Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sunderland V Newcastle - The Wear-Tyne Derby - Saturday 20th August 12pm

• 16-08-2011 4:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭

umbro-11-12-sunderland-home-soccer-jersey_s.jpgpuma-11-12-newcastle-united-home-soccer-jersey_s.jpg

The nerves are kicking in early as usual so I said I'd start this thread :pac:

The Wear-Tyne derby is kicking off at 12pm on Saturday 20th August.

Unfortunately it's not on Sky, but it's being shown on YES Sport, Viasat and Nova Sports so there'll be plenty of streams and it's definitely being shown on two channels on Flash Sport Streams. I presume LOF will also have it.

The pressure is on Sunderland to get a result after last years no show in the two games, and whilst Newcastle have lost some of the experience that stood them in such good stead last season, they always put in a performance in the derbies.

As for line-ups, if John O'Shea is fit I'd imagine he'll go straight in at RB, but otherwise it will probably be unchanged from last weeks draw with Liverpool. I'll try get more information during the week and update it if necessary:
    Mignolet

Bardsley Brown Ferdinand Richardson

Elmohamady Cattermole Colback Larsson

Sessegnon

Gyan

Guessing again I presume Newcastle will go with virtually the same team they had out against Arsenal, unless they sign a new LB during the week. Perhaps Obertan will start ahead of Ba. One of the Newcastle lads will correct me if I'm wrong anyway:
    Krul

Simpson Collocini S. Taylor R. Taylor

Tiote

Barton
    Jonas

Cabaye

Ameobi Ba

Here's a piece from Simon Bird of The Mirror on why the derby is one of the best in football:
    “It’s crazy, crazy. The fans go to the pub, drink loads of beer, come to the ground and bang, it is mad.

“And the noise, the noise. The game is so fast. You won’t have seen anything like it.”

These are the words of a foreign player based in the North East, wide-eyed and with beer guzzling actions too, telling a new foreign arrival, about what he’s about to experience this weekend.

The two players then left the room and went off to prepare for action, in little doubt as to what it means – to the managers, players and fans

Edgy, tense, raucous, and intensely passionate.

The North East derby is one of the spine-tingling highlights of the season .

On Saturday there is an added sense of mystery to the occasion – we simply have no idea how good, or bad, either squad will be this season.

There have been few reasons to celebrate North East football in recent years – but Saturday’s clash will hopefully be one.

A great game full of pace, passion and goals on the pitch, and no trouble off it.

The folk of Newcastle and Sunderland showed the rest of the country they are not rioters last week – a repeat under the spotlight of football would reinforce the message this weekend.

It would be parochial, patronising and entirely unfair to lesser regions of our great nation, to say it is THE best derby in football.

But it is!

Of course every region and country has their own special claims and belief that their showdown is the best. Who can judge the intensity of another man’s passion?

Glasgow, North London and Merseyside have clashes of intense fervour too.

However up here we have two clubs whose fans really should have lost interest years ago.

But no. Loyalty is bred deep into North Easteners, and they don’t lose it just because of a few years (ok, a few decades) without a trophy.

Newcastle lure in 50,000 fans to home games and dominate the talk in pubs every night of the week. Sunderland will have a full house of 48,000.

Those sort of crowds are unimaginable to all but a couple of big four giants in the Premier League and it is those numbers which keep our sides on the map, of national interest, and a notch above other also-rans in the top flight.

How will it unfold this season? Newcastle won’t repeat their 5-1 win of last season, that’s for sure.

That day Sunderland froze. Newcastle’s experienced men, including Kevin Nolan and Joey Barton policed the game magnificently and Andy Carroll was towering.

This time around Sunderland have renewed composure in the form of Wes Brown who made an impressive debut. They have options that Newcastle can only dream of up front with Asamoah Gyan, Stephane Sessegnon and Connor Wickham vying to start.

In fact they have options Newcastle would only dream of in midfield too, with the likes of David Vaughan and Craig Gardner made to wait for a starting berth at Liverpool.

Newcastle though have the No 1 agent provocateur for a derby game in Joey Barton, and plenty will hinge on his temperament and form.

If Barton strikes a balance of controlled aggression, and Sunderland stars get sucked in by the crowds demand for blood, he could be key.

Alan Pardew will garner confidence from the strong arm performance of his defence last week, even without the sold Jose Enrique. He also has Cheik Tiote up to speed and looking a pivotal man.

Perhaps Yohan Cabaye will be released to the more advanced role he played better in against Arsenal.

Cabaye has also learned quickly about the derby. He said last week that fans had talked only of this game and about Sunderland only in “disgust”.

As for Steve Bruce he knows he needs a good result after last season’s 5-1.

“That was my worst moment in football. I went to bed early just thinking I want this day to end,” he said after the drubbing.

The North East derby produces extremes of emotion. This one, coming so early, could even define the mood of each club, and especially the fans, for the entire campaign.

Elation or despair, it is what makes football, and this game in particular, so special.

Predictions: I'm never, ever confident before a derby game and this one is no different. I'm going to say 1-1, which if offered to me now I'd take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

wes brown to score an own goal and give away a penalty after last weeks unusual bobby moore like performance ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Toon--soldier

2-2 i reckon. I know its a long shot but if any knows where I can get a
    ticket(s) for the newcastle end I'd be most grateful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

I just want to watch the Joey Barton highlights on MOTD :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Think Newcastle should give obertan a go from the start. He added a lot to there forward play when he got ball in second half at arsenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Think Newcastle should give obertan a go from the start. He added a lot to there forward play when he got ball in second half at arsenal.

Aye, I thought he did quite well. I wouldn't be at all surprised to see him start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,880 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Sports Direct sponsor the thread?:D:D:D:D

Pity it aint on SKY,usually a good game this. Score draw is my prediciton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Beekay

Is it on tv at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

magpie.jpg?w=319&h=200

Wonder if we'll see our little visitor this year.

I had a Newcastle jersey up there which has been changed to a Sports Direct logo :confused: I'll update it back to a jersey now.

Anyone else finding the build up very quiet compared to usual years as it's on so early in the season?

Paully D wrote: »
    I had a Newcastle jersey up there which has been changed to a Sports Direct logo :confused: I'll update it back to a jersey now.

Anyone else finding the build up very quiet compared to usual years as it's on so early in the season?

Sure ya did ya bollocks. :pac:

It's strange having a derby so early in the season. It just feels weird because both sets of fans are just getting used to their new players... or lack of in our case.

Come tomorrow and Friday I'm sure I'll be buzzing for it.

http://www.chroniclelive.co.uk/multimedia/sport/sunderland-afc/audio/2011/08/17/all-sports-podcast-wear-tyne-derby-special-72703-29251595/#.Tkuu7peRMME.twitter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,648 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

That_Guy wrote: »
    magpie.jpg?w=319&h=200

Wonder if we'll see our little visitor this year.

Always do, someone must clip the wings, because the 3 times I have seen them, they can never fly. Horrible to be honest!

Have my ticket anyways, can't wait for it!

Sunderland by 2 or 3 for me.

How I hope we line up.
    Krul

Simpson --- Colo --- S Taylor --- Ferguson

Tiote

Barton --- Jonas

Cabaye

Ameobi --- Obertan

Wouldn't mind seeing Obertan playing in behind Ameobi. He put in a good shift against Arsenal when he came on but his stamina doesn't seem to be up to scratch at the moment. Pards will most likely favour Ba ahead of him.

Ferguson is rumoured to be fit again and I'd have him at left back before R Taylor who is bloody useless. Fergie offers us momentum in going forward down that left flank too which we need. I'd be surprised if we got a left back eligible in time for the game on Saturday at this stage. Typical. :rolleyes:

I expect Marveaux to be on the bench. He played today for the reserves and impressed greatly according to various reports so I expect him to make an appearance.

Some 'Did You Know' trivia:

http://www.rokerreport.com/2011/8/17/2367528/lightening-the-mood-wear-tyne-derby-did-you-knows

Did You Know: During the second world war, Jackie Milburn made two guest appearances for Sunderland. Another Newcastle United striker, Albert Stubbins, went a step further by representing Sunderland in a War Time Cup Final against Wolverhampton Wanderers. Stubbins got on the score sheet, but Sunderland were to lose the game.

Did You Know: The Tyne/Wear rivalry can be traced back to the 1600s in a despite over trading rights. Merchants on the Tyne were awarded the exclusive regional rights to trade coal, leaving Sunderland in poverty. Sunderland were to hit back in the civil war, when a Parliamentarian army from Sunderland, reinforced by the Scots, defeated the Royalist Tynesiders at the battle of Boldon Hill in 1644 leading to the Scottish colonisation of Newcastle. In other words - they started it.

Did You Know: In 1968, on August the 20th (exactly 43 years ago to the day come Saturday), Sunderland played Newcastle United on Wearside. The visitors won 3-0. Luckily 'twas only a friendly.

Did You Know: Whilst big-money modern transfers between the two clubs are almost unheard of today, when Scottish right back Andy McCombie made the short trip from Wear to Tyne in 1904 he cost a whopping £700 – a world record at the time.

Did You Know: When Len Shackleton made his British record transfer from Newcastle to Sunderland in 1948, there was no negotiations between the clubs. Newcastle invited sealed bids for his services with Sunderland's offer of £20,050 being £50 higher than the nearest bid. The transfer has been dubbed "the horse auction transfer".

Did You Know: Sunderland haven't completed a derby-double over Newcastle since the 1966-67 season, when they won both fixtures 3-0. Newcastle United's last double was in 2005-6.

Did You Know: There has been a total of 57 players who have represented both Sunderland and Newcastle United – including Danny Simpson and Titus Bramble in the current squads.

Did You Know: Of the current Sunderland squad, only 2 players have experienced beating Newcastle in Sunderland colours. Kieran Richardson and Anton Ferdinand both started the club's last derby victory in 2008, with Phil Bardsley an unused substitute.

Did You Know: Whilst you could be forgiven for thinking that Shola Ameobi is the highest scorer in derby history, you'd be wrong. That distinction lies with Seaham-born George Holley, who scored 15 goals for Sunderland against Newcastle between 1904 and 1919, including a hat-trick in the 9-1 win at St James Park in 1908.

Did You Know: When away supporters were 'banned' from the final ever derby at Roker Park in 1996 they were not actually banned at all. Sunderland and Northumbria Police reached an agreement to allocate 1,000 tickets for the game to visiting fans but Newcastle United turned them down claiming the ageing Roker Park was unsafe. Newcastle's then Chief-Executive, Freddie Fletcher, told fans "Don't blame Newcastle United. Don't blame Northumbria Police. Blame Sunderland.".

Did You Know: The 1901 Good Friday derby at St James Park had to be abandoned when 70,000 fans tried to squeeze into the 30,000 capacity ground. When the abandonment was confirmed, rioting ensued.

Did You Know: The game at St James Park in 1999 was not the only time Sunderland have gone to Newcastle in adverse weather conditions and won. In 1913, two goals from outside right Jackie Mordue helped Sunderland to a 3-0 win amidst a veritable blizzard in a rare FA Cup meeting. The result brought to an end five hours of football in the quarter final tie. Sunderland would go on to lose in the final against Aston Villa in front of a then world record attendance at Crystal Palace.

Did You Know: The influence of WAGs in football is actually nothing new. Indeed, prior to lining up in a derby game in 1956, goal-shy Sunderland centre forward Bill Holden was told by his wife of just a few weeks, "It's time you scored again. You'd better get a goal today and break that bad run". Like any of us, Bill did exactly what his wife had commanded and notched a goal in a comfortable 2-0 win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

Repeat of that away from home would be nice :pac:

Realistically, Sunderland will win this one I think - and we can expect the massive outburst of their fans boasting about the win until 2014!

They've spent the money; they've brought in the players and they've no excuses this time round (or last!)

We're looking like we won't have have a left-back in time for the game, and still lacking a striker as well.

SAFC should take it 2/3-0 if they're on form but being the optimist I'll go for a 1-2 win for NUFC, Obertan and STaylor on target :pac:

Doocey wrote: »

Repeat of that away from home would be nice :pac:

Realistically, Sunderland will win this one I think - and we can expect the massive outburst of their fans boasting about the win until 2014!

They've spent the money; they've brought in the players and they've no excuses this time round (or last!)

We're looking like we won't have have a left-back in time for the game, and still lacking a striker as well.

SAFC should take it 2/3-0 if they're on form but being the optimist I'll go for a 1-2 win for NUFC, Obertan and STaylor on target :pac:

There's not a hope in hell that Sunderland will have it as comfortable as you think mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

There's not a hope in hell that Sunderland will have it as comfortable as you think mate.

If ye play like ye did against Liverpool then it shouldn't be too bad for ye!

Hopefully we'll romp ye :pac:

You'd think with the likes of Brown in the side that we'll have the experience now not to freeze on the big day, but you never know with Sunderland :pac: It's a shame O'Shea's probably not going to make it as his experience with Brown would strengthen us up so much.

I think it'll be a score draw, but if one of us is to win it it'll be by an odd goal either way IMO.

Very quiet build up this year which is probably better for us considering the shambolic performances in last years games. The nerves will start kicking in big time come Friday night!

Controversial article before the derby from Roker Report entitled ''Why Sunderland Will Always Have The Last Laugh Over Newcastle'':

http://www.rokerreport.com/2011/8/17/2366111/captains-blog-why-sunderland-afc-will-always-have-the-last-laugh-over
    It must be said that I am loathe to talk about Newcastle United in this feature but this is one week in which circumstance demand an exception. Like the rest of us, I watched on in horror last Halloween as an almost unforgivably meek Sunderland team surrendered our collective pride at St James Park. Amidst my general malaise of befuddlement and embarrassment that night as I was sat in silence wrestling with the torment of a day that has probably redefined the term 'derby day nightmare' forever, there was one thing of which I was steadfastly certain – Sunderland AFC will always have the last laugh over Newcastle United.

Admittedly it was little consolation at the time. But events up the road since, culminating in Joey Barton's latest flagrant disregard of common decency with a Newcastle United badge upon his chest last Saturday evening followed by Alan Pardew's equally disgraceful support of what amounted to common thuggery has certainly justified my view.

I'll cut right to the chase here. Newcastle United is a vile, festering moral black hole of a football club with a long and sordid recent history of condoning criminals and criminal behaviour. It's not something I say just because I am a Sunderland fan, although that obviously makes it more enjoyable to point it out. No, it is just what they are and it isn't a difficult conclusion to reach when presented with the facts.

When Lee Bowyer and Kieron Dyer openly brawled with each other in the middle of the St James Park pitch, the club continued to validate and condone their behaviour by brushing it under the carpet and continuing to employ them. Although if they had been bothered about potential thugs representing their club then they would have surely not signed Bowyer in the first place after his involvement in a high profile trial during his Leeds days. Granted, Bowyer was acquitted of the charges, but the fact they also happily signed Jonathan Woodgate, who was convicted for affray in the same incident, suggests it wouldn't have bothered them had Bowyer also been convicted. Joey Barton arrived at the club shortly afterwards with a fresh charge of assault hanging over him which would later become a conviction, but not before he was convicted of another assault. Barton remained in the club's employ. When Nile Ranger returned to football following a spell in a young offender's institute for armed robbery, which club were waiting for him with a nice juicy contract? When Steven Taylor and Andy Carroll came to blows on the training ground, which one did the club back? The one with the broken jaw or the one with the bandaged fists? Carroll was "a vital player" according to Chris Hughton following their very next game. Ah well, all if forgiven, then. Clobber who you want.

Still, according to Chris Hughton, the kind of mindless brutality that we witnessed when Joey Barton attacked Morten Gamst Pedersen last year was something that "goes on in football matches in every game". A previously dignified and admirable man like Chris Hughton reduced to lying on television to defend and try and justify the actions of a convicted thug. Very sad state of affairs indeed. He wasn't the first though and he won't be the last either. When I got married, my best man was a Newcastle fan. He is one of a number of fine individuals I have been lucky enough to know and speak to who happen to follow the club. Frankly, they deserve better than being asked to associate themselves and their support with criminals.

Of course, bad eggs and unsavoury incidents will always crop up in football, and Sunderland are no different. Where Sunderland have been very much different, however, is their treatment of those involved. When El Hadj Diouf pulled a knife on a team mate in the dressing room, he was unceremoniously shipped out of the club within 48 hours, despite only arriving a few months before. Similarly, Chris Byrne had only recently arrived from Macclesfield when he was found to be harbouring a murder suspect in his hotel room before finding himself no longer welcome at the club. That meant that when he received his own conviction a few years later for burglary he did so whilst associated with another club. When Kenwyne Jones raised his hands to Herita Ilunga in a Sunderland shirt against West Ham, Steve Bruce offered no "it happens every week" or "he was just expressing himself". His message was clear - "I can't defend Kenwyne".

No one is saying that Sunderland are whiter than white. Mistakes will always be made, but it is an incontrovertible fact that they are a club ran by decent people who understand the responsibility they have to their community. A football club will always exert influence over its fans because of the passion and raw emotion they provoke. It is their greatest gift but also their greatest responsibility. The proof, as they say, is in the pudding. Earlier this summer when hundreds of Newcastle fans were needlessly invading the pitch and Darlington, Sunderland fans receiving acclaim for being named the best behaved in the Premier League. Yes, we've had our own occasional pitch invader but when one misguided youth collided with Steve Harper on the Stadium of Light pitch, Sunderland fans handed him over to the police and the young man's father marched him to Newcastle United's training ground to apologise for his actions. Certainly a far cry from the coordinated act of stupidity witnessed at the Reynolds Arena. It certainly didn't come as any surprise when last Saturday the St James park crowd roared a rousing welcome to a returning violent criminal with multiple convictions whilst embracing him as their knight in shining armour against the the evils of a man who has saved their club from bankruptcy through sensible financial prudence.

The bookies and the most recent league tables will suggest there is very little between the two clubs this season on the pitch. Certainly, in terms of the likely starting 11s this weekend, there seems to be little between the teams on paper. Our recent record against them on the pitch isn't nice reading for Sunderland fans and it is time we put it right and transform our recent superiority in the league table over them into derby day superiority too, and I see absolutely no reason why the current team can't do it. But regardless of the result, we will always have the last laugh because we can always watch our club with genuine pride at knowing that the ideals we share with our club, and the ideals with which our club represent us, are decent and honourable whilst endorsing and supporting violent criminality will seemingly always be intrinsic to loving Newcastle United.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Kingdom Bhoy

What are your views on Joey Barton calling geordie legend Alan Shearer a slaphead ?

Controversial article before the derby from Roker Report entitled ''Why Sunderland Will Always Have The Last Laugh Over Newcastle'':

http://www.rokerreport.com/2011/8/17/2366111/captains-blog-why-sunderland-afc-will-always-have-the-last-laugh-over

Little bit over the top but a lot of valid points in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

I reckon Sessegnon will be the match winner on Saturday. Looked sharp against Liverpool

HOWAY THE LADS!!!!

Getting very excited for it now. Come Saturday morning I'll be an absolute wreck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Why the hell is this game not on TV and even worse scheduled at the same time as Liverpool-Arsenal. The TV companies really have to grow themselves a set of balls and start dictating more of what they can and can not show.

What are your views on Joey Barton calling geordie legend Alan Shearer a slaphead ?

Shearer as a pundit is atrocious. Strong words used but that's wor Joey for ya. :pac:

jl5jsy.jpg

tumblr_lq4kf3gL7P1qz7guco1_500.jpg

1.jpg

Lovin' the banter Paully lad. Beats the "fúck the scum" brigade on Twitter/other forums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭gav86

That_Guy wrote: »
    Lovin' the banter Paully lad. Beats the "fúck the scum" brigade on Twitter/other forums.

have a look for the North Eastern Football Banter page on Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/NEBanterWaughy its good for a bit of a laugh..

Have to put in Ferguson at LB, will Larrson be on the right or left? Ryan Taylor got destroyed last weekend, or even Stevie Taylor and put Williamson in at CB.. Obertan in for Ba if he has the fitness and Ameobi up top..need a big game from Cabeye and Tiote.. Shame its not on the tele..

Sounds like Bruce is indicating that O'Shea will play:

http://www.thenorthernecho.co.uk/sport/9204512.Bruce__We_ve_got_the_characters_for_derby_day/
    "Wes and John will handle the occasion which is something we did not do last year,"

Hopefully O Shea is a hundred percent recovered from his injury. Bruce should have learned from his mistakes of last year. If he is not fit I would be happy with defence from last week. If he is fit I would take out Richardson and put in O Shea right full Bardsley left.

Another free-kick like this from Richardson would be canny :D

0,,10281~9253488,00.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

This is on liveonlinefooty lads . Might give this a watch .

Nice piece on Sir Bobby, from a Sunderland website:

http://www.rokerreport.com/2011/8/19/2371050/if-youre-2-0-down-at-half-time-what-do-you-do-sir-bobby-robson-a
    As we are all more than aware, the Wear-Tyne Derby is hardly the most uniting of events in the footballing calendar. Nerves and animosity usually build up over the preceding week before reaching a shuddering climax; goodwill is not a prevalent feature throughout such times in the north-east.

Truth be told, relations between Sunderland and Newcastle United fans alike are rarely amicable when football rears its head. Daily conversations down the local alehouse can be fairly jovial between Mackems and Mags, until one foolish soul brings up the previous weekend's results, transfer dealings, or, that most famous of bugbears, attendance figures.

Yet, not all things regarding the beautiful game separate red and whites from their black and white counterparts. Over the years the likes of Bob Stokoe, Len Shackleton, Chris Waddle, Paul Bracewell, and many more besides, have successful crossed the divide of a footballing heartland.

But whilst those aforementioned all curried favour through having played for both Sunderland and Newcastle, there is one man who managed to elicit profound respect and admiration on Wearside despite never being associated with the Black Cats during his time in the game.

The end of last month marked two years since the passing of Sir Bobby Robson. Born Robert William Robson in Sacriston, County Durham, in February 1933, the man enjoyed a glittering managerial career before eventually departing peacefully at the age of 76, following a long battle with cancer.
    From day one, Robson was, like so many others in the working-class north, an avid follower of football. Though he would ultimately become loved by all and sundry, it is no secret that the man who would eventually manage England had black and white blood running through his veins.

It was understandable, really. He merely followed in the footsteps of the figure who would take him to St James' Park whenever money earned down the coal mines allowed, "My father was a Newcastle supporter all his life. I grew up watching men like Jackie Milburn and Len Shackleton. They were my heroes."

Robson would go on to make it as a professional and, just like his heroes, he played as an inside-forward. Because of his achievements as a manager, his playing career is often overlooked, despite the fact he made well in excess of 600 appearances.

Perhaps his playing career is overlooked in these parts because it was preceded by a shun from his beloved Magpies. As a seventeen year-old, Robson signed professional terms with Fulham. He was seemingly bowled over by the exploits of Bill Dodgin, then manager of the Cottagers, who made a lengthy journey from London to Robson's home to offer the youngster a contract. Meanwhile, Newcastle, in Robson's own words, "made no appreciable effort" to acquire his services.

Almost half a century later, the story could not have been more different. In 1999, with his boyhood club almost begging for his services, Sir Bobby Robson returned home, both spiritually and physically. With an enigmatic Dutchman, Ruud Gullit, carted away from Tyneside following a demoralising loss at home to Sunderland, Robson finally found himself at St James' Park as more than a mere spectator.

He had truly come full circle. Having drawn the curtain on his playing days in 1968, Robson immediately returned to the club that had given him his first break back in 1950. His time as Fulham manager was a sad one though, and he left the club ignominiously following relegation to the Second Division.

From there, though, he made his name one that was synonymous with managerial greatness. Amassing a wealth of trophies in club football, he managed Ipswich Town, PSV Eindhoven (twice), Sporting Lisbon, Porto and Barcelona, as well as leading the England national side to two World Cups.

His time at Newcastle, though it would end on poor terms, was one of the club's most successful eras in recent years. He started as he meant to go on, crushing Sheffield Wednesday 8-0 in his opening game in charge. By the time he left his post at the end of August 2004, he had led the black and whites to 4th, 3rd and 5th-placed finishes in the Premier League, as well as two consecutive seasons in the much-lauded Champions League.

Thus, it seems strange that a man so attached to the Tyne became so well loved on the Wear too.

It is true, of course, that he suffered from the mocking Stadium of Light terraces during his time in charge of Sunderland's greatest rivals. But Robson, far from holding this against those in red and white, saw it as the harmless humour that it was. As George Caulkin of The Times wonderfully observed when detailing his own memories of Sir Bobby, 'hate withered inside him; it had no fertile ground on which to grow'.

And perhaps this is why he was so well received throughout the area. Robson was one of those few men who transcended the game of football; he was someone who people saw as far more than a player, or a manager. He was a good man. He was a man who cared deeply about the community in which he grew up in, and cared even more deeply for the people who inhabited it.

One need only look at the example of Paul Gascoigne for proof of Sir Bobby's good character.

'Gazza' as he is affectionately known, found himself burdened with the pressures of a nation in 1990, as Robson's England side sought to eclipse the World Cup winners of 1966.

It wasn't to be, as the Three Lions fell to West Germany in the semi-final stage. Gascoigne's most memorable contribution to the tournament were his famous tears in that match, but it was Robson's nurturing and caring management of his young star that brought out the best in him.

They would go their separate ways following the tournament and, not so coincidentally, Gascoigne's career embarked on a downward slope. The former England midfielder himself noted the impact Robson had had on him, stating "Bobby was like my second dad. I was like a son to him."

Furthermore, Robson was, at least in his later days, a welcome visitor on Wearside. He often found himself in the stands overseeing Sunderland games as a personal guest of chairman Niall Quinn. He became a truly regional man. Having survived a world war and witnessed countless economic hardships in the area, it is of little surprise that Sir Bobby reached a stage whereby he hoped both Black Cats and Magpies alike would experience success. Acknowledging that he was "born into a black-and-white world", he nevertheless became adored by a whole spectrum of footballing colours.

For the final seventeen years of his life, as many know, Sir Bobby was tragically plagued by cancer. It is testament to the man that it took almost two decades for the dreaded disease to finally take him from his family and friends.

When tumours were found in Sir Bobby's lungs in 2007, it was the fifth time this footballing great found himself afflicted with the disease. The first had been in 1992 when, as manager of PSV, he was diagnosed with bowel cancer.

Unfazed by this, Robson defeated what would prove his most relentless foe, and would do so a further three times: in 1995, and then twice more in 2006.

Even following his death in 2009, his legacy lives on.

In March 2008, knowing full well that his disease was terminal this time around, he set up the Sir Bobby Robson Foundation. Always humble, he was known to be somewhat embarrassed at having the organisation named in his honour. He questioned why others would wish to give money to him of all people, severely underestimating his profound popularity.

Within just eight months, the Sir Bobby Robson Foundation passed the £1 million mark for donations; that figure continues to grow yet larger still.

His eventual passing was mourned not just in and around his home, but across the nation as a whole. The well wishes came from further afield too, with fans from continental Europe acknowledging the successes his efforts brought to their clubs and others. Meanwhile, at both St James' Park and the Stadium of Light, club flags flew at half-mast.

Football to the bone and not shy of a wonderful turn of phrase now and then, perhaps his best came when discussing his final battle in life.

Having boasted to his wife of over fifty years, Elsie, that he had been fit all of his living years, he then laughed at how she "looked at me as if I'm daft" before she reminded him that he'd had cancer on five separate occasions.

"She's right, of course", he said of the exchange. "But it rarely interrupted my work and never detracted from my enjoyment of living. If you're 2-0 down at half-time, what do you do? You look at where the game is going wrong and why and what you're going to do about it."

The nerves are kicking in massively tonight. I don't think I'll get more than a couple of hours sleep at best, which is usual for me the night before the derby!

The Sunderland V Newcastle Derby Is A 90 Minute Panic Attack
    Fear and most sincere loathing from fans, fear and impulsiveness from players ambushed by the noise as well as opponents, fear and stress from managers fretful about overblown consequences: fear stalks Sunderland-Newcastle derby day even in mid-August.

The fixture has become a 90-minute panic attack. There has been a steady escalation in the heat of the language surrounding these matches; it has not produced a rise in flowing football.

The tension is visible.

You can see it in the eight-foot metal wall that will shield Newcastle United's bussed-in supporters from their rivals outside the Stadium of Light.

You can see it in the warnings to those travelling from Tyneside independently.

A helicopter overhead as the Geordie convoy makes its way along the 11-mile route will add to the sense of menace.
    There are other cordons too.

The buses leave St James' Park at 10am because kick-off is at noon. This has been dictated by the police, not television.

There were 33 arrests inside the ground alone during January's Wear-Tyne derby and a pitch intruder shoved Newcastle keeper Steve Harper.
    That could have been worse.

Sunderland need no repeat of it.

The atmosphere was electric then and it will be on Saturday. It could be a 48,000 sell-out audio-visual treat and an opportunity to see new players on both sides.

But the hostility of the occasion has overtaken the match before.
    Bitterness between the cities has outstripped a competitive sporting rivalry. It makes for scrappy football.

The game is appropriated by flag-wavers.

'Absolute chaos,' is Shola Ameobi's verdict.

That is not so different from other derbies across Britain but the North East trades on warmth.

Passionate People, Passionate Places, as the adverts say.

This is the hotbed, after all. You could pluck a thousand stories from over a century to illustrate this.

One from the early 1960s is of Brian Clough 'jumping in Ambrose Fogarty's little van' to drive to Seaburn harbour to pick sea-coal off the beach.

Sunderland's brilliant striker from Middlesbrough said 'the glow seemed warmer' because he had collected the coal himself (and saved a few quid).

Some might say those were the days, but nostalgia can be deceptive.
    On Monday, Boro host a book launch to mark 25 years since the club were saved from folding.

It is another warm tale yet the fact is that Boro had been allowed to slip to the brink and, if we are frank, the optimism gathe ing around Tony Mowbray's side is of the second division variety.

Stewart Downing, Adam Johnson and David Wheater are three of the Academy boys who have gone.

More could follow.

Newcastle and Sunderland fans know the feeling.

One black and white fanzine said this week that Newcastle travel to Wearside 'in a fog'.

Those reluctantly persuaded that the £35million received for Andy Carroll from Liverpool in January was too much to turn down have hardly been soothed by the subsequent sale of captain Kevin Nolan to relegated West Ham.

Nolan was immense, Sheareresque, in his match-shaping demeanour at the Stadium of Light last season.

Along with Carroll, Nolan had also dominated the 5-1 humiliation at St James' Park last October.

Selling Nolan feels like a failure to understand that contribution.
    The consternation on Tyneside is exacerbated by the lack of explanation from the top.

Supporters, believe it or not, understand economics and want to listen to owner Mike Ashley.

They want to be convinced by a strategy. What they can't stand is the silence.

Manager Alan Pardew talks, of course, but Pardew's face is on the front of another fanzine with the headline: 'Like A Puppet On A String'.

Pardew could probably survive even a heavy defeat today because Ashley appointed him less than a year ago.

His reputation locally could do with the opposite.

Steve Bruce emerged from the 5-1 hammering - and the almost as disappointing 1-1 return in January - with his job intact because of boardroom patience.

But the Texan billionaire Ellis Short is also a demanding owner and will wish to be convinced that Bruce's reshaping of the Sunderland squad in the wake of the sales of Darren Bent, Jordan Henderson and Kenwyne Jones gives it what it lacked last season.

Bruce appeared visibl y shocked by the ferocity of the reception he received at St James' last season - his first Tyne-Wear derby - and Sunderland have acquired experience this summer.

Bruce looks to have bought well and the draw at Anfield last Saturday offered encouragement. But he needs a win, or a coherent display in a draw.

Chairman Niall Quinn has spoken of 'the dogs in the street' knowing when a manager's time is up, and while two games into a season would seem much too early for the Wearside kennel club to convene, this is Bruce's third season at the Stadium of Light.

A sound victory would give Sunderland fans no reason to bark at Bruce.

Some think the team is actually on the cusp of challenging for the top eight.
    Short would nail his colours to that.

It is a phrase a young sailor from Sunderland, Jack Crawford, made popular when he retrieved the Royal Navy's stray flag in the Battle of Camperdown over 200 years ago, shimmied back up the mast and nailed it on again.

A seeming defeat became a famous victory.

There is a statue of Crawford in Sunderland's Mowbray Park.
    There is also one of Lewis Carroll's walrus.

Wearside, derby day - fear, belligerence, colours. And cabbages, kings and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Kingdom Bhoy

The nerves are kicking in massively tonight. I don't think I'll get more than a couple of hours sleep at best, which is usual for me the night before the derby!

I know what you mean bud I had to hit the Double Maxim in a big way to get be in the land of nod last night. :)

FTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭donglen

Hi All, looking for a bit of advice from you all. I've Joey Barton in my Fantasy Football team and I'm in two minds as to include him or put on the bench.
    Which way is he likely to go in the derby after last week............inspiring match winner or red card banker? At the moment I'm feeling I may as well flip a coin?

donglen wrote: »
    Hi All, looking for a bit of advice from you all. I've Joey Barton in my Fantasy Football team and I'm in two minds as to include him or put on the bench.
    Which way is he likely to go in the derby after last week............inspiring match winner or red card banker? At the moment I'm feeling I may as well flip a coin?

He's not been sent off in 3 years. ;)

Jesus, got fúck all sleep. Woke up at 7am this morning and have since cleaned and mopped my room FFS. :pac:

Shola Ameobi - 11/4 to score anytime. Gonna stick a score on it I reckon. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,648 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Just at the ground now, amazing experience of walking to the ground, police chopper overhead as the police escorted about 10 coaches of Newcastle fans in. Some abuse being hurled back and forth!

Would love to be a player and to have experienced that, would get you fired right up!

Atmosphere is already on fire as crowds of Sunderland fans wait at the North West corner to greet the coaches!

Can't wait for 12!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭bazual

Just at the ground now, amazing experience of walking to the ground, police chopper overhead as the police escorted about 10 coaches of Newcastle fans in. Some abuse being hurled back and forth!

Would love to be a player and to have experienced that, would get you fired right up!

Atmosphere is already on fire as crowds of Sunderland fans wait at the North West corner to greet the coaches!

Can't wait for 12!

Sounds excellent man, got to get me over to a Derby. Certainly sounds like Obertan is starting today from Lee Ryders tweets anyway.

Come on the TOON!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭BeanFlicker

Ha'waaaaaaaaaaay the Lads..!!

Anyone have a link......myp2p.eu is not working for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Seannew1

Anyone have a link......myp2p.eu is not working for me

Your not the only one mate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,283 ✭✭✭Glico Man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,880 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Teams?

dahat wrote: »
    Teams?
    Taken from the SMB

SAFC: Mignolet, Bardsley, Richardson, Brown, Ferdinand , Larsson, Elmohamdy, Cattermole (c), Colback, Sessegnon, Gyan Subs: Gardner, Wickham, Vaughan, Dong-won, Bramble, Laing, Westwood

NUFC: Krul, Simpson, R Taylor, Coloccini (c), S Taylor, Gutierrez, Obertan, Tiote, Barton, Cabaye, Sh Ameobi
    Subs: Williamson, Lovenkrands, Gosling, Ba, Best, Marveaux, Harper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Seannew1

aaronh007 wrote: »

Cheers man,your a life saver!

aaronh007 wrote: »

which one you using mate? I keep getting cricket and wrestling