Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Countdown To Junior Cert Results

• 16-08-2011 1:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭

The LC forum has one so why not JC :D

We usually get our results in the 3rd week in September. What about you guys? :)

I don't know if it's the same for every school?

Also,is it true that your teachers know your results before you do?!
    I hope not because if i do bad in some subjects I'm not going to want to disappoint the teacher saying I did bad so if I do do bad in some subjects I was planning to say I did very well..however if they know the results before I do that's not going to work :p I'm sure I did very good though! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 MarzBarz

The Junior Cert results are out on the 14th September, everyone gets them the same day:D

No its not true that the teachers know our results before we do, I think its illegal for them to even open our envelopes that have our results in them.
    We get to see ours first, then we can show our teachers if we like, its up to you who you want to show your results to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Glowworm4

Your school retains a copy of every students results, it says so on the sec website under general candidate information. And there is a sheet with everyones results on it too so they can check if there are any mistakes regarding subjects etc. So unless your teacher goes and checks the results they won't know, but they could easily just check the sheet with everyone's results.

They are all given out on the same day but different schools give them out at different times. I hope this helped you.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Some of your teachers will see the results before you do.
    They do not arrive from the SEC in envelopes. They have to be checked, photocopied and put in envelopes.

I know when I'm getting them ready, I'm not really looking at the results, just checking for subjects I know we don't do in the school, or names that are not in our school, or candidates who were left without some grades. I'm too busy getting them sorted to be checking them in detail.

It's kind of a bit early for this thread.

I'll lock it and re-open it after the 29th.

<Thread re-opened>

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Open again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

Woo :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭Cakes.

ZOMG!11!!1!! It's tomorrow fortnight :eek:

Do any of ye have pins? I dont?

Will you not be in school that day?

I didn't know what you meant first, but yeh, We got ours during the exams :)

spurious wrote: »
    Will you not be in school that day?

I will, just curious as I hadnt got one :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭It neny!

So nervous ! They're so close ! Are they that important :o ?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭FYG

It neny! wrote: »
    So nervous ! They're so close ! Are they that important :o ?!?

No! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭chatterboxxx95

Ahh two weeks 'til results!! I cannot believe it!:eek: i thought it would feel like ages between the exams and the results but the summer flew. I'm actually starting to feel really nervous and am terrified that i've done worse than the mocks!:/ anyone else feeling the same?:confused::rolleyes:

I'm actually starting to feel really nervous and am terrified that i've done worse than the mocks!:/ anyone else feeling the same?:confused::rolleyes:

I have done worse than I did in my Pres.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Sarah?

Ah I remember this time two years thinking the results were important! They're not, as I was told on the day I was waiting for the results, 'you'll have them forgotten about in two weeks'. More like one. :P Teachers can easily find out the results before you get them, especially if you have to wait all day to get them like we had too!

If you do well, great, if you don't, it doesn't make any difference. You're probably better off doing worse in the Junior Cert so you'll work harder for the Leaving! ;)

Sarah? wrote: »
    Ah I remember this time two years thinking the results were important! They're not, as I was told on the day I was waiting for the results, 'you'll have them forgotten about in two weeks'. More like one. :P Teachers can easily find out the results before you get them, especially if you have to wait all day to get them like we had too!

If you do well, great, if you don't, it doesn't make any difference. You're probably better off doing worse in the Junior Cert so you'll work harder for the Leaving! ;)

But in out school the subjects you do depend on your results because the amount of places are limited .. So I HAVE To do well

But in our school the subjects you do depend on your results because the amount of places are limited .. So I HAVE To do well

Well it wasn't like that in ours, it didn't even make a difference to what classes we were put in... In that case good luck, but if you don't get to do a subject you really want to do, there could be another way around it. :)

I doubt any school would keep a high-achieving student (who all along was getting A in a subject and suddenly got a D in the Junior) out of the HL class for Leaving, purely on the basis of that result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Macushlablue

In some schools it might make a difference what result you get, but to be honest, no sane teacher would keep a student out of a particular level if they had gotten good results all along and then got a (flukey!) D in the Junior Cert. They understand that everything can go wrong on the day, even if you've gotten As and Bs up to then! What matters most is your attitude to the subject and your work record.

^^^ What they said. :D

If you get put in a a class you don't want to be in because of your results, just talk to someone and ask to move. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Indiego

11 days till the resultss :cool:
    Hmm... not sure how I feel about that.. :o

Ya if i get more than 3 fails my xbox is being given to trocaire. Im so nervous:(

Mhm
    I see

Mickey Baii banned.

Not so funny now.

My year head keeps telling us how "excited" she is about Wednesday week. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,345 ✭✭✭buyer95

This may already have been asked, but has anyone received their pins for getting their results online yet? Our school hasnt given us ours , I definitely want to see my results online first, by myself, so I can compose myself for receiving them in paper later on...

buyer95 wrote: »
    This may already have been asked, but has anyone received their pins for getting their results online yet? Our school hasnt given us ours , I definitely want to see my results online first, by myself, so I can compose myself for receiving them in paper later on...

I got them during the exams, but, afaik they arent online till 4pm :/

Just got my pin today, but yeah theyre not online untill 4.

What?!? Our principal said ours won't be online ! So unfair...And we have normal classes that day and we don't get our results till 2!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 phenomenale

Did anyone here who's a past junior cert student do worse in their Junior cert than their mocks? I got 7 A's and 3 B's in my mocks and don't feel confident that I'll do as well in the real thing.. :(

Im the same! I got 6A's iirc in the mocks, but i honestly dont think ive gotten that many :/:o

What?!? Our principal said ours won't be online ! So unfair...And we have normal classes that day and we don't get our results till 2!!

Everybody's results are online, but not until later in the day.

:eek::eek:

If i got that in my mocks i wouldnt be very worried :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭IloveConverse

I also feel that I did worse in the real thing than my mocks except for three subjects. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

im syked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭Slow Show

10th of September. In four days time it will be the 14th of September. Four days ago it was Tuesday. I remembered Tuesday well, had a thoroughly enjoyable Accounting class. Grand day, Tuesday.

Four days. 96 hours (and more but details, details). The end is nigh, what we've all been waiting for, what we've worked at for the last three years...on that one sheet of paper, our destinies await us.

Slight hyperbole contained, inspired by crushing boredom. Nevertheless, four days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

NOT LONG NOW! :eek:
    I'm actually really nervous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭DaNiEl1994

am i the only one who really isnt bothered? ill look at the results and be happy if i do good and if i do bad i couldnt give a **** ill still celebrate :D

You will do better than you think.

(broken record)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Geekness1234

In my school we can access them online at 1 or wait while the results are being inputted to computers for statistics,and get them in a fancy envelope at 3.

We usually give them to ours just before the morning break so that the hysteria can be over and they are gone home by the time the other classes come down for break.

Were not getting ours until 3 :/

We dont get ours till about then either, because our principal has to drop them down to us in Baltinglass :L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 ConorFYG

Do you not finish at 12:45 on Wednesdays?

ConorFYG wrote: »

Another account :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭DaNiEl1994

we get ours at 11, not so bad. we got a letter recently saying we are encouraged to come in with our parents at 11 and go home after getting results, then we should be supervised or celebrate in a controlled area and that we do have school thursday THE SNAKES! :mad::mad:

shame the mother couldnt get to the postman before me :D school 0 daniel 1 :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Glowworm4

We don't get ours until last class (2:40), so a full day of school for me that day! They've said nothing about our pins for getting them online either. They don't seem to expect anyone to come into school the day after though, so that's a plus! :D

ConorFYG wrote: »

No, were in until 3.30 everyday apart from Tuesdays and that depends on what activities were doing :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,724 ✭✭✭mixery

Yo, it's about the time I posted something :D .

I had a pin but lost it. feck it anyway:mad:.

The results are in school from 11 onwards. Of course we have a day off.

Anyways, how's it goin?

My mother's making me go in the day after :(

So I don't think I'll bother going out anymore, which I don't really mind because I didn't really want to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,724 ✭✭✭mixery

Well there is a way around it:D.