Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Male Clichés

• 21-08-2011 9:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭

Doing up a blog, for my own amusement, with the central theme being male clichés. Things that every man says, generally while in a relationship, pulling a girl or breaking up with her.

Have a fair few so far but figured the smart arse lads and war-torn ladies of AH would provide some fantastic ideas and inspiration for some more. For what it's worth (though probably only 10 or so people will read it), if I use your quote I'll give credit (if you'd like your real name used put it in your post).

And, in the meantime, it'll provide for an interesting conversation about how fooking predictable and clichéd us lads are.

Some basic one's I have thus far include:

"You're different/special"
    "I don't know what I want"
    "It's not that I don't love you, it's that I'm not in love with you"

So you get the idea.

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Your bum looks big in that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭dirtyghettokid

"welcome to dumpville.....population.....YOU"
    - homer simpson
    :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Wolflikeme

A blog that tells people about things they obviously already know? Sign me up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

Real men don't do relationships. They do one night stands so that it doesn't get in the way of the time demanding blowing-sh1t-up-and-wrestling-bears lifestyle.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

Most invocations of male clichés are an inverted and egregious form of sexism that are ostensibly intended as being playful, but more often than not are part of a vicious campaign of abuse directed by a secret cabal of feminazi's.

There, I said it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭Bloody Nipples

I love you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I'll pull out I swear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Tandey

Whose your daddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

You're a very special unit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

You dont sweat much for a fat bird

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I've got the flu.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

It only happened once, meant nothing, I was really drunk and can't remember much about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

"She's just a friend"

*that I want to have sex with

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

"I did not have sexual relations with that woman."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

The usual, It's not you It's me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Denerick wrote: »
    Most invocations of male clichés are an inverted and egregious form of sexism that are ostensibly intended as being playful, but more often than not are part of a vicious campaign of abuse directed by a secret cabal of feminazi's.

There, I said it.
    I agree

WTF is he on about??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Aww baby, why would i want anyone else? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

good girl Sharon, here's your pantys back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Some quality one's here guys, rushed off my feet trying to click thanks to you all. Keep 'em coming this is great! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

I really cant imagine myself ever being with anybody else.

Though i've said this too,and it was true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

hondasam wrote: »
    The usual, It's not you It's me.

Never a good idea. Yet we keep using it.

:o

"I'll call you" lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Though in reality has anyone ever heard / said any of these things? Seems like film-based stuff to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

You're much better looking than your friends...all of them.

No I dont hate your mother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Of course I like your mother.

Your mother just didn't like me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

"Of course I wasn't eying her up, I only have eyes for you, you know that"

"It'll text ya"

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I've got something for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

Drink!
    Feck!
    Arse!
    Girls!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

You are the only woman in the world for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

"Honey what are you doing home this early?!"

Though in reality has anyone ever heard / said any of these things? Seems like film-based stuff to me

To be fair, the inspiration for this blog is from hearing girls complaining about men so much and the same cheesey lines/excuses coming up over-and-over again. And there's plenty here I've heard many times before.

COUGHandsaidmyselfCOUGH

Are you taking the pill?

trim that beaver up first please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I am allergic to johnnys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Tandey wrote: »
    Whose your daddy
    Ohn Josef

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

"Sorry, i just blacked out. I dont even remember doing it. I will never hit you again"

"I'll do it later" -which basically means a fortnight later and after there's been a row about it

I am allergic to johnnys.

Haha yep, that's in there don't worry!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

If it is leggo...

'Thanks'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

I have never seen her before in my life, I swear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

How about that ole classic;

"Does the internet really need your vacuous little blog you tedious fvck?"

Apologies, am I being passive aggressive again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Thanks to the recession men have been given a new breaking up excuse.

"I like* you too much and I'm moving abroad for work in about 3/6 months so it's better if we finish it now before we get too serious and we both get hurt."

*respect
    got what I wanted
    have found somebody better
    don't want to trot out an over-used cliché
    can't think of any other way to get out of this
    JEWELLER'S windows on the third date, you must be joking
    find you too boring
    find you too intense
    frankly find you ridiculous
    my wife is beginning to suspect something
    you're too clingy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

If ya can't lift her, don't shift her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

"Is my sandwich ready?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

Is heaven missing an angel? Cause you've got nice cans!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

leggo wrote: »
    "I don't know what I want"
    "It's not that I don't love you, it's that I'm not in love with you"[/I]
    I'd reckon L more men have heard those lines from the ladies rather than the other way around. Though the lady version of the first one is more likely to be "I'm confused".

Ones a little more male? Dunno... emmm...

"I've never felt like this before" Translation(after ones first love): "I have but forgot about it and little head is taking over".

"You're the most beautiful woman I've ever seen". Translation: "You're the most beautiful woman I've had a shot at in the last year. I've seen better but she stubbed a ciggie out on my hand and called security".

"I don't care about your past". Translation: "Just don't tell me about it. I really don't need to hear it. And yes it will test my ego".

"I'm not looking for a relationship at the moment" Translation: "I'm not looking for a relationship with you, but I'm horny/I'm not looking for a relationship cos I can get my end away for little input on my part. Why buy a book when one can join a library".

"I do alright" Translation: "I've a job".

"Ahh I'm into all sorts of things. I'm finding myself" Translation: "I'm on the dole and smoke the doobie".

"I love women" Translation: "I couldn't get laid as a youth/I'm BSing you/I'm horny and think I'm telling you things you want to hear".

"No, don't fret, you can tell me anything and I'll listen" Translation: "You're lucky you've a nice arse/bewbs/legs/face/are possibly available/yes your boyfriend is a tard".

"Yes dear" Translation: "did a buzzing insect pass by? Back to my telly watching"

"You've a lovely face" Translation: "WTF is going on below the neck?".

"You deserve better" Translation: "christ I hope you buy that/I'm a fcukup, what were you thinking?".

"I love your mother" Translation: "In small fcuking doses/I hope you take after your dad".

"Hello" Translation: "You've a nice arse/bewbs/legs/face/are possibly available/yes your boyfriend is a tard"

"I think women put themselves under too much pressure sexually" Translation: "Let's do the dance with no pants and no you can't have my number. Well you can but it'll be the number of the Colostomy bag support centre".

"I won't judge you" Translation: "Let's do the dance with no pants and no you can't have my number. Well you can but it'll be the number of the Colostomy bag support centre".

df1985 wrote: »
    Drink!
    Feck!
    Arse!
    Girls!
    Ah here. Compensation please. :mad:

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

"Why [was I looking at her]? Um. That girl was wearing pink, and pink draws the eye. That's basic optometry hun, I'm surprised you didn't know that."
    ~David Spade

8 mins into this:

In fact there's a few good lines from about 6:50 onwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

"I've never met anyone like you" Translation: "I've met loads of people like you, they just never rode me" (So it's technically true, I guess..)