Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Chinese, Great bunch o' lads

• 20-08-2011 4:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭

Interesting thread here where a guy training under coach Wu explains some of the methods used. 77kg lifter squatting 290kg :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Unreal find. L will wet himself.

Post 50 is really the key to all strength/skill sports.

That thread is absolutely golden. I hope people appreciate the rare insight they're getting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

When will it be mine turn to train from child and acquire flawless squat form

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭token

I cry every time I watch a squat video like that and compare it to my own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

token wrote: »
    I cry every time I watch a squat video like that and compare it to my own.

****er basically has nothing wrong with him. Probably even looks like that when maxing. I was interested to see how they dealt with imbalances too.

I like what he said about conditioning :P!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Dead Ed wrote: »
    ****er basically has nothing wrong with him.

This is probably a large part of the reason he isn't a homeless nobody.

The best thing about that thread is the bit on nutrition.

He says that they eat blood pudding for recovery.

Black pudding is blood pudding.
    This of course means that black pudding is super-awesome atheletic weightlifting food.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Jaysus. Nice.

I must bookmark that video for the lad in my gym who told me i was in danger of hurting my back because I was squatting without a belt, going below parallel and breaking at the hips.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

Jaysus. Nice.

I must bookmark that video for the lad in my gym who told me i was in danger of hurting my back because I was squatting without a belt, going below parallel and breaking at the hips.

chances are if that was his opinion, a few asian lads squatting >2x bodyweight won't change his mind and you'll hear something like "sure they're only gonna hurt themselves sooner or later".

God, I hate people.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Hanley wrote: »
    Jaysus. Nice.

chances are if that was his opinion, a few asian lads squatting >2x bodyweight won't change his mind and you'll hear something like "sure they're only gonna hurt themselves sooner or later".

God, I hate people.

You're probably right. I don't mind people, if they'd simply leave me alone.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 318 ✭✭chris139ryan

jesus thats some going for a 77kg person. i thought i was doing great at 84kg and squating 170kg

You are.
    He is an olympic athlete.

Always makes me laugh how people see Elite Athletes (as in actual elite athletes) and act all discouraged about it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 318 ✭✭chris139ryan

d'Oracle wrote: »
    You are.
    He is an olympic athlete.

Always makes me laugh how people see Elite Athletes (as in actual elite athletes) and act all discouraged about it.

oh i didnt no he was an olympic athlete, just thought he was a seasoned gym goer or something like that

If it makes you feel worse, his max is probably 50+kg higher again.