Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway Bay Half Marathon & 10km,Saturday October 1st.

• 10-08-2011 10:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭

Anyone here doing either of these races this year?A nice flat route,its along the Prom basically so expect the wind to play its part in both aiding and challenging your run.The 10km is a nice run for anyone that wants to try that distance for the first time.This race has grown in numbers each year so far so i expect a good crowd again.Its very well organised:).I'll be tackling the half marathon and try to squeeze under the 2hour mark,2hrs 5mins is my best so far.

http://www.galwaybayhalfmarathon.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

I hope to do the HM. Not signed up for this yet though.
    Will also be doing the Athlone 3/4 Marathon the following day (I have signed up for that). I intend doing both at easy pace effort...just using it to get in a good double-session 5 weeks out from NYC Marathon.

Otherwise though, I would have liked to have done this as a standalone race as I would say it's a great chance for a PB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Bugsy2000

I'll be there for the half. The wind could have a big part to play alright. Am I right in saying its a 2 lap course? We''ll be running into the wind for at least half of it. Fingers crossed for a calm day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Aiel

Yep,its a 2 lap course,1 lap is basically from South park at one end of the Prom to the back of the golf course at the other end of it with the causeway thrown in for the HM runners.So the wind will be on our backs for some and into our faces for the other half aswell.It is a good chance to run a half marathon PB as someone just said.I'll be running the course next week hopefully.

Was doing a training run of the route this evening for the race and managed to achieve my goal for this year by running the half marathon in under 2hrs,did it in 1 hour 55mins:),so happy with myself,now all i need to do is re-produce it on race day,easier said then done:).

Aiel wrote: »
    Was doing a training run of the route this evening for the race and managed to achieve my goal for this year by running the half marathon in under 2hrs,did it in 1 hour 55mins:),so happy with myself,now all i need to do is re-produce it on race day,easier said then done:).

Fair play...Everything else now is a bonus!
    What's the bit towards the Spiddle end like? Is the surface all ok?
    I presume it's flat the whole way, ya?

There is a hill just after Blackrock that ends around the entrance to Galway Golf Club,it tends to drags a bit but isnt too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,851 ✭✭✭Cartman78

Has anyone done the 10k before??

Can't see anything on the site about it being AAI approved/certified :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

Cartman78 wrote: »

How much are they charging this year.

It was outragously priced the first year and I got roped into doing it as the missus wanted to do one. I at least talked her into doing the 1/2 marathon. Swore blind I would never do it again after it, a complete rip off but yes one year later I was lining up again, in fairness they learnt a few lessons from the previous year, reduced the prices a little and I thought it was a much better race. More than likely will go for three in a row as thats where I always break the pb

Never did the 10k though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭doctorchick

catweazle wrote: »
    How much are they charging this year.

45 EUR - Half Marathon
    35 EUR - 10K

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Head The Wall

25 and 20 for the same distances in Fanore today

I got an email from the organisers saying theres a time change for this race.Theres been an increase in the numbers signed up for this years events so they've got permission to close one lane of the Salthill Rd along by the Prom.It wont affect any residents,business's etc as its the lane on the Prom side of the road thats closed.Because of the road closing the 10km will now start at 10am and the Half will start at 11am.

25 and 20 for the same distances in Fanore today

Its either 10 or 15 euro,forget which, of every entrance fee that goes towards Cancer Care West,hence more expensive then other races.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

yea can anyone throw light on this ?
    can find info on the half but the 10km route ? lsts years results ? certified ?

thks

AAI license has been applied for and has passed through the county board onto AAI to be entered in the big book.

Thanks for that.

I'm not very au fait with that process to be honest - is it safe to assume that the course is accurately measured then?

Struggling with a few niggles at the minute so not 100% sure if I'll make this either way. At the moment, it could be this race or Loughrea the week before, or both...or neither :eek:

is it safe to assume that the course is accurately measured then?

Yes, It is a requirement of the AAI permit application that the distance has to be accurately measured using a calibrated Jones counter by a certified course measurer. It would not get through county board scrutinisation or accepted by AAI otherwise.

Hope you get to run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭backspacer

Does anyone know what the story is with written applications. Left mine in Elverys the week before last and am waiting for an email to confirm race number etc.. Any idea how long i should be waiting?

Just saw this evening that the 10k will begin at 10am now rather than 11am. The HM will begin at 11am now rather than 1pm.

Check here for more info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 billytipp

Will be driving to Galway the morning of the half marathon.Any ideas for a handy place to park? Billy

billytipp wrote: »
    Will be driving to Galway the morning of the half marathon.Any ideas for a handy place to park? Billy

The start / finish takes place in South Park, the same as the Streets of Galway race. I always park in the Cathedral/Nun's Island car park for that and it is usually fine. This will allow for a 1km warm-up to the start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 billytipp

ok thanks for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭keithrus

Got my sponsorship pack and a letter to say i was in. Nothing about a race number. I think you get it in Galway the afternoon before or the morning of the 10k

Does anyone have any information on the 10k apart from the measly info on the website??
    I have heard that not a lot of people took the 10km option last year and that approx 40mins was enough to get in the top 10 (Still to quick for me though!!)...not sure if this is correct because i can't find the results anywhere!

Any feedback would be appreciated.

The Galway Bay Half Marathon and 10k Race takes place around Salthill in Co. Galway on Saturday 1st October.

The Half Marathon race gets underway at 10am(now 11) and will see participants travel from Claddagh Quay towards Forster St and onto the Headford Rd.

The 10k race gets underway at 11am and will see participants travel around Salthill. (now obviously 10am)

From 10am until 12:30pm, Claddagh Quay, Grattan Rd, Seapoint Promenade, Salthill Rd (Upper) and Upper Salthill will be closed to westbound traffic. Alternative routes will be in place.

Can someone clear this up once and for all, the directions for the half marathon given to the AA are somehow contradicting the actual route :confused:

"The Half Marathon race gets underway at 10am(now 11) and will see participants travel from Claddagh Quay towards Forster St and onto the Headford Rd."

http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/fullscreen/12878150/

10K starts at 10.00 am.
    Half Marathon starts at 11.00am.

Thats from the official site, so have no idea where each is getting information from.

Sorry am getting a bit worried when I see so much conflicting info this close to a race, first time half marathon runner so am already a bit wound up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 slipshod

Anyone receive an email about team entries yet? Website states:

"One week before the event all participants will receive an email asking for team declarations."

Also states on the flyer that team entries must be in by September 23rd.

http://www.galwaybayhalfmarathon.com/news4.htm

I haven't received an email about this yet. Anyone else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Irish Warri0r

Race Start Times:
    10K starts at 10.00 am.
    thats of there website so thats what im going with its my first half marathon to and i cant wait!

http://www.aaireland.ie/AA/AA-Roadwatch/Story.aspx?id=121876
    This AA update doesn't mention anything about going near the city centre so not sure where Keithrus got the information from??

Also, it wouldn't make sense to have the two different routes on the day, so i would stick with the official race information relating to the Salthill route for both races.

It is bizarre no doubt, but the course shown on the actual site is around Salthill, which is why I am confused with the AA post. Strange enough!!

keithrus wrote: »

Thanks Keithrus...I'd still be presuming whoever uploaded that onto the AA site got mixed up with the directions for the expo/Elvery's on the Headford Road...

belcarra wrote: »
    Thanks Keithrus...I'd still be presuming whoever uploaded that onto the AA site got mixed up with the directions for the expo/Elvery's on the Headford Road...

Usless shower of ....... posters!!

Have a good race !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭sureitsgrand

Hey all,

When ye guys registered did you get any email info other than an invoice from Runireland?

I haven't heard anything from the Marathon organisers themselves...Is it just turn up at Elverys with the printed invoice and get your number?

nothing at all. I'll be there on friday looking for my starter pack. Sure they didnt even give a registration number other than the run ireland number you got on the email thingy. God I must print that out!

From the email i received from the organizers yesterday, the last names were being entered into the database last night with confirmation letters being sent out today.

But if worse comes to worse, bring your receipt of payment and some form of ID and you should be sorted i imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭hammerheadjack

Please follow http://www.galwaybayhalfmarathon.com/news.htm for all the correct routes, road closures and starting time of each race.
    Leave yourself plenty of time between registration in Elverys and getting to Salthill.

Race Start Times:
    10K starts at 10.00 am.
    Race Pack collection for the race will take place in Elverys Sports Store Expo on Headford Rd (beside Omniplex Cinema) on Friday, 30th September 4.00 pm - 10.00 pm and on Saturday, 1st October 7.00 am - 9.30 am.
    Have a nice run!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 kkilbane

Does anyone know if they accept late enteries; thought closing date was thurs and just seen there that entry for half marathon is closed:(

kkilbane wrote: »
    Does anyone know if they accept late enteries; thought closing date was thurs and just seen there that entry for half marathon is closed:(

The reason for them not accepting any more entries is that they have reached the limit for entries for this year. The race sold out ahead of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭bike2wkr

anyone have a garmin file of the 1/2 marathon route from last year?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 477 ✭✭brutes1

I have heard that the course has changed slightly from last year , and from the description on the website, perhaps this can be confirmed or otherwise by the powers that be in advance....
    The course is totally flat bar one or two very short drags which are over in 50metres. The wind will be the biggest factor, a tailwind and a headwind mean vastly different paces per mile in salthill , experienced this in ironman half, 30 secs plus per mile variance into the wind, the causeway will be a tough section with this in mind

But last year race day was sunny and dead calm so hope its the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 stephendoyle

brutes1 wrote: »
    But last year race day was sunny and dead calm so hope its the same!
    I seem to recall that last year there was a fairly strong cross wind for most of the route and a headwind/tailwind for out and back on the causeway.

belcarra wrote: »
    Does anyone have any information on the 10k apart from the measly info on the website??
    I have heard that not a lot of people took the 10km option last year and that approx 40mins was enough to get in the top 10 (Still to quick for me though!!)...not sure if this is correct because i can't find the results anywhere!

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Would be interested in some info on the 10k too - given a flat course, a favourable tail wind, proper pre-race fuelling strategy, wearing my lucky socks, and Venus coming into celestial alignment with Jupiter - I could possibly potentially maybe run sub-40mins

Has anyone received their confirmation email yet from them? Seem to be leaving it very close to the time.

backspacer wrote: »
    Has anyone received their confirmation email yet from them? Seem to be leaving it very close to the time.
    I got a confirmation letter with sponsorship cards at the end of August. I had signed up a couple of weeks prior to that.

Would be interested in some info on the 10k too - given a flat course, a favourable tail wind, proper pre-race fuelling strategy, wearing my lucky socks, and Venus coming into celestial alignment with Jupiter - I could possibly potentially maybe run sub-40mins
    They had a separate website for the 10k last year - http://www.galwaybay10.com. This just redirects to the main half marathon site this year. That site had all the results etc. from last year. If I remember correctly then there were very few sub 40min finishers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭pmcd22

Good luck to all taking part tomorrow.. hopefully Good weather will bring an added bonus. Nice route, sell out event.. what more could ya ask for.

Very well organised event - Very good course, nice T-Shirt & Medal, good goodie bag with sandwich & lucozade sport at the finish.

10km race began @ 10am and we were finished in time to cheer off the Half marathoners at 11am. Here is a video I took just after the start of the HM:

(anyone able to educate me as to how you embed this video in this post??)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Irish Warri0r

As belcarra said great event well organised would defently recommend it to anyone i will be doing this again next year and try and beat my time.
    ps. thanks for uploading the video belcarra i spotted myself in it!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭devotional1993

As belcarra said great event well organised would defently recommend it to anyone i will be doing this again next year and try and beat my time.
    ps. thanks for uploading the video belcarra i spotted myself in it!:D

who won?

Yep, great event, very well organised, nice route and great goodie bag and post race refreshments. Will definitely be back next year.