Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

End of an era for Tyrone?

• 06-08-2011 10:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭

Tyrone have been wonderful champions from 2003 to 2008 and with that beating one of the greatest teams that ever came out of Kerry on three separate occasions. Micky Harte has been a wonderful manager and had many fine talents playing with Tyrone. It took teams years to solve the blanket defence that Tyrone developed and played with and many other teams now copied their style and use it in their games.

Is this the last time we will see the end of many of the past Tyrone greats? Dooher, Gormley, Rice, McMahons, Hughes, Stephen O Neill? Philip Jordan? McGuigan? Can Tyrone win another All Ireland with the current crop of players, or is it the end of Micky Harte managing the Tyrone team?

Thoughts, opinions?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

They were a flash in the pan and like Armagh will wilt away to lowly status. They brought a new era of negativity and cynicism and our sport is worse for wear after them. They will be remembered as the team who achieved alot but were totally inconsistent.

They beat Kerry in 2003 and ended the tenure of Paudi O'Se and took the innocence of a generation of Kerry players, Kerry being Kerry marched on and won in 2004, in 2005 both sides tee'd off in what was a decisive moment in Kerry football, Pascal O'Connell attempted to blind Colm Cooper the same day and cynicism payed off that day.

They were hit and run footballers who like Down emerged now and then but were without real substance and consistency. Cork may have only won one All-Ireland in the last decade but they were a far superior and more consistent team than Tyrone ever were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Stinicker wrote: »
    They beat Kerry in 2003 and ended the tenure of Paudi O'Se
    And for that we should be thankful. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Can we all just agree to collectively ignore Snticker's baiting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Stinicker's posts show how Tyrone got to Kerry. Kerry were a soft touch, give them room and respect, a joy to behold, watch them all day.

"They don't like it up them".

Down and Tyrone will always have a superiority complex over Kerry and they don't know how to handle it.

That 08 team was a joy to watch, Far from puke football, if only they'd a Cooper CF they'd have been lauded everywhere.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

Syferus wrote: »
    Can we all just agree to collectively ignore Snticker's baiting?

He's ****ing brilliant though isn't he.:D Unbelievably provocative.

End of the road for Tyrone? Yeah probably. Best performance i ever witnessed at Croke Park was when they destroyed Dublin in the rain in 08. Great footballers and they set the standard when it came to workrate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Sanity_Saviour

If this is the end of an era well then I suppose anyone who lost in this year's Championship is also nearing the end of an era. Dublin, although I hate to say it are a very good team and will give Donegal a great contest. Tyrone are and will always be a lasting legacy and their 3 Ulster Titles in the last 5 years in the most competitive province in Ireland is testament to that. One blip does not make a team, I fully expect them to be among the front-runners for next year's Sam,still with Brian Dooher in tow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Sorry, it's unfair comparing Down and Tyrone.

Down go "so what", score goals, get the Down swagger going and wonder what this Kerry thing is about!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

Looks like the end for this Tyrone team alright. Have to say i have been disappointed with the "conveyor belt" that people talk about. There is nothing coming through that will be as special as McGuigan's or O'Neill's class.
    So end of an era, yes.
    But what a great team over the past 10 years

If this is the end of an era well then I suppose anyone who lost in this year's Championship is also nearing the end of an era. Dublin, although I hate to say it are a very good team and will give Donegal a great contest. Tyrone are and will always be a lasting legacy and their 3 Ulster Titles in the last 5 years in the most competitive province in Ireland is testament to that. One blip does not make a team, I fully expect them to be among the front-runners for next year's Sam,still with Brian Dooher in tow.

I wouldn't be surprised to see most of this Tyrone team give it one more year - Harte's got a contract until the end of next season - but it's hard for anyone not to accept that this is a great team reaching the end of the road.

Who knows what form Tyrone football will take in the years to come, but they'll have alot of rebuilding to do in the next few years, something that younger teams (like Roscommon) don't have to do in the sense they're already a few years along in that sort of process. A veteran team losing will make the players think about when is the time to retire, a (good) young team losing will only make them want to come back stronger next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭sliabh beagh

im a tyrone supporter from south tyrone and i would like to say that i think its deffo time for tyrone to rebuild. we have been so lucky with the group of players that came through from the 97/98 minor teams. i was at the game today and was blown away by the pace, power and overall energy of the dublin team.i hope they go on and win sam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

im a tyrone supporter from south tyrone and i would like to say that i think its deffo time for tyrone to rebuild. we have been so lucky with the group of players that came through from the 97/98 minor teams. i was at the game today and was blown away by the pace, power and overall energy of the dublin team.i hope they go on and win sam.

Theres surely a few good players to come through from the 2008 and 2010 minor winning teams?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭baztard

They were a flash in the pan and like Armagh will wilt away to lowly status. They brought a new era of negativity and cynicism and our sport is worse for wear after them. They will be remembered as the team who achieved alot but were totally inconsistent.

They beat Kerry in 2003 and ended the tenure of Paudi O'Se and took the innocence of a generation of Kerry players, Kerry being Kerry marched on and won in 2004, in 2005 both sides tee'd off in what was a decisive moment in Kerry football, Pascal O'Connell attempted to blind Colm Cooper the same day and cynicism payed off that day.

They were hit and run footballers who like Down emerged now and then but were without real substance and consistency. Cork may have only won one All-Ireland in the last decade but they were a far superior and more consistent team than Tyrone ever were.

Haha, great post. Kerry have long being practising cynicism, Tyrone just took it to a new level and perfected it over the last decade. I don't think a team can win the AI without it now unfortunately. Cork are good at it, Kerry are good at it, Tyrone made it famous. Most teams practice it to a certain extent. Kerry are so good that it goes under the radar, and rarely gets caught, but it exists in off the ball fouling and playing for frees.

The AI winners over the past decade have all been great teams, who ooze amazing skill. But the winners of 1/4 and 1/2 finals over the last decade or so, have been the cute hoor teams; the teams who can foul and pull down and drag opposition players off the ball and who fabricate frees. Attackers who lock defenders arms under their own arms to play the refs, and attackers who run into defenders and deliberatly fall over etc. have been the winning difference.

Kerry have being doing that for years, but doing it just mildly enough to bend rather than break the rules. Tyrone and ulster football in general have taken it to a new, and far more obvious level.

The Tyrone blanket defence is a horrible sight, and hopefully Dublin will put an end to Donegals ultra version of it in the semis. Kerry play skillful football, as do Dublin and Mayo. Donegal play to their strengths, but its not attractive at all unfortunately.

Tis' a good championship so far. Roll on the semi's!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Prop Joe

Tyrone have lost more Quarter Finals than won,Interesting Stat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭baztard

I think that was the difference on the day between the two teams also. Tyrone need to rebuild the team around the younger players coming through. Their AI winning team were great in their day, but their past it now.

I think the current Tyrone cycle is at an end. Pity they were such a talented side and brought so much to the game the last decade. I think its now the turn of the class of 2008 and 10 to come through. I cant see Mickey Harte stay around to bring them through but they will be a force again whoever is lucky enough to manage them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Rebel1977

Some flash in the pan' won THREE all irelands. they have given us some of he best players on the last 10 years in football i.e. steven o neill/sean cavanagh/peter canavan. Jealousy gets u no where.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭FastFuse

Tyrone will beat Dublin on Saturday. Tyrone murdered Donegal in the first half of the Ulster Final but were very wasteful in front of goal. Should have been out of sight by halftime.
    Dublin beat Kildare just about (and we all now see how limited Kildare were). They just about beat Wexford who are useless.
    I fully expect Sean Cavanagh etc to do some serious damage. And i wont even start on Dublin's tendency to fall apart for 25 mins of every game.

Donegal v Tyrone
    Mayo v Kerry

Leinster remains the weakest football province
    Looks like the end for this Tyrone team alright. Have to say i have been disappointed with the "conveyor belt" that people talk about. There is nothing coming through that will be as special as McGuigan's or O'Neill's class.
    So end of an era, yes.
    But what a great team over the past 10 years
    What did you think of Dublin's performance though, Brain(:rolleyes:) Stroking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭keysersoze0330

Yeah Tyrone looked jaded yesterday. They were second to the ball all day long, against a super fit Dublin. Dublin's pace was breathtaking at times. Time to rebuilt for a Tyrone team that will always be regarded as a great team.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 63 ✭✭big toenails

No way is this the end of an era for Tyrone. They'l be back next year with sledge hammers. These lads have a hell of a lot of football to play yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,461 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Ahhhh NO!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gooch2k9

Ahhhh NO!!!

Have to agree with ya there. Bit unfair calling them a flash in the pan, especially so soon. Who knows they could go on and win more. In ten years maybe if they haven't won anything more, it would be fair to say they were a flash in the pan for Tyrone football as a whole. Honestly can't see that happening though with the minor teams they have had recently. Have to agree about the consistency thing though; they weren't.

Anyone calling for Harte to go needs to reconsider. The whole Tyrone system is geared for preparing players to play his system. Remember seeing somewhere that the minors and U-21s play the exact same system so as to make the transition to senior easier and more fluid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭I dont know

teednab-el wrote: »
    Tyrone have been wonderful champions from 2003 to 2008 and with that beating one of the greatest teams that ever came out of Kerry on three separate occasions. Micky Harte has been a wonderful manager and had many fine talents playing with Tyrone. It took teams years to solve the blanket defence that Tyrone developed and played with and many other teams now copied their style and use it in their games.

Is this the last time we will see the end of many of the past Tyrone greats? Dooher, Gormley, Rice, McMahons, Hughes, Stephen O Neill? Philip Jordan? McGuigan? Can Tyrone win another All Ireland with the current crop of players, or is it the end of Micky Harte managing the Tyrone team?

Thoughts, opinions?

The McMahons wont be calling it a day. Joe is 27 & Justin 25
    I'd say the rest you have mentioned will though

The last 10years following Tyrone football have been class, and these guys owe us nothing if they decide to call it a day. Disappointing to lose yesterday, but Dublin were superb and I wish them all the best.
    I look forward to taking them on next year as reigning Champions, with a new look Tyrone team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭harpsman

Last night was the end of a great era for Tyrone and Ulster football.
    Whilst they were masters of the dark arts this Tyrone team played some of the best football ever seen in Croke Park.They changed the face of gaelic football and were,certainly for me,the team of the decade.
    How boring would the last 8 years have been without them to challenge Kerry-and put them in their box every time?
    Also how good was that U21 team of 00/01-McConnell,McAnallen,Gormley, Jordan,Devlin,Hughes,McGinley,Mellon,McGuigan,Mulligan and ONeill?- definately the best under age team ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

I tell ya one thing .. if it wasn't for the the fantastic football blueprint that Tyrone laid down over the last 10 years, Dublin wouldn't have had the scope to adopt the powerful running football they have now under Gilroy - for that Mickey H we are truly grateful !

I for one hope they bounce back straight away .. their fans alone deserve it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Gael85

This Tyrone team has won 3 All Irelands in 6 years,most Cork team has been around the last 5/6 years only winning 1 All Ireland.While the football Tyrone played in 2003 was negative they played some great football in 2005 with their player interchanging positions,Ryan McMenamin charging forward from corner back,Brian Dooher covering back in his fullback line,all the Tyrone players are comfortable playing any position on the field.Mulligan,Gormley,Hughes,Dooher,Jordan,McMenamin&O'Neill have given great service to their county.They need the likes of Peter Harte,Sean O'Neill,Kyle Coney,Niall McKenna,Aidan Cassidy and Martin Swift to step up as new leaders in the group

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭plasmaguy

Some of the auld lads actually did ok yesterday, O'Neill and Dooher when they came on looked good, especially O'Neill. I thought Gormley did ok as well. Both Kavanaghs were a bit quite though.

It was many of the younger players really who were no-where to be seen.

So is it the answer to get rid of the likes of Dooher and O'Neill. Don't think so, they provided much needed leadership and experience when they came on.

Armagh did a clean out a couple of years ago of older players and they haven't done much since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Tyrone were without doubt the team of the noughties. A lot of the current batch are nearing their end, but others are coming through. They are not going to be far off over the next few years. Mickey Harte will stay at least another year, and if there is promise in what he sees, he may stay on. Tyrone were being written off after Canavan retired, but they kept going. We haven't seen the last of Tyrone, just a few players.

Tyrone were probably the story of the noughties but a team that failed to win atleast 50% of their Quarter Finals couldnt be the best..Tyrone v Kerry 2008 was one of the best games ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭J Cheever Loophole

Prop Joe wrote: »
    Tyrone v Kerry 2008 was one of the best games ever

Not as good as Tyrone v Kerry in 2005, which in turn was not as good as Tyrone v Armagh III in 2005. That said, Cavanagh's second half performance in that 2008 All Ireland Final must rank up there with the all time great individual performances in Croke Park.

For me, whilst Tyrone deserve a lot of the plaudits they are now receiving, I can't help but look back at my own County whose success was the inspiration for Tyrone to make the break through (Peter Canavan's words) and took a lot of our blue print and moulded the best parts into their own game plan. A few small things going the other way, and we could have had two or three All Irelands of our own, and one or two of those at the expense of Tyrone - unfortunately not to be!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Tyrone were probably the story of the noughties but a team that failed to win atleast 50% of their Quarter Finals couldnt be the best..Tyrone v Kerry 2008 was one of the best games ever

Some say Kerry were the best, but when another team has a 100% championship record against them and went on to win the All-Ireland on each of those 3 occasions then that is the iceberg that sinks that Titanic claim. Kerry may have won more All-Irelands but their zero strike rate against Tyrone moves them down the pecking order. So does their bad defeats against Meath in 2001 and Armagh in 2002, before you throw in Tyrone at all. The Ulster monkey was tightly on their back until they beat Armagh in 2006, but it hung on through Tyrone. Kerry wanted to beat both Armagh and Tyrone, but didn't. Even Kerry fans were saying prior to the 2008 final that it would settle the argument of who were the team of the decade. We all know the result. Anyway that debate is long over. A new decade has begun and there are a few teams that could make big noises in the next few years. Tyrone would be one of those. We haven't seen the last of them.

Flukey wrote: »
    Some say Kerry were the best, but when another team has a 100% championship record against them and went on to win the All-Ireland on each of those 3 occasions then that is the iceberg that sinks that Titanic claim. Kerry may have won more All-Irelands but their zero strike rate against Tyrone moves them down the pecking order. So does their bad defeats against Meath in 2001 and Armagh in 2002, before you throw in Tyrone at all. The Ulster monkey was tightly on their back until they beat Armagh in 2006, but it hung on through Tyrone. Kerry wanted to beat both Armagh and Tyrone, but didn't. Even Kerry fans were saying prior to the 2008 final that it would settle the argument of who were the team of the decade. We all know the result. Anyway that debate is long over. A new decade has begun and there are a few teams that could make big noises in the next few years. Tyrone would be one of those. We haven't seen the last of them.

3 is not greater than 5 and you know that. Kerry appeared in 8 finals winning 5 of them and appeared in every single Semi-Final in the decade. Kerry were the most consistent team throughout and while they did not beat them in the Championship that decade it does not relegate Kerry into 2nd best team of the decade and you know that. Kerry won NFL and umpteen different titles and consistently come out of top in different polls as the team of the decade.

Kerry will win the All-Ireland again this year and prove to the world that they are best and greatest football team in Ireland. The ghost of Tyrone has vanished and the history books and people who know Kerry know they were the best and I wouldn't be on here claiming Kerry were the best team of the decade if Kerry had only won 3 All-Irelands and Tyrone had won five yet never beat Kerry. Tyrone had no consistency and were hit & run flash in the pan footballers whereas Kerry will nearly always be there or thereabouts as our frankly untouchable record at the elite pinacle of football testifys to.

Next thing you'll be telling us the Germans won WWII and that Elvis is still alive! :rolleyes:

And youse all worry what da Dubs would be like if they won one AI !! sweet jaysis .... Elvis is workin on a building site as a brickies labourer in Guatemala FWIW

Since 2000 Kerry have been beaten by only 5 teams in Championship.Tyrone,Cork,Down,Armagh & Meath

Tyrone on the other hand have fell to Derry,Armagh,Sligo,Donegal,Mayo,Meath,Down,Dublin and the mighty Laois & Sligo...

From what they've quoted Sean Cavanagh on in the papers today there's a good portion of the veterans who have already decided they were definitely retiring at the end of the season.

I think for Tyrone now it's about holding onto a few old heads to keep some consistency in the team and Stephen O'Neil would be top of my list, even against Dublin he looked as good as ever. He may have retired once already but he's only thirty so he has the capacity to go for a few more years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

A desperately unfortunate team as well it must be said. Losing McAnallen obviously being the biggest loss. He was a monstrous player who surely would helped Tyrone do much better in 04. I'll always remember the cheer he got in Dooher's victory speech in '05, it was sad while at the same time being an absolutely heart-warming moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I'm no fan of Tyrone, nor will I ever be but if there was one good thing that they did was that they brought a new edge to gaelic football and broke the monotony of Kerrys dominance.Otherwise the championship would have been a very boring one sided affair.

I'm sure cynicism isn't only reflected on a physical level by the northern teams.It can be replicated by a Paul Galvin pinching and punching a player in the back with sly digs or Colm Cooper going down with cramp in the 69th minute when Kerry are holding onto a two point lead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭J Cheever Loophole

I wouldn't be on here claiming Kerry were the best team of the decade if Kerry had only won 3 All-Irelands and Tyrone had won five yet never beat Kerry.

Yes, I'd be prepared to believe that!! whistle.gif

Kerry will win the All-Ireland again this year and prove to the world that they are best and greatest football team in Ireland. The ghost of Tyrone has vanished and the history books and people who know Kerry know they were the best and I wouldn't be on here claiming Kerry were the best team of the decade if Kerry had only won 3 All-Irelands and Tyrone had won five yet never beat Kerry. Tyrone had no consistency and were hit & run flash in the pan footballers whereas Kerry will nearly always be there or thereabouts as our frankly untouchable record at the elite pinacle of football testifys to.

Next thing you'll be telling us the Germans won WWII and that Elvis is still alive! :rolleyes:

Just admit it Stinicker that Tyrone were team of the decade. They hammered Kerry in 2003. They schooled them in 2005 and outclassed them in 2008. 2008 was the decider for me and Kerry just couldnt beat them no matter what team Kerry put out. Its a pity that Tyrone didnt emerge more often as they were beaten by real opposition in the championship unlike Kerry who get easy draws most years. Kerry would probably sh**t in the pants again seeing the red hand and fail incredibly to beat them. I love it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

I shouldn't be adding to this flogging of a dead horse for the mathematically challenged but anyway...

When this team of the decade rubbish comes up the most vocal Tyrone supporters happen to support counties who got their ass handed to them in brutal fashion in Croke Park by Kerry. Clearly the mental scars have yet to heal for the Cork and Dublin supporters. Odd that Mayo supporters don't indulge in this but perhaps they have more class or just recognise this Kerry team's achievements.

Tyrone and Kerry are great teams. Just accept it, celebrate it and move on.

Back on topic the end of an era started last year for Tyrone and we're the second year into it. The test for them now is if they can re-invent themselves and come back to mount a serious challenge for Sam. I wouldn't bet against them.

DeepBlue wrote: »
    .......... When this team of the decade rubbish comes up the most vocal Tyrone supporters happen to support counties who got their ass handed to them in brutal fashion in Croke Park by Kerry. Clearly the mental scars have yet to heal for the Cork and Dublin supporters. Odd that Mayo supporters don't indulge in this but perhaps they have more class or just recognise this Kerry team's achievements..

Or maybe in your words "they had their asses handed to them" in 04,05 &06 .... works both ways

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 hurlingmad81

Flukey wrote: »

Definitely tyrone's decade. 3-0 over kerry is as emphatic as it gets. my favourite football team of all time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 gaga4gaa

As a Tyrone man, I must say it was great to beat Kerry 3 times. But the fact that we beat the best footballing County in Ireland is what made it sweet.

Having said that, Kerry have won 5 All Irelands, they have put All Irelands back to back, which we couldnt manage to do. I think we just couldnt keep coming year after year, as Kerry seem to be able.

Must say I have loved the past 10 years watching some great football.

Gaelic football is the real winner in this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 gaga4gaa

forgot Galway and Cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

teednab-el wrote: »

Thoughts, opinions?

Tyrone players have hinted the last couple of days that there will be several retirements. I'd expect the likes of Dooher, McGuigan, O'Neill and Gormley might be among them.

I said earlier in the Summer that this Tyrone team wouldn't win another All-Ireland, but in fairness to the afforementioned players (add in Jordan, McMenamin etc) they did it when it mattered and 3 All-Irelands is an excellent return for any team.

Mickey Harte has said he intends to stay on, personally I think he should have stepped down now and let somebody else build a new team.
    They were a flash in the pan and like Armagh will wilt away to lowly status. They brought a new era of negativity and cynicism and our sport is worse for wear after them. They will be remembered as the team who achieved alot but were totally inconsistent

Jaysus Pat you're still awful bitter about this puke football stuff :rolleyes: :)

Yes but they won 3 All-Irelands and ultimately that's the only stat that matters now.

Anyway apart from Kerry I'd expect most counties have lost more quarter finals than they've won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Since 2000 Kerry have been beaten by only 5 teams in Championship.Tyrone,Cork,Down,Armagh & Meath

Tyrone on the other hand have fell to Derry,Armagh,Sligo,Donegal,Mayo,Meath,Down,Dublin and the mighty Laois & Sligo...

Yes, and every year Tyrone have had to play the likes of Donegal, Derry, Down, Armagh and Monaghan. All of these teams have been very strong at different points in the last decade.

Kerry, on the other hand, have had Cork to contend with and little else in Munster.

Take 2005 for example. Kerry beat Tipp, Limerick and Cork in Munster. They then beat Mayo and played Cork again in the semi.

Tyrone on the other hand, had to play Down, Cavan (x2 and Cavan weren't too bad that year reaching the last 12), Armagh, then Monaghan in the qualifiers round 4, then Dublin, Armagh again and then Kerry in the final.

Compare those two routes to the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭footie_fanatic

Whats happening Tyrone now, Is what happpend Armagh a few years ago, they are getting older and not bringen on enuf younger players to take up the mantal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Lemlin wrote: »
    Yes, and every year Tyrone have had to play the likes of Donegal, Derry, Down, Armagh and Monaghan. All of these teams have been very strong at different points in the last decade.

Kerry, on the other hand, have had Cork to contend with and little else in Munster.

Take 2005 for example. Kerry beat Tipp, Limerick and Cork in Munster. They then beat Mayo and played Cork again in the semi.

Tyrone on the other hand, had to play Down, Cavan (x2 and Cavan weren't too bad that year reaching the last 12), Armagh, then Monaghan in the qualifiers round 4, then Dublin, Armagh again and then Kerry in the final.

Compare those two routes to the final.

Just to re-inforce your point may I add Dublin x2 due to the replay.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭ionadnapokot

The stats dont lie in this instance.

But Tyrone were still a very good Team. Not a Great team!

Going by the prevailing boards logic which seems to automatically exclude Kerry presumably even if they had won ten-in-a-row, I now declare Cork as team of the decade due to their better consistency than Tyrone. And as 3>5, I now declare 1>3>5 :confused:

2001:
    Tyrone defeated in Quarter Final by Derry
    Cork defeated in Round 4 of the Qualifiers by Galway

2002:
    Tyrone defeated in Round 4 of the Qualifiers by Sligo
    Cork defeated in All-Ireland Semi-Final by Kerry

2003:
    Tyrone wins their first All-Ireland title
    Cork defeated by Roscommon in Round 1 of the Qualifiers

2004:
    Tyrone defeated in Quarter Final by Meath
    Cork defeated in Round 3 of the Qualifiers by Fermanagh

2005:
    Tyrone wins their second All-Ireland title

2006:
    Tyrone defeated in Round 2 of the Qualifiers by Laois

2007:
    Cork defeated in All-Ireland Final by Kerry

2008:
    Tyrone wins their third All-Ireland title

2009:
    Tyrone defeated in All-Ireland Semi-Final by Cork
    Cork defeated in All-Ireland final by Kerry

2010:
    Tyrone defeated in All-Ireland Quarter Final by Dublin
    Cork wins their 7th All-Ireland title

2011:
    Cork defeated in All-Ireland Quarter Final by Mayo

2001-2011 Cork have won 7 of their 8 All-Ireland Quarter final appearances and appeared in 7 All-Ireland Semi-Finals (6 Semi-finals in a row) winning three of them.

2001-2011 Tyrone have won 4 of their 9 All-Ireland Quarter final appearances and appeared in 4 All-Ireland Semi-Finals winning three of them. The best they could achieve is two semi-finals in a row, however by boards logic this is a superior achievement to Kerry's two All-Ireland's in a row, a feat last achieved by team of the decade Cork. Cork also defeated Tyrone (a fact you must do to qualify for team of the decade). And every one of Kerry's 36 titles are I suppose are meaningless compared to the brilliant three by Tyrone, a ratio of 1:12.

I now crown our new champions Cork using the new forumlation according to boards and suck it up nordies because you were not team of the decade nor will you ever be now!

Going by the prevailing boards logic which seems to automatically exclude Kerry presumably even if they had won ten-in-a-row, I now declare Cork as team of the decade due to their better consistency than Tyrone. And as 3>5, I now declare 1>3>5 :confused:

2001:
    Tyrone defeated in Quarter Final by Derry
    Cork defeated in Round 4 of the Qualifiers by Galway

2002:
    Tyrone defeated in Round 4 of the Qualifiers by Sligo

2003:
    Tyrone wins their first All-Ireland title
    Cork defeated by Roscommon in Round 1 of the Qualifiers

2004:
    Cork defeated in Round 3 of the Qualifiers by Fermanagh

2005:
    Tyrone wins their second All-Ireland title

2006:
    Tyrone defeated in Round 2 of the Qualifiers by Laois

2007:
    Cork defeated in All-Ireland Final by Kerry

2008:
    Tyrone wins their third All-Ireland title

2009:
    Tyrone defeated in All-Ireland Semi-Final by Cork
    Cork defeated in All-Ireland final by Kerry

2010:
    Cork wins their 7th All-Ireland title

2011:
    Cork defeated in All-Ireland Quarter Final by Mayo

2001-2011 Cork have won 7 of their 8 All-Ireland Quarter final appearances and appeared in 7 All-Ireland Semi-Finals (6 Semi-finals in a row) winning three of them.

2001-2011 Tyrone have won 4 of their 9 All-Ireland Quarter final appearances and appeared in 4 All-Ireland Semi-Finals winning three of them. The best they could achieve is two semi-finals in a row, however by boards logic this is a superior achievement to Kerry's two All-Ireland's in a row, a feat last achieved by team of the decade Cork. Cork also defeated Tyrone (a fact you must do to qualify for team of the decade). And every one of Kerry's 36 titles are I suppose are meaningless compared to the brilliant three by Tyrone, a ratio of 1:12.

I now crown our new champions Cork using the new forumlation according to boards and suck it up nordies because you were not team of the decade nor will you ever be now!

It was a pity that Kerry could not beat this Tyrone team of the decade, it kind of takes the shine of the success they had over the last decade.:D