Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Timetables

• 21-08-2011 2:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,016 ✭✭✭

Is it just me, or is anyone else having trouble accessing UCC Timetables for 2011/2012? I'm trying to see do my modules for Final Year Arts clash and I can click on the timetable but it leads to an error page every time.
    Anyone else got them working?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Xxsparkyxx

Timetables aren't up yet!the link will just time out it's the same for everyone:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,351 ✭✭✭✭starlit

The 2010-2011 timetable is valid until tomorrow or next week. The new timetable from 2011-2012 will be available within the next week or so once the 2010-2011 timetable expires.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭teddy b123

I'll probably be shot for this but ah well...
    The timetables are allready up online, its just they can only be accessed from an on campus ip address

Basically what you need to do is go to

http://timetable.ucc.ie/programme.htm

Select your course and click view timetable

Wait for the page to error

Copy the url from the address bar, it will look something like:

http://timetable.ucc.ie:8011/reporting/individual?objectclass=programme+of+study&idtype=id&identifier=BEDSS1 &t=programme+of+study+individual&days=1-7&weeks=5-16;20-31&periods=1-20&template=programme+of+study+individual

Then paste that url into the box on http://cs1.ucc.ie/~tob3/gettt.php and click submit

I know its not the best solution but im working on a better one...

Im pretty sure this doesn't break any UCC or Boards rules, if it does let me know...

An aside to anyone coming into cs this year, submit html like my form above and you will be shot!

teddy b123 wrote: »
    The timetables are allready up online, its just they can only be accessed from an on campus ip address

http://timetable.ucc.ie:8011/reporting/individual?objectclass=programme+of+study&idtype=id&identifier=BEDSS1%0D%0A&t=programme+of+study+individual&days=1-7&weeks=5-16;20-31&periods=1-20&template=programme+of+study+individual

Then paste that url into the box on http://cs1.ucc.ie/~tob3/gettt.php and click submit

Im pretty sure this doesn't break any UCC or Boards rules, if it does let me know...

An aside to anyone coming into cs this year, submit html like my form above and you will be shot!
    Omg nice one:Dit works I have the timetable:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Aoi

http://timetable.ucc.ie:8011/reporting/individual?objectclass=programme+of+study&idtype=id&identifier=BEDSS1%0D%0A&t=programme+of+study+individual&days=1-7&weeks=5-16;20-31&periods=1-20&template=programme+of+study+individual

Thank you, I shall now proceed to use this to win a couple of bets with my friends, =p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭marti8

Thanks for putting up the info on how to access it but this timetable seems to be incomplete, well, for Arts 1 anyway. Looking for Folklore but it's not even on that timetable, not even listed? Guess it must be a work in progres or a provisional timetable. Also Religion & Global Diversity seems to be clashing with Philosophy even though they are both in different subject groups?

marti8 wrote: »
    Thanks for putting up the info on how to access it but this timetable seems to be incomplete, well, for Arts 1 anyway. Looking for Folklore but it's not even on that timetable, not even listed? Guess it must be a work in progress or a provisional timetable. Also Religion & Global Diversity seems to be clashing with Philosophy even though they are both in different subject groups?

I'd say there's more than one philosophy class, but I wouldn't be sure. Some of the timetables have yet to be finalised though. (If there's a W after the room allocation then that's a workshop)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭GALWAYINDOOR

hi all
    just wondering for timetable bsw hons in social work for mature students do i look under bsw1 for the timetable ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 sports-girl93

how do u read the timetables??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭Byron85

how do u read the timetables??

Posted how to do so this time last year, almost to the day actually.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=67638430&postcount=62

Thanks Byron

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Blue_Rose

Thank you, you legend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

Byron85 wrote: »
    Posted how to do so this time last year, almost to the day actually.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=67638430&postcount=62

Posted, like a boss.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

I've my timetable for the past two weeks - surprising the amount of people around the place this week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Deirdre928

Hey I followed the links but the timetable was exactly the same as last years so I don't know If its this years !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

Anyone know for sure if it's this year timetables that are up presently?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Deirdre928 wrote: »
    Hey I followed the links but the timetable was exactly the same as last years so I don't know If its this years !!

A lot of times the timetables are exactly the same as the previous year

Would make sense, why change something that worked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Babyblessed

I cant get them from home but if I go into Uni, they are accessible..... all well and good if you live locally but a nightmare otherwise!

LOL... thanks but Ive been into Uni as I am relatively local! Have my timetable til mid November! Many of my class tho cant access it and thankfully I have been able to pass it on to them!

That said I tried that link and couldnt get in!

Finally got in! Bit of a pain tho, our timetable changes weekly! Come on UCC sort it out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭closeline

Where is second year arts??

closeline wrote: »
    Where is second year arts??

BA (Joint Honours) 2
    BA (Single Honours) 2
    there are several more BA (xxxx) 2

any help?

Aoi wrote: »
    BA (Joint Honours) 2
    BA (Single Honours) 2
    there are several more BA (xxxx) 2

any help?

Well kind of...But I really dont understand this joint honours/single honours thing. Id say my subjects will be English and History. Can u help??

Not at all, I'm doing science >.<

Can anyone help with the Joint/Single Honours??

Try the Undergraduate Calendar for Arts

Joint honours is 30/30 credits so you get an equal degree in both subjects.single honours is split 50/10 and major is 40/20

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Coll75

I've tried using the method posted above for accessing the timetables but it doesn't seem to be working anymore! Is that method inactive now or am I just doing something wrong?!?!?!

Sorry, should have told you guys, the cs servers have been shut off due to maintenance in WGB, they'll be back online tuesday

Do the time tables change every week?? (general nursing first year)

Not generally, though I wouldn't be sure re nursing. What happens is that its the same timetable for the first semester up until Christmas and then for the second semester, there are normally some changes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Barrt2

is cs up again teddy?

The short answer is yes!

I would like to help but you need to wait and see what hospital you are allocated before I have half a chance of working your timetable out..... Are you doing gen? You best bet is to ask your peer supporter on the 9th. If you are doing mids, I have more of a chance of helping you out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭MariaBlaah

i take it that tutorials have yet to be added onto the timetables..? mine is pretty empty atm..

MariaBlaah wrote: »
    i take it that tutorials have yet to be added onto the timetables..? mine is pretty empty atm..

Correct

MariaBlaah wrote: »

yeah, they'll be added in the weeks after you start - its trying to make sure there is a suitable time for everyone in the subject and that people aren't having to miss a lecture to go to a tutorial and vice versa

I thought for some/most/maybe all Arts 1 subjects that the timetables included the tutorials? Because if you take for example Politics, you have 74 hours of lectures and 22 hours of tutorials. If you then break that down at 4 hours a week for 24 weeks, 12 in eacch semester, you have a total amount of lectures and tutorials as stated in the Book of Modules. If the 4 hours of classes per week were simply lectures you would be doing more than 74 hours of lectures! But you only do 74 hours of lectures per academic year - in first year anyhow. Same goes for Religion, Sociology and Celtic Civilisation.

BA classes are big, the tutorials have maybe 20 people in them as far as I know, vs anything up to 300 in a class, so putting all of them on the timetable would severely complicate things..

Aoi wrote: »
    BA classes are big, the tutorials have maybe 20 people in them as far as I know, vs anything up to 300 in a class, so putting all of them on the timetable would severely complicate things..

I see what you are saying but if that is the case then something is seriously wrong because the Book of Modules state that you have for various subjects, on the BA syllabus, 72 hours of lectures and 22 hours of tutorials. Now if you add the 4 hours per week which are on the timetable up you will come to a grand total of 96 hours - so the tutorials must already be listed on the timetable?

I looked at that post and was completely confused, then the 3 years of maths studies kicked in.

Politics has 3 lectures a week not 4 as you assumed - which is your 72 hours, not 74 as you stated. It states 72 in the book of modules btw when I had a look.

I see what you are saying but if that is the case then something is seriously wrong because the Book of Modules state that you have for various subjects, on the BA syllabus, 72 hours of lectures and 22 hours of tutorials. Now if you add the 4 hours per week which are on the timetable up you will come to a grand total of 96 hours - so the tutorials must already be listed on the timetable?

Its three hours per week according to the timetable for politics - Monday, Wednesday and Thursday - the tutorials are not listed on the timetables so I'm correct above. 3 lectures per week for 24 weeks is 72 hours of lectures as listed in the book of modules.

PO1001/L - the L in that code means lecture. T would mean tutorial, and if you take a good look at the timetable there is no T on there as far as I can see.

I looked at that post and was completely confused, then the 3 years of maths studies kicked in.

Politics has 3 lectures a week not 4 as you assumed - which is your 72 hours, not 74 as you stated. It states 72 in the book of modules btw when I had a look.

Yeah, I even got a bit confussed writing it, lol. I'm looking at my timetable now and it shows me 4 classes for every subject I plan to choose - Politics, Religions and Global Diversity, Sociology and Celtic Civilisation. That is 4 hours a week not three, so if it is showing 4 then one of those classes is in fact a tutorial, no?

Where are you looking at your timetable?

Its three hours per week according to the timetable for politics - Monday, Wednesday and Thursday - the tutorials are not listed on the timetables so I'm correct above. 3 lectures per week for 24 weeks is 72 hours of lectures as listed in the book of modules.

PO1001/L - the L in that code means lecture. T would mean tutorial, and if you take a good look at the timetable there is no T on there as far as I can see.

Politics is 4 hours a week, girlfriend :P Wha'ever bitchez.......lol...only messin'. But seriously, it is 4 hours a week, I've my timetable printed up.

Monday 11am-12am
    Tuesday 9am-10am
    Wednesday 2pm-3pm
    Thursday 9am-10am

Oh a big btw, the timetables listed when you google "ucc timetables" are WRONG. Was onto the Arts dept today and pointed in the direction of the correct timetables for Arts 1. The other timetable is NOT correct. This is the correct timetable!!!!

Politics is 4 hours a week, girlfriend :P Wha'ever bitchez.......lol...only messin'. But seriously, it is 4 hours a week, I've my timetable printed up.

Monday 11am-12am
    Tuesday 9am-10am
    Wednesday 2pm-3pm
    Thursday 9am-10am

Oh a big btw, the timetables listed when you google "ucc timetables" are WRONG. Was onto the Arts dept today and pominted in the direction of the correct timetables for Arts 1. The other timetable is NOT correct. This is the correct timetable!!!!

The one on Tuesday is your tutorial, which means the one on the website is the correct LECTURE timetable, makes sense if there is only the 72 hours of lectures. ;) Do the maths :pac: If its 72 hours, it is 72 hours and not anymore! Obviously on that timetable you have, some subjects have all their hours in to ensure that students turn up to both lectures and tutorials, maths studies has three listed there, but I know that they try and organise tutorials during the first lecture.

the lecture rooms are allocated by a central timetabling system, which produces the timetable on the web - however the tutorials are organised by the individual lecturer or department and the rooms booked, which is why they are not listed on the timetable online. Obviously politics are ahead of the game and have a time and room booked

The one on Tuesday is your tutorial, which means the one on the website is the correct LECTURE timetable, makes sense if there is only the 72 hours of lectures. ;) Do the maths :pac: If its 72 hours, it is 72 hours and not anymore! Obviously on that timetable you have, some subjects have all their hours in to ensure that students turn up to both lectures and tutorials, maths studies has three listed there, but I know that they try and organise tutorials during the first lecture.

the lecture rooms are allocated by a central timetabling system, which produces the timetable on the web - however the tutorials are organised by the individual lecturer or department and the rooms booked, which is why they are not listed on the timetable online. Obviously politics are ahead of the game and have a time and room booked

Yeah, the timetable you'll reach from the Arts Dept is correct, the other one (with al the drop down menus etc) is wrong. Anyway, yeah - Politics shows both the weekly tutorial and the lectures but so too does Religions and Global Diversity and Celtic Civilisation. What doesn't add up is Sociology?!!! It shows on my timetable 4 classes a week yet only a total of 72 lecture hours, no tutorials according to the BoM(b) :D But 4 hours a week multiplied by 24 weeks, both academic semesters, gives you 96 hours? lol Feck. The lunatics are running the asylum :pac:

Is that 72hours a month/semester/year??

72 hours per academic year, both semesters. I wonder is an academic hour really 45 minutes? :D Years ago when I did Law at UCC the timetable was much f'ing easier than Arts is. And back then I thought Arts folk had a walk in the park, lol.

Ah right.... do I have langer tattooed on my head! LOL