Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tipperary vs Kilkenny: All-Ireland Hurling Final 2011 **Mod Warning Post #335**

• 14-08-2011 7:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭

Right, lets try this again.

Forum rules apply as normal. Have a problem with a post, use the report button. Don't bother trying to get into debates on the state (or death) of hurling, this thread is for what should be an absolutely cracking match. If you wanna get into that kind of discussion, start a new thread about it.

May the best team win.

Who will win the All Ireland 143 votes

Kilkenny
    0% 0 votes
    Tipperary
    100% 143 votes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Good call OP.

I reckon the Cats have the edge given the outcome of the two semi finals.

However I don't think they were tested against Waterford.

Tipp weren't firing on all cylinders today either and probably went into today's game with a smug degree of complacency which nearly backfired.

It should be a cracking final but I expect Killkenny to shade it as they have had the most comfortable route to Croke Park this year.

No more than a 3 point game I think.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,973 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Should be the definition of a cracker. Tip should be better than they were today. KK will be itching for a crack at them after last year. I still think that Tips ability to score goals against kk will be the determining factor. They have that ability that other teams just can't really do. I would expect no more than 4pts between the teams with Tip edging it - although to be fair it could just as easily go the other way if kk's backs keep Tip out.
    One thing is for certain - everyone is entrigued by this one, could be a belter!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

Tipp were poor against Dublin but I cant see them being as bad the next day out against Kilkenny. I would still prefer to see Tipp there than Dublin as I dont think Dublin could repeat the performance they did today in the final against Kilkenny. Tipp love playing Kilkenny and will make life hard for the cats. I still think Tipp can rattle the cats when they are on song. They were the better team on the last two All Ireland finals. That game against Dublin today was a huge test for them and they will learn a lot about their team now when they face Kilkenny. Tipp to shade it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭trebor28

as much as i'd like it to be i dunno if this one will live up to he other two previous finals. hopefully i am wrong but i dont think it will.

i think both teams under performed in their respective semis with tipp today being stifled by a very physical team which was set up not to concede rather than to outscore.
    tipp were on a no win situation today as if they won it wouldnt really mean anything as they were expected to and if the lost then it would be all bout the dubs!
    tipp also didnt perform to their best also today, alot of missed touches dropped balll, lads slipping etc.

kilkenny although a lot more decisive in their semi were still a pale imitation of themselves over the last number of years. a lot of them looked slow to me, they weren't as clinical as they normally are and wasted a lot of opportunities which they would normally take at their ease.

its probably better for their managers that way as they now have "a stick to beat them with" in the lead up to the AI.

it will be a big battle, hopefully we'll get good weather for it which should give it a chance for it to be a belter of a game.

i hope tipp win it, but im not 100% convinced, kilkenny should have the edge as they were beat last year and will want to put the record straight, ala tipp last year.

heres hoping!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Carthy303

I backed Kilkenny back in April. Just felt that too many people were too quick to write them off after last years defeat and after the league final defeat aswell. I still stand by picking them given what I've seen in both semi-finals. No doubt it will once again be a cracking game with the margin of victory being very slight.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Carthy303 wrote: »
    I backed Kilkenny back in April.

You would probably have got better odds then given their league performance than I got when I backed them the day after last years All Ireland Final. 3/1

Lapin wrote: »
    You would probably have got better odds then given their league performance than I got when I backed them the day after last years All Ireland Final. 3/1

You would have thought so but they were best priced 2/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Fergus_Nash

Kilkenny to win it. Dublin showed that the Tipp forwards can be kept under control and the Kilkenny backs are a bit better than Dublin's backs. Tommy Walsh can negate Bonner Maher's influence in the game while Jackie Tyrell is coming into a bit of form and we'll see how he might get on against Lar.

Conor O'Mahony had a wonderful game today but if Henry goes in opposite him and moves around maybe he can bring him out of his comfort zone. Michael Rice will be there to almost defend against Padraic Maher.

If we have learnt anything from the two semi's it is that the defense has been on top always so it really comes down to which forward unit can score the most (well obviously but you know what I mean).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Skyrim

Henderson and Moore on the sunday game say kilkenny will win while duignan went for tipp, only just. Let the build up begin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

I always thought this would be the last of three finals against them (no offense to Dublin today), but this will be the closest of all three.

So difficult to say who will win, people have mentioned names like Padraig Maher and KK counterparts (JJ Delanhy). Every player on the pitch come September will have proven themselves to be the best in the country over the last two years.

While I've had a few drinks on me, I think Brendan Maher will be instrumental in the final. His introduction today changed the balance for Tipp, he controlled his area, he just keeps getting better.

Gonna be a great final, whoever wins on the day will fully deserve it, zero expectation from any team (unless they extremely confident).

Roll on September 4th!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Fergus_Nash

Who's going to be on Lar? Sunday Game says Paul Murphy. Would he not be a bit inexperienced?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭toxicity234

should be a great final.
    but it will need a good Ref to keep it from boiling over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

I think Kirwan should ref it :L

Tipp to win in my view. Should be a good game though. Hopefully the weather is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

neither were overly impressive in the semi final wins, i am going to back kilkenny to get revenge for last year, i think if they can hold kelly and corbett to manageable totals they have a great chance of beating tipp, a fully fit shefflin will make a massive difference this year compared to last

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Cue the reports out of Kilkenny from former players who were 'down watching the lads training and never saw the likes of it before, skin & hair flying'
    Closely followed by the annual Kilkenny injury scares.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,973 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Cue the reports out of Kilkenny from former players who were 'down watching the lads training and never saw the likes of it before, skin & hair flying'
    Closely followed by the annual Kilkenny injury scares.

It does get a bit old alright.

I understand Cody isn't too happy with the way Henry is holding back in training.
    I can't say I blame Henry, that knee could go again in a split second.

I understand Cody isn't too happy with the way Henry is holding back in training.

It will suit Tipp nicely if they are going in as underdogs.

Who's going to be on Lar? Sunday Game says Paul Murphy. Would he not be a bit inexperienced?

Tyrrell I'd say. Murphy was cleaned the last day by Mullane for the short period they were marking each other while I can't remember Molumphy getting a sniff from Tyrrell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭Annuv

Is there anything sadder than someone who blatantly makes up lies to post them on internet fora in an attempt to be smart?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

are you a surgeon or some expert in such injuries? He's not one to hold back, he did plenty of twisting and turning in the semi-final.

I agree with Donal O'Grady (that's a first for me;)) on this one, right now it's 50/50 and training between now and may make all the difference some that fateful Sunday.

Stop the easy/loose ball into Lar and a few friendly shoulders from the start and he's quiet. Eoin Kelly didn't look the fittest either yesterday. C'mon the Cats!

are you a surgeon or some expert in such injuries? He's not one to hold back, he did plenty of twisting and turning in the semi-final.

I agree with Donal O'Grady (that's a first for me;)) on this one, right now it's 50/50 and training between now and may make all the difference some that fateful Sunday.

Stop the easy/loose ball into Lar and a few friendly shoulders from the start and he's quiet. Eoin Kelly didn't look the fittest either yesterday. C'mon the Cats!

You should know by now that a few 'friendly shoulders' as you put from the cats wouldn't work against Tipp, Ye tried that down through the years and came out worst.

Annuv wrote: »
    Is there anything sadder than someone who blatantly makes up lies to post them on internet fora in an attempt to be smart?
    Simple question?
    Was Henry fit enough to start last years allIreland?

You should know by now that a few 'friendly shoulders' as you put from the cats wouldn't work against Tipp, Ye tried that down through the years and came out worst.

Tipp have only beaten Killkenny once recently? So how do you come to the conclusion that KK have come out the worst?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Martin567

Tipp have only beaten Killkenny once recently? So how do you come to the conclusion that KK have come out the worst?

He's from a bygone age. He believes something that happened nearly 50 years ago when there were no rules is still relevant today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Sir Graball

Not on this occasion we didn't:D

OH yea, I forgot about that,the year ye had to depend on the ref to win it for ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

Very excited about the match :) Ofcourse I'd like to see the Cats win being a Kilkenny girl myself but I'm not going to get bitter and hostile like some people. Going to enjoy the night whatever the outcome :D Love the All Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭LostGirly

Tipperary are so predictable for all the wrong reasons! Statistically yesterday should have been a walk in the park for Tipperary! But Tipperary did what they do best and gave us all about 47 heart attacks watching the match and it was far from a walk in the park, more like a walk in the fires of hell! Between dropping the ball into the square instead of going for points for a long part of the first half to generally not being completely in the game from the start...they didn't completely fall asleep (TG - Dublin would have made them pay) but by Christ they weren't top class!

Now I know they won, but Lord did they make hard work of it and I have to hand it to Dublin, they were excellent, the talent they have on that team and the skill they showed is top class, they scored some points yesterday that were jaw dropping! I almost feel sorry for them :) They can rest assured though that they will win the All-Ireland in the next couple of years!

With respect to the final, it's a tough one to call! Tipp will surely go in as underdogs after yesterday's performance (which I hope was just a case of a lack of match practice!) which suits them better and KK were far from stunning against Waterford! Both teams have had their ups and their downs and hopefully it will be a cracker, like the last couple of years!

My heart says Tipperary, my head hasn't a clue :o

LostGirly wrote: »
    Tipperary are so predictable for all the wrong reasons! Statistically yesterday should have been a walk in the park for Tipperary! But Tipperary did what they do best and gave us all about 47 heart attacks watching the match and it was far from a walk in the park, more like a walk in the fires of hell! Between dropping the ball into the square instead of going for points for a long part of the first half to generally not being completely in the game from the start...they didn't completely fall asleep (TG - Dublin would have made them pay) but by Christ they weren't top class!

Now I know they won, but Lord did they make hard work of it and I have to hand it to Dublin, they were excellent, the talent they have on that team and the skill they showed is top class, they scored some points yesterday that were jaw dropping! I almost feel sorry for them :) They can rest assured though that they will win the All-Ireland in the next couple of years!

With respect to the final, it's a tough one to call! Tipp will surely go in as underdogs after yesterday's performance (which I hope was just a case of a lack of match practice!) which suits them better and KK were far from stunning against Waterford! Both teams have had their ups and their downs and hopefully it will be a cracker, like the last couple of years!

My heart says Tipperary, my head hasn't a clue :o

Wishful thinking there. Tipp still bookies favourites, although only just!

LostGirly wrote: »

, my head hasn't a clue :o

All Ireland semi finals are never as you put it 'a walk in the park'
    Tipp were stretched a bit yesterday but have still won every match this year while hurling well within themselves. The cats supporters are already showing the same jitters we saw in the build up to the 'Drive for 5' !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Had to laugh at Richie Bennis telling it like it is to your man beside him in the stand at 0:29 :D

Tipp were stretched a bit yesterday but have still won every match this year while hurling well within themselves. The cats supporters are already showing the same jitters we saw in the build up to the 'Drive for 5' !

Tipp didn't hurl well within themselves against Cork. They had to hurl well against a Cork team who were well up for it. They had to come from behind against a spirited Clare side to win and hurled well in doing so. They definitely didn't against Waterford or they wouldn't have won by the margin they did, Waterfords performance against Galway proves that. As for yesterday, Dublin didn't allow them to hurl for long periods and if Peter Kelly dealt with the ball for the goal then who knows what would have happened!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭LostGirly

Wishful thinking there. Tipp still bookies favourites, although only just!

Oh really, didn't think they would have been! Never suits them to be favourites! But to be honest this is different, they're only marginally favourites so hopefully that won't hinder them! Think it played a part yesterday!!

Nice part of my long message to quote ;) I have a slight bit of a clue thanks!!

All I said was statistically it should have been a walk in the park! I was laughed at by all my friends and family 2 weeks ago when I said that we'd make hard work of the Dublin match and that it wouldn't be all plain sailing!
    Yeah they have won every match well within themselves but then again yesterday was the only day it was really put to them!

The Cats claimed to be jittery coming up to the Leinster final too! Hope they don't get the same result as they did that day!

Either way, I'm proud of Tipperary! They've been outstanding the past two seasons and long may it last :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

The team didn't do themselves justice yesterday. Granted Dublin were very good in the backs. Dublin are an up and coming team but that game won't have much effect on the final as Kilkenny won't try and stop our forwards like Dublin did. They won't play a sweeper, I hope they don't. Hopefully it's a good open game. But I don't understand the swing after yesterday. Kilkenny weren't great against Waterford. Dublin were always going to be ready for us, they were wrote off all week.

Now we have the game. That was the best preparation we could of had for the final. Now they know great improvements will have to be made. But on the balance of the semi finals I don't understand the swing of the media balance. But I'm delighted. Both teams have come off unimpressive semi-final performances.

Time now for the leaking of the intensiveness of training, baiting hurleys off each other, then the injury scare only to be given remarkable treatment and witch doctor recovery to happen.

Heard Colin Fennelly did his hamstring, unfortunate for him. As for yesterday, at least we came through another tight contest and hopefully that will dampen the hype. Hard Luck to the dubs, a credit to their county.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

Does anyone think it will be a sell out this year in light of the €10 increase?

Will the fair weather supporters make it?

Hopefully a few more will be available. Season tickets are a dream but getting them for the final day fans will be easier this year I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭gears

Up €10 this year lovely stuff... :(

Does anyone know when the tickets are going out this year and are any being sold online?

Whatever happened to the massive 8000 crowds Kilkenny were getting at training sessions last year. I was at one last week and there were at most 150 people at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Whatever happened to the massive 8000 crowds Kilkenny were getting at training sessions last year. I was at one last week and there were at most 150 people at it.

Kilkenny crowd only ever appears for the All Ireland, and last 3 training sessions before it. Terrible support throughout the county. Not taking away from the die hards at all, but they are the minority I'm afraid.
    One of the worst supported counties imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Sir Graball

OH yea, I forgot about that,the year ye had to depend on the ref to win it for ye.

Just as well then we weren't depending on a certain B Dunne ?? :D

Ah, if you look at the stats for that game you'll find D Kirwan ( who's a Cork man BTW not from Kilkenny ) awarded Tipp and KK the same amount of frees. This ould thing about Tipp should be goin for three in a row is as old as the stories about the KK training games. Ye were beaten on the day get over it just like we did last year!!!

The oul fella getting heart palpitations is my favourite bit after Gorta leaves a few dead Tipp bodies in his wake!!!!!:cool:

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Seriously looking forward to this.
    Should be an epic. Both teams are as even on paper as ever, and Kilkenny will have the added impetus of last year.

Impossible to call, but I'd have to say Kilkenny.

Anyone seen their training lately? I'd say it's bloodthirsty stuff !

wixfjord wrote: »
    Seriously looking forward to this.
    Should be an epic. Both teams are as even on paper as ever, and Kilkenny will have the added impetus of last year.

Impossible to call, but I'd have to say Kilkenny.

Anyone seen their training lately? I'd say it's bloodthirsty stuff !

Who is to say that Tipp aren't training hard? If there's one team Tipp love getting fired up for its Kilkenny. Tipp made Kilkenny look very ordinary in the last two All Irelands finals and I expect more of the same this year from the Tipp boys.

Heard off the ball there earlier, daithi regan said at this stage he thinks tipp will win, not surprising considering he is pat fox's pub in cashel!

Don't just take my word for it, but there is a lot of anger among real Kilkenny hurling folk, those that know their hurling not the johnnycomelately fellas that paint their faces once a year, about the whole Henry Shefflin issue last year.
    Either Henry or Cody or both of them made a grevious mistake playing him in an allireland final a few months after a cruciate injury.

Skyrim wrote: »
    Heard off the ball there earlier, daithi regan said at this stage he thinks tipp will win, not surprising considering he is pat fox's pub in cashel!

Or maybe he thinks as I do that Tipp are a better team?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭Annuv

Don't just take my word for it.....

Don't worry, I think you're safe enough in that regard given your reputation for posting pure unfounded drivel

Annuv wrote: »
    Don't worry, I think you're safe enough in that regard given your reputation for posting pure unfounded drivel

So you reckon Shefflin was fit to start that match?

As far as im concerned both 2009 and 2010 are dead and buried and this game will take on a life of its own.

You could predict hurling until the cows come home but something as simple as getting the break of the ball on one occasion could be the difference between winning and losing. Look at Lar Corbetts goal against Dublin. Poor Peter Kelly, who was a colossus yesterday and not for the first time this year, lost control of the ball. There was about 2 feet at the most between himself and Gary Maguire his goalkeeper when Lar spotted that window of opportunity and managed to get a flick on the ball. Some times you can be flawless and sometimes you can just get the little breaks.

Win, Lose or draw im proud of the boys this year. They have been magnificent whatever happens and will continue to challenge in the near future. They owe us nothing and are a terrific side to behold and b*llocks to those who say different. I have concerns but i also think we are good enough to pull it off.

To other counties it might be getting a little boring having Tipp and Kilkenny for the third year running but i put out the bunting today and i can tell you the excitement is building up in me already. The butterflies are already in the stomach.