Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which gundog also good pet?

• 09-08-2011 12:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭

I have trawled through the old posts on gun dogs but I still have questions!

I have a 5 year old daughter and a 2 1/2 year old son so any dog I get will have to be good with the kids and will be petted and hugged etc. probably poked at a bit by the young fella to at a guess!
    I would suspect the dog will be in and out of the house during the day and kept out at night in it's own house / kennel (am open to opinion on this, but think a dog likes his own place to retreat to)

The shooting here is mainly mountainy bog, rough cover, some thick cover etc. Hunting Woodcock, Snipe, Pheasant, Ducks on streams, Pigeons over crop and stubble and Rabbits etc.

Would a Brittany be a good dog for these circumstances? Are they less boisterous than a Springer?

Would it be fair to expect either a springer / brittany to wait in a hide or stay to heel while shooting rabbits / pigeons and go and retrieve or are they purely going to hunt around and then retrieve?

any other breeds ye would recommend I look at?

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

I have a springer and he is very good with kids I have a 4 year old. They can get excited easily but I have never had any issues. Springers are primarily hunting dogs but you can train them to be patient to sit and wait in a hide with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,808 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

My Lab is like a big stuffed toy around kids:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

My pointer is great with the kids, my 3 yr old (who is about the same size as the dog:D) can give comands that are listened to, its gas to watch him make the dog sit and feed him out of his hands. Once or twice the dog knocked him over tho when he got a bit too excited so he doesnt have him out on his own. My mate has a brittney that will happly sit in the run quiet all day long and only be bothered to come out when he sees the gun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭kfod

The number of days shooting pigeons would be small anyway so it wouldn't be a big issue, just nice if the dog enjoyed it also :)

Labs won't work cover though will they? Thought they were more of a water retriever/ retriever? Also any of them around here I see are mental. Though granted not working dogs.

how are pointers for training compared to say a springer?

I haven't seen a pointer working, but I like the idea of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

kfod wrote: »

Your asking the wrong lad:o first gundog so im learnin as i go too and this will be his first season!

Have you considered a wirerminer?? crackin dog if you get a good one, doyle61 is selling a litter from 2 of his

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭endasmail

more of a handful ,as far as i know

the Brittany does sounds like a nice dog. Are they smaller than a springer?

ok, just looked at wiki, the brittany is a bit smaller the springer and the weimarner is a good bit bigger. I think I would like something springer size or smaller for when they are around the house. also we are all "vertically challenged" in this house so a big dog would be kinda funny lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Tackleberry.

one word "Vizsla"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

The number of days shooting pigeons would be small anyway so it wouldn't be a big issue, just nice if the dog enjoyed it also :)

Labs won't work cover though will they? Thought they were more of a water retriever/ retriever? Also any of them around here I see are mental. Though granted not working dogs.

My father had a great black lab and if he scented a bird cover or not he was in. A springer has a natural will to hunt, training a springer in a way is controlling that urge so that it can be used to good effect so you get a bird.

Obedience is key to such success as with any dog along with the environment the Dog is brought up in. If the Dog has had kids around him from a pup and the kids are playful but gentle the dog will know what to expect.

My dog is a family pet and a hunting dog, not a hunting dog and a family pet. He is out everyday, he goes for walks with the wife, he plays with the kids, but when he hears the pip pip pip of the whistle or sees me pulling on my wellies or with the gun he does back flips;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

So that narrows it down to either a pointer, brittany, springer spaniel, weimaraner, vizla or a lab..... confused?:confused:

They all make good pets gundog breeds in general are good with kids, I have 2 springers and a GWP, and they are al good with my 2 year old daughter but all 3 of them do knock her over so I have to keep an eye on them with her.

The only dog I would be wary about getting is a cocker spaniel, they can be aggresive due to 'cocker rage' this is normally if they are not socialised properly or bad breeding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭Optimum

one word "Vizsla"

I have to agree here,
    I have a bitch just going 10 months, and wouldn't be without her, very affectionate, and loves to be indoors with us, they love to be part of the family, but would probably not suited to staying outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,808 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

The only dog I would be wary about getting is a cocker spaniel, they can be aggresive due to 'cocker rage' this is normally if they are not socialised properly or bad breeding.

Indeed - especcially some of the stock being flogged by these faceless "puppy farms". It pays to get to know the breeder well to access the line the dog is coming from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭customrifle

Have a weimaraner and find him great as both a pet and hes turning into a promising gun dog and hes just turned 1. Hes great with my goddaughter(5) and her little brother(3) who visit us a good bit, and they are a handful. Had him out for run down fields at back of new house at w end, when he started scenting like fcuk, head down, tail straight back, he continued at this just in front of me for 100-150 yards then we got into bit of heavy cover he scented into it 10 yards, stopped and up flys fine cock pheasant. was very happy with him and looking forward to 1st nov:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭browning 12 bore

i have had springer all my life as a lad and a adult i would hightly recommend them as well as a cocker spaniel great with all my kids good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭doyle61

Have cockers and weimaraners myself. As far as the thing goes about cocker aggression, it's the golden dogs I was always told could be narkey. Have to say my two are great.
    Far as I'm concerned the Weimaraner is a great dog. First and foremost their a brilliant pet and great around kids. As for hunting, if you've ever shot over a good one you'll never hear a bad word said against them. Can't recommend them highly enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

My father swears by springers for hunting. there was always one in the house when I was growing up. For hunting they do a good job of scaring the birds into the air and later retrieving the downed bird.

As pets, they can be a bit hyper and get excited easily so they can scare small children a little and sometimes knock them down when they're being affectionate. This hasn't been common in my experience but it can happen. I'd say you'd get that with any energetic dog, though.

When/if I ever move out of the city, it'll be a springer. I'm a bit biased but they respond well to training and they really feel like part of the family. My father's current one, for example, doesn't like to sit in the boot of the jeep but prefers the front passenger seat so that he's not excluded. Cheeky little fecker :D.

thanks for all the replies! a lot to take in!
    How do the Weimaraners and Vizslas hunt? The Vizsla sounds very suited according to wiki.

What about prices, you see very different prices on the likes of donedeal for the different breeds. say for the weimaraner they can be 200euro to 500euro, or more varied for springers. do people think you pay for what you get or does it matter, bearing in mind i'm not interested in breeding or showing and just want a good tempered dog which can hunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭Saaron

Springers are lovely dogs! Our's was incredibly obedient and learnt commands in a matter of days. The only time she was overly energetic was outside running through fields, on the beach or when we greeted her upon arriving home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

i got my first springer last november, absolutly brillant dog ,shotover at 4mnths old,never looked back training her my self not using whistle,just my own commands,brilliant in water,and not afraid of heavy cover,and brillant with kids,she only cost me 50euro ,id recomend aspringer anytime ,sorry i didnt get one years ago:D:D:D:D:D:D

thanks for all the replies! a lot to take in!
    How do the Weimaraners and Vizslas hunt? The Vizsla sounds very suited according to wiki.

What about prices, you see very different prices on the likes of donedeal for the different breeds. say for the weimaraner they can be 200euro to 500euro, or more varied for springers. do people think you pay for what you get or does it matter, bearing in mind i'm not interested in breeding or showing and just want a good tempered dog which can hunt.
    Well their both HPR's so I presume they hunt fairly similarly. I find the Weimaraner hunts using scent from the ground more than the air if you know what mean but I never went out with a vizsla. Price wise, well you pay for what you get but I reckon Ireland is very cheap. Take a look at uk prices and their a better reflection on what I regard as a true price of what a dog is worth.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭Vizzy

I've got a 10 month old Vizsla.
    So far I am very happy with him.He is exremely affectionate and loves to be rubbed and petted(they are not called the velcro dog for nothing).
    He is a little bit boisterous like all pups but he is getting better.I would have no fear that he might bite or "rough up" a child intentionally but he's so full of energy he could knock a small child.
    As regards hunting he is still abit young to know if he is any good but he is showing all the right signs.He is scenting along the ground and "half setting".
    As someone already said in the thread you will get what you pay for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭Alchemist2

just a little advice customrifle... hold off on the hunting with that dog till next season as the likely hood is your gonna end up with a dog with alot of problems.. i am only speaking from experience .. im sure alot of guys here will relate to what i am saying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 emergundog

I have two weimaraners, and they're great pets. Bitches are quicker to learn, and are smaller so better for a small family.

However, they won't do rough cover like a Britt or springer would.

They are also v strong willed and can be highly strung, so if you're going for one make sure you do your homework and get one from a good pedigree of proven working dogs, ideally from champdogs.co.uk. Sireva is a very good kennel in the uk!

One last warning, they are better suited as house dogs owing to their propensity to be with their human - this goes back to their beginnings as the hunters companion/lead dog whilst the others kipped out in the shed.

My trainer in the uk told me that in his vast experience, the viz is the only dog more clever than a Wei... But they are also more sensitive.

Good luck :)

+1 on seriva kennels. My dog is the seriva lines and you won't get much better...............apart from my kennel of course haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=epointer123&aq=f

Few vids of springer & pointer working...

My pointer is better around kids than the springer. Much calmer with age. Springer can be boistrous & excitable but easier train for field work...

Thanks again everyone for the replies. It's going to be a hard choice, seems there are a number of breeds which people like. At this stage I am swinging towards a springer or a viszla but need to do a bit more thinking / looking :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭mightyabhabelle

emergundog wrote: »
    I have two weimaraners, and they're great pets. Bitches are quicker to learn, and are smaller so better for a small family.

However, they won't do rough cover like a Britt or springer would.

They are also v strong willed and can be highly strung, so if you're going for one make sure you do your homework and get one from a good pedigree of proven working dogs, ideally from champdogs.co.uk. Sireva is a very good kennel in the uk!

One last warning, they are better suited as house dogs owing to their propensity to be with their human - this goes back to their beginnings as the hunters companion/lead dog whilst the others kipped out in the shed.

My trainer in the uk told me that in his vast experience, the viz is the only dog more clever than a Wei... But they are also more sensitive.

Good luck :)

kfod.. i second what emergundog said. I have 2 weimars also. The reason I had to get 2 is that these dogs do think they are human. They like being around the company of their owner but also like the company of another dog. I had to weigh up all the pro's and cons for a hunting and family dog and this dog ticked all the boxes. I would have loved a springer but wanted a family dog, a guard dog, a good hunter and good company. These dogs are like your best mate... except the wont hit on your missus lol.
    One I have has a great nose... wont go into a ditch unless it knows something is there. The others nose isnt as sharp but works ditches up and down to make up for it. Great hunting dog but lots of time must be spent on training. They dont cast hair, love swimming, hate thorns and heavy ditches. Hate smaller dogs and cats. They wont maul but will bite on the neck of a smaller animal and kill them. You should see they play fight... think they are lions or something. My oldest dog was a year old and brough a jack russell back to me in its mouth... but no damage done thank God... They only response mostly to one master.

Want to see a Weimar retrieve like no other Gun Dog... check this...
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2a9u8ILAHRc

Want to see them jump -- 18 foot
    http://youtu.be/QPEvALNEook

PS... all in all... labs and springers are great to imho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Tackleberry.

Thanks again everyone for the replies. It's going to be a hard choice, seems there are a number of breeds which people like. At this stage I am swinging towards a springer or a viszla but need to do a bit more thinking / looking :)

my Vizsla dog is 5 now and ive a bitch of 4 years both different but brill with my kids of 4 and 8 i recommend them highly, my dog is of top lines and studed a bitch in Sligo and a litter is due in a week or two, ive a bitch pup off it and i think he is going to be asking 550euro for the rest of the litter but there off a good line for little money as i paid 750 for my dog and 1250 for my bitch, i can let you know more if you fancy as it happens........http://russetmantle.co.uk/ well worth a read.

Thanks lads.
    Tack, they do sound like a fantastic dog. The money is a factor though and it looks like a decent Springer is half the price of a Vizsla or Weimaraner.

The Vizsla sounds like a perfect dog though. The Weimaraner mightn't suit if it doesn't like small dogs as my Mother has two Bijon Frise which occasionally visit here and I spend a lot of time down home also. She wouldn't be so happy to see my (hypothetical) Weimaraner retreiving them lol :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭snipey

Hi kfod,most of the gun dog breeds make great pets but they have to be well walked as they get bored and they will start to bark etc, i have a gordon setter and an englsh setter and you won't beat the gordon for chrildren but they have to be run hard every day,and need alot of grooming but they're worth it for they're looks and companionship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 highbird

just go for a springer with a good pedigree, can't go wrong :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭lordarpad

German Wachtelhund

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭pinkyfluff

my Vizsla dog is 5 now and ive a bitch of 4 years both different but brill with my kids of 4 and 8 i recommend them highly, my dog is of top lines and studed a bitch in Sligo and a litter is due in a week or two, ive a bitch pup off it and i think he is going to be asking 550euro for the rest of the litter but there off a good line for little money as i paid 750 for my dog and 1250 for my bitch, i can let you know more if you fancy as it happens........http://russetmantle.co.uk/ well worth a read.

yes tack we have 4 male hungarian vizslas pups for sale out of a litter of seven born monday 22 of august 3 females sold both parents hunting dogs and lovely temperments 500 euros taken deposits
    docked/ reg/ vaccinated microcipped/wormed
    sligo

So after all that I have got my new dog. He is a 5 month old pointer x springer. So maybe a little confused on the hunting side lol! but he has a great temperament so far and looks like he should do ok.
    The kids love him to :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

any pictures, best of luck with the new pup

Thanks jap, I'll try and get a few up during the week :) (can't use this laptop it's barely limping along)

My advice - go buy a electric collar coz he's gonna be craaaazzzy! :D
    I'd train him as a springer also if i had him but he'll want to range so hence the collar. Droppers can be mad yokes but serious bird dogs when under control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

My advice - go buy a electric collar coz he's gonna be craaaazzzy! :D
    I'd train him as a springer also if i had him but he'll want to range so hence the collar. Droppers can be mad yokes but serious bird dogs when under control.

was just wondering this, would a cross hunt like a pointer or springer, or is it just look of draw.

I've seen some point but it's easier train a half pointer to hunt like a springer than train a half springer to hunt like a pointer IMO

Some of the bitch pups seemed to be pointing at wood pigeon etc around the fellas house where I got him. He on the other hand acts more like a springer for sure.
    I'm going to try him for a while without the e collar and if he won't respond I'll get one then. As it is he is coming back to my call 90% of the time but only tried him around my acre site. Looking forward to training him anyway :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Mister-M5

Would have to reccommend a Hungarian Vizsla

Some of the bitch pups seemed to be pointing at wood pigeon etc around the fellas house where I got him. He on the other hand acts more like a springer for sure.
    I'm going to try him for a while without the e collar and if he won't respond I'll get one then. As it is he is coming back to my call 90% of the time but only tried him around my acre site. Looking forward to training him anyway :)

Of course when he's young do your best not to use it but give him a few months & I think you might is all from droppers I've seen.
    if he's springer like keep him close as he'll only go further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭welsummer

a lab.. quiet happy to sleep 24hrs a day

EPointer, any book or dvd you would reccomend for training with one?

To be honest I never bought a DVD or book for pointers. I researched & read & asked as much as I could & applied a bit of KOP on to my training & all worked out well.
    As for Springers I got a DVD by English chap which I found good. Basic & advanced springer training by Ian openshaw I think was his name.
    Some good tips in that for any type of dog.

Although It's all common sense if you ask me.

I must write a book - any takers?:D

having seen how good your dogs are in the video clips I would be tempted :)

I bought a book, gundog training made easy:

http://www.premier-pages.co.uk/gundog/easy2.htm

and it all seems fairly simple, like how we "trained" our pet dog when we were kids!

With the collar though I would be worried that it would turn the dog into a nervous wreck so I would have to have a dvd or book etc for some guidance.

That's a valid concern but I would say don't be afraid of the unknown. Like your not gonna shock him all the time, the same as your not gonna chastise him physically or verbally when in reach. A dog needs manners & needs to be corrected at the second it mishaves not 30 seconds later when you can catch it. Positive reinforememt coupled with a healthy respect for their alpha keeps a dog in check.
    A soft dog is only likely to get afraid Of a collar but a soft dog needs v little collar training. All relative like.
    You set it a tingle when starting. When dog gives the deaf ear or follows a hare, livestock etc you give a beep then immeadiaty a buzz. If he keeps going a bit higher until he reacts. Then a recall & a rub when he returns.
    V simple Concept & speeds up training no end. Allows young dogs into the field where they actually learn. I'm not a yard training fan only for basics.