Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Supercopa de España

• 11-08-2011 11:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭

Real Madrid -v- Barça, Bernabéu , 14th Aug, 9pm

Barça -v- Real Madrid, Camp Nou, 17th Aug, 10pm

Busquets and Pique picked up injuries last night and are doubtful at the moment as is Xavi who was injured on monday.

Puyo probably wont be featuring also.

Alexis, Mascherano, Alves, Adriano and Messi should all be available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Live on Sky???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,399 ✭✭✭sonic85

kfallon wrote: »
    Live on Sky???

first leg is on the 14th at 8.55pm on SS1. second leg is on the 17th at 9.55pm on SS2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Nice one!

Welcome back Spanish football :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Who's going to present the Revista?

Hopefully not Ballbague

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Presumably should Real win this they will have another open top bus tour through Madrid.

Presumably should Real lose this the London riots and the US economy will be blamed as well as proof that Guardiola bribed evryone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,880 ✭✭✭✭dahat

What Madrid player will get sent off to let Jose start the season on a rant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,974 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I'll be in Spain for the 17th. Does the rest of the country go nuts for this game too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

kfallon wrote: »
    Nice one!

Welcome back Spanish football :D

They'll be the only 2 matches for the next 2 weeks.

The Spanish players association going on strike for 2 weeks so no games I don't think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

mars bar wrote: »
    I'll be in Spain for the 17th. Does the rest of the country go nuts for this game too?

Nuts? - Its the equivalent of the charity shield ffs!

Fair enough you wanna beat your biggest rivals but it aint worth a **** truth be told.

Bragging rights perhaps?

I suppose Madrid could say they won another minor title to add to the copa del rey.

From a Barça viewpoint there aint nothing much to brag about a Supercopa when you are already champions of Spain and Europe beating your biggest rival to both.

I think Spain as well as the whole of Europe was pretty much sick of El Clásico after the 5 meetings last season.

Del Bosque summed up the mood of the country when he said he has a pain in his hole with all the commotion at this stage.

Interestingly, Barça have over 20,000 tickets still on sale - Madrid soldout a couple of weeks ago - pretty much sums up how both sets of supporters view it.

If this were a liga, champions or copa match that would have soldout within an hour - instead we have tickets on sale since 18th July.

redout wrote: »
    Nuts? - Its the equivalent of the charity shield ffs!

Fair enough you wanna beat your biggest rivals but it aint worth a **** truth be told.

Bragging rights perhaps?

I suppose Madrid could say they won another minor title to add to the copa del rey.

From a Barça viewpoint there aint nothing much to brag about a Supercopa when you are already champions of Spain and Europe beating your biggest rival to both.

I think Spain as well as the whole of Europe was pretty much sick of El Clásico after the 5 meetings last season.

Del Bosque summed up the mood of the country when he said he has a pain in his hole with all the commotion at this stage.

Interestingly, Barça have over 20,000 tickets still on sale - Madrid soldout a couple of weeks ago - pretty much sums up how both sets of supporters view it.

If this were a liga, champions or copa match that would have soldout within an hour - instead we have tickets on sale since 18th July.

Thanks for the info. Didn't expect to get such a shpeil though! :P

Pique and Xavi back in training this morning - Busquets still a doubt.

I wonder have they remembered to cut and water the pitch this time :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

As an Arsenal fan, Madrid are suddenly my second team. Come on Real.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

gimmick wrote: »
    Presumably should Real lose this the London riots and the US economy will be blamed as well as proof that Guardiola bribed evryone.

Unicef, UEFA, drug taking, referees too...anything we've missed out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

I reckon Barca'll lose this, they'll need a few more weeks to get match sharpness back, whereas Real look like a well oiled machine.

dfx- wrote: »
    Unicef, UEFA, drug taking, referees too...anything we've missed out?

Dont forget the fixture list, Villar's influence with UEFA and the fact Barça are so nice are all apparently part of the never ending conspiracies list :D

Oh and we had the doctored videos also.........:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Dont forget the fixture list, Villar's influence with UEFA and the fact Barça are so nice are all apparently part of the never ending conspiracies list :D

Oh and we had the doctored videos also.........:rolleyes:

Ah none of that. Just, as Fr. Dougal would say, ye are a shower of b@stards.

Barça squad:
    Valdés, Pinto, Abidal, Alves, Mascherano, Puyol, Fontàs, Piqué, Maxwell, Adriano, Busquets, Iniesta, Keita, Xavi, Thiago, Afellay, Pedro, Villa, Messi, Alexis, Montoya, Jonathan, Muniesa.

Busquets did not train this morning so still doubtful.

Puyo and Affelay still injured.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

Pique and Xavi back in training this morning - Busquets still a doubt.

I wonder have they remembered to cut and water the pitch this time :rolleyes:

At least the pitch will be grand and comfy for Alves, Busquets, etc.

CorkMan wrote: »
    At least the pitch will be grand and comfy for Alves, Busquets, etc.

Aye, god knows they will need all the protection they can get should another Pepe kung-fu masterclass come to pass.

I wonder if Iniesta will be fit.

Aye, god knows they will need all the protection they can get should another Pepe kung-fu masterclass come to pass.

Sure they are well used to hitting the deck. Shouldn't matter what the ground is like...

Ah no, Pepe's "tackle" was ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Ye could always turn the sprinklers on him if he steps out of line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

Pepe the git that tore shreds off a Getafe players back and cowered away from it after the match. Hate the guy he's a total dicksqueezer.

Fingers crossed for a solid Barcelona win tonight. VISCA BARCA! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Davaeo09

Any one know what channels this will be on tonight?:pac: I have sky but not the sports package but i'm praying itv or some body will have it. Unlikely I know but im sick of watching crappy streams.

:mad::pac::cool:

Pep remains unbeaten and the Bernabeau as manager :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Few stats from Opta;
    4 - Madrid have won the Supercopa on every occasion that they have faced Barca (88, 90, 93, 97). Clasico.
    5 - Five of the last six Supercopas have been won by the side that won the league. Titles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

It's on Al Jazeera Sports +2 at 8:15pm and +3 at 8:30pm with full studio coverage (probably Gary Lineker hosting). Not sure on FTA channels sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

Pyongyang wrote: »
    It's on Al Jazeera Sports +2 at 8:15pm and +3 at 8:30pm with full studio coverage (probably Gary Lineker hosting). Not sure on FTA channels sorry.

Sarah Stone tweeted that she is doing the presenting. :D

I wonder if Kaká will play. He has to be 100% fit because he didn't play the Copa America and only played parts of the Real's world tour. It will be interesting to see who plays at LB.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Not too bothered one way or other tbh. Nice to win but more important to not get injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

p_larkin99 wrote: »
    Sarah Stone tweeted that she is doing the presenting. :D

Better not be a woman presenting on Sky or the tv will be going out the window.

Any word yet on the starting line-ups? Surely they've been released by now?

THFC wrote: »
    Any word yet on the starting line-ups? Surely they've been released by now?

Nothing on the usual twitter channels or Marca.com

Real Madrid starting 11:

Casillas; Ramos, Carvalho, Pepe, Marcelo; Khedira, Alonso; Özil, Di Maria, Ronaldo; Benzema.

(Pepe is apparently in defence and not midfield, interesting decision.)

Barcelona starting 11:

Valdés; Alves, Mascherano, Abidal, Adriano; Iniesta, Keita, Thiago; Villa, Messi, A.Sánchez

I wonder how much oil will be missing from Barca's engine with Xaxi not playing.

Barça lineup:
    Valdés; Alves, Mascherano, Abidal, Adriano; Keita, Thiago, Iniesta; Messi, Villa, Alexis

Have to say a bit shocked to see no Xavi, Pique or Pedro.

Busquets was always a doubt.

Delighted for Thiago though - Alexis debut also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭eugeneious

Scott Minto is the new Spanish football anchor on sky :(

new anchor man:

http://twitpic.com/665dr1

FFS. Why did they get rid of Mark Bolton?

new anchor man:

http://twitpic.com/665dr1

FFS. Why did they get rid of Mark Bolton?

They wouldnt renew his contract cause he wasnt one of the Sky boys :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭shano_88

Excited to see how Sanchez and Messi play together. Could be amazing

Can't wait for this, wish Cesc was good to go for it. Apparently he'll be in attendance though. Still expect Barca to dominate the game even with all the injuries and what not, but I reckon Real will win this leg. 2-1 in a feisty, heated affair :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Looking forward to seeing Sanchez. Brilliant player.

Hopefully this is a good match now, come on Real!

Benzema has been on form, and apparently he lost a stone in a 5000 euro week away in a retreat.

THFC wrote: »
    Can't wait for this, wish Cesc was good to go for it. Apparently he'll be in attendance though. Still expect Barca to dominate the game even with all the injuries and what not, but I reckon Real will win this leg. 2-1 in a feisty, heated affair :D:D:D

Reckon Pique and Xavi are not being risked for the full 90 as both were injured during the week though re-joined training. Busquets was injured also but he never trained. As for Pedro all I can guess is that Alexis is fitter. Pep said the Copa America players came back in good shape from a fitness point of view as they only had 3 weeks without football since the Champions league final. Pep said yesterday that not all the players had 90mins in them so I presume that explains the lineup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Ronan Raver77

Any links? I cant see the sticky for links thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

I don't mind Minto, but for FFS.

LaLigaLoca on twitter saying Busquets, Xavi, Pique and Pedro are on the bench.

Why isn't Contrao starting for ye? I though he was brought in to replace Marcelo no?

Any links? I cant see the sticky for links thread
    I've found Veetle to be the best for non-English games, you have to install a plugin tho.
    http://veetle.com/index.php/widget#F0C3DFF3673489755462E7DF1936190A/true/16:9

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Benzema looks in great shape.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

any non-veetle links for this?