Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is ireland missing thats makes life abit better?

• 13-08-2011 11:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭

What is ireland missing that makes life abit better?

I Think its the poor selection of shops (outside dublin anyway) And proper shopping centers with good shops. -
    Poor transportation system, if you lived say in Dingle and say you wanted to go to cork how the hell would you get their without a car? -
    Beaches and family resort's (Example: Brighton) A Lovely family resort with everything you could think of, Irish beaches are missing shops and things to do, Brighton has a great selection of shops and a amusement park on the pier
    Lack of money acourse - Thats another thing lack of money for people to do stuff

What else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Good looking women who don't think they deserve stuff because they're good looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭Caraville

WTF is with all the underlining? Is this stuff going to be on the Junior Cert????

All that Ireland needs is a little more sunshine. It's a beautiful country, but when the sun comes out, it's so much better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

more positive people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

I wonder how you would put underlined text into spoken form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

Not enough places are open 24 hours :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

If we had a higher population density, all of the things OP mentioned could exist and be sustainable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭demakinz

The Sun.

I wonder how you would put underlined text into spoken form.

or italics even

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Cuban cigars.

Cuban rum.

Cuban women.

Cuban weather.

Feck it lads, lets invade Cuba.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

Cheap booze and beer gardens to drink it in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Saila wrote: »
    or italics even

Or both. And colourful...

If we had a higher population density, all of the things OP mentioned could exist and be sustainable.

I blame the migrants that left during the famine :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭dirtypanties

Rollercoasters!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Decent weather

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Saila wrote: »
    or italics even

Especially bold

KeithM89 wrote: »

That would sound like a teenage girl.

Or a really camp man like Jack from "Will and Grace".

KeithM89 wrote: »

and BOLD!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

It would be a great little country if we could just put a roof over it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

Theme parks.

Something to do at night that doesn't involve sitting at home or going to the pub.

And decent (id even settle for predictable) weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

RobitTV wrote: »

I Think its the poor selection of shops (outside dublin anyway) And proper shopping centers with good shops. -
    Poor transportation system, if you lived say in Dingle and say you wanted to go to cork how the hell would you get their without a car? -
    Beaches and family resort's (Example: Brighton) A Lovely family resort with everything you could think of, Irish beaches are missing shops and things to do, Brighton has a great selection of shops and a amusement park on the pier
    Lack of money acourse - Thats another thing lack of money for people to do stuff

What else?

So your main needs are shops and transportation to shops. ?

O
    K

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

The top-right Nordy bit.

Nah I'm kidding, Her Madge can have that, lovely lady.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Magnets, we need more magnets!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Ireland needs more underlined text.

you know then people would pay more attention to things and stuff:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,705 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

less bankers and more any honest politicians

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Speaking as someone who left the country and misses it every day:

---Things that probably will never happen---
    Less rain.
    There was a guy on AH earlier today giving out why there are no Shopping centres in Galway. Roof Shop Street, and you have all you need right there. Why do we need to roof it? Because of the rain.

Warmer water.
    According to friends of mine, Ireland is one of the top ten destinations for surfing. Warmer waters in the Atlantic, and we could be one of the top 3. Cue loads of geologists telling us that waves would not be as big if it was warmer. .

---Things that could happen---
    24 hour anything would really be nice.
    If I remember correctly, Tesco had one 24 hour place in Dublin, but couldnt sell alcohol after ten. There were a handful of Spars open late and that was it. If I finished work at 2 AM and wanted a quick pint before I went to bed there was no-where, even in the capital city. Thats poor form.
    If there was one place that delivered food between 1am and 7am they would clean up.

Being able to go to A&E, as in Accident and Emergency, and leaving within an hour, and not just be a delivery driver would be nice too.

Cheaper, safer, more reliable transport.
    What more can I say?

Dodgy politicians, corrupt bankers, corrupt officials, every country have them. I see threads here, every day going "What does Ireland need?". The answer is, nothing. A lot of countries are in the same economic situation as us, how we deal with it defines us. And thats all I have to say about that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Uderlined sentences are supposed to highlight their importance, but for what ever reason, they seem to have the complete opposite effect with me.

I just ignore or have blind spot for them.

Possibly because they are really annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 WorldSocksBox

Peanut Butter M&Ms, GenCon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

A spot of sunshine
    A glimmer of hope
    A scoop of wealth
    A herd of single hot women

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Decent bands and solo artists. In the seventies there was the likes of Rory Gallagher and Horslips. Now we have Jedward. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

Decent bands and solo artists. In the seventies there was the likes of Rory Gallagher and Horslips. Now we have Jedward. :(

I reckon they're still out there but the radio stations don't play them anymore like they used to.

syklops wrote: »
    And thats all I have to say about that.

Oh my God! You're him, aren't you?? This guy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭nocal

Porcupines.

/end thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Jedward are musically awful, but they're a funny pair of lads.

But there's still decent Irish musicians about the place. You might not have the time to discover them, but that doesn't mean that they don't exist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Blind women with low standards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

-to lighten up a bit. I'm a messer, always was, don't really have a serious bone in my body, and everywhere, Irish people look at me like I have two heads. I love the weather, nice and variable. Love the people mostly-nice and variable, hate all the red tape, hate how we run with every rule and regulation, hate the whole "joe Duffy, get the compo, screw the angles" attitude. Lighten up a bit, oh yeah, and drown Ray Darcy in a pool of Gay Byrnes p1ss.

Uderlined sentences are supposed to highlight their importance, but for what ever reason, they seem to have the complete opposite effect with me.

I just ignore or have blind spot for them.

Possibly because they are really annoying.

you must really love reading this then..in all its amazing pointlessness rambing going nowhere bollox

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

What is ireland missing that makes life a bit better?

Beaches and family resort's (Example: Brighton) A Lovely family resort with everything you could think of,

:eek::eek:

Have you ever actually been to Brighton OP ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

ban condoms till 2021!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭FTGFOP

What is ireland missing?
    FTGFOP wrote: »
    Sure 'tis grand!

Well said, me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

CorkMan wrote: »
    ban condoms till 2021!

Looks like someone recently bought shares in a coat-hanger manufacturer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Caraville wrote: »
    Oh my God! You're him, aren't you?? This guy!!

No, but I had been watching the movie about 3 hours previously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 aj2595

Has to be the weather - more sun would help a lot...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

CorkMan wrote: »
    ban condoms till 2021!

We'd all be disease ridden and go sterile from sti's, so it would cancel out any population growth.

Ireland is missing nice weather.
    And I really wish we had more drugs- medicinal ones.
    Hardly anything is licensed for use here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

German Efficiency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭fat__tony

Where does one start;

Skilled jobs and opportunities for young people
    Competent public services such as health and transport
    Decent weather
    Strong government

etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

An intolerance of mediocrity.

The "ah sure tis grand" attitude is one of the things I hate about this country.

(No offence to AhSureTisGrand) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭fat__tony

An intolerance of mediocrity.

The "ah sure tis grand" attitude is one of the things I hate about this country.

(No offence to AhSureTisGrand) :D

It sums up the spineless nature of the general population as a whole in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭inkwell

Pedestrian crossings! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭FetchTheGin

Decent Weather and jobs mostly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

snow storms in the summer..