Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

tGC - Have your say

• 22-08-2011 7:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Alright guys,tis about that time for a feedback thread from the users of the forum.

What would you change about the forum,what do you think are the good and bad things about it etc.

Criticism is of course welcome,once its delivered in an adult and constructive manner that is.

So in the immortal words of Delia Smith,lets be avin you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭paulmclaughlin

We need to have an annual 'Trollhunting' festival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,978 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

I'm happy enough with TGC.
    Nice, friendly forum with a steady flow of good posters overall, and the moderation is sound too.
    Keep uppadagoodwork I say.

sexypapatime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,582 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

I'm going to agree with papagormo, the moderation is spot on which keeps the trolling to a minimum. Good (sometimes great) free-flowing discussion with active participation from both the women of Boards and the men. The spectrum of threads covered also suits the nature of the forum and I'm happy to say this is one of only 3 forums I have subscribed to which I suppose demonstrates my happiness with it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

I think the forum is finding it's feet now, steady flow of topics and conversation, mods on the same wavelength. Can't ask for more. Except maybe for Otis to re-grow his beard!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

And hide my matinee idol good looks Will??

Sheesh.

I changed my mind, less mod-poster love-ins please :pac:

Sheesh.

You do what I say!!! You hear me!! You grow that beard back so all will be well with the world again ya hear!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

More meets :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Daftendirekt

Can't really think of anything that needs changing, to be honest.

Nice mix of serious and light discussion, and a good overall 'tone' to the forum (for lack of a better word).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

I really like the forum, especially the fact that there are no clicks within the forum.
    There is a nice mixture of people and it's well moderated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

The forum's prob my favourite one on boards with regard to the posters that contribute and the mods - big ups people

Have a meetup outside of Dublin sometime maybe....for no apparent reason whatsoever I'm thinking Cork could be a great call :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

I'm relatively new to this forum! Seems like a good place for us guys to hide out, talk stuff up!

I thought it would be all engines, oil, cars, explosions, boobs and free of women when I first arrived but I was pleasantly surprised!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

There's a bit of cringey flirting but aside from that it's alright.

Moderation is sensible - not too strict as to suck the fun out of everything but keeping the thing civil at the same time.

/€0.02

I'm happy with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,373 ✭✭✭Dr Galen

Jesus, deadly idea Otis

We should be having these threads more often!

Now, say more nice things people! :):)

/pisstake

Seriously, it's lovely to see people say that this is a good place for them, and that they come here as one of their main haunts on Boards.

IMHO I think thats mainly down to the people who post here, Moderating here is rarely more than a nudge or a poke in the right direction.

+1 on a certain someone to grow back the beard mmmmmmm fuzzy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I dont agree with the ban on all the PUA stuff, but besides that everything is alright I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,373 ✭✭✭Dr Galen

You don't sound totally sure Wolfie..... :)

We've had issues with the PUA stuff in the past, pretty much since the forum came about. It just tends to cause more hassle when balanced against what it adds to the fourm overall.

It is a shame that we have to ban ANY subject tbh, I'm no fan of censorship, but in this case at least I've yet to see a convincing argument for allowing it, or indeed a thread in the past in relation to the whole topic of PUA's that wasn't seriously cringetastic and providing any real value.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    I dont agree with the ban on all the PUA stuff, but besides that everything is alright I guess.

Well, someone looking for genuine advice, there's personal issues. Which is where a recent thread has been directed to by he who must go unshaven.

My impression of "PUA" is that it's based primarily on undermining and subjectifying someone else. Wouldn't go down too well to be seen to promote that and could present itself as fuel for the fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

It is psychological manipulation. I don't want that to be part of any club I'm in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

PUA?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

krudler wrote: »
    PUA?

Pick Up Artist

Or 'flower' in Hawaii for those of us who checked Urban Distionary :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Well, someone looking for genuine advice, there's personal issues. Which is where a recent thread has been directed to by he who must go unshaven.

My impression of "PUA" is that it's based primarily on undermining and subjectifying someone else. Wouldn't go down too well to be seen to promote that and could present itself as fuel for the fire.

you know, I'm the least active mod on here, so I certainly wouldn't want to talk for the other guys, but I'm pretty sure that if someone contributed to, or even started, a thread where they looked at the topic objectively - pros AND cons - then it'd probably be ok*

The problem with these type of threads are that the guys who are into it will hear no criticism of it and generally seek to promote that lifestyle above all other points of view.
    I mean, personally, I find some of the concepts abhorrent (based on what I know of it), but that doesn't mean I can or would prevent discussion of it based on that alone.

There are plenty of views expressed that I don't agree with in the forums I moderate, but I don't have a problem with them being expressed. I can certainly say that the other forum mods are the same.

As such, it's not the topic per se that we have a problem with, it's the soapboxing element of it, and that applies to multiple subjects, not just PUA.
    If you want to preach, get a blog.

*not a guarantee

tbh wrote: »
    The problem with these type of threads are that the guys who are into it will hear no criticism of it and generally seek to promote that lifestyle above all other points of view.

This is what I meant by "fuel for the fire." It'd just end up with threads full of arguing and no discussion.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

I'm far from a newbie on Boards but I'm a relative newbie in here. Was a long time lurker on the tGC before my first post a few months back but I have to say I do like it.

My observations so far:
    • Plenty of craic and having a laugh but at the same time, it doesnt descent to the chaos that one would find in say After Hours
    • Well moderated without really interfering with what is being discussed
    • A place where you can post your opinion and get decent honest replies/discussions/answers (even if they arent the ones you want to hear) :P

Someday soon I might even make it to a tGC beers to actually meet these people in person :D

So my opinion, dont change a thing it works perfectly fine as it is.

Nice idea too about getting feedback. Well done mods!! :)

What advice would you give a friend who doesnt have the confidence to approach women? Be yourself, how **** that advice is, anything more, such as what to say, whens a good time to go over, how to approach a group of women, how to signal romantic interest rather than get friendzoned, how to deal with getting shot down, that is all pretty much PUA. For most people that comes natural, but for others it doesnt. They cant be themself' cause that will fail, so they follow formulatic steps which help him do what others do naturally and it gets his foot in the door, rather than standing at the side of the dancefloor wondering what is wrong with him, and why he sucks with women, despite all his pals, men and women alike telling him he is a great guy and to just be himself.

I think this is advice a lot of men need and want, it gets a lot of guys down.

Dont focus on the negative aspects, there are positive too, hence why I dont like there being a carpet ban.

how **** that advice is,

point proved :)

I think this is advice a lot of men need and want,

fair enough - there are plenty of places to get that advice. We're not seeking to shut down discussion of it everywhere on the internet, or even everywhere on boards.

how **** that advice is,

point proved :)

I think this is advice a lot of men need and want,

fair enough - there are plenty of places to get that advice. We're not seeking to shut down discussion of it everywhere on the internet, or even everywhere on boards.
    Less of the smug condescending attitude please, at the end of the day I dont particularily care that much, I just think its stupid that the forum has capitulated to the degree that all such advise is banned, especially when its such a big problem for so many men.

Im just giving my two cents, I dont think arrogant, smug spiel about how you arent shutting discussion about it down all over the internet is necessary or warranted. The threads about this forum is it not?

Less of the smug condescending attitude please, at the end of the day I dont particularily care that much, I just think its stupid that the forum has capitulated to the degree that all such advise is banned, especially when its such a big problem for so many men.

noted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,640 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Sheesh.
    Ha, I read that as 'manatee'. Grow yer beard back, you'll look less like this:
    manateeb.jpg

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

Sorta asking for this now

i-kill-you-all-simpsonralph-2632_preview.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Alopex

should be male membership only:D

not really but I am surprised women are going to the meet up

Why can I ask?

We have a number of active female posters and the beers are welcoming to all that want to attend so I dont know whats so surprising.We have people that attend the beers and rarely/never post in the forum too.I feel thats one of the best things about tGC,people feel comfortable posting here or attending any beers we have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I like the forum. I always feel fine posting here even though I am a woman. Ye make me feel really welcome :D

I'm too shy to come to beers though :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

I like TGC ..

I kinda lurk and read what you men are up to .. :p

I do post the very odd time..

I think the mods are doing a good job and there doesn't seem to be any rubbish.

Nice informative stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

More meets :)
    Have more meets when I have money :P
    PUA
    I had to Google that one :o Never really read into it, but may do so when I loose the belleh.

=-=

Nice forum. Like reading the threads. Usually a civilised tone, and informative threads stay informative, with informative replies.

Also here's an article on why you should grow your beard back, from the World Health Organisation: http://www.who.int/healthpromotion/en/beardless_men_gain_weight_faster_study

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

can't say I have any pressing concerns about the forum, other than that I think we should sell Wibbs to the highest bidder (I just think it would be funny) and I miss Otis' beard.

Re PUA:
    I would not be a fan of such. I would agree with the poster who labeled it as a form of 'psychological manipulation'. It doesn't strike me as a gentlemanly pursuit so I don't feel it has a place in the forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Galvasean wrote: »
    It doesn't strike me as a gentlemanly pursuit
    Have to agree with this point. Maybe best we leave it in AH?

the_syco wrote: »
    Have to agree with this point. Maybe best we leave it in AH?
    With the rest of the clutter :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭Maguined

Needs more Otis beard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

The people have spoken Otis.

Back to being fluffly! :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,195 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

Why use the acronym 'tGC'?

It looks retarded.

Same with 'tLL'.

KamiKazi wrote: »

t stands for the
    G stands for Gentlemens'
    C stands for Club.

It looks retarded.

Same with 'tLL'.

Quiet KK :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

I like the Club. It feels very welcoming, even though I'm sometimes posting from a female perspective and feel like I should keep it down, I'm never told to shut up ;):)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,195 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

t stands for the
    G stands for Gentlemens'
    C stands for Club.

lOL

lOL

:D well played

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

I don't have problem with the moderation here, its very understated and good humoured, its not a "look at the all powerful me" style at all. :cool:

My one gripe is the know your clubbers thread, can we impose a number of posts limit to keep the FaceBook pic hoors from creeping in? Threads like this on Boards in all the forums that have them seem to descend into a core group of posters posting pic after pic of themselves whilst some of these regular pic posters contribute very little else in threads in the forum. Its nice to put a face to someone but not 42 of the same mug and all their holiday snaps.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,640 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Can't Gentlemen be narcissistic too? Leave the pic thread alone.
    /Checks as to when I last posted there
    That was AGES ago. Must see if I have any new pics that will pass the censors.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.