Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Michael O'Leary for Minister of Health

• 07-08-2011 9:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭

Lads do you think there is any way of getting Michael O'Leary to take on our disgraceful health service. Maybe if everybody sends him a letter begging him to do it for the sake of the nation. But seriously I couldn't think of anyone better for sorting out the HSE. An maybe after that he could move on to education as obviously nobody in govt. has the balls to tackle teacher pay. Actually he should be our one supreme leader and should run every aspect of our country, I'm sure all non-lefties here would agree.

Should MO'L be apointed as Minister for Health? 42 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No(I'm a left wing nut job)
    100% 42 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

i'd rather have mary harney back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,904 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Pointless thread.he has no intrest in running for office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭BEASTERLY

ted1 wrote: »
    Pointless thread.he has no intrest in running for office.

We could ask him nicely?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

please insert €2 to get to the hospital.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

BEASTERLY wrote: »
    We could ask him nicely?

we could also tell him to f*ck off nicely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Actually he should be our one supreme leader and should run every aspect of our country, I'm sure all non-lefties here would agree.

I don't think you know what you're talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

The problem with giving the health service the medicine it requires is that if you try to tackle it people will die during the strikes that will follow the changes. No government wants to have that blood on their hands which is what makes it more difficult.

Speedy health reform will lead to deaths as the public are the innocent casualties in the fight between the government and the unions. Reform is needed but alas there is no one brave enough, especially not the incumbent who was one of them. Harney tried it but she is almost universally reviled here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Yeah, I am sure running an airline business is almost exactly the same as running a nations health service. And of course he would be motivated by all the profit he makes as a health minister...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

please insert €2 to get to the hospital.

It's already €100. The public sector taking on private sector best practice.

The problem with giving the health service the medicine it requires is that if you try to tackle it people will die during the strikes that will follow the changes. No government wants to have that blood on their hands which is what makes it more difficult.

Speedy health reform will lead to deaths as the public are the innocent casualties in the fight between the government and the unions. Reform is needed but alas there is no one brave enough, especially not the incumbent who was one of them. Harney tried it but she is almost universally reviled here.

Agreed,its on a clamp down,park agreement done up last moment to avoid a strike,even if there where people fired today there would be no one rehired because they cant afford to pay them because salaries protected by the agreement!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Lads do you think there is any way of getting Michael O'Leary to take on our disgraceful health service. Maybe if everybody sends him a letter begging him to do it for the sake of the nation. But seriously I couldn't think of anyone better for sorting out the HSE. An maybe after that he could move on to education as obviously nobody in govt. has the balls to tackle teacher pay. Actually he should be our one supreme leader and should run every aspect of our country, I'm sure all non-lefties here would agree.
    HERP DERP LOONY LEFT PC GONE MAD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

orourkeda wrote: »

Let's not even joke about that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Finance Minister maybe, but Health Minister needs a bit of cop on!
    o_O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

And we would get

- hospitals in the middle of nowhere
    - Crazy prices for hospital food
    - Coin operated Wheelchairs, lockers, bathrooms, drips, monitors
    - Nurses and Doctors having to buy their own uniforms
    - 24hr advertising radio

and even more exposure to that smug little chancer

No thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

I'd rather have Josef Mengele in charge than that arrogant tosser O'Leary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

We already feckin have hospitals in the middle of nowhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Michael O'Leary's plan for the health service;

1. Abolish HSE and return power to small regional health boards to oversee "standards of practice" (and only the said standards of practice).

2. Privatise the entire health sector, sell off all hospitals and clinic.

3. Buy up all hospitals and clinics.

4. Rename the new health service with some quirky name, let's say, "Leary care", "Ryan Health", etc..

5. Fire all unionised staff. Give the 2 fingers to the unions.

6. Create a new website for your health service empire with an easy-to-use booking service for treatment.

7. The website will offer cheap hotel deals for people who want to find a place to stay beside the hospital/clinic. Also include health insurance offers, a "Leary care"/ "Ryan Health" credit care offers, cheap ambulance services and a link to the Ryanair website if you need to travel abroad to get emergency treatment.

8. Have advertisements on the website like "GP visits - €0.99"", "Amazing offer: Hip Replacements - now only €6.99!". During booking you will release that those offers were only for off peak periods (:rolleyes:) and that there are more sneaky little charges like ambulance costs, waiting room fees, etc..

9. If you need to take an ambulance (remember that this merits an additional fee), they will probably leave you about 10 km away from the hospital or clinic. "Leary care" will not be responsible for any losses, injury or death incurred during transfer. If you have any major loss of limbs, organ, blood, or if you need to be revived during transfer you will have to pay an addition fee for recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

orourkeda wrote: »

Agreed. But let's not lose the run of ourselves. There are other options.

Shows again the unions have more power than average minister *which is great if you work in these jobs...

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

As it, I know of one patient (public) that is not being given the meds she needs, as the only neurologist she can access is in Dublin and the hospital budget staff say that she would cost them too much.Imagine if O' Leary took over.

Yes, excellent idea. I have no doubt that he could cut the health budget in half. Of course, there would be no treatment for fatties,smokers, the elderly, or the sick, but shur that's capitalism. We don't need any hangers-on, right? Humanity is for the weak. I have no doubt that there would be several hedge-funds interested in your proposals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭imitation

First thing he would do is look at the costs and put them straight on to the patient(Or health Insurance).

a night in hospital ? that'll be 1000 euros please
    Need some fancy medication ?, that'll be 100 euros a day, for the rest of your life.
    Broke a collar bone ? That'll be 30,000 euros please

Hello US health system !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

No.

A business head such as his would not have a clue how to successfully manage a triage system in circumstances (like our present one) that requires management of health procedures, where additionally every second counts in regards to saving lives and retaining quality of life.
    Both of which alone, would be compromised for the sake of profit numbers on a spreadsheet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

The surgery rooms will have a credit card machine. Insert card and enter pin to pay €4000 if you require an anesthetic.
    No thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭BEASTERLY

Biggins wrote: »
    No.

A business head such as his would not have a clue how to successfully manage a triage system in circumstances (like our present one) that requires management of health procedures, where additionally every second counts in regards to saving lives and retaining quality of life.
    Both of which alone, would be compromised for the sake of profit numbers on a spreadsheet!

So you want the current to continue then?:rolleyes:

Yes - while I disagree strongly in some of his actions.
    At least he has a high degree training in the field of saving lives and whats involved.

Would you send in a cook (Gorden Ramsey, whomever...) to fix a nuclear powerstation and make it turn a profit?
    Why send in a man that runs an airline to rule over a service that is about saving lives?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Isn't there an alternative? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

That there's a textbook example of a false dichotomy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

He would make a great Stalin, but health minster no.

If it was up to you OP, the only people who would have access to healthcare, would be the people of Dublin, Limerick, Galway, and Cork (and even then if they were within a certain amount of miles of city limits), as their tax contribution is the only one, that entitles them.

I believe that we are a nation, and I have often enjoyed the pleasures that rural Ireland affords us all. If it was up to you OP there would only be five or six counties in this island who would deserve electricity,gas,television etc.

You should read September 1913 by W.B. Yeats, or anything by Patrick Kavanagh.

Although I doubt you will, so just add your ha'pence to your pence and fumble in your greasy till.

If it was up to you OP, the only people who would have access to healthcare, would be the people of Dublin, Limerick, Galway, and Cork (and even then if they were within a certain amount of miles of city limits), as their tax contribution is the only one, that entitles them.

I believe that we are a nation, and I have often enjoyed the pleasures that rural Ireland affords us all. If it was up to you OP there would only be five or six counties in this island who would deserve electricity,gas,television etc.

Although I doubt you will, so just add your ha'pence to your pence and fumble in your greasy till.
    Amen brother!
    I want to buy you a pint!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Don't even suggest it.

He has already got ideas. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

I'm one of the few that like the man but I would feel a little uncomfortable knowing that my life support machine would be coin-operated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

What need you being come to sense and fumble in a greasy till
    And add the half pence to the pence
    And prayer to shivering prayer until
    You've dried the marrow from the bone
    For men were born to pray and save
    Romantic Ireland's dead and gone
    Tis with O'Leary in the grave......

Was it for this the wild geese spread
    A grey wing upon every tide
    Was it for this the blood was shed
    For this that Edward Fitzgerald died?
    And Robert Emmet and Wolfe Tone
    All that delirium of the brave
    Romantic Ireland's dead and gone
    Tis with O'Leary in the grave.....

(excuse typos' or errors that came straight from memory) ;)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

But we'd still have a **** service?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭G Luxel

We would have a great health service....but everyone has to look after their own health....there are enough people in hospital who continue to smoke 60 a day out in the carpark while attached to a drip which is suppose to help them get better...meanwhile in A&E 9 out of ten muppets are proud to be binge-drinkers and would love to add an ASBO to their CV because its ok to cause complete anarchy in the waiting room......:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

But the spreadsheet does not like red numbers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I think running a public health service is quite different to running an airline.

For a start nobody is forced to use ryanair but people are forced to use hospitals. Also, things like hearts, kidneys, skirts, lungs, eyes are not traded like commodities.

If organs for transplant were treated as commodities then only fabulously wealthy people would be able to afford them in a bidding war (Obay.com?)

Why can't we just take the example of another similarly sized state and copy it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

We already have a Michael O'Leary Health Service.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I suppose removing a left leg instead of a right is pretty close by Ryanair standards.

Charge you a right arm and a leg for the privilege.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Believe it or not: if you measure the number of lives saved, relative to the expenditure, Ireland has the most efficient health service among the developed countries of the world. The UK and New Zealand are also good, but the USA is way down the list: they spend much more, but save fewer lives per dollar spent. This is the result from a survey published in the Journal of the Royal Society of Medicine.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

bnt wrote: »
    Believe it or not: if you measure the number of lives saved, relative to the expenditure, Ireland has the most efficient health service among the developed countries of the world. The UK and New Zealand are also good, but the USA is way down the list: they spend much more, but save fewer lives per dollar spent. This is the result from a survey published in the Journal of the Royal Society of Medicine.

But the WHO have it differently. Ireland is better than average (ranked #19 in performance and #25 in spending) but Malta have the fifth-best service in the world despite being #37 in spending. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WHO's_ranking_of_health_care_systems

I mean, herp durp mary harney haircut roscommon obamacare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Some people will never accept that running a business is not the same as running a country and the same principles should not be applied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

No.

i would agree with you that he may not know how to run a triage system etc, but he's an accountant, and he also knows feck all about airplane maintenance. he would be able to deal with the pen pushing admin that is being replicated all over the place. when however many health boards combine to one entity, and there's no lay offs and MASSIVE duplication of posts, there's something seriously wrong.

you can't say he wouldn't be able to sort that kinda mess out any more than... say... a former chief exec of eircom?

God knows how much could be saved if the background was sorted out. i've read some of what you've been through yourself, and can only imagine what goes through your head when you get told stories of lack of funding at crumlin etc, but that lack of funding happened for a reason, and a bloody awful one at that.