Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My parents dont like me....

• 22-08-2011 10:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭

New thread possibly.....Children with thick parent/s....

The kid is possibly 5-6 yrs old playing with his toys on the back shelf.......couple of minutes later the "dad" was on the phone....:rolleyes:
    Name and shame people....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Is it really anyone's business what way parents conduct themselves or their kids while in a car?

I know it's not the way they should conduct themselves but come on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

I think it is, but to be honest, I'd be sending that photo to the Gardai and not posting it online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Is this the kind of thread where kids are allowed to sit literatly on the dashboard, hang out the window, sit in a towed trailer....

That kinda thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Is it really anyone's business what way parents conduct themselves or their kids while in a car?

Don't you think that society has a duty to protect kids?

Anan1 wrote: »

You took me up wrong ;)

Yes, society does have a duty to protect kids but what good will posting it in a forum do? As suggested, these photos should be sent to the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭jumbone

You took me up wrong ;)

Yes, society does have a duty to protect kids but what good will posting it in a forum do? As suggested, these photos should be sent to the Gardai.

I think the idea is to get the public to identify the parents in the photos, sort of like how the Police in the UK used billboards and social media websites to identify people captured rioting on CCTV.

Although with the OP's photo the reg is clearly visible so the Gardaí could probably just PULSE it...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 84 ✭✭magunkey

Great idea for a thread. See it all too often. Name and shame.

Did they ever introduce that law that was to forbid pople smoking in cars with children present?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

You wouldn't be saying that if you rear ended that car by an accident!

Points taken!

I will say however, I hate seeing kids in a car and the parents smoking. That really pisses me off but that's another thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Came across a woman, who did something similar.

She had two little boys about 4 or 5 rolling around the parcel shelf

as she was driving at speed, on her mobile and smoking!!

I saw red, rang the Gardai, called in to make a statement, showed the

Garda of the pic i took(while behind her at the lights).

Garda rang me back later, woman first tried to lie, said she wasn't

driving, Garda told her about the pictures, she then realised the game was

up. She got a Bollixin, hope she learned from it, because i couldn't live

with myself if i killed my kids because i didn't put them in there seats

properly and safelty. It only takes a mintue.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Sids Not wrote: »

The kid is possibly 5-6 yrs old playing with his toys on the back shelf.......couple of minutes later the "dad" was on the phone....:rolleyes:
    I got that beat, my dad used to let me stick my head out of the sunroof. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

4 in the back of a car with 2 rear seats:

4zvsie.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭chickenfarmer

What freaks me out is the underage sports teams who return to their home town and are all hanging out of the windows of cars. It has happened twice where I have been driving against them and they reach out and try and slap the car. They could easily break their arm or worse case get pulled out of the car. The only part of them thats actually in the car is their legs. (they are sitting on the window)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Sids Not

Oh dear God.........:rolleyes:

Exactly......especially if the owners dont give a sh......
    magunkey wrote: »
    Great idea for a thread. See it all too often. Name and shame.

Did they ever introduce that law that was to forbid pople smoking in cars with children present?

Clearly theres some people who dont think this is a problem......i'm on the road most days and this crap i see everyday...makes me ill........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

What freaks me out is the underage sports teams who return to their home town and are all hanging out of the windows of cars. It has happened twice where I have been driving against them and they reach out and try and slap the car. They could easily break their arm or worse case get pulled out of the car. The only part of them thats actually in the car is their legs. (they are sitting on the window)

Happened back in Monaghan years ago. Kid ended up with a broken neck and a very long time in a wheel chair. Think he recovered but it put an end to that lark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭chickenfarmer

furtzy wrote: »
    Happened back in Monaghan years ago. Kid ended up with a broken neck and a very long time in a wheel chair. Think he recovered but it put an end to that lark

Its still going on here in County Limerick. Hope that it doesn't take an accident like that for parents to realise that its lunacy and extremely dangerous

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

Its still going on here in County Limerick. Hope that it doesn't take an accident like that for parents to realise that its lunacy and extremely dangerous

Have seen it recently in Meath...with the traffic cops escorting them :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭lau1247

Not trying to deviate from the thread but did you take those picture while driving??

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

lau1247 wrote: »
    Not trying to deviate from the thread but did you take those picture while driving??

Was going to ask the same thing when I saw the pic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭jameshayes

whats to say a passenger didn't take them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

jameshayes wrote: »
    whats to say a passenger didn't take them

What's to say the driver didn't take them? That's the question being asked, let's wait for the answer shall we?

Drums fingers patiently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

r3nu4l wrote: »
    What's to say the driver didn't take them? That's the question being asked, let's wait for the answer shall we?

Drums fingers patiently.

Irrelevant.............and ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭jumbone

EXIF data says it was taken using a Samsung S5230.

Better hope it was a passenger or else I wouldn't be showing that picture to the Gardaí!

http://regex.info/exif.cgi?imgurl=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.boards.ie%2Fvbulletin%2Fattachment.php%3Fattachmentid%3D171647%26d%3D1314010300

Gophur wrote: »

How is it irrelevant if the OP is complaining about the stupid unsafe things people do in their cars? Would that not be a bit hipocritical?

the OP was probably not even in a car :p

How is it irrelevant if the OP is complaining about the stupid unsafe things people do in their cars? ............

Not in the slightest as the OP was referring to unrestrained children in cars, only. Anything else is just idiotic, trying to get on some moral high ground.

OP? Ignore such pathetic questions.

How so?
    If the person taking the photo was driving then it becomes wholly relevant.

EDIT: I see the ridiculous and pathetic (see I can use those words too :p) excuse above but it doesn't wash at all Gophur.

It's relevant because the OP has been advised to go to the Gardaí. He may have committed an illegal act of dangerous driving by taking that photo if he was the driver of the car and it was moving when he took the photo. That's very relevant to the fact that if he brings this photo to the Gardaí he may incriminate himself. Don't see how that's not relevant.

What's totally not relevant is him posting it here if he's not actually going to go to the Gardaí. Otherwise he's the one on a high horse around here, not everyone else...

I got that beat, my dad used to let me stick my head out of the sunroof. :cool:

I can equal that, my favorite spot used to be hanging out between the driver and passenger seats, my head more or less level with the driver and passengers heads.

Also when we were very small one of my relations would let us sleep on her lap while she was driving.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Just like your post tbh.

How so?
    If the person taking the photo was driving then it becomes wholly relevant.

Not in the slightest bit relevant.

The thread is about un-restrained children in cars.

Not in the slightest bit relevant.

The thread is about un-restrained children in cars.

Yawn.

Not in the slightest as the OP was referring to unrestrained children in cars, only. Anything else is just idiotic, trying to get on some moral high ground.

OP? Ignore such pathetic questions.

The OP also complained about the driver being on the phone while driving. There was nothing idiotic or pathetic in the questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Op. Were you driving when you took that pic? Has nobody ever rode in a trailer or played on the parcel shelf back in the day? I remember when rear belts were a luxury!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Sids Not

FFS lads....I was on the fcukin bonnet while the wife held the wheel with her good arm....;)...:rolleyes:

As said by the few here with a bit of cop-on.......the op is about kids being left to hop around in the car...i've heard of people getting done for letting the same thing go on with just their dogs .....
    I remember being in the backs of cars as a kid...but if you dared to move you'd get a slap ...or a cigarette burn for your troubles...:p...you'd not move again...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Best off not report it to the Gardai at all so OP.

So I'm guessing you were operating a camera while driving OP? Lol. "Pot? This is Mr. Kettle calling. You're black!"

On the subject of kids being unrestrained in cars though, I agree it's madness. I remember a time when most cars didn't have rear seatbelts though and once when my Dad braked sharply, I ended up flying from the back seat through the gap in the front seats and lying on top of the handbrake and gearstick which is exactly what would happen that kid (or worse) if that car crashed while been driven.

I applaud the evidence, I applaud the sentiment but if you did take the photo yourself, while driving then you've deflated what was an 'epic win' situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

FFS lads....I was on the fcukin bonnet while the wife held the wheel with her good arm....;)...:rolleyes:

As said by the few here with a bit of cop-on.......the op is about kids being left to hop around in the car...i've heard of people getting done for letting the same thing go on with just their dogs .....
    I remember being in the backs of cars as a kid...but if you dared to move you'd get a slap ...or a cigarette burn for your troubles...:p...you'd not move again...
    I find that statement very funny. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

So I'm guessing you were operating a camera while driving OP? Lol. "Pot? This is Mr. Kettle calling. You're black!"
    I applaud the evidence, I applaud the sentiment but if you did take the photo yourself, while driving then you've deflated what was an 'epic win' situation.
    There's a bit more to reasoned debate than scoring 'epic wins', you know! That pic could have been taken by Adolf Hitler and it'd still be exactly what it is - an image of unrestrained kids floating around in the back of a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

It's possible to safely take pictures with your phone, even while driving https://market.android.com/details?id=com.dailyroads.v&hl=en

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

That pic could have been taken by Adolf Hitler and it'd still be exactly what it is - an image of unrestrained kids floating around in the back of a car.

True, but there is a serious point in the questions about mobile photography too: going in to the copshop and making a statement saying "I saw this, so I whipped out my mobile while driving and took a photo as evidence" is a bad plan, since the guards are more or less obliged to hand you a fine and points for admitting an offence in a statement, but are not obliged to prosecute the driver in the photo, as the picture may not meet the standard required for evidence in court.

Sure. It's the implication that the OP's having taken the pic while driving should somehow have a bearing on our judgement of the behaviour of the driver of the other car that I take issue with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

These threads always descend into OP bashing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭Paarse Krokodil

For f*cks sake lads have ye nothing better to be doing than taking pictures of cars where some petty little rule is being broken?

If you're only toodling around town fairly slowly it doesn't matter if you have a seat belt or not, or if you're sitting in the back of a trailer. Imaginary freak accident scenarios involving a child are society's favourite way of bringing in draconian laws it seems. the child is also fairly flexible and less likely to die in an accident than an adult

Here are some from countries where all your cheap consumer goods come from, that instill a sense of modernity and "we're too good for those backwards old ways of putting more than 5 people in the same 5 seater car".

workers_caged_like_animals_at_back_of_lorry-thumbnail.jpg

http://www.therealtaiwan.com/5-people-on-a-scooter/510

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

For f*cks sake lads have ye nothing better to be doing than taking pictures of cars where some petty little rule is being broken?

If you're only toodling around town fairly slowly it doesn't matter if you have a seat belt or not, or if you're sitting in the back of a trailer. Imaginary freak accident scenarios involving a child are society's favourite way of bringing in draconian laws it seems. the child is also fairly flexible and less likely to die in an accident than an adult

Here are some from countries where all your cheap consumer goods come from, that instill a sense of modernity and "we're too good for those backwards old ways of putting more than 5 people in the same 5 seater car".

http://www.therealtaiwan.com/5-people-on-a-scooter/510

Confirmed troll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭Paarse Krokodil

Confirmed troll.

Not troll. I'm fairly sure this is true, unless things have changed recently

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I'm no smoking nazi, each to their own

But what's with women proudly displaying their car sticker ribbon for breast cancer while they smoke away, windows closed and children in the back seat :confused:

Not troll. I'm fairly sure this is true, unless things have changed recently

fair enough, brb, selling child seat on ebay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

:confused: Where the fluck did you get that little gem from!?