Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where did your 80s BMX end up?

• 08-08-2011 4:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭

ah the early 70s and 80s!! good owl days when everyone was broke and no one had a washer but we were happy, we had our youth and our beloved raleigh burners, grifters, vektars and choppers!!

mine got robbed at the top of the road it was a raleigh tuff burner 1983
    the pox bottle who robbed it was a glue sniffer!! LoLs only in the 80s
    so were did your childhood bmx, grifter, chopper end up or do you still have it??

cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

ET nicked it.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

the pox bottle who robbed it was a glue sniffer!! LoLs only in the 80s

Better than the Tipp-ex drinkers of the 90's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Sold it to a mate, aka, my mum sold it to his mum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

never had one, I had a chopper, no idea what happened that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

I had a BMX 20 (I believe it was called.) A pretty crap bike by any standard. I don't recall what happened to it.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,658 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

LOUD NOISES

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Like every single bicycle and motorbike I've ever owned (6 in total)....stolen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Mine got nicked from the back garden... a raliegh burner i believe. Years later i seen some dude who collected used cans of the street riding it. He was bigger than me so i just stayed quiet :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

My Red MkII Burner fell into disuse after I outgrew it and got a Peugeot racer...it lived in the back garden and then the shed where it slowly rusted and got f*ked into a skip in a clear out about 20 yrs ago without my knowledge...shame because the damn things are worth money now too.

Vektar lol They were an insane price for such a gimmicky contraption...no raleigh Bomber, there was a cracking 80's bike...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭concur4u?

repossessed :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭stone roses

Wertz wrote: »
    My Red MkII Burner fell into disuse after I outgrew it and got a Peugeot racer...it lived in the back garden and then the shed where it slowly rusted and got f*ked into a skip in a clear out about 20 yrs ago without my knowledge...shame because the damn things are worth money now too.

Vektar lol They were an insane price for such a gimmicky contraption...no raleigh Bomber, there was a cracking 80's bike...

the bomber like the grifter these were tanks!! made to last
    the vektar bmx with its radio, speedometer, space sounds and star wars look, it was a the 80s at its best!! :-P

also forgot to mention the raleigh styler great bmx, i imagin most ended up in the top of the gardan or in a rusty grave or stolen, what a shame iconic bikes

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,658 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

I've never had a bike in my life. :-(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

it was stolen along with my brothers and sisters bikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Dunjohn

Last time I remember seeing it was actually in the 80's. As far as I know, it's still there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

I had one for about 2 weeks. I saved for a year, got my parents permission to empty my Post Office account with my communion and confirmation money in it and paid a mates parents £45 for one. It was in top nick and had plenty of mods on it. His elder brother worked in the UK and used to get him bits and bobs so it was one of the better ones around.

Two weeks later it was stolen and (I found out a couple of years later) was sold for £20. I was 13, devastated and got an almighty bollicking off my parents which lasted most of the summer.

When I was 20 I was asked to play in an U-21 match as they needed the numbers to make up, was rare enough as I wasn't the best player. He, the thieving ****, was playing against me. Took him out of it totally in the first half, he lost 2 teeth and his nose was badly broken, I think a blood vessel ripped, either way he was in hospital for 2-3 days because it wouldnt stop bleeding.

Two years later I was home on holidays and shifted the love of his life, made sure everyone knew and it caused them to split up. I told him then that I knew it was him who stole the bike. Petty, but well worth it.

Still plotting some more revenge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,506 ✭✭✭harr

sold mine to a friend,it was fairly banjaxed when he got it.The bike had a hard life when i had it :).This is one i had...http://www.re-buy-cycle.co.uk/details.php?id=200

Anyone remember those bikes in the 80's with the back-pedal brakes and the huge comfy saddle? Mate had one of them and they were the sh*t in the rain when normal brakes wouldn't work. Some Italian make I think...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭wesf

i still have mine :)
    well its the anniversary burner model, i assembled it and never cycled it, gone into storage for a long time to come!

Dunjohn wrote: »
    Last time I remember seeing it was actually in the 80's. As far as I know, it's still there.

you still got yours dunjohn? it would be great to see photos if anyone still has tere beloved bmx :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭x_Ellie_x

Mine was painted hot pink and black and I loved it. I gave it to my cousin Paula when I outgrew it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,506 ✭✭✭harr

wesf wrote: »
    well its the anniversary burner model, i assembled it and never cycled it, gone into storage for a long time to come!
    I think mine had some dudes signature on it not sure if it was a special addition or something:confused:

Photos please...

ya the 25th burners are great they done a nice job
    skyway mags , nice!!

harr wrote: »
    I think mine had some dudes signature on it not sure if it was a special addition or something:confused:

Photos please...

was only a limited number of these produced i think, 400 or something like that!
    how do i put up a pic? i have the photobucket link

harr wrote: »
    sold mine to a friend,it was fairly banjaxed when he got it.The bike had a hard life when i had it :).This is one i had...http://www.re-buy-cycle.co.uk/details.php?id=200

team burner deadly!!

aero pro mag burner with skyway mags , im lovin this ****!! 80s bmx kicks ass LoLs

took that pic just as i finished assembling it!
    wonder what it'll be worth in years to come

No photo's of my own but here's the exact one I had from the old catalogue:
    http://dtrcartwright.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/Burner/84_06.htm

Second one on that page...won't let me copy img link...gold chain bling lol

took that pic just as i finished assembling it!
    wonder what it'll be worth in years to come

money can bring back the joy we had as kids, you keep that its a cracker nice one brother! :-)

oh it'll be with me for the foreseeable future! thanks :)

all this old school talk, i think i will try obtain bmx bandits on vhs to play on me betamax LoLs , some nice bmx in that film great days indeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

I gave my Mongoose BMX to my cousin back when i lived in Kansas. It was stolen from outside a shop in KC and later used in a shooting. During the arrest it was taken as evidence. That was 12 years ago and was never released back to my cousin. Not sure if he couldn't get it back or that he just out grew it and never bothered with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Dardania

bijapos wrote: »
    I had one for about 2 weeks. I saved for a year, got my parents permission to empty my Post Office account with my communion and confirmation money in it and paid a mates parents £45 for one. It was in top nick and had plenty of mods on it. His elder brother worked in the UK and used to get him bits and bobs so it was one of the better ones around.

Two weeks later it was stolen and (I found out a couple of years later) was sold for £20. I was 13, devastated and got an almighty bollicking off my parents which lasted most of the summer.

When I was 20 I was asked to play in an U-21 match as they needed the numbers to make up, was rare enough as I wasn't the best player. He, the thieving ****, was playing against me. Took him out of it totally in the first half, he lost 2 teeth and his nose was badly broken, I think a blood vessel ripped, either way he was in hospital for 2-3 days because it wouldnt stop bleeding.

Two years later I was home on holidays and shifted the love of his life, made sure everyone knew and it caused them to split up. I told him then that I knew it was him who stole the bike. Petty, but well worth it.

Christ....Liam Neeson in Taken hasn't a patch on you!

I gave my Mongoose BMX to my cousin back when i lived in Kansas. It was stolen from outside a shop in KC and later used in a shooting. During the arrest it was taken as evidence. That was 12 years ago and was never released back to my cousin. Not sure if he couldn't get it back or that he just out grew it and never bothered with it.

hahahah "we dont just ride them we use them to kill" mongoose buy one today!! love it great story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

I had a BMX 20 (I believe it was called.) A pretty crap bike by any standard. I don't recall what happened to it.

I had the same, as far as i can remember mine had a sticker on the end of it that said 'made in yugoslavia'(showing my age now). Iv'e spent the last 30 mins trying to google it but no luck.

EDIT: One ugly mf'n excuse of a bike. I hated santa after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Rumple Fugly

Me and my older brother shared an RMX, havnt a clue where it came from or why it was RMX instead of BMX but i do remember it disappearing into a rust pile behind our garage. Also a mate of mine had the back pedal brake, comfy bendy seat bike, think it was called a Super Deluxe

my first bike was a blue rmx, i think they were just a cheap copy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Cianan2

Anyone know any sites where you can buy them??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Rumple Fugly

my first bike was a blue rmx, i think they were just a cheap copy!
    :D My RMX was blue too! Just googled Super Deluxe, think i was wrong, think my friend had a Raleigh Chopper instead

I had a golden BMX, yellow tires and all.
    What a bike.
    Think about 10 years ago it got scrapped during a clean up at home.

BMX Bandits, remember that movie. We would do mad things after watching that movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

There's a poster around these parts called SlasherMcGurk, I think ye should meet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭Eleganza

Yamaha BYZ301 BMX in white and red Yamaha livery. Never saw another one of them in real-life. Given away to cousins.
    When I outgrew it moved on to a Steyr Puch 10 speed racer courtesy of my confirmation money. A bike was my freedom. Without it I'd have been trapped out in the country in the middle of nowhere.

this is great so many good storys! we can all enjoy our 70s and 80s bmx from the past on this site www.bmxmusaem.com bring a tear to a class eye!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

my Raleigh extra burner was lost when we moved for the umteenth time in 1992/93 :mad:

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

If that's true, epic lolz!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,833 ✭✭✭phill106

all you bmx fans should remember this movie

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0091817/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

I had the Raleigh burner and my mate had the ultra burner, we sold them when the Raleigh marauder came out, now there was a bike!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,855 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

When I was ten, 2 'members of the travelling community' decided that my BMX was the one for them.

"How much for the bike?"
    "Sorry, it's not for sale."
    "I'll give ya £2 for it."
    "No thanks, I'm not selling."
    "If you don't sell me the bike I'll bate ya!"
    "I can't sell it, my mam and dad will kill me if I do"
    "Well I'll kill ya if ya don't!"

This went on and on until one of them broke my nose and stole my bike. I went home BMXless. I still hold a prejudice against travellers because of this incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Dardania wrote: »
    Christ....Liam Neeson in Taken hasn't a patch on you!
    cruiser178 wrote: »
    There's a poster around these parts called SlasherMcGurk, I think ye should meet.
    wixfjord wrote: »
    If that's true, epic lolz!

I suppose its hard to understand, but I was 13 when I got the bike. I had £45 to my name and some of it was my actual communion money which was £8 in 1977. It was big money at the time and I wrecked my head for ages as to whether I should get one or not. I could have gotten tapes, clothes, PLO scarves, German army surplus Parkas and what not with the £45 but I really wanted the bike. I remember my mates mother saying all along it was £50, I think my oul fella gave her the other £5 behind my back.

Back then in rural Ireland there were no summer jobs, feck all chance to make money apart from helping neighbours with hay or turf and the last £20 of that cash was hard earned and then some fcuker goes and nicks it after two weeks, TWO FCUKING WEEKS!

I was never much at sports but I was a natural at the BMX and it totally destroyed my summer, along with the bollocking from my parents that went on for weeks (we were not well off).

As regards hurting him, I wasn't a good player but was hard enough. I meant to hit him, the chance came, about four of us jumped for a ball and I went flying in and elbowed him in the face. The broken blood vessel (or whatever it was, maybe an artery or vein :rolleyes:) was a fluke, something dislodged in his nose and cut something else a bit further up. It was difficult to get to without surgery so they kept him in hospital for a few days till it stopped bleeding. I didn't mean to do that but when I heard how bad it was but that there would be no lasting danger I was happy. Maake of that what you will.

I've no regrets, I wasn't the only one he stole stuff off. He lived in a town about 5 miles from ours, always had cash, always had new tapes or some new clothes even though his parents were like my own and had very little. He was in Uni in Galway and I know he kept nicking stuff there too, but he was a bit of a sonny boy and would be the last to be suspected.

When I told him about me spending all my savings on the bike he said "so fcuking what", no regrets, no remorse.

So yeah I'll get him back some more some other time. It'll be subtle but good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭seanin4711

I remember I had it in my bedroom when i first got it boy did I love it!
    something like this!
    http://bmxmuseum.com/bikes/diamondback/16679