Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saturday morning, what time do YOU get up?

• 20-08-2011 6:21am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

A few years back, Saturday 'morning' started around 12 or 1 pm, nursing a hangover, smoke or two, xbox on the sofa, or saturday sports on telly.

These days though, Saturday mornings normally begin around six thirty, 11 month old child brought from their cot, changed, bottle fed, then entertain them with a wide variety of toys in the sitting room until snoozy time again (normally around 9 am or so)

Wouldn't change it for the world mind, but what time does your Saturdays begin?
    If its an early one, how early?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

just now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Usually somewhere between 12pm and 4pm. But I don't finish work after a fri night until about 5am-7am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,334 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

07:30, off for a nice run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,144 ✭✭✭✭Cicero

1 hour ago -lovely day out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Up at 7.15 today, get washing up done and a get a wash into the machine and play with my son. I love early mornings, I hate getting up and realising half the day is gone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭sideswipe

At least you still have time to go on Boards OP, wait till your kid's walking and drops that 9am snooze:D:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

Was just woken up for a ride, good day so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

Wake up: somewhere between 7 and 8am
    Get up: add a few hours onto that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Usually up at around 7.30, coffee,toast and a read up about the Youths latest defeat.:mad:

Then an episode of The Sopranos, followed by a swim & jacuzzi in the leisure centre before "weekend dad" arrives with his pack of kids. All done by 10am & ready for the day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

7am, time for a moka, an hour of madeline with the little one then off for a swim.

heh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

*rings Cops!*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Usually between 6.30 and 7.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

About 8, get up, have epic refreshing shower, on boards for an hour or so. Have breakfast, throw petrol into the car then go out for the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

Was up this morning at 5:20, fed and changed baby and tried put her back to sleep.
    By the time she actually went back to sleep for me, it was just a nice time to go for a run. Left the boy in bed and headed off for a lovely 45 min run.

Came home, woke him up and he joined me in the shower.
    Bitta craic, all dressed, waiting on the day to move up a gear.

stovelid wrote: »
    Thank fook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Whatever time the children wake me, this morning it was a respectable 8.30am. That's a lie on for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Not late enough since I shacked up with the missus. In my bachelor days it would have begun around 12pm or after. These days however it varies but starts around 8-9am. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I wake up around 7 mostdays, if i sleep till 9 its a lie in ;-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

I'm just finished a 10 hour night shift so i'll get some kip and get up around 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

8AM, I collect my Mam from work and then bring her to do whatever errands she needs to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭emzolita

9.50 t get ready for Saturday Kitchens, watch it religiously of a Sat morn. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

Depends if I've been out the night before but usually 10/11. Mornings are grand but I'm more of a night owl. Plus, no kids. Phew! :-p

• Usually between 10 and 11. I've been trying to get up earlier than that because I hate wasting the day. Back when I didn't really drink, I used to get up at 8am most weekends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭Cravez

Usually at 6, turn on the emersion, back to sleep for a bit, get up for 7:30 and shower, dressed etc then head out and get a morning coffee at 8.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

I'm just finished a 10 hour night shift so i'll get some kip and get up around 1.

3-4 hours sleep, is that sustainable for you? :eek:
    how often?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Still in bed.

8 or 9

Depends, if I head home for the weekend usually get up around 10 as I go out working on the farm, if I dont its usually between 12 and 3, though I'm usually awake by 10 or 11 but I like relaxing in bed even if I'm awake for a few hours (or hungover).

I might get up around 11 today to get some breekie from the shop and be ready for the Liverpool game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

Up bright and early and off down the beach for a bit of fishing, do my workout then a filthy big Saturday fry-up while reading the news on the internet, then taking the puppy to the vet to get her shots, wander round town for a bit ogling gadgets and maybe stopping for a coffee somewhere, before rounding off the day with a few movies and a nice German beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Yeah, Saturday morning is no different to any other morning once you have loud noisy small things that live in your house (kids btw).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭shannon_tek

10.10 am and straight to work. Check emails, texts, news, Facebook, YouTube then have breakfast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Still in bed.

sleep typing eh :p

BOO!

are you awake now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,963 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

Normally we would get up around 11 in our house but such a nice morning I got up early to do the lawn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

This morning got up at 10am.

Just eating some scrambled eggs and rashers now, chill for 15mins then go for jog around 11am.

I hate waking up past 11 on the weekend and also I'm unable to wake up then just lie around in bed for ages, no idea how people do that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 monuis

I be wake up at 6.30 ...............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Saila wrote: »
    sleep typing eh :p

BOO!

are you awake now..

I didn't say I was asleep!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

Usually 11 but this morning 10. Hungover so that'll tend to make me get up earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

Saila wrote: »
    3-4 hours sleep, is that sustainable for you? :eek:
    how often?

I'm just awake now :) I'll get up now, go back to bed at around half 7 for 2 more hours, then back in work for another 10 hour shift tonight! I only work 2 nights a week though(and 2 days). When I'm working nights on the weekend I hate wasting the day in bed so I just catch up with sleep on Sunday night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

woke at 11:30, wasnt on the scoops last night, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

About 7 or 7.30. Gym until about 8.30 then shower, hit the shops, home by 12 and back into the leaba then for the afternoon :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

I usually work at either 8am or 3pm on a saturday so either 7 or 12-1ish. Was up at 7:30 this morning for an exam at 9:30:(

Off for the rest of the day now though which is unusual on a Saturday. Might go for a couple of pints and watch the footie at 3...because I can!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I wake up at 5:00 fr work during the week. Today I slept till 10:00, happy days.

I love enjoying little things in life. Like an extra few hours of sleep after busy week at work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 766 ✭✭✭Norwayviking

0530 at sunrise in the Amazon in Brazil.
    Cant beat that!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I woke up an hour ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭bigwormbundoran

If ive work then Im up at 845, otherwise whatever time football focus is on at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭xxtattyberxx

Starts at 6 so I get up for work :mad: Im not a huge fan of saturdays... But I do love my sunday mornings, usually consists of himself bringing me tea in bed to wake me, tiz the little things in life that I enjoy :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

I don't. I sleep in until 8PM. (and no I don't have a night job, nor is my routine off balance)