecare team. Also €2 if you require a one day licence.

i might need a two day licence to do the full 100km!

Deenside Wheelers have updated their website, www.deensidewheelers.com and all the information you need on the Castlecomer Challenge is at http://www.deensidewheelers.com/castlecomer-challenge-with-sean-kelly

Don't be affraid to post any questions or email us at info@deensidewheelers.com

Map of 100km route here

Map of 50km route here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Super Freak

One week to go, thought I'd give this a bump.

Hope the weather gods will be good to us.

One week to go, thought I'd give this a bump.

Hope the weather gods will be good to us.
    If the weather is as good as it was today, it will be some nice craic :),

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭TheDocMan

Just after talking to one of the organisers and this should be a superb day out. SUNDAY 16th of OCTOBER, Castlecomer , Co. Kilkenny. Massive amount of effort has been put in and I think this will be a fitting , enjoyable end to your sportive year. Check out their website for full details.

Final preparations underway for the big day, good weather has been booked in advance so lets hope he delivers. Hope to see all of you there for what will be a great day and a brilliant end to the season.:)

cannot see the start time on the main website , but from facebook seems to be 10:00 am for the 100k and 11 oo am for the 50 K aslo the sign on is changed from 07:30am to 08:00am

3 Days to the Castlecomer Challenge

Plenty of spot prizes on the day for registered cyclists. Great gifts from local businesses and also from both our local and national bike stores.

On the day:
    Registration begins at 7:30am

Registration for 100km closes at 9:45am
    100km starts at 10am
    Registration for 50km closes at 10:45am
    50km starts at 11am

This and all other relevant information is available on our website: www.deensidewheelers.com

Wishing everyone a safe and enjoyable day
    From all at Deenside Wheelers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Super Freak

Just noticed that this is not starting from the discovery park. So where's the Erin’s Own GAA Grounds in Ballycomey at exactly ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭Eaglebridie 32

New to cycling(March this year), got into cycling to improve fitness. Never done one of these before but really want to do this one. I've done numerous 55k,60k solo spins at an average 25k/h. I'm thinking of doing the 100k as the route seems fairly flat. Is this do-able or should I reluctantly settle for the 50k ?.

Just noticed that this is not starting from the discovery park. So where's the Erin’s Own GAA Grounds in Ballycomey at exactly ??

Ballycomey GAA grounds are located 2km from Castlecomer on the Kilkenny Road.

When you enter Castlecomer from the Dublin side, head towards Kilkenny, GAA grounds on the right hand side.

From the Kilkenny side, GAA grounds are on the left hand side before entering Castlecomer.

All will be well signposted on the morning. Parking available opposite the GAA grounds, please obey stewards at all times on the day.

Happy cycling :)

New to cycling(March this year), got into cycling to improve fitness. Never done one of these before but really want to do this one. I've done numerous 55k,60k solo spins at an average 25k/h. I'm thinking of doing the 100k as the route seems fairly flat. Is this do-able or should I reluctantly settle for the 50k ?.

As you have done numerous 55k/60k spins solo, you should be well able to complete the 100km route as part of a group. We would advise joining a suitable group on the morning as this will make the cycle more enjoyable and you will find it takes less effort in a group. Also this route is very achievable for beginners. Introduce yourself to any Deenside Wheelers on the morning and you will find that they are all very friendly and would be ideal people to cycle with on the day especially if you are coming to the cycle on your own.

Hope you enjoy your first 100km cycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭experimenter

I'm in the same boat and I'm having a go at the 100km, as the lads suggest get into a bunch that are working at your pace. I won't be going at any major speed, I'll be happy to complete the 100km at my pace..

Enjoy.

Go for the big one. It will be a lot easier in a group. I am also new to cycling (started this season, same as you around April) and I will be doing the 100km route.

Good Luck and see you there.

if u can do 60 solo then 100 would be fine !! go for the 100 !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭alexanderomahon

100 k no bother to you. I'm 49, 15 stone, no great athlete, started cycling May/ June and completed the Four counties 100k a few weeks ago. Furthest I'd done before it was about 70ish. In a group you'll be grand, just pace yourself.

Also don't worry about the weather. Four counties was dreadful weather, but being in a group really helped. Good luck and enjoy the sense of achievement at the end.

Next question is how do u pick ur group !!

head out on the road and the sportive will naturally break up usually after the Tea stop, into groups traveling at different speeds

allow the lads traveling faster to overtake you, and dropping back speedwise you will find a group matching ur pace,

might start as a group of one or two nitially, but usually grows as the day progresses.

watch and observe how the 'up and over' is done at the front end and follow suit, and always hold ur line and the wheel in front of you

Less than 24 hours to the start of the Castlecomer Challenge...
    I can't wait... The weather is bad enough today, but tomorrow seems to be fine :).

Seweryn wrote: »
    I can't wait... The weather is bad enough today, but tomorrow seems to be fine :).

Weather forecast is looking good everyone, little chance of rain and low winds :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

I got a nasty stomach bug during the week so I can't make it down to KK tomorrow. I was really looking forward to it. Gutted :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭henboy

I'll be there , this was a good event last year . Nice route and a nice way to end the season .... Michael 196 see you there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭experimenter

Thanks to all the Deenside Wheelers for organising a great event. I'm happy with 3hrs 50mins since I'm only cycling since June.

Until the food stop I was with the Deenside Wheelers as they were working at my pace and a nice bunch of folks..

Thanks all again..

Deenside Wheelers,

Thank you for a fantastic day. It was a lovely, well organised Event and by far one of the most comfortable days in the saddle for me. I somehow missed the food stop, but I had enough energy to stay going to the end.

I just got home. My total time was something around four and half hours including my return cycle home, which was additional 36km facing the wind. It was the toughest bit of the day...

Thank you all people that I had a chance to chat during the day. I am sure, I will be back next year and would recommend this Sportive to anyone. Excellent! And... The weather! Just couldn't be better :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭Joxer_S

Fantastic day today, it was the most enjoyable sportive I've done this year, very well marshalled throughout, loads of food, brilliant weather and I got to have a chat with Sean Kelly before it began. It was for a very worthy cause, as they all are but I've seen first hand the incredible work the Homecare team does, Well done Deenside Wheelers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭hughmace

Did the 100km great spin
    Thanks for organising the weather!!
    Organisation and stewarding excellent
    Food was top notch and lots available special thanks for the soup it was great.

Will defo do it again
    Well done Deensiders
    Thanks again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Sr. Assumpta

Glorious weather in Kilkenny today brought cyclists in from all over, I didn't spot any Boards jersies, but there were lots of familiar, and mostly smiling faces. There were tasty treats aplenty (including rice krispie buns!), well marshalled junctions, post-spin massages, and lots of support from the good people of Castlecomer.

This event is signifcant to me. When I completed it last year it was the first time I'd ever cycled 100km (previous max. was about 75km), I was so thrilled when I got back to Castlecomer (under escort) that I hugged people (I knew most of them...). It was also the first time I wore a proper cycling jersey, and yes, before someone brings it up, I was also still perfectly content with my baggy I-wanna-be-a-mtb'er overshorts.
    How things have changed....... I now distractedly pat my lower back in the supermarket wondering which pocket.... my,.... wallet... is in, ....ooops!

So, Thanks Deenside! The show of strength, in numbers, from "the other cycling club in Kilkenny" didn't diminish the actual strength* of (my own, and) Kilkenny's finest.... Marble City Cyclers, thanks guys, am a little sad that our 'season' has ended, it's been fun :)

*it's not a race you know, really ....... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭henboy

This was my second year doing this , fantastic day all round . Did the 100km nice route everything went perfect on the day . It must of taking some planning , never on a sportif did i see so many people wear there club gear . Deenside wheelers jerseys all over the 100km great to see it .

Well done to all involved . See you next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭Eaglebridie 32

My first sportive and my first 100k completed, (previous 55K ) . Thank you to all the boardsies who encouraged me to do the 100k. Got a little isolated on trip to Stradbally(thinking I could get accross to group ahead) but afterwards got into a group of about 12 cycling at my level and was ok until Ballyragget when I got dropped on the climb. Overall happy with 4.08. Sincere tanks to Deenside Wheelers, the stewards and other cyclists for their encouragement. Although I'm sore now, I might be able for a few scoops tonight to celebratea.:):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭catastrophy

well done deenside wheelers, great day out and a lovely course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Ronnie Rice

Enjoyed the whole thing immensely. Have ridden solo thru Castlecomer many's a time but never did this event before. Congrats to all the organisers and volounteers on a job well done. Ye even got the weather spot on. Here's a couple of vids taken along the route

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DoMKxZp4geQ

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NIQupaIKkA0