Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gaybo blew it tonight

• 10-08-2011 11:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭

Gaybo did not take long to self destruct. He said earlier tonight that we were being ruled ny madmen in Brussels. He should have said that our country was destroyed by his chums in FF like Haughey, Bertie, McCreevy and Biffo. After tonight i think he will have to pull out, and/or FF will have to abandon him. Its all over for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

A thread for everyone in the audience :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭Paddy De Plasterer

I did not think he would self destruct as soon as he did. How will plank Kenny react now, and how can he chair any discussion, as he said he would back Gay all the way !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,872 ✭✭✭View

Gaybo did not take long to self destruct. He said earlier tonight that we were being ruled ny madmen in Brussels. He should have said that our country was destroyed by his chums in FF like Haughey, Bertie, McCreevy and Biffo. After tonight i think he will have to pull out, and/or FF will have to abandon him. Its all over for him.

I can't see FF backing him after that - does that qualify for the shortest Presidential campaign ever?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

I see it the opposite way. He was saying the popularist thing, trying to win over some support. He needs something to offset the unpopularity that being aligned to FF will bring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Hmm, doesn't surprise me that he was a closet Eurosceptic but it does amuse me.

Though anti-EU fervour might go down well in this election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭The Internet Explorer

Can somebody kindly tell me what's this all about ? Tv show ? Radio. Where can I see this self destruction ?

newmug wrote: »
    I see it the opposite way. He was saying the popularist thing, trying to win over some support. He needs something to offset the unpopularity that being aligned to FF will bring.

Not too long ago, during the Lisbon campaign, Cowen either declared support for the EU to be a "core FF value" or, possibly even, support for EU integration - I don't remember the exact phrase he used as I was a bit dumb-struck as I had never heard anything described as being a "core FF value" before. Given that, I'd imagine it would be really difficult for FF to back someone opposed to a "core FF value".

Popularism btw has nothing to do with the Presidency - it is largely ceremonial and done in accordance with the government's wishes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

View wrote: »
    Not too long ago, during the Lisbon campaign, Cowen either declared support for the EU to be a "core FF value" or, possibly even, support for EU integration - I don't remember the exact phrase he used as I was a bit dumb-struck as I had never heard anything described as being a "core FF value" before. Given that, I'd imagine it would be really difficult for FF to back someone opposed to a "core FF value".

Popularism btw has nothing to do with the Presidency - it is largely ceremonial and done in accordance with the government's wishes.

But isnt that exactly why they're not his official party, they just have some sort of a loose alignment? And popularism has everything to do with being elected as president, David Norris did feckall wrong, yet he had to pull out over popularist opinion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭The Internet Explorer

Anybody ?

But isnt that exactly why they're not his official party, they just have some sort of a loose alignment?

I can't see FF being able to back a candidate who is in public opposed to a "core FF value". Doing so would expose them to a lot of political flack and there is still a fair chance he would lose. An endorsement from FF is not exactly what it used to be these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

what was the tv show in relation to this thread ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

It seems most in FF didn't want him to run anyway,but are more favoring Brian Crowely to run as a FF candidate if they do decide to run one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭murraykil

Can somebody kindly tell me what's this all about ? Tv show ? Radio. Where can I see this self destruction ?

Bump! Can't find video.

Byrne claims 'mad people' in Brussels are running country
    POTENTIAL PRESIDENTIAL candidate Gay Byrne has expressed concerns about the development of the European Union, saying Ireland was being “run by mad people in Brussels”.

The veteran broadcaster, who revealed this week he had been asked to consider running for the presidency by Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin, outlined his worries while speaking to reporters in Dublin last night.

“Those concerns are that I think it’s a crazy notion from the very beginning. We crossed the Rubicon when we joined the single currency. I think there’s no backing out now but it’s a mad, mad world and we are being run by mad people in Brussels,” Byrne said.

He was responding to a question about his previous criticism of the EU and the Lisbon Treaty, and whether it might become an issue in a presidential campaign.

Byrne replied that it might but he had not changed his mind.

“What we’re seeing now in Europe, as far as I’m concerned, is a culmination of all my concerns about it down through the years. I never thought we would reach the disastrous stage we are at at the moment in Europe in my lifetime.

“I thought it would eventually come in my grandchildren’s time but it’s come much, much quicker than even I visualised and it’s happening even as we speak.”

Mr Martin told Byrne at the weekend that Fianna Fáil Oireachtas members could facilitate his nomination as an Independent candidate.

Byrne was accompanied to the opening night of the musical Grease in Dublin last night by his wife Kathleen Watkins. “She is a Fianna Fáil person. It comes up through the soles of her feet and she drank it in with her mother’s milk. Does that make me a bad person?”

However, the former Late, Late Show host said he had always remained “absolutely unpolitical” and had never disclosed any political feelings, “and that is why people love me”. Byrne insisted he would not be a party candidate if he decided to contest the election. “Fianna Fáil have very little to do with it. I would be an Independent runner if it comes to that and they’ve assured me of that.” Byrne said he had been inundated with offers of financial support to fund a campaign.

“There would appear to be more offers than I can cope with of money and support and all of that . . . from all sorts of people.”

Entrepreneur Harry Crosbie, who entered the Grand Canal theatre with Byrne, said he would help fund a campaign when asked by reporters.

Earlier broadcaster Pat Kenny, also attending the theatre, said the political class had so far failed to produce a presidential candidate to “trump” Byrne, who would get his number one vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

nesf wrote: »

I don't think his Euro skepticism was all that big a secret, as for anti-EU fervor, just because it's populist doesn't mean it is not justified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

He's a ham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Hippo

I don't think his Euro skepticism was all that big a secret, as for anti-EU fervor, just because it's populist doesn't mean it is not justified.

The Presidency is not a channel for the expression of political views, simple as. This is not unlike Mary Davis's declaration that if elected she might refuse to sign a budget into law if she didn't agree with it. These people seem to have a lot to learn about the role of the President.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Spacedog

Hippo wrote: »
    The Presidency is not a channel for the expression of political views, simple as. This is not unlike Mary Davis's declaration that if elected she might refuse to sign a budget into law if she didn't agree with it. These people seem to have a lot to learn about the role of the President.

The role of president was designed by Eamon DeValera so that he could retain a veto on all bills passed after his retirement.

Everyone says that the role is powerless, but the fact that he/she has the power to stop anything they don't like from ever passing into law is not to be sneered at.

This is why there has been so much mud slinging and dirty tactics used to keep anyone with a strong opinion about anything out of the office.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,637 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Spacedog wrote: »

The role of president was designed by Eamon DeValera so that he could retain a veto on all bills passed after his retirement.

Everyone says that the role is powerless, but the fact that he/she has the power to stop anything they don't like from ever passing into law is not to be sneered at.

This is why there has been so much mud slinging and dirty tactics used to keep anyone with a strong opinion about anything out of the office.

The President is compelled to sign off on any bill that the Dail has voted in favour of, so in reality the position has little or no political power. All the President can really do is refer a bill to the Supreme Court if there is any possibility it is unconstitutional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭flickerx

"and that is why people love me"

FFS. Whatever about his euroscepticism, his ego is one reason I wont vote for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 myrak

Don't see much wrong with what he said...
    Many people think it is plain mad that the EU and the euro are under siege from the markets and European leaders remain on their holiers.
    Many people saw something fundamentally wrong with the ditching of the Lisbon 1 result.
    Many people question the saving of private dud banks with taxpayers money.
    Many people know that 'austerity' without growth is the road to nowhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

I don't think it has done him any real damage tbh. he spoke out in a way that many people feel strongly about. Along with this critiscising the EU or the running of it does not necessarily make someone anti-European. I've got serious issues with the way the EU is run but I'm in no way anti-European.

I still think FF will nominate him as an independent if only to drag more votes away from Mitchell. Byrne stands a good chance as is, he is correct in saying that he has never been political but if FF can't get a candidate to win, they want the second best prize which is making sure that FG don't win either, and Byrne is in the best place to do the most damage.

btw I'm surprised with Pat Kenny openly supporting Byrne, how is he now supposed to chair any discussions on Frontline or his radio show, worse move on his part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭DJCR

He has always been a Euro Sceptic and he totally came out against the Lisbon Treaty.
    I can't see FF being able to back a candidate who is in public opposed to a "core FF value". Doing so would expose them to a lot of political flack and there is still a fair chance he would lose. An endorsement from FF is not exactly what it used to be these days.

I think you will find that there isn't as much pro European sentiment as was once there.... I mean look at the way we have been treated. Being Pro-European isn't a pre-requisit for FF membership.
    Also, I think this point has been stressed by Gaybo profusely... He would be running as an independant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

bijapos wrote: »
    I'm surprised with Pat Kenny openly supporting Byrne

Obviously Kenny thinks that if Gaybo gets it, Kenny will inherit it when Gaybo retires, and then Tubs will be next. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭dissed doc

DJCR wrote: »
    He has always been a Euro Sceptic and he totally came out against the Lisbon Treaty.

I think you will find that there isn't as much pro European sentiment as was once there.... I mean look at the way we have been treated

you mean the way our idiot monoglotic anglo-centric education system elected monkeys from tullamore to create a fossil fuel import dependent economy modelled on the feudalism-inspired Anglo Saxon economies, wrecked the futures of two or three generations putting us a hundred years back in development so their buddies could rip off everyone for hundreds of billions - that we got access to low interest loans from Germany Netherlands and UK to stay afloat and not become Lord of the Flies?

yeah, it's Brussel's fault for sure. if they didnt't bail us out, we might bave had enough social collapse to start over.

DJCR wrote: »

Yeah, I had forgotten about that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

I can't see FF backing him after that - does that qualify for the shortest Presidential campaign ever?

Look at how long they backed B Aherns - these people are capable of anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

Obviously Kenny thinks that if Gaybo gets it, Kenny will inherit it when Gaybo retires, and then Tubs will be next. :D
    Why ? Birds of a feather fly together. Pehraps he sees Byrne as doing a dry run for himself.

I'm not arguing whether he's right or wrong to be a eurosceptic. His overt political opinions have no place in a presidential campaign and indicate his lack of knowledge of the office which he appears to be interested in contesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭wildefalcon

A lot of people have this viewpoint (which is what the constitution implies), however I am beginning to think that the office of the President could do with a makeover.

Perhaps if the People of Ireland (sorry about the caps) had a President that WOULD speak out on the direction the Country was heading in, then that could provide more focus to us as a nation.

As for the "mad men" comment, I would tend to agree with him, my understanding of the structure of the EU is that there is a large unelected bureaucracy that runs things, with the (unelected) Commissars as figure heads.

Sounds quite mad to me.

G.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭Duke Leonal Felmet

In my experience, the elders of our country tend to be euroskeptics. The very people who turn out for these pointless votes. I reckon it is a good move, for him.

A lot of people have this viewpoint (which is what the constitution implies), however I am beginning to think that the office of the President could do with a makeover.
    G.

It's not what the constitution implies, it's what it says. The need for a makeover (or even abolition) of the office is an argument for another day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Magic Beans

Gay Byrne is devoid of political ability, his only appeal is a populist support based on his success as a talk-show host. He is just pap to the people.

Today's papers have highlighted his naivety with regard to Ireland's EU membership. He even has a developer, Harry Crosbie lined up to finance him! He is not up to the job on any level. He will make a show of us with his smiley smarminess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

I'm not arguing whether he's right or wrong to be a eurosceptic. His overt political opinions have no place in a presidential campaign and indicate his lack of knowledge of the office which he appears to be interested in contesting.

Thats as maybe in the perfect world but the presidential race is dirty and populist, so he has started well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

The issue isn't so much his own views - the issue is whether despite those views he accepts a nomination from the party that caused what he objects to.

If he does that then he'll be a complete hypocrite and will lose any chance of my vote (he's currently possibly the best of a bad lot).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

flickerx wrote: »
    "and that is why people love me"

FFS. Whatever about his euroscepticism, his ego is one reason I wont vote for him.

That remark he made stood out like a septic head! I don't love him but there's many a granny does. (Just like Charlo Haughey)

I got an image of Eoin Mc Loves' album cover with the rattles and baby toys.

Eoin McLove: Go away! I don't want to catch the menopause!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

This is the state that initially voted No to Lisbon and Nice - prior to what seems like, and what some surveys suggest to be, a growing euroscepticism amongst the Irish.
    Bearing that in mind with the fact that non-establishment Presidential candidates have been featuring so well in polls (Norris, pre-crisis, MD Higgins) and one of them has now dropped out, I don't think that this necessarily 'blows' Gay Byrne's chances at all. It may copperfasten his support amongst certain voting groups, in fact.

Personally, his views on Europe were not something I knew of and it would be unfortunate if FF lended its official support to someone holding such opinions - particularly in light of the ongoing European and Irish debt crises, and in terms of the enhanced European fiscal integration which may be required over the coming seven years.

Also, how strange that Pat Kenny, a broadcaster so involved in political & current affairs broadcasting has publicly supported Gay Byrne. Slightly inappropriate from a professional standpoint, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭coolbeans

I couldn't vote for him, he's way too arrogant and condescending. Always was.

later10 wrote: »
    This is the state that initially voted No to Lisbon and Nice - prior to what seems like, and what some surveys suggest to be, a growing euroscepticism amongst the Irish.

I'm not sure it's so much a scepticism of Europe per se but more a scepticism of our own politicians and people not being willing to take their word that a treaty is ok. That combined with very visceral scaremongering by the some of the No campaigners during the debates combined with tactics like asking pro-campaigners to prove negatives and so on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭alejandro1977

What a cynical creep - he's blaming the EU for Ireland's woes. Never mind the suicidal economic policies of his FF heroes. The Euro wasn't the sole cause of our problems - we could have managed it - look at similar countries such as Finland and how it's doing fine despite Nokia's troubles.

Ireland is fvcked because of excessive credit, a housing bubble and because people are paid too much. Look at Gay Byrne as the perfect personification of all of this madness:
      He supports FF
    • He was paid a fortune by RTE despite having no competition for his services from any other national broadcaster. Most of there time there simply was no other station
    • He's still able to get a gig on Lyric FFS despite it being a music/no talk station (he has no music credentials)
    • He made a lot of money by selling his big house in Howth
    • He invested his money in bank shares
    • He also 'invested' in leveraged property plays in an attempt to make even more money
    • He now wants a well paid job with big house, car, pension

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭Thud

I think FF would still back him they need a win now to regain some popularity and he has a better chance than anyone in their party,
    Even if he is a Euro sceptic he can't do them much harm from that role...they could ride the wave of populariy, back slapping and photo ops and if he did turn out to be an embarassment as president they could revert to saying he was an independant candidate....they don't have a huge amount to lose in backing him...

That said calling them "mad" kind of brings Fr Dougal to mind "that's mad Ted!" and makes me wonder how much attention he has paid to current affairs in recent years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Thud wrote: »
    (ff) don't have a huge amount to lose in backing him...

Very true. I think the only way he doesn't get on the ballot is if he decides it's too much trouble. He'd love to be handed the Presidency unopposed, but I don't know if he wants to enter a knock-down drag-out fight for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭DJCR

dissed doc wrote: »
    you mean the way our idiot monoglotic anglo-centric education system elected monkeys from tullamore

I think you will find the correct term is Biffo's... lets keep this civilised please, no unneccesary name calling is needed, especially when there is a perfectly good term there already.
    To create a fossil fuel import dependent economy modelled on the feudalism-inspired Anglo Saxon economies.

I think you will find the Idea of a Fossil fuel run economy was in fact not created by a few lads in Tullamore. To even suggest that would give them far too much credit. If you wish to consult someone about Fossil Fuel burning I'm sure Luke 'Ming' Flanagan would love to debate you on the subject.

If I may also point out, we tried the whole self sustaining thing before and while there were some successes but they were limited and the decision to open our borders has largly been heralded as a mighty fine decision.

With regards to your point on Feudalism inspired Anglo Saxon Economies I would have to agree. However, I agree with this on the basis that most ways of trading can stem itself from the Feudal era... some in fact going back further to the times of the Roman Empire. Currency for example was a novel idea praised by many who frequently had to carry around cart loads of oranges just so they could get their weekly shopping done in the market. Basically all this worked really well until currency stopped being tangible to anything except debt.... Which of course would have been controlled in Feudal times as you would have been killed for not paying your Lord the amount of money you owed them. Thank God we have moved on a little since then.
    Wrecked the futures of two or three generations putting us a hundred years back in development so their buddies could rip off everyone for hundreds of billions

The futures of two or three generations havent been ruined. They will be in debt when they are born and they may never experience a boom like ours but their lives are certainly not ruined because they are being born into a debt ridden country. The proof of the pudding is us, we wern't exactly born into a debt free society were we? - we just owe a lot more now than we previously would have.

As far as i remember no one accused the Biffos from selling us down the river. They, for the most part were the guys from Dublin & Kerry - adequately reflected by the FF results in those Counties.
    - that we got access to low interest loans from Germany Netherlands and UK to stay afloat and not become Lord of the Flies?

Got to disagree here, they didn't give us loans so that we could be Lord of the Flies. I mean we are Lord of the Dance, who the hell wants to be Lord of the Flies?!?! Sheeesh ..... No they gave us money to buy their stuff!!! Shock Horror!! The producing nations of Europe needed someone to buy their stuff and we bought it all up for them .... sound wern't we!!
    And it was all the governments fault because Rosie and Jim went and bought a new Volkswagon every year and Bill and Ted had to have their bottle of French Rosé every night. Don't forget Siobhan and Dermot signing off on a second mortgage for their holiday home in Sunny Spain!!

We didn't get low interest loans to stay afloat..... we got low interest loans because we wanted them..... people had jobs, people had money we just wanted more of it.... Just because it's available doesn't mean you have to take it.

Granted the decision to allow 100% mortgages was stupid, and so was the overheated building sector.

yeah, it's Brussel's fault for sure. if they didnt't bail us out, we might have had enough social collapse to start over.

Yeah, but Brussels is totally ok when it comes to us because the Irish Government of the day has single handedly caused the following:-

1) The failure of the Greek Economy
    2) The failure of our own economy
    3) The failure of the US economy
    4) The Failing of the Spanish Economy
    5) The Failing of the Italian Economy
    6) The falling of the French economy
    7) The failling of the Portugese economy
    8) The Falling of the Global Economy
    9) The collapse of the Global Financial Market
    10) The creation of the 2ndry debt market

All the way back to the collapse of Enron.

Enough of a social collapse to start over.......... Is what's happening now not enough for you?? People out of jobs, having to go abroad, having barely enough to get by. People futures being affect by the lack of funding in Education and Health. What do you want to do pick a random time in human history and say that was better .... lets start there?!?!?!

Hunter gather stage perhaps (we're getting there by the way), Colonial Era might take your fancy perhaps, What about communism in the 40's to 60's sure that was great with all the slaves and all... Give me a break and instead of bitching come up with a viable alternative that doesn't include burning everything to the ground and the human race begining life again as an amoeba.

Edit:- So in short, I think he did grand. no real surprises and I don't think it matters if he has to rely on a few FF backers to get nominated!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭coolbeans

uh...a tad off topic there I think ^^

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

I'm not sure it's so much a scepticism of Europe per se but more a scepticism of our own politicians and people not being willing to take their word that a treaty is ok. That combined with very visceral scaremongering by the some of the No campaigners during the debates combined with tactics like asking pro-campaigners to prove negatives and so on.
    There certainly is a growing distrust of domestic Irish politicians - that was picked up on recently in the recent Eurobarometer survey for Spring 2011
    http://ec.europa.eu/public_opinion/archives/eb/eb74/eb74_publ_en.pdf

However, what was also suggested by the findings of the Eurobarometer was that Ireland saw a significant drop in its trust of the EU during 2010 (-5%) and has now joined the cohort of 7 countries where distrust of the EU (43%) has eclipsed trust of the EU (39%).

2lu77cw.png

The idea that EU membership has been beneficial to Ireland is down 8% on the beginning of 2010 alone. The EU's 'positive image' in Ireland, although still broadly positive, is down 7% in the year. These are continuations of previous trends in European surveys. One can see why the survey writers noted at the beginning of the publication "This increase in pessimism in Ireland will be a feature throughout this survey"

The Eurobarometer survey also demonstrates that scepticism of the EU may tend to be directly proportional to age. It also tends to be highest amongst manual workers, the unemployed and the retired. If these observations were to hold true for Ireland, it could potentially galvanise support for Gay Byrne in the Presidential election.

Even if one were to argue that Ireland only ever voted No to Lisbon and Nice as domestic political protests, which is quite possible, the fact that trust in Irish politicians has fallen so much, and the fact that 71% of Irish respondents felt that things were going the wrong way in their country does not exactly inspire confidence in their taking a positive view of establishment politicians, and I think this may only bolster Gay Byrne's case - unfortunately, I hasten to add.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭hallelujajordan

Bearing that in mind with the fact that non-establishment Presidential candidates have been featuring so well in polls (Norris, pre-crisis, MD Higgins) and one of them has now dropped out, I don't think that this necessarily 'blows' Gay Byrne's chances at all. It may copperfasten his support amongst certain voting groups, in fact.
    Totally agree . . the "madmen from Brussels" comment seems pretty extreme but when you read his views on the European project they are not entirely unreasonable . .
    later10 wrote:

Also, how strange that Pat Kenny, a broadcaster so involved in political & current affairs broadcasting has publicly supported Gay Byrne. Slightly inappropriate from a professional standpoint, no?

No, Byrne and Kenny are close personal friends. Better to be straight and honest about his bias (and subsequently exclude himself from chairing any presidential debate, one would hope) than to try to pretend it doesnt exist . .

There certainly is a growing distrust of domestic Irish politicians - that was picked up on recently in the recent Eurobarometer survey for Spring 2011
    http://ec.europa.eu/public_opinion/archives/eb/eb74/eb74_publ_en.pdf

However, what was also suggested by the findings of the Eurobarometer was that Ireland saw a significant drop in its trust of the EU during 2010 (-5%) and has now joined the cohort of 7 countries where distrust of the EU (43%) has eclipsed trust of the EU (39%).

2lu77cw.png

The idea that EU membership has been beneficial to Ireland is down 8% on the beginning of 2010 alone. The EU's 'positive image' in Ireland, although still broadly positive, is down 7% in the year. These are continuations of previous trends in European surveys. One can see why the survey writers noted at the beginning of the publication "This increase in pessimism in Ireland will be a feature throughout this survey"

The Eurobarometer survey also demonstrates that scepticism of the EU may tend to be directly proportional to age. It also tends to be highest amongst manual workers, the unemployed and the retired. If these observations were to hold true for Ireland, it could potentially galvanise support for Gay Byrne in the Presidential election.

Even if one were to argue that Ireland only ever voted No to Lisbon and Nice as domestic political protests, which is quite possible, the fact that trust in Irish politicians has fallen so much, and the fact that 71% of Irish respondents felt that things were going the wrong way in their country does not exactly inspire confidence in their taking a positive view of establishment politicians, and I think this may only bolster Gay Byrne's case - unfortunately, I hasten to add.

That's interesting, thanks for that. I wonder what the interplay is between mistrust of our own establishment and, well, resentment over our treatment by the EU. I'm not overly surprised by a substantial drop in EU support post bailout really given it's ties to a very unpopular FF Government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,568 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

He supports FF
    • He was paid a fortune by RTE despite having no competition for his services from any other national broadcaster. Most of there time there simply was no other station
    • He's still able to get a gig on Lyric FFS despite it being a music/no talk station (he has no music credentials)
    • He made a lot of money by selling his big house in Howth
    • He invested his money in bank shares
    • He also 'invested' in leveraged property plays in an attempt to make even more money
    • He now wants a well paid job with big house, car, pension
    • He is also currently the well paid head of a government quango
    • He still receives a six-figure sum from RTE annually as part of a golden-handcuff post-retirement deal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭Duke Leonal Felmet

That's interesting, thanks for that. I wonder what the interplay is between mistrust of our own establishment and, well, resentment over our treatment by the EU. I'm not overly surprised by a substantial drop in EU support post bailout really given it's ties to a very unpopular FF Government.

Not to mentions Barrosso's tirade against the Irish, back when Joe Higgins suggested the ecb created the crisis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭Paddy De Plasterer

Totally agree . . the "madmen from Brussels" comment seems pretty extreme but when you read his views on the European project they are not entirely unreasonable . .

No, Byrne and Kenny are close personal friends. Better to be straight and honest about his bias (and subsequently exclude himself from chairing any presidential debate, one would hope) than to try to pretend it doesnt exist . .

that means of course that the Plank Kenny has to stand aside from Frontline, Radio shows etc when the Presidency is being discussed if Gaybo is a candidate. And of course uncle Gaybo did not mention the madmen here in his party FF, the bankers and builders who put this country into slavery and brought in IMF and ECB to rescue us.