Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This weeks LOI

• 12-08-2011 11:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭

19:45 Bray Wanderers ? - ? Galway
    19:45 Derry City ? - ? St. Patricks
    19:45 Drogheda United ? - ? Dundalk
    20:00 Shamrock Rovers ? - ? UC Dublin

Gonna be a tough game wonder which team will turn up. And again any mistakes and pats fans will start abusing them.

Great craic being a pats fan this season, take a draw but reckon we be well beaten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,203 ✭✭✭shanec1928

rovers v bohs Saturday:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

There must be a little pain deep inside that you will never acknowledge when you realize that the vast majority of casual users here are reading that and confusedly thinking, didn't they play each other last Friday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

copy and paste from livescore, usually let the sligo fans post their game and the shels post that other league.

Good chance to pull away the night with the others hopefully dropping points over the weekend.

Which just means a dour 0-1 defeat to UCD of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Hoping to see a few goals at Tallaght tonight and put the pressure back on the other sides around us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭born2bwild

Gonna head up to Hunky Dory's - I reckon Drogheda will take them. Dundalk have been destroyed by injuries and Drogheda are gelling lately.

dreamers75 wrote: »
    19:45 Bray Wanderers ? - ? Galway
    19:45 Derry City ? - ? St. Patricks
    19:45 Drogheda United ? - ? Dundalk
    20:00 Shamrock Rovers ? - ? UC Dublin

Gonna be a tough game wonder which team will turn up. And again any mistakes and pats fans will start abusing them.

Great craic being a pats fan this season, take a draw but reckon we be well beaten.
    Well, I'm fairly sure Derry will show up. Pat's...?

Derry is 3.5 hours by bus... Ukraine is 3.5 hours by plane....

I guess negotiations for appearance fees and expenses will go down to the wire.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Saturday game means I can actually get to a decent away game for a change :)

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

wonder which team will turn up.

The teams that get paid, possibly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

First Division:

Friday, 12 Aug 2011
    19:45 - Cork City vs. Wexford Youths, Turners Cross, Cork,
    19:45 - Waterford United vs. Athlone Town, Regional Sports Centre (RSC), Waterford,

Saturday, 13 Aug 2011
    19:00 - Salthill Devon vs. Mervue United, Drom, Drom,
    19:30 - Longford Town vs. Shelbourne, Flancare Park, Longford, LONGFORD
    19:45 - Finn Harps vs. Limerick, Finn Park, DONEGAL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

stovelid wrote: »
    The teams that get paid, possibly.

They all got paid they always do, its the wanting stuff they aint entitled to and then threatening an illegal strike thats leaving a sour taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭WindmillWarrior

Reckon the Louth derby could be a cracker tonight. We are in savage form at the minute, playing some lovely ball. And D*ndalk try and play a bit as well I suppose
    A win, and a UCD loss at Rovers, and we overtake the students... 2-1 Drogs! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Gavinsfc

Must win for Shels tomorrow!

Gavinsfc wrote: »

That you, Gav? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

how did you get in here with eleven posts and August 2011 join date :eek:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Good chance to pull away the night with the others hopefully dropping points over the weekend.

Which just means a dour 0-1 defeat to UCD of course.

The two games against UCDD so far have been difficult until the first goal, especially in Tallaght where they should've been at least 0-1 up and then three goals in five minutes. Tight game at Belfield until the first goal and red card..

If the first goal goes in, I'd hope Rovers can break in a few goals which hasn't bee nhappening a lot recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Shels are seven points clear! Not exactly a must win situation!

First of two Louth derbies this month being played this evening. Tough game to call. Drogs way better now than they were a couple of months ago. Funnily enough their turnaround started with a win over our boys in Oriel Park a while back.

Old Dundalk boy Tiernan Mulvenna playing some great stuff for them. If he keeps this up he'll be back to his spiritual home within a year or two.

Reckon it'll be a 1-1 draw tonight. We're not playing great in fairness. We've been drawing the majority of our away games lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Gavinsfc

That you, Gav? :)

Tis, my Gavin "shels" account is screwed and I can't log in and well Boards take their time replying to emails.:D
    Des wrote: »
    how did you get in here with eleven posts and August 2011 join date :eek:

:cool:
    Pighead wrote: »
    Shels are seven points clear! Not exactly a must win situation!

Gotta get losing out of our system, and with 2 weeks without a League match after tomorrow we need a win imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Saturday game means I can actually get to a decent away game for a change :)

I think all games should be played on Saturdays at 7.

They all got paid they always do, its the wanting stuff they aint entitled to and then threatening an illegal strike thats leaving a sour taste.

Don't get on their backs tonight will ya? You need to do well against Derry. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=1915
    Shelbourne FC are delighted to announce the signing of 22 year old Brazilian striker David Da Silva from Birkirkara FC Malta where he scored in this year's Europa League preliminary round.
    David goes straight into the squad for tomorrow night's game against Longford Town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

As long as he works out better than our last South American import.

Hands up who remembers Juan Sara?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

dan1895 wrote: »
    As long as he works out better than our last South American import.

Hands up who remembers Juan Sara?

o/

Des wrote: »
    o/

Now hands up who remembers him playing a match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,959 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Don't worry Cork, Birmingham had a similar blip the week after a giantkilling in a cup final too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Jaysus four goals in eight minutes for Rovers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭Pure_Cork

CSF wrote: »
    Don't worry Cork, Birmingham had a similar blip the week after a giantkilling in a cup final too.

It was Limerick that we beat in the cup semi-final, wouldn't consider them giants, but they are more important to a national league than the likes of Shels / UCD.

Pure_Cork wrote: »
    It was Limerick that we beat in the cup semi-final, wouldn't consider them giants, but they are more important to a national league than the likes of Shels / UCD.
    Yeah they'll probably go up with us in 2nd spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,658 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

4-0 to Bray, finally some points. Helped with Galway having 10 men for the whole match.

Galway team, feel sorry for them. Their number 10 doesnt help them at all. Two great one-on-one stops from each keeper.

So glad to have Quigley back in goals, irs been too long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Sucker punched at the Cross.

The Shed end in the middle of the "ponzon" celebration when Wexford equalised.

Fecking edjits.

Daryl Horgan was amazing. Best player to play for City since George O'Callaghan.

Derek O'Brien would want to cop on. Can't react to his own supporters like he did tonight.

Yeah they'll probably go up with us in 2nd spot.

I dunno, they'll have it tough away to Monaghan and yourselves, anything could happen.

Ah sure we might just let them win to piss yous off.

What sort of fan would want his own club to throw a match? We couldn't give a ****e about anyone else's results tbh, we just have to look after our own, need to do better than tonight though.

A fan who is joking would do such a despicable thing. We've still 5 games left after Limerick like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭legendary.xix

It's all well and good Rovers getting 6 tonight but will they improve on their one solitary goal in Europe this season?

Derek O'Brien would want to cop on. Can't react to his own supporters like he did tonight.
    What did he do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

First half of the Rovers game was probably the worst 45 minutes of football I've sat through. The 6 goals in the second half only just about made up for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Frisbee wrote: »
    First half of the Rovers game was probably the worst 45 minutes of football I've sat through. The 6 goals in the second half only just about made up for it.
    Hear, Hear. UCD were well in it but collapsed entirely after the first goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

Great game tonight between Drogheda and Dundalk.

Yeh with all those cups and leagues they've won and their European adventures.

NufcNavan wrote: »
    Great game tonight between Drogheda and Dundalk.
    Was a great match, yeah. Dundalk didn't really deserve a point. Still Jayo Byrne does sfa for the whole match then produces a little touch of genius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

born2bwild wrote: »
    Was a great match, yeah. Dundalk didn't really deserve a point. Still Jayo Byrne does sfa for the whole match then produces a little touch of genius.
    Ah I dunno, they were the better team for the first 20 minutes and saw enough of the ball in the 2nd half to merit a point. Still though, could have went either way.

Was a fantastic finish from Byrne alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Daryl Horgan was amazing. Best player to play for City since George O'Callaghan.
    Great to hear. He'll tear the premier apart next year.

What did he do?

He took a low percentage pile driver that managed to go into the opposing stand along the sidelines.

It was a the wrong option.

Cue the voices of frustration from the stands. Jokingly someone started a "What the f****** hell was that" chant.

Derek was not to happy with this and proceeded to give the cold stare to the crowd and I presume cursed under his breath.

He's been playing long enough to realise you just get on with it.

Thought he actually put in some cracking crosses tonight but our strikers did not convert. But he then ran out of steam and was slow to get back for the last 20 minutes.

AgileMyth wrote: »
    Great to hear. He'll tear the premier apart next year.

Have a feeling Paul Cook won't be letting us have him anyway.

I know its only the 1st division but you can just see the way he plays the game that he is an exceptional talent.

Players like him a few and far between.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

All three games against UCD have been tight for nearly 165 minutes at 0-0, then 15 goals scored in the other 100 minutes. UCD were fine until the first goal again. The first half was not good.

He took a low percentage pile driver that managed to go into the opposing stand along the sidelines.

It was a the wrong option.

Cue the voices of frustration from the stands. Jokingly someone started a "What the f****** hell was that" chant.

Derek was not to happy with this and proceeded to give the cold stare to the crowd and I presume cursed under his breath.

He's been playing long enough to realise you just get on with it.

Thought he actually put in some cracking crosses tonight but our strikers did not convert. But he then ran out of steam and was slow to get back for the last 20 minutes.
    Ah jaysus I thought he'd have done more than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

Mushy wrote: »
    Their number 10 doesnt help them at all.

Who was no. 10 tonight? Position? Description?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,658 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Who was no. 10 tonight? Position? Description?

Mouth-piece, started full forward but dropped back a bit. Either big frame or carrying a few pounds. Bit of a chancer really.

Think its Enda Curren.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,993 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Poor result tonight, pity we couldn't hang on for 3pts against our 'bogey' team - plenty of more points to play for but 2 most certainly dropped tonight.