Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When getting a taxi do you..

• 13-08-2011 1:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭

I normally pay about 16 quid to come home from town, lately I just walk along the rank and ask them to bring me home for a tenner, the last fella in the que normally gladly obliges.

After that, I'd never get into a taxi I didn't want to get into.

Got me thinking, whats most important to you when ya get a taxi?? Cheapest one possible (doing a deal on the fare) or getting the best taxi available?

When getting a taxi do you.... 51 votes

Get the cheapest one possible.
    0% 0 votes
    Get the nicest taxi possible.
    100% 51 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I'm a disaster when I'm locked and getting a Taxi, I always look for a car I like along the rank, or failing that one with a radio so I can have a bit of craic with the operator if I can wrangle it from the driver.

90% of the time the drivers send you to the car at the top of the queue though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

I Was VB wrote: »
    Got me thinking, whats most important to you when ya get a taxi?? Cheapest one possible (doing a deal on the fare) or getting the best taxi available?

On price, I just expect to pay whats on the meter, you don't ask tesco to do you a deal on your sliced pan.

Only other concern is that the vehicle is capable of bringing me to my destination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Gary ITR wrote: »
    I'm a disaster when I'm locked and getting a Taxi

Yes, yes you are.

Bit of a hit and miss. On friday i landed myself in a horible old E300 Turbodiesel with a wobbly front right wheel.

Last night a 2011 Superb, very nice ride home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Usually price is the main thing as my pockets are usually empty at the end of the night. However theres one African chap I always look out for in a clean Rover 75 in a top spec, an incredibly refined car and he always charges me a tenner.

cisk wrote: »
    Bit of a hit and miss. On friday i landed myself in a horible old E300 Turbodiesel with a wobbly front right wheel.

Last night a 2011 Superb, very nice ride home.

See now there's people on here who would cream themselves over a old Merc as a taxi more so pass over a Skoda to get to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Can you add in "get whatever is at the top of the queue"

Yes, yes you are.

Here I only nearly got you arrested :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

When getting a Taxi in Dublin do you:

Get in the front
    Get in the back

I noticed a lot recently in Dublin that people seem to get in the back of the Taxi. Seems a bit strange because most of the country seem to get in the front of the taxis except Dubs. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

We live out in the stix so a taxi fare from the city after a night out usually costs us about €25/30 each way. My misses usually does the negotiations as she doesn't really drink that much. :) We usually flag one down as ranks can be a bit hectic but if they will not budge on the price we will just move to the next one. Can be difficult at times as most taxis prefer to stick to city runs as they can make more money from the shorter journeys.

Regarding what type of taxi, don't really care as long as it gets us home in one piece. Not interested in looking up and down the street waiting for a S-Class Merc to appear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Its more of a city thing.
    Anywhere else you jump in the passenger seat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Monty.

Atari Jaguar.

Most people take the first car in the queue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

I live in the sticks and only have one taxi man so I cant choose....:)

Any time I am in the smoke I look for a Carina E...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

After a few drinks im usually in a haggling kind of mood. The black guys will nearly always cut you a deal.

I never get them. The old lad drove cabs for a good few years, any guy on their own who sat:D:D in the back he used to add a euro or two onto the fare, chauffeur drive charge :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

i always jump in the front of a taxi

if i turn up to a rank and there are a Que of taxi's.. i generally just take the one at the front.... unless its a heap of shoite of a car then i look down the rank.

i posted the story here before of the last time i did that i ended up with a lovely volvo S60 with heated leather seats and so on :)

I've never haggled a taxi fare ever...... now you do get the odd joe that when your at your destination and the meter says €21.45 the driver will just call it €20 to save the hassle of change.... usually end up with €22 if thats the case as a tip.

every taxi driver i get seem to be sound lads and we all get on great discussing cars and taxi's and so on. i remember a driver with only one leg who recommended me a dealer at the airport for a car (great dealer and so on but didnt the car i wanted :( )

or deadly polish chap who had a fiat van and i just said to him "Why ?.... why would you do that to yourself ?" ... he was great craic and said he got a great deal on it as it was his first.

I've only ever had a problem with one taxi driver from Lucan taxi's who picked me and friends up in town (we always get taxi's home and we're never any bother !) we dropped one friend off and went on the way ... we clearly told him "head back to the liffey and head down the quays and the N4 straight to Power City" ... he said "no... we'll go up this way, down conigham road through chapilizod and down the arse end of nowhere then onto the N4." and he did.... i did not take this lightly... i argued with him the entire time and took the regulation book on his ass that he ignored my instructions to go where i told him to go. of course when we were at our destination it was atleast €5 more than any other time... so i took a fiver off the meter cos he was a **** and didn't do his job right.
    only thing i regret is i didn't get his license plate and report him.

other than that though the lads are great craic :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

I always try pick the nicest taxi i can, something id like to own annd thats been looked after , normally the drivers of 5 series , GS300s etc in good nick are into their cars and you can have a good chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I pick the nicest car, that battered Carina at the top of the rank is getting skipped

I don't tend to haggle at ranks, no need when I can call up one of those 20% discount firms

mikemac wrote: »
    I pick the nicest car, that battered Carina at the top of the rank is getting skipped

I don't tend to haggle at ranks, no need when I can call up one of those 20% discount firms

What would happen if ya called a 20% off firm and a batterd Carina graced you with its presence??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I will try to avoid any carina e at this stage. My opinion is that a man making a living out of the car should be able to provide a reasonable one, something over 5k at least should be manageable for all drivers.
    Last taxi I got in dublin was an 07 focus diesel. Was a reasonable car for the job and wasnt going to break the bank either although a car from the class above is a better choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

What would happen if ya called a 20% off firm and a batterd Carina graced you with its presence??

I'd use it, I'm not sending the driver away
    If I'm not paying the full meter price I'm not so pushed about the car.

Graced my presence? You're making me look a snob :confused:

I don't haggle at ranks though the regulator encourages it so good luck to those who do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 spurskiely

Always sit in the front of taxi . Thought every did . ??????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

spurskiely wrote: »
    Always sit in the front of taxi . Thought every did . ??????

i actually recall once an oulwan giving out about a guy she saw standing on the path and hailed a taxi. he put his suitcase in the back seat and then sat in the front... i thought myself it was perfectly fine

but this cow just wanted to complain about it ! :pac:

I don't haggle at ranks though the regulator encourages it so good luck to those who do

Do they? Surely the receipt can't be adjusted though, so if the fare is €12 the receipt says €12, can the driver claim he was haggled down to €9 so?

mickdw wrote: »
    I will try to avoid any carina e at this stage.

Thank god!!
    I'd use it, I'm not sending the driver away
    If I'm not paying the full meter price I'm not so pushed about the car.

Graced my presence? You're making me look a snob :confused:

Kinda what this thread is about, just wanted to see if people wanted to get from point a-b for as cheap as possible not that i'll be adapting the ryanair business model to me driving my joe.

Thank god!!

LMAO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Called a taxi one night down home, Polish lad driving a 08 Civic 2.2 diesel shows up, he was great craic, asked him how he found the Civic, he gestures at the dash and goes "it fantastic, like driving spaceship" :D

There's a local driver to me, another Polish lad, drives a 06 Vectra, drives like a maniac, I think his sole mission is to get people home as fast as possible, always rounds whatever the pices on the meter is down. If there's no taxis on the street at the end of the night, or if I'm not out in town I'll always give him a shout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Get in to the first one I see.

SV wrote: »
    Get in to the first one I see.

So you take the same approach to taxis as you to to your women?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭stealthyspeeder

Compared to walking or getting the bus or taking your own car, taxis are so expensive. If I'm not in a rush and sober when getting a taxi (which occurs about 5-10% time :o ), I would look for the nicest cab on the rank, cause if I'm paying for the one of the most expensive means of transport it makes me feel like I'm getting better value!

The rest of the time I usually need to get somewhere quickly so will pick the 1st cab I see, or I'm drunk and don't give a hoot what taxi brings me home!

What ever is at the front of the queue or what ever stops for me. Given the choice between a wreck with a cheaper fare and a nice new car Id always take the wreck with the cheaper fare.

Always get in the back too, feel more comfortable in the back so even getting a taxi on my own always get in the back. I would have thought taxi drivers would prefer this too anyway.

See now there's people on here who would cream themselves over a old Merc as a taxi more so pass over a Skoda to get to it.

I agree, i have a W208 CLK myself. But this E300 was knackered and the wobbling in the front wasnt good after so many pints :D

The Superb was very impressive on the inside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

So you take the same approach to taxis as you to to your women?

More or less yeah!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

What ever taxi I'd get in, it wouldn't be yours CarinaBoy.

VolvoMan wrote: »

Speaking from experience I'd gladly get into his Corona, I know for a fact it's well maintained and it'll get me home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

Speaking from experience I'd gladly get into his Corona, I know for a fact it's well maintained and it'll get me home.

I'm sorry, but I believe that a taxi driver should take pride in his job and that should mean investing in a decent car. I love old cars, but when handing over twenty-thirty euro after a late night journey home from town I expect a taxi to be something decent rather than a rattly and unrefined old JDM Corona.

I will try to avoid any carina e at this stage. My opinion is that a man making a living out of the car should be able to provide a reasonable one, something over 5k at least should be manageable for all drivers...................
    I'm sorry, but I believe that a taxi driver should take pride in his job and that should mean investing in a decent car. I love old cars, but when handing over twenty-thirty euro after a late night journey home from town I expect a taxi to be something decent rather than a rattly and unrefined old JDM Corona.

<yoink>

Swearfilter dude....

why is my img not working

ah well

Swearfilter dude....

that's kinda cool in fairness to the swear filter :)

RoverJames wrote: »
    that's kinda cool in fairness to the swear filter :)

<someone say something?>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

WTF just happened??? Anyway, you can say what you like about the inputs et cetera, but to me taxis in Ireland are expensive, so logicallym given the choice, I'm not going to pay the same for a ****ty Carina as I would for a decent newer, more luxurious all round better car. I don't care if you're Corona is well maintained or that you take pride in it, I just want to get into a nice car when I am paying what is for me top dollar. I don't think that's unreasonable and I'm not trying to offend but that's my attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭antocann

i haggle withthem , most of them accept as their more than happy for the fare.

:( Aww, and we could had some amazo chats too....

So what do you expect a taxi to be??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,480 ✭✭✭Kamili

I'm surprised nobody thinks about safety when getting a taxi, personally I'd prefer a newer car with proper safety features than a battered old carina. It scares me how old some of the taxis are.

Least if the taxi is involved in an accident an airbag might soften the blow.

Maybe I'm just odd...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jay-me

I just take the one at the top of the queue and never haggle:confused: Thought this was the way it was supposed to be.

Kamili wrote: »
    I'm surprised nobody thinks about safety when getting a taxi, personally I'd prefer a newer car with proper safety features than a battered old carina. It scares me how old some of the taxis are.

Least if the taxi is involved in an accident an airbag might soften the blow.

Maybe I'm just odd...

When your on top of your head with drink, which is when most people get taxi's, getting home is the priority that sort of stuff doesn't even enter your head.

I've been in 18 seater minibuses with 30 people going home from nightclubs, which is lethal dangerous but it doesn't enter your head at 3am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

On price, I just expect to pay whats on the meter, you don't ask tesco to do you a deal on your sliced pan.

That's foolish IMO, I live about 3-4 miles outside of the city and I'm ****ed if I'm paying 18 euro to come home! If tesco would bargain on their bread I'm haggle them down too.

I didn't vote, I'd normally head for the cheapest (if it's a quite night and people are up for bargaining) but I won't get into a ****box at the same time when there's other lads running much newer cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

I love old cars, but when handing over twenty-thirty euro after a late night journey home from town I expect a taxi to be something decent rather than a rattly and unrefined old JDM Corona.
    My opinion is that a man making a living out of the car should be able to provide a reasonable one, something over 5k at least should be manageable for all drivers.
    Last taxi I got in dublin was an 07 focus diesel. Was a reasonable car for the job and wasnt going to break the bank either although a car from the class above is a better choice.

Lads, I'm from in the sticks and before I could afford taxis (and before a great firm opened in the town), you could be an hour waiting on a lift home. And yeah, I remember plenty of over-crowding, deathtrap minibuses (or cars) and circuitous routes leaving other people home etc.

I also remember (not so long ago) in Dublin and how hard it was to get a taxi at night - the queues all around College Green when you just wanted to go home and sleep/shag/sober up.

OK, you're paying your money and it's nice to get the nicest ride for the job but seriously lads, ye're feckin spoiled when it comes to taxis at the moment. I'm regularly left home by a well maintained 10 yr old 406 and a dog-earred old Scorpio. Nae bother, nothing wrong with 'em.

Lilly-livered suburban pansies:D...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,480 ✭✭✭Kamili

When your on top of your head with drink, which is when most people get taxi's, getting home is the priority that sort of stuff doesn't even enter your head.

I've been in 18 seater minibuses with 30 people going home from nightclubs, which is lethal dangerous but it doesn't enter your head at 3am.

Lucky for me I don't drink! That said I was constantly being asked to drive people home.

Got a two seater which put an end to that.

Still I dunno how some taxi's are still allowed on the roads...