Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Train porn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭MGWR

For some reason, that vid has gone viral on FB.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

MGWR wrote: »
    For some reason, that vid has gone viral on FB.

That guy has a several regular videos suitable for this thread, each 1000-2000 views, while the snow one has 2 million views!

Queensland Rail in Australia has a narrow-gauge (3' 6") tramway in the middle of Denison Street in Rockhampton; quite busy even today. All sorts of freight and the diesel tilt train run on it.

This video shows "QR150" special excursion train with 4-6-2 #1079 as power, and not crawling along at 5 mph by any stretch.

Well, if Dublin still be denied its Metro North, at least New York still has theirs, cobbled together from the former New York Central and New Haven Railroad commuter services. This was taken at Harlem's 125th Street Station, during morning rush hour; three tracks inbound to Grand Central and one outbound, reversed in evening, off-peak with two inbound/two outbound.

From left to right: Push-pull diesel dual-mode train (Bombardier "Shoreliner" cars based on design derived from Pullman Standard, with General Electric "Genesis II" P32AC-DM on rear) arriving from Poughkeepsie (Hudson Line); Bombardier M7 EMUs (probably from Harlem Line); Kawasaki M8 from Connecticut (runs on both 750-volt DC third rail and 12,000-volt 60-Hertz overhead wires).
    MNRR_6315+4xx6+9355-125th-St-zoom.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭GMKK96

461 on the Marble City railtour on Sunday at Kilkenny with 071 on shunt release duties. This was also craven snack car coach no. 1508's first tour since its overhaul.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,441 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

A month later than I said I would but here is a train from the Czech republic.

Very short video of the trams from Prague. These were two of the three types I saw.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭dowlingm

The M8s above are also designed for 25kV 60Hz east of New Haven CT, but given fleet demands of existing west of New Haven services Metro North and CTDOT have not bothered certifying that capability for service as yet.

dowlingm wrote: »
    The M8s above are also designed for 25kV 60Hz east of New Haven CT, but given fleet demands of existing east of New Haven services Metro North and CTDOT have not bothered certifying that capability for service as yet.
    There's also the matter of certifying Metro-North crews on Amtrak, since ownership changes northwest of New Haven from the state to Amtrak and Amtrak currently has the contract for "Shore Line East" commuter service between New Haven and New London. Furthermore, the signalling northeast of New Haven is more "modernised", and Metro-North may have to upgrade the M8s to use ACSES (aka "Advanced Civil Speed Enforcement System").

There's also a rumour that the M8's third rail contact shoes are "flippable" so they can use the over-running third rail of the Long Island Rail Road in order to run into New York Pennsylvania Station; not that that station has any capacity for any additional trains, however (it does not), and the notion would be a "political football" that some city politicians have been pushing, i.e. for commuter service to the East Bronx and certain parts of Westchester County. The answer to the question of "why not use the overhead wires all the way into Penn" would be that those wires still are on 25 Hertz frequency versus 60 Hertz, and then the third rail contact shoes would need to fold up vertically as those on Amtrak's P32AC-DM "Genesis II" do in Metro-North territory en route to Albany-Rensselaer, New York...then again, Amtrak was supposed to have converted all of the Northeast Corridor under its ownership to 25 kilovolts 60 Hertz in the 1980s as well.

Old pic of Ennis station from September of 1950, showing the West Clare Railway still in operation; cars have the "flying snail" logo.
    untitled.jpg?w=750&h=343

Denver, Colorado, USA: New Hyundai Rotem EMUs for the RTD's new "FasTracks" (should CIE sue?) East Rail Line arrive at Denver International Airport. Similar to Philadelphia's "Silverliner V" cars for SEPTA Regional Rail, but with no steps nor trapdoors as low platforms would necessitate; all platforms on FasTracks are high.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

A mate posted this, thought ye'd be interested :)

347936.png

Train at train station in Dworzec PKP Toruń Główny.

Tram intersection in Toronto rebuilt. 3 weeks work in a 2.5 min video

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭Thedarkb

461best.jpg
    I posted this in the photo thread as well, thought it might fit in here too

Video of about a half hour in length showing the streamlined Norfolk & Western J-class 4-8-4 #611 in action after being restored to life for the second time. Train includes an auxilliary tender and no less than 18 carriages. The last batch of the class (611-613) was built in 1950 by the railway company itself, during a time when other railways were dieselising.

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭sporty56

Great bits of action there. Go to 24:20 and see where train is when barriers come down. Lesson there for DART barriers down time ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Toronto Union Station-Pearson Airport UPX pre-opening test train 25 May 2015
    After first 1.5 mins, the rest is cab video. Visible are three other UPX Nippon Sharyo DMU sets, and a GO Transit F59PH leading six bilevels. The final approach to the terminal is slow partly because of the track ending but also the need to line up precisely at the platform doors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

What I've liked about travelling on the trains in the Czech Republic is that they still use carriages and have a mix of electric and diesel powered locos.

The freight I say only travelling two hours was unreal. I've only seen scences from Ireland in pictures. And they are rakes of wagons in sidings all along the line I was on at random spots. I've a video that shows this which I might put up.

• Registered Users Posts: 420 ✭✭metrovick001

That's the way it's done in other countries.
    Certainly an eye opener.

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    What I've liked about travelling on the trains in the Czech Republic is that they still use carriages and have a mix of electric and diesel powered locos.

The freight I say only travelling two hours was unreal. I've only seen scences from Ireland in pictures. And they are rakes of wagons in sidings all along the line I was on at random spots. I've a video that shows this which I might put up.

That's the way it's done in other countries.
    Certainly an eye opener.

It has been an eye opener. It shows how the two can work together.The only stop was in the video above where the electrified cables stopped and so had to change to a diesel loco.

Have a new video I got from the station near where I'm staying of the Munich to Prague train so I'll put that up when I have wifi. Not going to upload a video to YouTube with data roaming on. I've a bit of cop on.

I thought it was smaller train but it wasn't. As the second carriage after the loco passes in the video I had a thought to myself that "if this thing derails in fecked." I shall be travelling to Germany tomorrow so I shall take more photos just to expand the reach of this forum.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭Sheldons Brain

The British film archives have a lot of stuff online, including Blarney to Cork 1902.
    http://player.bfi.org.uk/film/watch-ride-from-blarney-to-cork-on-cork-muskerry-light-railway-1902-1902/

• Registered Users Posts: 10 Deutschbahn

I caught a video of the Munich-Prague service myself. The shot I got of the train was a tad longer than in your video. I am surprised to see it so short.

VIDEO here:

• Registered Users Posts: 78,261 ✭✭✭✭Victor

When doing youtubve videos, you need to do the link like this: [noparse][/noparse]