Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jumping Queue to Pay for Petrol

• 17-08-2011 9:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭

I was just in a garage shop there, while I was at till paying for stuff someone jumped the queue to pay for their petrol, just dropped the €20 and left. The person at till gave some dirty looks but took the money.

What is it about paying for petrol/diesel that gives people the perceived right to jump a queue? Pisses me off to no end when it happens..

Am I alone in this hatred of queue skippers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

Yes you are.......probably not:pac:,I dont see the point in queing when I always stick in 40 exactly and always have 20s so change is never needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

I've never done it, but I don't see the problem if they have the exact change.
    The only problem I can think of is if it's a big and/or buzy place and the person behind the till doesn't know which pump was used.
    But in general if you have exact change, I don't see the problem.
    With most items, you need them scanned first, petrol you don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

He held you up for how long?

I could understand being pissed if he tried to pay with a card, but sounds like he dropped the cash and ran.

It's a real pain getting stuck behind someone who's after doing their grocery shopping in the garage when you're just looking to pay for petrol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,833 ✭✭✭phill106

I'd do it without a problem if it was exactly 10 or 20 euro.
    20 of diesel there, drop the note on the counter and out the door...like a boss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

dulpit wrote: »
    I was just in a garage shop there, while I was at till paying for stuff someone jumped the queue to pay for their petrol, just dropped the €20 and left. The person at till gave some dirty looks but took the money.

What is it about paying for petrol/diesel that gives people the perceived right to jump a queue? Pisses me off to no end when it happens..

Am I alone in this hatred of queue skippers?

If they are paying for the same amount as yourself just say that its for your pump and feck off then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Whats it to you OP? they didnt delay you.

I hate being stuck in a Q behind someone that that takes an age to pay for stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

This is why I usally go to a petrol station for mine. Not a petrol station/news agents/convienince store.

Plus they are usally cheeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It's always when you're doing nothing except buying petrol that you get stuck behind the gob****e who buys scratch cards and insists on scratching them at the counter so that he can buy 3 more scratchcards with his €3 win.

For some reason we've been painfully slow in this country to install card readers at our pumps. Used them in the states, dead handy.

seamus wrote: »
    It's always when you're doing nothing except buying petrol that you get stuck behind the gob****e who buys scratch cards and insists on scratching them at the counter so that he can buy 3 more scratchcards with his €3 win.

For some reason we've been painfully slow in this country to install card readers at our pumps. Used them in the states, dead handy.

Theres one just past the spawell as your heading up to Tallaght

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

If you're behind me - stay behind me.
    You do not have the right to delay me 1 second by jumping ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

Yes you are.......probably not:pac:,I dont see the point in queing when I always stick in 40 exactly and always have 20s so change is never needed.

Have to agree with this no point in waiting around if you have the correct money in hand, in fact i see it as my god given right, god dam it, feckin price of diesel an all.

*deep breaths cruiser, deep breaths.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I've done it once when I was genuinely in a rush and the person ahead was haggling over something stupid and taking ages. There should really be a dedicated queue for people just buying petrol or card readers but they want you to queue as long as possible hoping that you will make impulse purchases in the shop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Will they ever introduce pumps with debit/credit card readers into this country. It would make life all the easier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

I wouldn't do it myself - I think it's rude, probably more-so to the staff who have to figure out what pump you used while in the middle of dealing with another customer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Frank Spencer

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    Will they ever introduce pumps with debit/credit card readers into this country. It would make life all the easier.

They did on the two new Apple garages on the M1 north of Dublin. Worked for about 6 months and now they're just taped over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

I do it sometimes, if I'm in a hurry and the person getting served isn't. Always exact change, so not realy delaying anyone, just interupting their gossip. I usualy say ammount, pump number and fuel type.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

They did on the two new Apple garages on the M1 north of Dublin. Worked for about 6 months and now they're just taped over.

Why ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Don't have much to worry you do you OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,379 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Theres usually a window outside to pay for petrol, dont be thick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Rockery Woman

You know the ones - theyre always there - in front of you!!

The tired looking wan with the 3 children "put that back Oisin, no Oisin you are not gettin crisps, ya have crisps at home", then to the assistant "give me 20 carrols aswell, and quick-pick, Darragh put that down!" fumbles in bag... "oh and give me 3 99's aswell, and 4 scratch-cards..."

You are there with your E50 waiting and waiting, the temptation to just throw the note over the counter and walk out gets too much.

Ive done it before and will do it again - petrol is expensive enough without wasting your life standing in a queue to pay for it!

Some Tesco shops have the card readers, theyre great! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,270 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

seamus wrote: »

First place I've seen them is in the new Topaz/MacDonalds station outside Cashel, neat job.

Have to admit dropping cash on the counter too when I'm in a rush and have the exact money handy, most places seem grand with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

What can I say? Maybe I'm just too polite.. I will say that if we had card readers in pumps we'd be sorted though...

And it's not that people jump ahead of the queue (well it is) but also they attitude they have about it...:mad:

Maybe I'm just quite cranky today with stupid work being stupid... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

Yea I wouldn't do it myself!

You do see people doing it with newspapers too. They will walk up and place the euro no counter and wave the paper to show the sales assistant thats all he/she wanted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

If you're behind me - stay behind me.
    You do not have the right to delay me 1 second by jumping ahead.

Spot one man.

Any scrote who tries to pull a fast one on the Flutt,by queue jumping will know about it.

Call the manager and hold up the whole kip complaining loudly, that will give him/her an incentive to challenge these assholes who think they can beat the system.

First come,first served.

Go somewhere else if you want to save 60 seconds jumping a queue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Go somewhere else if you want to save 60 seconds jumping a queue.

Surely that would take another 10 mins to go somewhere else! And then only to find another slow f**ker in a queue!

dont get me started on people at ATM machines. Its like some people are playing snake with the f**king things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Why was this moved to Motors? This is not simply a motoring problem, this is a crisis that's plaguing society... :pac:

Seriously its not that hard for staff members to remember "40 on pump 1" jaysus you would swear its rocket science.

On the Cork/Dublin road, I've always made a habit of filling up at Kavanaghs of Urlingford, usualy one of the cheapest pumps on the route. I'ts bypassed now but I still call in, Its only a few minutes off the route. What can be quite painful though is that they stop their own busses there for a toilet break. You can be filling up at a quite country service station, next thing there can easily be 20 customers in the shop choosing their snacks/playing with their purses, I never q behind them, also I'm not realy delaying them, as the driver is on his break and not going anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭irishejit

The only problem with card readers is that due to fire laws if you are buying petrol there still has to be someone employed to authorise that transaction in an office somewhere. They have to check that the person requesting the fuel is over 18 and that they are using a correct container to dispense it into.

The rules don't apply with diesel sales so these can go ahead, which is why a lot of places aren't bothering to upgrade as they'd need someone for petrol sales only.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Speaking as someone who worked in quite a few petrol stations in my younger days would never have had an issue with someone just putting money on the counter to pay for petrol/diesel while there was a queue - speeds up process for everyone.

What really used to annoy me was the people that would park blocking pumps - buy no petrol/diesel and then do the weeks shopping/ chat to everyone in the shop and then eventually return to their car!! :mad:

irishejit wrote: »
    They have to check that the person requesting the fuel is over 18 and that they are using a correct container to dispense it into.

Realy? But you can drive a car at 17, (and a moped at 16 I think).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,931 ✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Tom Joad wrote: »
    Speaking as someone who worked in quite a few petrol stations in my younger days would never have had an issue with someone just putting money on the counter to pay for petrol/diesel while there was a queue - speeds up process for everyone.

What really used to annoy me was the people that would park blocking pumps - buy no petrol/diesel and then do the weeks shopping/ chat to everyone in the shop and then eventually return to their car!! :mad:

I'll second this.

Worked in a petrol station / shop for about four years, keeps things ticking over quickly if someone just plonks the money down and buggers off. They're happier cos they're outta there quickly, and I'm happy because my queue ain't stupidly long.

But... those knobs who park up beside the pumps to browse the shop... JUST NO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Have been very tempted to do this on numerous occasions and can't understand why I haven't as I can be extremely impatient at times. That said, it's definitely rude to skip a queue. Dilema! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭LLU

I hate being stuck in a Q behind someone that that takes an age to pay for stuff!

Not true. It means the cashier has to figure out which pump to reset, reset it, and register another sale on the till. I'm in a hurry too and don't want delays like this.

The last time a bloke did that to me, I reached out and grabbed the 20 as soon as it hit the counter. That stopped his gallop but there wasnt a thing he could say and he damn well knew it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭irishejit

2 stroke wrote: »
    Realy? But you can drive a car at 17, (and a moped at 16 I think).

Seems ridiculous to me too.

18 was stipulated in tender documents the company I work for filled out when asked to tender for this authorisation for a chain of stations in the south.

I think the point is that they're to check the person isn't an obvious minor trying to get fuel for skullduggery.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

2 stroke wrote: »
    On the Cork/Dublin road, I've always made a habit of filling up at Kavanaghs of Urlingford, usualy one of the cheapest pumps on the route. I'ts bypassed now but I still call in, Its only a few minutes off the route. What can be quite painful though is that they stop their own busses there for a toilet break. You can be filling up at a quite country service station, next thing there can easily be 20 customers in the shop choosing their snacks/playing with their purses, I never q behind them, also I'm not realy delaying them, as the driver is on his break and not going anywhere.

Esso in Johnstown ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

LLU wrote: »

Not true. It means the cashier has to figure out which pump to reset, reset it, and register another sale on the till. I'm in a hurry too and don't want delays like this.

The last time a bloke did that to me, I reached out and grabbed the 20 as soon as it hit the counter. That stopped his gallop but there wasnt a thing he could say and he damn well knew it.

That's exactly what I was thinking. It does hold up the queue because of the above. So why is it more important that the folks just getting petrol are out of their faster than the ones getting petrol and say.... Bread and milk?

As someone said- most stations have a window outside for those just getting petrol but you see most folks ignore it.

I despair of those that park at pumps but don't get petrol. Most stations have separate parking for folks who don't want petrol. But it's a few steps further from the door. That holds everyone up far more than the queue thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

You know the ones - theyre always there - in front of you!!

The tired looking wan with the 3 children "put that back Oisin, no Oisin you are not gettin crisps, ya have crisps at home", then to the assistant "give me 20 carrols aswell, and quick-pick, Darragh put that down!" fumbles in bag... "oh and give me 3 99's aswell, and 4 scratch-cards..."

You are there with your E50 waiting and waiting, the temptation to just throw the note over the counter and walk out gets too much.

Ive done it before and will do it again - petrol is expensive enough without wasting your life standing in a queue to pay for it!

Thing is: the garage wants her custom far more than yours.

I worked a station in college for a few years. People plonking down money for petrol is fine as you could just ring the petrol through when they were gone but if it's busy you didn't have time to check that they had given you the right amount.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

You have to be 18 to buy petrol? :eek: I've been getting petrol since I was 13 or 14, for the lawnmower, and have never been challenged once?

whiterebel wrote: »
    Esso in Johnstown ;)
    Too far of the motorway and regular speed camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Northern Monkey

They have them in the applegreen on the M1 but they have been out of order for months:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭LisaLee

You have to be 16 to pump petrol or diesel.

If there's a queue and someone jumps it to pay for €20 on pump 4 then that's fine, but if they try and shortchange the assistant just because there's a queue then that makes my blood boil.

People don't seem to realise that a few cents over all adds up, if the till is down then there's trouble for the person behind the till. I know one shop that makes the staff pay for any drive offs (even if the person doesn't set foot in the shop) and they have to cover any cash differences in their till from their own pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,403 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

irishejit wrote: »
    The only problem with card readers is that due to fire laws if you are buying petrol there still has to be someone employed to authorise that transaction in an office somewhere. They have to check that the person requesting the fuel is over 18 and that they are using a correct container to dispense it into.

In a previous existence I wrote software for controlling fuel pumps and this is not an issue in a normal petrol station as the pump normally has to be authorized in any case by the shop assistant. That's why you will often experience a slight delay between when you put the nozzle in your car and the fuel flowing.

All fuel control systems allow setting a prepay pump limit too to cater for nighttime scenarios. The only difference in using card readers is to make prepayment more convenient at the pump than having to walk up to the hatch and queue to prepay; which is even worse in making the assistants walk around the shop to get the bag of crisps and coke.

The real reason stations don't go with the pump card readers is that there is a minuscule profit margin on fuel so they are better off having you come into the shop to pay where you are more likely to buy other items with a profit margin of 40-50%.

Is it 'surprising' that the M1 motorway stations haven't bothered getting their pump card payment terminals operational again when they charge €2.50 for a coffee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,931 ✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

LisaLee wrote: »
    People don't seem to realise that a few cents over all adds up, if the till is down then there's trouble for the person behind the till. I know one shop that makes the staff pay for any drive offs (even if the person doesn't set foot in the shop) and they have to cover any cash differences in their till from their own pocket.

I was lucky - in my place, it never really mattered.

There was also the time I accidentally filled someone's (well, my mum's friend) diesel car with petrol :( Thought I'd get fired as the boss hit the roof, but the owner of the car took full responsibility and the tank was flushed out and a-ok after.

Phew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

Minstrel27 wrote: »

Topaz on the N11 at Kilmacanogue have them. Very handy cause that place is always packed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

I know one shop that makes the staff pay for any drive offs (even if the person doesn't set foot in the shop) and they have to cover any cash differences in their till from their own pocket.
    Isn't that illegal?

johnos1984 wrote: »
    Isn't that illegal?

I don't know tbh. Most of the staff are part time (students) and are just grateful to have a job. Management makes them pay up though, if they refuse then he just takes it out of their wages anyway. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

I don't know tbh. Most of the staff are part time (students) and are just grateful to have a job. Management makes them pay up though, if they refuse then he just takes it out of their wages anyway. :eek:
    That's very much illegal AFAIK

Not their problem if someone drives off. How are they supposed to stop them? Jump in front of the car?

Sorry for the O/T rant but it pisses me off when people do that sh!t to employees

johnos1984 wrote: »
    That's very much illegal AFAIK

Not their problem if someone drives off. How are they supposed to stop them? Jump in front of the car?

Sorry for the O/T rant but it pisses me off when people do that sh!t to employees

I know what you mean. He's lost staff over it before, but he's a shady character anyway. I often wonder if the staff are on the books or if it's cash in hand.