Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Invincible" cyclists breaking traffic lights

• 15-08-2011 8:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

First off, overall I think cyclists have been treated abysmally by successive Irish governments. Cycle lanes are, in the vast majority of cases, a joke sharing as they do the lane with car parking spaces (Ranelagh in Dublin being a prime example of this). Car drivers are cannibalising the transport system in Irish cities and consequently public transport and healthier, more enlightened forms of transport like cycling are downgraded by state policy which is shaped by a far too dominant car lobby. I would like to see Ireland's cities as enlightened as Scandinavian cities when it comes to accommodating cyclists and building a public transport system at the expense, finally, of car owners.

Having said that, the more I drive the more I notice these "invincible" cyclists - almost invariably male and in their 20s or 30s - breaking traffic lights. I see such people on a daily basis, at least. I'm there waiting for the light to change and some idiot on a mere bike thinks he'll break the lights and get his cycling "buzz" by that feeling of passing by the cars and feeling smug because he's doing something healthy at the same time. Yes, most of us other males can relate, and see the happiness on your face when you do it. You are still, without doubt, an idiot of supreme proportions. Really.

Really, this is fúcking stupid on a basic level of physics. Car hits you = you suffer; you hit car = car suffers minor impact damage. The only amazing thing is that more light-breaking males in their 20s or 30s are not killed on the streets of Ireland's cities.

/rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

Dionysus wrote: »
    First off, overall I think cyclists have been treated abysmally by successive Irish governments. Cycle lanes are, in the vast majority of cases, a joke sharing as they do the lane with car parking spaces (Ranelagh in Dublin being a prime example of this). Car drivers are cannibalising the transport system in Irish cities and consequently public transport and healthier, more enlightened forms of transport like cycling are downgraded by state policy which is shaped by a far too dominant car lobby. I would like to see Ireland's cities as enlightened as Scandinavian cities when it comes to accommodating cyclists and building a public transport system at the expense, finally, of car owners.

Having said that, the more I drive the more I notice these "invincible" cyclists - almost invariably male and in their 20s or 30s - breaking traffic lights. I see such people on a daily basis, at least. I'm there waiting for the light to change and some idiot on a mere bike thinks he'll break the lights and get his cycling "buzz" by that feeling of passing by the cars and feeling smug because he's doing something healthy at the same time. Yes, most of us other males can relate, and see the happiness on your face when you do it. You are still, without doubt, an idiot of supreme proportions. Really.

Really, this is fúcking stupid on a basic level of physics. Car hits you = you suffer; you hit car = car suffers minor impact damage. The only amazing thing is that more light-breaking males in their 20s or 30s are not killed on the streets of Ireland's cities.

/rant

I cycle myself. Any cyclists with an understanding of the rules of the road will tell you that they're idiots.

It's up to the Guards to catch these people. Legislation is already in place to punish them when caught.

Cyclists are like any othe group of road users. Some obey the rules, some do not. Cue 15 pages of:

"All cyclists are arseholes because I saw one run a red light"

"Yeah well all motorists are assholes cause I saw one speeding"

"Yeah well all X are Y cause I saw one do Z"

etc. etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

If one of them dents my bonnet while trying this I'll be suing for damages and for emotional distress.

Idiots!

Then again, maybe Darwin will win out; just hope it's not some old lady's car resulting in her having a heart attack and dying - that would be manslaughter by the cyclist in my view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

As a cyclist I agree completely. I hate when I'm stopped at a traffic light and some idiot passes me by thinking I'm the idiot for obeying the law.
    A small part of me hopes they get hit by a car but not hurt to teach them a lesson.

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Then again, maybe Darwin will win out; just hope it's not some old lady's car resulting in her having a heart attack and dying - that would be manslaughter by the cyclist in my view.

Yes I'm sure this happens all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,747 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

It's up to the Guards to catch these people. .

The guards aint bothered. They are in the station eating doughnuts and playing darts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

i believe that anyone wanting to use the road be they cyclist, motorcylist, car, van, truck driver etc should all have a licence and if they break the rules of the road they would stand to amass points or loose their licence.

as it stands anyone can get on a push-bike and head off into traffic even those medically unsuitable to drive a motor vehicle.

Well y'see, you'd need to be fairly well versed with a bike, and very, very fit, to be able to be safely able to travel on the roads.

I cycle a lot, around Drogheda, and I still maintain that if I followed the rules of the road, I'd be dead by now. No cycle lanes, pot holes and cracks decorating the road surfaces, cars parked on both sides of streets restricting space, etc. means I'm forever on the wrong side of the road and up on the paths and such.

When it comes to traffic lights, I never stop at them and instead choose to hop onto the path to get away from the traffic that will move off rather instantly once the light hits green. Being on a bicycle at the front of a line of cars that are eager to move off just spells disaster unless you're able to move off at some serious speed at the same time!

I apply a common sense tactic when I'm cycling and I'm well aware that any collision is going to hurt me more than anyone else, so it's in my best interest to be as safe as possible. I'm not fast enough to run a red light, therefore, I would never attempt to.

That said, I've never cycled in Dublin, so no idea what it's like to cycle there.

I love cycling and make sure to obey the rules of the road as I don't want to die with a car tyre in my face. That's why those dumbass cyclists p.iss me off because they make drivers hate all cyclists and therefore results in them being very impatient, even if you're doing nothing wrong! Green = go, red = stop and that means you too cyclist!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

You're only annoyed because you are stuck at the lights.

They do because they can, and its not likely it will ever be stopped. Few if any get killed, and rules aren't enforced. Its not any more complicated than that.

Personally I don't do it. I'm too knackered and need to rest at the lights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

I cycle to work most days and I can say that I whizz through certain sets of lights on my commute, regardless of their colour.

I have nearly been hit a few times on some dodgier junctions but at this stage I know the lights I can safely break.

O'Connell Bridge for example, if the pedestrian lights are green and there are no pedestrians crossing, will I sit there and wait?

I most certainly will not thank you very much, I'll happily scoot my way through!

I'm sure there are lots of other cyclists who will tut-tut at this, but to Hell with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Wolflikeme

BostonB wrote: »
    You're only annoyed because you are stuck at the lights.

I get annoyed because I'm sick of hearing cyclists (like you) saying they always obey the lights when I've actually only ever, EVER witnessed it a couple of times.

Starla_o0 wrote: »
    I love cycling and make sure to obey the rules of the road as I don't want to die with a car tyre in my face. That's why those dumbass cyclists p.iss me off because they make drivers hate all cyclists and therefore results in them being very impatient, even if you're doing nothing wrong! Green = go, red = stop and that means you too cyclist!

Aren't you a 'Goody-two-shoes'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 449 ✭✭Emiko

That said, I've never cycled in Dublin, so no idea what it's like to cycle there.

It's a nightmare to cycle what with all the junkies and dole-scroungers in your way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Schnooks

And whatever about city cyclists, I just am extra careful when they are near me, the ones that really get me majorly p*ssed off are the idiots out for their Sat cycle on a country road and cycling 4 abreast for miles where you cannot overtake. Ignoramuses of the highest order! :mad:

Whenever I am out cycling in the countryside with the lads, we cycle max 2 abreast, and drop back to single file when a car approaches from behind. You see , we are all drivers too, so understand how annoying it can be for a car driver to be stuck beind 4 fat middle-aged arses in lycra for a couple of miles :mad::D

Ally Dick wrote: »
    The guards aint bothered. They are in the station eating doughnuts and playing darts

I dunno, saw a Guard giving a cyclist on O'Connell St a ticket yesterday morning for breaking the lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

I wish they would have some cop on and not barrel through when pedestrians are crossing. I couldn't care less if they kill themselves running a light, but I'll be mildly cross if they kill me as I'm crossing at a pedestrian crossing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

lastlaugh wrote: »

Aren't you a 'Goody-two-shoes'.

No, they're just someone mature with cop on and a non death wish, rather than someone ignorant enough not to give a toss about whomever they're SHARING the road with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Car drivers are cannibalising the transport system in Irish cities
    PEOPLE WHO PAY FOR ROADS USING ROADS SHOCKA!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

As a pedestrian, I am really sick and tired of cyclists ploughing through green pedestrian crossings!

I don't even mind cyclists cycling slowly on pavements, but what really annoys me is idiots who seem to think they can just cycle at high speed at pedestrians at crossings.

The other one that utterly baffled me:
    I was walking along a divided bike path and pedestrian walk way which runs along the Lee Fields in Cork.

I was clearly walking on the pedestrian side and a cyclist started shouting at me saying that I was in a cycle lane!

It highlights the reasons why basic rules of the road need to be taught at school. A lot of people, but particularly some cyclists have absolutely no idea how to use a road or how to interpret traffic signals!

Red light = STOP
    Pedestrian crossing = YIELD TO PEDESTRIANS
    Pavement/Walkway = YIELD TO PEDESTRIANS!

It's not THAT complicated!

Oh yeah and one other thing, put a damn light on your bike if you're cycling at dusk / in the dark! I keep coming across this when I'm driving at dusk/night in Cork.
    Neither drivers nor pedestrians can see you properly in those conditions without a headlight and a rear red light.

The rules need to be enforced and some cyclist-specific penalties need to come into force too.

I would suggest the following penalty:

The cyclist is compelled to take (at their expense) a road-user's course and prove that they are competent to take a vehicle on the road.

If they re-offend, a community service order.

PEOPLE WHO PAY FOR ROADS USING ROADS SHOCKA![/QUOTE]

First off: Ow, my fcucking eyes.

Second off: You need to go and have a read about how the construction and maintenance of roads is actually financed.

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    No, they're just someone mature with cop on and a non death wish, rather than someone ignorant enough not to give a toss about whomever they're SHARING the road with.

Oh, I'm immature and ignorant? You're so righteous.

There is no harm in breaking certain lights.

If you cycled yourself you would learn that.

A lot of the worst/most dangerous cyclists are the fairweather ones who have just started since these pay as you go type bikes began.

Well y'see, you'd need to be fairly well versed with a bike, and very, very fit, to be able to be safely able to travel on the roads.

I cycle a lot, around Drogheda, and I still maintain that if I followed the rules of the road, I'd be dead by now. No cycle lanes, pot holes and cracks decorating the road surfaces, cars parked on both sides of streets restricting space, etc. means I'm forever on the wrong side of the road and up on the paths and such.

When it comes to traffic lights, I never stop at them and instead choose to hop onto the path to get away from the traffic that will move off rather instantly once the light hits green. Being on a bicycle at the front of a line of cars that are eager to move off just spells disaster unless you're able to move off at some serious speed at the same time!

I apply a common sense tactic when I'm cycling and I'm well aware that any collision is going to hurt me more than anyone else, so it's in my best interest to be as safe as possible. I'm not fast enough to run a red light, therefore, I would never attempt to.

I'm sorry but this is all complete nonsense. Cycling on the roads is perfectly safe, if you follow the rules of the road.

PEOPLE WHO PAY FOR ROADS USING ROADS SHOCKA![/QUOTE]

First off: Ow, my fcucking eyes.

Second off: You need to go and have a read about how the construction and maintenance of roads is actually financed.

While it might not be ring fenced, Irish drivers pay an absolute fortune in tax:

1) Huge VRT on cars purchased + VAT.
    2) Road tax which is pretty hefty.
    3) Massive excise duties on fuel.
    4) Road tolls.

There are vast amounts of money generated by taxation on cars / driving.

If anything, motorists are probably not only funding the roads, but also probably other services too.

Solair wrote: »

While it might not be ring fenced, Irish drivers pay an absolute fortune in tax:

1) Huge VRT on cars purchased + VAT.
    2) Road tax which is pretty hefty.
    3) Massive excise duties on fuel.
    4) Road tolls.

There are vast amounts of money generated by taxation on cars / driving.

If anything, motorists are probably not only funding the roads, but also probably other services too.

Majority of cyclists also drive.

Probably not the ones who don't know how traffic lights work though :D

I have no problem with cyclists. I just have a huge issue with being nearly run down by idiots on any kind of vechicle.
    If I cross at a green pedestrian crossing, NOTHING should drive/cycle over that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

Theres no such thing as Road tax. Its motor emission tax which is why cyclists don't pay anything ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

I cycle to work most days and I can say that I whizz through certain sets of lights on my commute, regardless of their colour.

I have nearly been hit a few times on some dodgier junctions but at this stage I know the lights I can safely break.

O'Connell Bridge for example, if the pedestrian lights are green and there are no pedestrians crossing, will I sit there and wait?

I most certainly will not thank you very much, I'll happily scoot my way through!

I'm sure there are lots of other cyclists who will tut-tut at this, but to Hell with them.

Motorists could take the exact same attitude and break traffic lights when they feel it will be okay, 99% of the time they will get away with it. The problem is the other 1% where your observation isn't as good as it should be. Or when you meet another idiot who takes the same attitude as yourself.

I'm sorry but this is all complete nonsense. Cycling on the roads is perfectly safe, if you follow the rules of the road.

You're right, of course.

When I take my Rules of the Road booklet out and shine it on the road ahead, all those big holes that want to swallow my wheels suddenly disappear and the road surface becomes perfectly smooth, meaning I've no reason to suddenly jerk to one side at the last moment and be squashed by the car following me/dangerously trying to overtake me.

Probably not the ones who don't know how traffic lights work though :D

I have no problem with cyclists. I just have a huge issue with being nearly run down by idiots on any kind of vechicle.
    If I cross at a green pedestrian crossing, NOTHING should drive/cycle over that.

One of my favourite things to do on my bike, especially on O'Connell Street, is to go full pelt towards pedestrian lights, when I have the green light of course, and NOT stop when I see lazy ass pedestrians blatantly jaywalking accross the road.

Do all the righteous motorists present think we should bring in new laws to deal with jaywalking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

you are an accident waiting to happen. follow the rules of the road or get off the road. this applies to everyone.

Knasher wrote: »
    Motorists could take the exact same attitude and break traffic lights when they feel it will be okay, 99% of the time they will get away with it. The problem is the other 1% where your observation isn't as good as it should be. Or when you meet another idiot who takes the same attitude as yourself.

A bicycle and a car are two very different things, and should not be classed together, my clever friend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

If only all cyclists only did it when there was NOBODY around, but this isn't really the case. The Dame St junction (with George's St), for example, when the lights all go green for pedestrians. It seems like ALL cyclists see this as a green light for themselves too. I did see a pedestrian grab a cyclist who was attempting to go through the lights once. That was an argument I enjoyed witnessing.

I would say that this applies to motorists, when they think they can get away with it. Dame Street Junction again is a prime example of this, where the cars often break a red light. You have to hope the car will stop when it's clear the light is green for the pedestrian.

I'd be more worried about the motorists than the cyclists, as the motorists have more of a chance of killing you than a cyclist. Cyclists are annoying, especially if they 'beep' when going through a pedestrian crossing (f*ck off) or when they're on the footpath and expect you to make way for them. It's called a FOOTpath for a reason, and no, I'm not getting out of your way.

A lot of cyclists I know will claim that they break the rules of the road because it's more dangerous to obey them. If you can't obey the rules of the road, don't cycle. Safer for all of us (same goes for motorists).

zenno wrote: »
    you are an accident waiting to happen. follow the rules of the road or get off the road. this applies to everyone.

Yawn...

Should all cyclists stop at Red Pedestrian lights even when there are no pedestrians crossing?

Ah yeah, the rules is the rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

A bicycle and a car are two very different things, and should not be classed together, my clever friend.

and a car and a truck are very different and a truck and a bus are very different, does that mean they shouldn't be classed together??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

Yawn...

Should all cyclists stop at Red Pedestrian lights even when there are no pedestrians crossing?

Ah yeah, the rules is the rules.

it's for you're own safety man. do what you do but if you get hit don't start crying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭two wheels good

... but to Hell with them.

Your personal motto?

Do all the righteous motorists present think we should bring in new laws to deal with jaywalking?

What are the old laws?

You're right, of course.

When I take my Rules of the Road booklet out and shine it on the road ahead, all those big holes that want to swallow my wheels suddenly disappear and the road surface becomes perfectly smooth, meaning I've no reason to suddenly jerk to one side at the last moment and be squashed by the car following me/dangerously trying to overtake me.

Well there's your problem. Safe cycling involves spotting an obstacle early, moving right well ahead of it while keeping an eye over your right shoulder for traffic approaching from the rear, taking control of the lane as you go past the obstacle, if there is insufficient room left for a vehicle to overtake without leaving the lane, and finally moving back over to the left once past the obstacle. Repeat as necessary.

Some good advice on safe cycling here.

One of my favourite things to do on my bike, especially on O'Connell Street, is to go full pelt towards pedestrian lights, when I have the green light of course, and NOT stop when I see lazy ass pedestrians blatantly jaywalking accross the road.

You realise that if you hit a pedestrian you'll quite likely be sued?

If only all cyclists only did it when there was NOBODY around, but this isn't really the case. The Dame St junction (with George's St), for example, when the lights all go green for pedestrians. It seems like ALL cyclists see this as a green light for themselves too. I did see a pedestrian grab a cyclist who was attempting to go through the lights once. That was an argument I enjoyed witnessing.

I use that junction most days and I do not cross it until after the pedestrian lights go Red, if you watch the cyclists who break those Pedestrian lights, most of them are indeed idiots.

I still break the Red light though, to get a head start on the traffic behind me. Is this such a bad thing?!

What are the old laws?

Can't say I know tbh, nobody seems to give a flying fook about them from what I see everyday.

You realise that if you hit a pedestrian you'll quite likely be sued?

Can a jaywalker sue a cyclist if they are hit?

I'd better make sure I give them a good bang so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

PEOPLE WHO PAY FOR ROADS USING ROADS SHOCKA!

1) The caps are retarded.

2) And there you have it: "transport system" immediately translated as "roads". Heaven forfend that cyclists (of course no drivers also cycle; we can't have that sort of complexity), pedestrians and huge numbers of public transport users could have a claim on the "transport system" of Ireland's cities by virtue of their taxes to the same state. Nope, the "transport system" in Irish cities is all just "roads" for car users. :rolleyes:

Arrantly silly stuff indeed.

Can a jaywalker sue a cyclist if they are hit?

Yup. If it can be shown that you did not do everything in your power to avoid them. Bombing past them with inches to spare does not count as doing everything in your power to avoid them.

I use that junction most days and I do not cross it until after the pedestrian lights go Red, if you watch the cyclists who break those Pedestrian lights, most of them are indeed idiots.

I still break the Red light though, to get a head start on the traffic behind me. Is this such a bad thing?!

You must be one of the cyclists I see who don't break the pedestrian lights, so.

If you're breaking the red light, from what I'm understanding you'd be infringing on the pedestrians, no? (I may have this wrong from my understanding of this junction).
    Can't say I know tbh, nobody seems to give a flying fook about them from what I see everyday.

I'm not sure if it's a myth, but as far as I know there are no laws against jay walking.

Well there's your problem. Safe cycling involves spotting an obstacle early, moving right well ahead of it while keeping an eye over your right shoulder for traffic approaching from the rear, taking control of the lane as you go past the obstacle, if there is insufficient room left for a vehicle to overtake without leaving the lane, and finally moving back over to the left once past the obstacle. Repeat as necessary.

Some good advice on safe cycling here.

Have you cycled in Drogheda?

A road I commonly cycle on is the Rathmullen Road. There are so many holes and cracks and lumps and bumps that you'd never safely navigate it from a distance. It's like Tetris. As you pass one hazard another is coming right after it. You don't have time to think about it or plan it, you just try to get round it before you end up in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Wolflikeme wrote: »
    I get annoyed because I'm sick of hearing cyclists (like you) saying they always obey the lights when I've actually only ever, EVER witnessed it a couple of times.

Stop following me around so...

I'm not sure if it's a myth, but as far as I know there are no laws against jay walking.

Not like there are in America, no. However it is illegal to cross the road:

a)within 15m of a pedestrian crossing (you must use the crossing)

b)when you have a red man at a pedestrian crossing.

I often hear people saying things such as "look at yer man jaywalking there" about a person crossing a road at a place other than a pedestrian crossing. They can cross wherever they want (as long as there isn't a pedestrian crossing within 15m).