Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Predictions.

• 14-08-2011 12:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭

Following on from Spurious telling me I would do better than I expect, I wanted to see how I think I'll do, so I thought I might as well make a thread for it.

Maths - A.
    Business - A.

Science - B. (A)
    History - B.
    Geography - B. (C)
    English - B. (C)
    Irish - B.
    French - B.
    CSPE - B. (A)

Woodwork - C.

That's what I think I got. Borderline results are in brackets. Possibly could have put Science and CSPE the other way around, hoping for an A, with a possible B, but might as well keep the expectations low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭Slow Show

I don't say to anyone more than a vague idea of what I think I got, it just feels like a bad idea to me. I guess it really can do no harm other than possible abashment in September.

Business - A. (I'd seriously consider appealing if I got a B, don't think I've ever been happier with an exam, I didn't even do my usual insane totting up marks thing afterwards.)

Maths - B
    English - A/B
    Irish - B
    Geography - B
    History - A/B
    Science - B/A
    CSPE - B/A
    Home Ec - B/C
    French - B/A

An A and a heap of B's, I'm thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Doublechinlolz

I don't wanna type them because A) I might get my hopes up. B) It'd be horrible to get way less... That said, feck it :)

Maths - B or A
    English - C/B
    Irish - C/B
    Geography - I dont know :O Anything over a C, hard to tell :(
    History - A/B
    Science - C/B
    CSPE - B/A- Dont seem confident of an A :O
    Woodwork - I'd be seriously lucky to get a D. Don't have much expectations on this one tbh..
    French - B/A

Overall though, this looks hard to get.. I done higher in all of them above.
    We should compare these to our real results :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭Cakes.

Meh, I don't really care anymore :pac:

Maths- Think I did reasonably well but probably didn't do as good as I thought A/B

Irish- B/A

English- C/B

Geography- B

German- B-A not sure which is more probable

History- B

Art- C/B

CSPE- A/B

Science- B

Business- B

It's only a month away now :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Ranrooni

ok, my turn... i thought the real thing was easier than the mocks.. though i think i did well .. hmm..

maths- A/B
    history- A/B
    science- A
    art- A
    geography- A
    french- A
    english- A/B
    cspe- A

God, i hope i did as well as i thought i did o.O you never know what might happen... your examiner can be in a good mood correcting your paper or can be veryy hormonal and just vent it out on your paper .. Yikes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭matthew8

Geography- A
    CSPE- A
    History- A
    Latin- A
    Maths- A
    Science- A/B
    French- A/B
    Irish- A/B
    Spanish- A/B
    English- No idea because I've never had a properly corrected English exam though my essay question was subpar, I can't imagine getting a D though so B/C I guess.

A/B means confident of an A, I would say out of the 4 A/B subjects I will get an A in 2/3 of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Indiego

Blurghhhh... I completely forgot about the results... /grumblegrumblemutter

There are some subjects that I know exactlyyy what I got in it, but others are a bit of a random stab in the dark, especially ones with project work because I dont know what standard is expected (i.e Religion, CSPE, Science)

Buuuttttt, this is what I thiiiiiiink I got...

Science - A
    Maths - A
    Art - A
    Spanish - A/B (The letter kind of threw me off.. so im not exactly suree )
    Irish - B (I worked my fricken ass off for a B, at the peril of other subjects unfortunatly :/)
    History - B (If im reallyyyy lucky, A)
    Geography - B (Maybe an A, but I don't want to jinx it :pac:)
    CSPE - B? I dont have a clue tbph :D
    Religion - C probably.. it was all complete spiel and I didnt finish my essay properly, that being said I always seem to do better than expected XD
    English - B (Quite possibly a C but that doesn't bear thinking about... I barely scraped a B in the Mocks, but I feel this went much, much worse.. only time will tell :L)

To be honest, as long as I get an A in Maths, Science and Art, and a B in Irish, I wont be too upset with other results, as Im never planning on doing most of them again :o

And I might as well add, you see alot of people, saying 'I know I got all A's' or 'If I dont get all A's the world will end! /melodramatic' etc. etc. , but in reality to me, most of those people are just trying to wish those grades upon themselves (im not saying everybody is btw :)) with wishful thinking etc. and this is grand coming up to the exams, set high standards etc., but to me, after all is said and done, keeping those high standards is going to lead to alot of dissapointed people in september, but in reality:
    The results practically mean nothing!
    So dont waste time fretting over them and enjoy the rest of summerrrrr :pac:

Erm... this turned out longeer than expected...sorry:)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,345 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Ranrooni wrote: »
    you never know what might happen... your examiner can be in a good mood correcting your paper or can be veryy hormonal and just vent it out on your paper .. Yikes!

That doesn't happen. Examiners follow the marking scheme. Not quite sure what you mean by 'hormonal' - presume it wasn't some sort of sexist jibe.

spurious wrote: »
    That doesn't happen. Examiners follow the marking scheme. Not quite sure what you mean by 'hormonal' - presume it wasn't some sort of sexist jibe.

!!!!!! I am the least sexist person on this entire earth :eek:!! what i meant by 'hormonal' is moody, and i'm not making it up, i'm talking from experience !!

!!!!!! I am the least sexist person on this entire earth :eek:!!!

I read that as 'sexiest'. Chortled a little. :cool:

ok, my turn... i thought the real thing was easier than the mocks.. though i think i did well .. hmm..

maths- A/B
    history- A/B
    science- A
    art- A
    geography- A
    french- A
    english- A/B
    cspe- A

oops, forgot about religion- A icon6.gif

Slow Show wrote: »
    I read that as 'sexiest'. Chortled a little. :cool:
    haha lol ;) you never know:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,654 ✭✭✭shadowninty

Errmm

Results in brackets are what I think are likely if I dont get the first one :D
    Science - B (A)
    Maths - A (B)
    Art - A (B)
    French - A (B)
    Irish - B (C)
    History - A (B)
    Geography - A
    CSPE - A
    English - B

Being Optimistic, but hey
    Slow Show wrote: »
    Chortled a little. :cool:

LOVE THAT WORD

Im actually so curious to see what people actually get now :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭SChique00

How exactly does one execute a chortle? The matter has always perturbed me :rolleyes:

OK, so here are my optomistic predictions ;) slightly(!) unrealistic, but here it goes:
    ENGLISH - A (have not a hope in hell)
    MATHS - C
    IRISH - A
    HISTORY - A
    GEOGRAPHY - A
    SCIENCE - B
    HOME EC - A (burning the examiner's mouth will not go in my favour :()
    TECHNOLOGY - B (again, not a hope since my project was kerrap and I had a weeny accident during the exam)
    FRENCH - A
    BUSINESS - A
    CSPE (but don't count it as a subject) - A

More realistic (but highly negative) predictions:
    ENGLISH - B/C
    MATHS - D
    IRISH - B
    HISTORY - A/B
    GEOGRAPHY - A/B
    SCIENCE - C
    HOME EC - A/B
    TECHNOLOGY - D
    FRENCH - A
    BUSINESS - A/B
    CSPE - A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

SChique00 wrote: »
    How exactly does one execute a chortle? The matter has always perturbed me :rolleyes:

Id always imagined it to be sort of a pot-bellied old mans laugh, deep from the stomach if you know what i mean :pac:

Anyhow, predictions:

ENGLISH- C
    IRISH- B
    MATHS- B/A
    FRENCH- C/B
    BUSINESS- A
    HISTORY- B/A
    GEOGRAPHY- A
    TECH GRAPHICS- B
    SCIENCE- B/A

Heres hoping :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Karl96

English - B
    Irish - B
    Maths - A
    Science - B/C (made a hash of the physics)
    Geography - B
    History - B/C (q.6 nuff said)
    CSPE - A
    Business - B
    French - B (letter)
    Tech Graph - A
    Music - A/B
    Woodwork - A/B

Thats what im hoping/ thinking i got!!:D:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

I had a dream last night that I failed english,irish,french and science! :eek: I really hope that's a sign that I'll do well in those subjects,not that I have failed them! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭FYG

Lollipop95 wrote: »
    I had a dream last night that I failed english,irish,french and science! :eek: I really hope that's a sign that I'll do well in those subjects,not that I have failed them! :(

That is a sign that you are particularly worried about your results in those subjects.

Dream-reading FTW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

If I'm lucky and the corrector isn't a prick
    Geog: A
    Business: A
    CSPE: A
    French: A
    TG: B
    English: B
    Maths: B
    History: B
    Irish: B
    Science: B (if I'm really lucky)

Lollipop95 wrote: »

OMG same that'd always happen me before getting Christmas and summer test results, and I always ended up doing much better than how my dreams indicated(!)
    Don't worry about them - if you've done well, congratulate yourself :D if you haven't done quite as well as you'd have liked, remember that it's only an exam and there are vastly more important things in life. :) Still, I think everyone would like to do well, regardless of whether they like school. Best o' luck ;)

I just discovered I wont be near home when I get my results, and hence I wont be able to rush onto the internet and vent/rejoice about my results, instead Ill have to keep it pent up because is im annoyed at my results ill get people telling me to cop on and that ive done better than most people etc.etc. and if im happy about my results ill be ignored and told to cop on and stop rubbing it in peoples faces...
    arghh

Indiego wrote: »
    I just discovered I wont be near home when I get my results, and hence I wont be able to rush onto the internet and vent/rejoice about my results, instead Ill have to keep it pent up because is im annoyed at my results ill get people telling me to cop on and that ive done better than most people etc.etc. and if im happy about my results ill be ignored and told to cop on and stop rubbing it in peoples faces...
    arghh

oh my GOD thats how it is with me as well, i'm normally really good at school, when i don't do as well as i wanted to, people would be like 'oh shut up already you did better than everybody else!' and then when i do really well, everyone is like 'oh will you shut it already about the exam' aghhhhhhhhhhh it doesnt work either way !!icon8.gif

Morale of the story: just shut up about your results.

Come on Boards to vent, though people on here will just tell you what you want to hear anyway.

FYG wrote: »
    Morale of the story: just shut up about your results.

Come on Boards to vent, though people on here will just tell you what you want to hear anyway.

haha well you didn't, so i guess not EVERYONE ! anyway ur right, i should just keep my mouth shut !icon12.gif

I can't come here to vent either, I'll miss all the fun convos and exam jokes and such shizz :( I'll be stuck in some far-flung freezing corner of the countryside when I get MY results........ remember me when you're all having a great time venting :p

I just had a dream about getting the results, I managed to get an A in Irish, history and geography, the 3 subjects I'm positive I for Bs in :L here's to hoping :L i also had 2 Cs, in sociology and religion :confused: sociology? emmmm XD

That shows that you are worrying about your results.

I haven't had a dream about the results yet. Had some dreams about the JC last year though.

That shows that you are worrying about your results.

Im very aware that im worrying about my results :pac:
    I wish it was the 14th alreadyyyy >< :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Cormakazam

I'll have a go

French - A
    (Lived in France)
    Music - A
    Maths - A
    CSPE - A (Don't have a clue)
    Business - A/B
    Geography - A/B
    History - B
    Science - B
    Irish - B (Messed up the story)
    English - B (If if lucky)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,345 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

A grades are not as easy to come by in CSPE as many here seem to think.

i know right! cspe is soo overrated, it actually DOES require a decent amount of work, the writing up of the project takes a lot of time and effort.. its certainly not as easy as everyone thinks it is ..

Time and effort in class which doesn't count. I never looked at my CSPE book to study even right before the test.

matthew8 wrote: »
    Time and effort in class which doesn't count. I never looked at my CSPE book to study even right before the test.

Time and effort in class clearly counts.

No it doesn't. You're going to spend time and effort in class anyway. To say "CSPE requires time and effort" without saying "in class" as well, you imply that you need to study for CSPE, which you don't.

Unless you're saying (and I agree) that it counts to put in time and effort in class and we have a misunderstanding. Time and effort in class counts, but not as time and effort.

No it doesn't. You're going to spend time and effort in class anyway. To say "CSPE requires time and effort" without saying "in class" as well, you imply that you need to study for CSPE, which you don't.

Unless you're saying (and I agree) that it counts to put in time and effort in class and we have a misunderstanding. Time and effort in class counts, but not as time and effort.

I'm saying that you need to put in time and effort for your project, which isn't neccesarily done in class.

The point is that CSPE shouldn't be seen as a "doss class" where you just do nothing and relax, and then then expect an A grade after sitting the exam.

I'm saying that you need to put in time and effort for your project, which isn't neccesarily done in class.

The point is that CSPE shouldn't be seen as a "doss class" where you just do nothing and relax, and then then expect an A grade after sitting the exam.

totally my point.. i had to do a lot of the writing up of the project at home cuz we always seemed to miss our weekly cspe class, and ur right matthew8, no one actually opens any books to study for cspe, because the actual exam doesnt need studying for..

About one in four people doing CSPE get an A.

Because that's the way they fix it.

I see.

So, the thinking would be everyone thinks it's easy and they are going to get an A so the SEC says, 'I'll show you all!'

I see.

So, the thinking would be everyone thinks it's easy and they are going to get an A so the SEC says, 'I'll show you all!'

The thinking is that they don't want to undermine the subject by giving everyone an A.

...or maybe they mark it as told and don't give a crap if people think it's an easy A? :confused:

It's about twice as easy to get an A in CSPE as other subjects, but look at how many people predicting their results think it's a definite A.
    It's not.

I personally think it's an easy A if you've got a smidgen of common knowledge of current affairs and you watch the news once in a while.

We never did anything in CSPE for the entire 3 years when it came to the book - I'd say we opened it twice (on the same page). Usually most people would "forget" to bring them in, so we wouldn't be able to do work. I spent AGES on the action project report and was very happy with how it turned out, but I just winged the test, tbh...

I'd say a lot of people failed the picture matching question, and the filling in the gaps, but the sentence answers involved tactical bullsh!tting, and everyone I talked to opted for the poster question, like me.

I feel if the class was made more interesting and taken outside the classroom a bit more it could've been really simulating, but I couldn't really be bothered about it now... that said, it'd be nice to do well, and I think my knowledge of world events and shizz stood me well ;)

Woah I didn't expect it to be so looooooooooooong :o

MarkD09 wrote: »
    CSPE - B/A- Dont seem confident of an A :O

Yay i put that in first time. I'm so sown to earth and understanding i know

i know ya like, I light up one marlboro and my supervisors on me like flies on ****e :D haha

Hmm.. I wonder why... Like its not like illegal or anything..
    Stupid Supervisor

i know ya like, I light up one marlboro and my supervisors on me like flies on ****e :D haha

Yeah during my Science exam I jumped out of my chair and started an impromptu conga line shouting 'CALCIUM, MAGNESIUM, ZINC, COPPER.' Good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭It neny!

Yeah during my Science exam I jumped out of my chair and started an impromptu conga line shouting 'CALCIUM, MAGNESIUM, ZINC, COPPER.' Good times.[/Quote]

Bahahahhahhahahahha!

Anyways , I've been an A student in almost every subject , got 10 a's in mocks but feel I did much worse in the actual JC , let's hope not !

It neny! wrote: »
    Yeah during my Science exam I jumped out of my chair and started an impromptu conga line shouting 'CALCIUM, MAGNESIUM, ZINC, COPPER.' Good times.

Did anyone's phone go off? I know during the mocks this fella in our class left his phone on and it started playing the Mario theme tune, had everyone in stitches :p

Anyways , I've been an A student in almost every subject , got 10 a's in mocks but feel I did much worse in the actual JC , let's hope not ![/QUOTE]

WHAA???? I got 1 A in the mocks, and I think the teach was being nice :o

SChique00 wrote: »
    It neny! wrote: »

Did anyone's phone go off? I know during the mocks this fella in our class left his phone on and it started playing the Mario theme tune, had everyone in stitches :p

Anyways , I've been an A student in almost every subject , got 10 a's in mocks but feel I did much worse in the actual JC , let's hope not !

WHAA???? I got 1 A in the mocks, and I think the teach was being nice :o[/Quote]

I got 9 As in the pre mocks and like 6 in the mocks, god knows what I got in the jc :L

I've been thinking a lot more about results lately, overthinking central. Latest worry is that my handwriting for English was so bad that the examiner will automatically hate me and do everything in his/her power to mark me down. I'm not sure if this is irrational or not. Regardless, sigh.