Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I'd love a cup of tea

• 05-08-2011 1:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭zeusnero

For some reason I just started thinking of home and Ireland and tea. God I'd love a cup of tea. And not the crap tea they have over here with all their fancy flavours - just a nice bog bog standard cup of Barry's with a few drops of milk. Tea and a few Chocolate biscuits, say Cadbury's Shortcake. Ah jaysus, I'm getting depressed now. I miss Ireland :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

feck off cup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Tin of USA biscuits! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Barrys? BARRYS?

Lyons is where its at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

I've just finished one - lovely so it was, accompanied by a nice shortbread biscuit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

irish-stew wrote: »
    Barrys? BARRYS?

Lyons is where its at.

I agree, after drinking Lyons tea, Barry's tastes like the tea leaves are made of shedded old mans sock and cigarette ashes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

It's pronounced tae ya upitty fecker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭D1976

How about this?

custardcream9.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭wobbles-grogan

Personally i prefer Punjana tea bags.
    Or lyons Gold Blend.

Hmm, gettin thirsty now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Can you not bring tea back with you everytime you come home on holidays or get friends and relations to bring you some when they visit you.

Next you'll be looking for Suicre sugar. . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

Tea is rank! Coffee for the win! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Yeah, the Barrys love I do not get - Lyons ftw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

Lyons Kenya Blend:
    A luxury blend for the tea connoisseur.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

If your gonna drink tea get yourself some Twinings, something you dont have to load with sugar and milk to make it palatable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

lol @ Lyons tea drinkers with their uneducated palates.

Barrys for the sophisticated gentleman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 LandL84

Love cup of tea ! ! !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭viota

barrys is the best lyons is foul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

I don't understand the lyons vs barrys debate.

I fcukin love a nice cup of tea but I would never tell the difference between any brand whether it be lyons, barrys or spar value.

It's all in the head i reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭20260622

zeusnero wrote: »
    For some reason I just started thinking of home and Ireland and tea. God I'd love a cup of tea. And not the crap tea they have over here with all their fancy flavours - just a nice bog bog standard cup of Barry's with a few drops of milk. Tea and a few Chocolate biscuits, say Cadbury's Shortcake. Ah jaysus, I'm getting depressed now. I miss Ireland :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I've a half empty box of Barry's in a press somewhere. My poor mum can't make a trip over to me without filling half her suitcase with tea bags :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭jme2010

*Gets the kettle on*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

Before I developed my "super sensitive sophisticated palate" ,I would have tried all of the above.

Punjana MMMMMMMMMMmmmmmmmmmm!!! AAAHHHHHHHHHHH!.

Nectar of the Gods!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Lyons tea is for losers! Barry's is where it's at, or the Lidl brand, or Aldi tea bags, or even Lyons actually, because they all taste pretty much the same.
    The Tesco brand tea bags are a crime against hot beverages though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭zeusnero

I've just finished one - lovely so it was, accompanied by a nice shortbread biscuit.

Ouch! Ah come on now - no need to taunt and turn this into one of those 'Boardsie takes offence, tracks down offending boardsie and...', well you get where I'm going (might as well leave some work for the investigators ;) )

Should've thrown in a poll for the inevitable Lyons vs Barry's debate :)

mm earl grey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Get someone to send you some teabags then. I carried around a bag of Lyons tea with me when I travelled around Australia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Mickjg

Are you in the US?

You can get Irish tea all over the place, especially Barry's. Most supermarkets have a small Irish/British import section where you can get Barry's, Lyons, PG Tips (FTW), HP Brown Sauce, Digestive biscuits and Rich Teas (sometimes Jaffa cakes too) and a few other things. If your local or nearby supermarket doesn't have an import section you could try and find a World Market who would also have the above plus a whole range of sweets from back home.

If you can't buy it in a store somewhere you can order it online. We just order 480 bags of PG and 12 cans of Heinz from Amazon.

There is no need to suffer :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

Assam tea is the finest you peasants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

Barrys Tea is the only one. Lyons tea is gack, absolutely horrible. I can tell the difference between Barrys & Lyons easily - I drink my tea black (no sugar) so it is really obvious.

A few years ago I convinced a girl I knew that the difference between Lyons and Barrys was because of FF & FG :eek::eek: The same way the split is between Times and Indo readers and loads of other Irish products. She hated the English with a passion and would only drink Lyons tea - so when we made her tea, we always used PG Tips, 6 months later when she found it out, she didn't speak to us for ages. It was one of the funniest things I have ever seen; her reaction when she found out she had been drinking English teabags...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭VenusPlays

Lyons Kenya blend for me too. Nicest tea out there.

Punjana has a chemical aftertaste and Barrys is as musty as a tramps old sock!

Biscuit has to be those big chocolate chip and hazelnut cookies, totally can't remember the brand now but you get like 6 of them in a packet which is ridiculous but they are just so tasty.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin

Seriously.... I'm dying for Barry's right now, and just can't find any kind of replacement over here :( I'm in the Middle East and all they have is this sh!tty herbal stuff, and crap with mint leaves floating inside, and everyone thinks I'm a weirdo for putting milk near a-n-y-t-h-i-n-g -- nevermind tea. One month to go...!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭FTGFOP

OP, find a fancy tea shop in Milan. Here's one. Buy some Assam, some Kenyan, and a tea pot. Go home and brew up a bot with a ratio of about 3:1 Assam to Kenyan.

I reckon that'll sate your craving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Dun

Used to prefer Punjana, but prefer Lyons now - probably cause you can get Punjana in Derry, but not Lyons :pac:

BRB, can't remember the last time I had such a craving for a cup of tea..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

Dudess wrote: »

i thought you were from cork? are you ok? do you need to sit down?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭laughter189

I've just had a cup of tea and a fig-roll -

Next time you going away from home bring Barry's with you - OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Dudess wrote: »
    And you're from Cork. Tut tut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Barrys ftw. Hate that when you're away and you get the goo for a cuppa, and even if you do bring some tea bags with ya, the milk tastes shite and it spoils it.

Pm me your addy and I'll send yer over a box of Barrys! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭danslevent

How many people took this thread as a prompt to go have a cup of tea? Mine is currently brewing :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 922 ✭✭✭aoife_bennett

D1976 wrote: »
    How about this?

custardcream9.jpg
    *salivates*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

I don't understand the lyons vs barrys debate.

I fcukin love a nice cup of tea but I would never tell the difference between any brand whether it be lyons, barrys or spar value.

It's all in the head i reckon.

Its a Cork thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭WinstonOno

i was thinking about this today, in work we have a tea break in the evening. is tea a resonable excuse for a break in other countries?? the americans aren't as big a tea drinkers as us irish. do they take no break at all and just work through, thus increasing productivity levels?? does this give the rest of the world an advantage over ireland?? is tea holding us back???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

You cant beat a good cup of tea,i have no preferences Barrys,Lyons,Punjana,its all good,when i smoked there was nothing better than a cigg and a cup of tea :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭talla10

There are no more weights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Only 2 real tea drinkers here - they mentioned the PUNJANA!!! I am going to start a punjana revolution. Everyone who hasnt tried it, must - immediately - Can we get some punjana tea bags for the next ah beers and hand them out :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Ghost Estate

kingtut wrote: »
    Tea is rank! Coffee for the win! :cool:

NO its just the person who makes your tea lacks skills

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭FTGFOP

ardinn wrote: »
    Only 2 real tea drinkers here - they mentioned the PUNJANA!!! I am going to start a punjana revolution. Everyone who hasnt tried it, must - immediately - Can we get some punjana tea bags for the next ah beers and hand them out :D

The green pack (Irish Breakfast blend) is pretty good but the red pack isn't anything special.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Aoi

I don't notice the difference, although there have been incidences where everyone but me didn't like the tea that was made. Lyons or Barry's, I leave the decision up to the self appointed connoisseurs seeing as I'm a relatively new drinker (1 year last month, and I'm 18 =o) I was given advice but never followed through on it: mix Barry's & Earl Grey, you've to do it in a teapot, or so the advice goes, it's supposed to be really nice, but seeing as a bog standard cup of tea does me I haven't tried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

I don't drink coffee I take tea my dear..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

Lyon's tea is the superior brand, don't know why Barry's peasant's are trying to say otherwise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Lyon's is rank. Barry's is rank. Bewley's red label is the best tea in Ireland. Actually, the best tea going. I was back in Ireland a while ago and stocked up. I can get it here in Canada but the cheapest I've found it for is ten dollars a box. :-(