Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Micheál Ó Muircheartaigh interested in Presidency

• 16-08-2011 9:41am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0816/president.html
    Former sports broadcaster Micheál Ó Muircheartaigh has confirmed his interest in running for the presidency.

Mr Ó Muircheartaigh said he had been approached by representatives of several political parties to date.

However, he said he would stand as an independent candidate if he was to join the race and will announce his decision in 10 days' time.

The Kerry native said there had also been a 'vast surge of support' from ordinary people, and it was because of them that he would give the matter consideration.

Mr Ó Muircheartaigh, who turns 81 next week, said his age was not a factor in his decision.

Any thoughts on this?

In my opinion, I think it's mad that he would consider running, taking into account his age alone.

Should there be a maximum age for running for the Presidency? That might seem ageist but with Gay Byrne and now Ó Muircheartaigh mulling over running, is it not getting a little ridiculous?

Even Michael D. Higgins is 70.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭Dotsie~tmp

Another "yer man off the tv" candidate. Great. He'd prolly win with a sophisticated courting of the muldoon vote. Lots of standing on flatback trucks and yelling over a loudspeaker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭niallers1

No x TV presenters
    No x Raidio Presenters
    No x Rose of Tralee candidates
    No x Eurovision candidates
    No x Darling girl from Clare Candidates
    No x xfactor candidates
    No x beauty contest candidates

Somebody with calibre, qualified, Not a TV/Raidio/I want to be famous type and somebody without a massive Ego please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭practice

Have we gone mad.
    Right now we need someone with European connections to repair our image in Europe.
    Pat Cox where are you.
    If not him I would do the job myself. (I need the money)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

I assume it wouldn't take me too long to dig around and find out that he's a rock solid FFer, anyone wanna save me the time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,437 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

"i'd treat the office of president like preparing for a match......"
    goodbye micheál.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭niallers1

The presidential campaign is beginning to sound like celebrity bainisteoir..

High calibre people please.. No "celebrities" and/or "Ego maniacs"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 rockypoint

go away micheal, ur a FFer through and through with no knowledge of world politics or the legal system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

i cannot stand him, i'd vote for Gaybo before him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭scholar007

Can you just imagine his acceptance speech if he won?

"Tá failte roimh go léir a cailíní agus a buachaillí go dtí Áras an Úachtáran. Tá an athas orm an choirn seo a ghlacadh ar son muintir Co. Ciarraí. Scaoil amach an pucaide. Tá an bua agamsa.... etc. etc.

I don't know if foreign dignitaries would like to be regaled with tales as gaeilge of the 1942 (insert year here) culchie county gaa minor semi-final from Bally-go-backward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

If there is a minimum age of 35 to be nominated then why isn't there a maximum age? Maybe 75? Micheál is too old imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

baldbear wrote: »
    If there is a minimum age of 35 to be nominated then why isn't there a maximum age? Maybe 75? Micheál is too old imo.

That's what I was thinking myself. If someone in their 70's or 80's can claim they are of sound mind and body to run, surely the case can be made that a person under 35 is learned and worldly enough to run too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭cobwebs

Michael D Higgins should be an agreed candidate. We need someone who understands the Irish Constitution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

cobwebs wrote: »
    Michael D Higgins should be an agreed candidate. We need someone who understands the Irish Constitution.

Agree ... it's being turned into a total joke at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭teol

Urgh, I had to suffer listening to him growing up.

We need to look for an outside candidate. Someone everyone likes.

Pippa-Middleton-1024x930.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

baldbear wrote: »
    The role as Commander in Chief of the IDF is just ceremonial! I don't think he'll be expected to do any fightin'. :pac: Age is no argument against at all.

Personally I quite like the idea of MOM as president. I don't think it is a hugely important role in the sense that it doesn't matter who is elected, as long as they do not allow what should be purely personal convictions to influence the few serious things they do have to do.

And I like the idea of someone from outside the realm of politics getting the nod. And I think MOM has genuine and long standing respect from the Irish people and is no 15 minutes celebrity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭n32

lets compare him to the other candidates:

sean gallagher: who?
    dana: a complete non entity
    mary davis: too much of an unknown
    gay mitchell: in the words of michael mcdowell ''the lesser of 2 evils''
    michael d higgins: good credentials, dont personally like him but he probably the best of whats there at the moment.

i dont see how micheal o muircheartaigh is any less of a credible candidate than any of the above. his age is a big factor though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

I think Marty Whelan should run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,437 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

We're just going to have sort this by means of reality show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭scholar007

Wasn't there some middle aged guy from Drumcondra thinking about running up until very recently? His name escapes me now :D

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 141 ✭✭moomooman

What about Twink or Big Tom?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

This has to either be a joke or a misunderstanding. Honestly now, who else that we mildly know will announce they are interested and that they have a lot of backing? Everybody partly famous these days apparently has the backing of the people and politicians.
    This HAS to be a joke. He is in no way suitable for the role, having no political experience in the slightest and is a relatively unknown figure who is just mildly famous because he was a commentator for the GAA.

No disrespect to the man, but seriously this is making an absolute mockery of the Presidency. Since Norris dropped out we now have(had) two partly famous/well known people think they might just be able to hack the idea of being a president. A person who is to represent our country locally and abroad. Sign in laws, dissolve the Dail etc. We want to elect a GAA Commentator to the role with no other experience?!?!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭GSF

Expect a statement in about a weeks time saying how flattered he is that so many people want him to run but after mature reflection he has decided that he hasnt the stomach for the campaign and probably isnt what the people are looking for in a president.

Then cue the next RTE presenter and off we go again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

Sully wrote: »
    This has to either be a joke or a misunderstanding. Honestly now, who else that we mildly know will announce they are interested and that they have a lot of backing? Everybody partly famous these days apparently has the backing of the people and politicians.
    This HAS to be a joke. He is in no way suitable for the role, having no political experience in the slightest and is a relatively unknown figure who is just mildly famous because he was a commentator for the GAA.

No disrespect to the man, but seriously this is making an absolute mockery of the Presidency. Since Norris dropped out we now have(had) two partly famous/well known people think they might just be able to hack the idea of being a president. A person who is to represent our country locally and abroad. Sign in laws, dissolve the Dail etc. We want to elect a GAA Commentator to the role with no other experience?!?!?!
    I would see him as him as coming from a similar mould to Douglas Hyde, i.e. having more cultural rather than political credentials. Political and legal inexperience is not that big an issue as the president can seek legal advise as required (that the last two office holders were barristers is just a bonus, certainly not a prerequisite for the job).

Before Mary Robinson the office was seen by many of us to be a retirement perk to be bequeathed by FF to one of their sages. Some of us are not to enthused by the prospect of FF being simply replaced by either FG or Labour (though I consider both candidates to be fairly ok). My preference would be for someone outside the poltical system, or at least the party political system.
    GSF wrote: »
    Then cue the next RTE presenter and off we go again.
    You do know that the present incumbent is a former RTE presenter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

Ó Muircheartaigh: President should understand role of Irish language

Retired GAA broadcaster Micheál Ó Muircheartaigh has said the President of Ireland should have a strong appreciation for the Irish language.

The Kerry man, who will announce next week whether he intends to run as a candidate in the Presidential election, feels the head of State should have an appreciation for the Irish language and the part it has played in our history and culture.

He said he had been approached by a number of political parties, and planned to take at least a week to consider the matter.

Mr O'Muircheartaigh, who turns 81 on Saturday, said his age would not be a factor in whether or not he decides to run for the Aras.

Speaking to Radio Kerry, he said he felt it was important for the Irish President to have an appreciation for the part the Irish language had played in the culture of Ireland.

http://www.eecho.ie/news/ireland/o-muircheartaigh-president-should-understand-role-of-irish-language-516755.html

A reason I wouldn't want him in. He'd be sprouting a lot of BS saying we should all speak Irish and there should be more subjects taught in Irish, plus can you imagine the cushy jobs the GAA boys would get?

If the state wanted us to learn Irish, they would have taught it properly. Instead unless if you are an Irish speaking area (ie Gaelteacht) or went to a specific irish speaking school, chance are you don't know it. (ie average Joe going to an English speaking school.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭n32

the anti gaa sentiments of many posters is really obvious here. why people feel threatened by things like the gaa and the irish language i just dont understands. one poster even referred to him as a culchie, so whats the problem with people from rural ireland? some shower of muppets posting here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

n32 wrote: »
    the anti gaa sentiments of many posters is really obvious here. why people feel threatened by things like the gaa and the irish language i just dont understands. one poster even referred to him as a culchie, so whats the problem with people from rural ireland? some shower of muppets posting here

I'm a big GAA man but c'mon, you've gotta admit that there's all sorts wrong with this potential bid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

I wouldn't see him as the worse candidate ever, he's a highly intelligent person and a gentleman, with a real gift for dealing with people (I'd certainly prefer him to Gaybo!). I do think his age is somewhat against him though.

(Oh, and btw, I'm far from a GAAhead, I've encountered Micheál in other contexts).

Michael D still strikes me as the best of what's on offer to date though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 deepertheroots

This just shows how much of a joke the presidency is, two months before the election, where still trying to decide who should run! It's going to be election time soon, and we probably won't have any decent presidential debates with all the candidates!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭ebbsy

This just shows how much of a joke the presidency is, two months before the election, where still trying to decide who should run! It's going to be election time soon, and we probably won't have any decent presidential debates with all the candidates!

Thats cos they all have the IQ of a ham sandwich.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭doomed

Lovely man, great communicator and an antidote to the lookatmywallet sort of tosser the Celtic Tiger spawned. But ....he's 81. How can a man who retired from something he loved doing on the basis of his age seriously consider a job where you have 10 meetings a day.

I like MOM and would hate to see him having to electioneer with the likes of Gay Mitchell or confined to the park trapped by protocol. As they say in Shawshank "some birds are not meant to be caged".

Enjoy your retirement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭ebbsy

They could throw in a walking frame and stairlift as part of the package ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭audidiesel

id vote for him anyways. met him once or twice and also from growing up listening to him on matches etc.

watch the documentary rte did on him 2-3 years ago. i know its a biased puff piece, but his basic decency does shine through.

since the presidency is mostly symbolic, it wouldnt really matter about a lack of political experience.

if nothing else id enjoy listening to him on the radio/tv again :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭deise go deo

CorkMan wrote: »
    http://www.eecho.ie/news/ireland/o-muircheartaigh-president-should-understand-role-of-irish-language-516755.html

A reason I wouldn't want him in. He'd be sprouting a lot of BS saying we should all speak Irish and there should be more subjects taught in Irish, plus can you imagine the cushy jobs the GAA boys would get?

If the state wanted us to learn Irish, they would have taught it properly. Instead unless if you are an Irish speaking area (ie Gaelteacht) or went to a specific irish speaking school, chance are you don't know it. (ie average Joe going to an English speaking school.)

I think he is right, Irish is the first national language and I think it only right that the head of state should be able to speak Irish to some degree.

Also, What jobs does the President have to give? Cushy or otherwise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Wendell Gee

I've been saying to anyone who would listen for months that he is the ideal candidate for President. He's a profoundly good man, and a modest one. He has been a national presence for generations, and he has fantastic energy and a great light touch. Pat Cox is a boring choice, and frankly, a boring man, although worthy. I want someone who looks and sounds like they would qualify for the dictionary definition of "Irish". We've had 14 years of one Today Tonight cub reporter, we hardly need another seven.
    Politicians stood by as the yuppies trashed the country, they do'nt deserve the presidency. if I had my choice, I'd put it on e-bay, with the tagline, more fun than owning a premiership club, and hope some gob****e third son of an oilsheikh would dole out €500m to gain access to QE2 and O' Bama. failing that, it's Michael, or Micko, or JBM, or Brendan Gleeson, basically anyone who is the polar opposite of the lifestyle bull**** in the Sindo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

One of the big problems in electing a young President is what are they going to do with the rest of thier career. A country definitely doesnt a Presidant to subsequently embarass the country in their future career. Money mad Tony Blair is an example; depite his efforts to persuade us he is a pious philatropist, the reality is that he has leveraged his reputation as a former Prime Minister to amass as much money as possible.

audidiesel wrote: »
    id vote for him anyways. met him once or twice and also from growing up listening to him on matches etc.

watch the documentary rte did on him 2-3 years ago. i know its a biased puff piece, but his basic decency does shine through.

since the presidency is mostly symbolic, it wouldnt really matter about a lack of political experience.

if nothing else id enjoy listening to him on the radio/tv again :D

Would we the taxpayer have to proivide the zimmer frames, hearing aids etc as any of these geriatric would be's descend into thier dotage ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0816/president.html

Any thoughts on this?

In my opinion, I think it's mad that he would consider running, taking into account his age alone.

Should there be a maximum age for running for the Presidency? That might seem ageist but with Gay Byrne and now Ó Muircheartaigh mulling over running, is it not getting a little ridiculous?

Even Michael D. Higgins is 70.
    since you mention age, the present pope was elected at the age of 84, so i dont see age being a barrier, he has his full health, that is what matters, also he does not belong to any party, and he is a great speaker

goat2 wrote: »
    since you mention age, the present pope was elected at the age of 84, so i dont see age being a barrier, he has his full health, that is what matters, also he does not belong to any party, and he is a great speaker
    Cardinals of age 80 and over are not allowed to vote in Papal elections so that is a verdict on the general abolity of over 80's. The reality is that elderly people can deterioriate both mentally and or physically quite rapidly so electing an elderly person is fraught with difficulty. The eledrly De Valera was an embarassment - let us not go back to those days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,169 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

goat2 wrote: »

One of the reasons they went for Ratzinger was not wanting a particularly long term for the pope, after John Paul's lengthy term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

anymore wrote: »
    Cardinals of age 80 and over are not allowed to vote in Papal elections so that is a verdict on the general abolity of over 80's. The reality is that elderly people can deterioriate both mentally and or physically quite rapidly so electing an elderly person is fraught with difficulty. The eledrly De Valera was an embarassment - let us not go back to those days.
    some elderly people, is what i would say, but this man we speak of is of good health both mentally and physically, and anyway, he would be a good embassador for us, also gay byrne, and such likes, i would like to see going forward also, it would be no harm have a rethink of what is going forward, and start again, this time taking people from outside the political arena, give us choice,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Magic Beans

If we don't have a statesman worthy of the office we should abolish it instead of demeaning it with has-been singers, commentators, presenters and anybody else we can scrape from the bottom of the barrel. This whole thing is turning into a farce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

anymore wrote: »

To be fair its ability, not age that matters. My father is 68 but badly crippled with Parkinsons, on the other hand my grand uncle used to join us in a kick about when he was 88, he died a physically fit man at 94.

Konrad Adenauer was Chancellor of Germany from his 73rd to his 87th year.
    De Gaullle was Presdient of France until 79.
    Elizabeth 2nd is 85, Phillip is 90, both have a very heavy schedule.
    Reagan was President from his 69th to 77th year.

I don't know if MOM is aware of the demanding schedule that being President entails and if he is up to it but age should not be an issue. (Having said that imo the minimum age of 35 ought to be lowered to 18 or 21).

bijapos wrote: »
    To be fair its ability, not age that matters. My father is 68 but badly crippled with Parkinsons, on the other hand my grand uncle used to join us in a kick about when he was 88, he died a physically fit man at 94.

Konrad Adenauer was Chancellor of Germany from his 73rd to his 87th year.
    De Gaullle was Presdient of France until 79.
    Elizabeth 2nd is 85, Phillip is 90, both have a very heavy schedule.
    Reagan was President from his 69th to 77th year.

I don't know if MOM is aware of the demanding schedule that being President entails and if he is up to it but age should not be an issue. (Having said that imo the minimum age of 35 ought to be lowered to 18 or 21).

Reagn had alzheimer's in his last year or two.
    I assume I fall into the older category of poster on Boards.ie and should be more sympathgetic to older people going forward. I am not however, it is simply vanity arrogance and greed. The mixture of the foregoing will vary with each individual but I suggest all three are common and present. A country like Ireland trying to compete on the international market and presenting it self as young and dynmaic should not be be electing old farts as head of State and old farts should know better than to be putting themselves forward as representatives of a young dynmaic country. How many of these people declined to take thier various pensions when the ' retired' on the grounds that they were still fit and active ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭filthymcnasty

Sully wrote: »

+1. If people feel he should he is suitable, (he seems like a nice enough guy, but so are lots of people) then so are the likes of Ger Canning and George Hamilton, on the basis they are sports commentators and low-level media personalities.
    Its becoming farcial now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

+1. If people feel he should he is suitable, (he seems like a nice enough guy, but so are lots of people) then so are the likes of Ger Canning and George Hamilton, on the basis they are sports commentators and low-level media personalities.
    Its becoming farcial now.
    Firstly, anyone in the country over 35 is entitled to run for President, regardless of their occupation.

Secondly, Micheál is intellectually streets ahead of Canning and Hamilton, and saying that is no insult to either of those guys. He comes from an exceptionally bright family who all did well for themselves not because they were rich (they weren't) but because they had brains to burn. His nephew (if I'm remembering the generations correctly) is the former President of NUI Galway, there's a load of teachers and lecturers and school inspectors and so on in that family, and a few senior public servants. None of them ever made any kind of big deal about intellectual or academic abilities, very down to earth people, which is why they all tended to be well-liked individuals.

I do think Micheál is a bit old for the Presidency at this stage, but he certainly even now has much more to offer the post than simply being a former media personality!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭filthymcnasty

Firstly, anyone in the country over 35 is entitled to run for President, regardless of their occupation.

Secondly, Micheál is intellectually streets ahead of Canning and Hamilton, and saying that is no insult to either of those guys. He comes from an exceptionally bright family who all did well for themselves not because they were rich (they weren't) but because they had brains to burn. His nephew (if I'm remembering the generations correctly) is the former President of NUI Galway, there's a load of teachers and lecturers and school inspectors and so on in that family, and a few senior public servants. None of them ever made any kind of big deal about intellectual or academic abilities, very down to earth people, which is why they all tended to be well-liked individuals.

I do think Micheál is a bit old for the Presidency at this stage, but he certainly even now has much more to offer the post than simply being a former media personality!

My issue is not so much with Micheal running, I just don't see how being a sports commentator would make you a good candidiate for a President.

Regarding his intellectual prowess over Hamilton and Canning, how can you know this- have they debated before?! Although I reckon MO'M probably would get the upper hand :)
    I have no doubt or argument that MO'M comes from a bright family, is down to earth and has relatives in high positions- this is all moot as it could be said of thousands throughout Ireland whether in the public eye or not.

To me Micheal running makes as much sense as Jimmy McGee or Ryle Nugent :eek: going for Aras