Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gay Byrne for President

• 05-08-2011 1:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭

Fianna Fáil says it is not making any comment in relation to speculation that it has failed to attract Gay Byrne to run in the forthcoming Presidential Election.

Gay Byrne - Has not ruled himself out
    Fianna Fáil has said it is not making any comment in relation to speculation the party has failed to attract Gay Byrne to run as a candidate in the forthcoming Presidential Election.
    Earlier, the broadcaster refused to confirm or deny he will run.
    He was speaking on the Ryan Tubridy show on RTÉ's 2fm.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0805/president.html

The race for the Aras has turned into a farce now.

Would you vote for Gay Byrne as president? 515 votes

YES
    0% 0 votes
    NO
    22% 116 votes
    Purple Monkey Dishwasher
    77% 399 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Fùck off Gaybo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

teol wrote: »
    The race for the Aras has turned into a farce now.

Amanda brunker, now father gay.......

Best race in years:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

He'd make a better Prez than the other candidates who have declared.
    Not saying much though ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

Should help him recoup some of the losses on his pension investments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

I had a Gay Burne once, couldn't sit down for days, lube is the way to go really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

red menace wrote: »
    Should help him recoup some of the losses on his pension investments

Those civil servant pensions are just awesome,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Don't blame me, I voted for Jedward

How about
    Sean Og O Halpin (not 35? - what's that about???)
    Fr. Dougal Maguire
    Jack Charlton
    Twink
    or the newsreader Sharon Ni Something or other?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Never knew there were so many Gays in Ireland, they're everywhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

So there may be a gay in the áras after all.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

here's a idea...lets not bother having a President

Poor Sean Og
    Too old for Cork...too young for Ireland :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

jeeze no fcukin way, he is insufferable enough and so full of himself as it is,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭rubberdiddies

TheZohan wrote: »
    Fùck off Gaybo.

I know this is AH and all but people seem to moan for the sake of moaning. Tell me Zohan, who would you like to see running? And please don't say Norris

I for one don't think he'd (GayB) make a bad prez but there isn't a snowballs chance in he'll that he will run. This is such a non story!

AH reply: yore ma should run

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

I grew up with gaybo and have nout against the man.

I know this is AH and all but people seem to moan for the sake of moaning.

Every listen to his radio show?
    Near the end he became bitter and pushing an agenda against taxes on people with investments like large pension funds and against high taxes.
    Maybe he some good points but there was a lot of self interest also

At least Pat Kenny stays neutral on that radio show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I for one don't think he'd (GayB) make a bad prez but there isn't a snowballs chance in he'll that he will run. This is such a non story!
    God I hate when people diss AH in their posts and then post baseless nonsense.
    Gay Byrne has been atrocious as the head of the RSA, he is ill-informed and he is constantly preaching. These qualities make me think he would be a bad president.

What makes you think he would be a good president?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

He's like the Nation's grandfather.

He wouls probably be better than any of the current candidates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

mikemac wrote: »

At least Pat Kenny stays neutral on that radio show

All of my favourite pundits have strong opinions. if you want a debate go watch a debate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

After hours for president!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I don't mind the man but he's 76 like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

I'd vote for Gay Byrne.

He's the only one I wouldn't call a f*cking eejit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭Dub Ste

Holy sweet Jesus NNNNNOOOOOOOO:mad:

He's patronising and condescending enough as it is,what the feck would be like if he was the Prez??

get on yer harley and feck off into the sunset:mad::mad:

phasers wrote: »

God I hate when people diss AH in their posts and then post baseless nonsense.
    Gay Byrne has been atrocious as the head of the RSA, he is ill-informed and he is constantly preaching. These qualities make me think he would be a bad president.

What makes you think he would be a good president?

He wasn't afraid of discussing topics such as abortion, homosexuality and contraception on Irish TV back in the day when the catholic church still pretty much controlled the government.

He probably (in his day) had more of an influence for change in Irish society than many taoisigh during his time on radio and tv. Also he is very much a people person and would in my opinion have no problem being a good diplomat when required.

Only problem is he is well into his seventies and believe it or not likes his privacy. In real life he is a quiet man! And that's the truth.

However my point is that it's a completely made up non story because he will never run for president.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭leonidas83

He's seems better than most of the candidates currently going fo it, at least he's well read and would represent the country in a good way but there is no need for a President in this country, especially in current times when it is a luxury we could do without.

Found him to be a bit of an ahole to some girls on the Rose of Tralee contest when he was doing it aswell. I would say there is a Narky/mean side to his personality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Gay Mitchell, Gay Byrne, Gayvid Norris..... the Presidency just ain't what it used to be.

Although I agree with Terry Mc Geehan in todays Star where he says we should scrap the Presidency for a few years and save over €3 mill a year. Keep Mary on on a contract basis in case Obama or someone else comes back that we need to wheel her out for but scrap the Aras, the fulltime staff, the fulltime mignons that flap around her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

The D4 set need someone to vote for too.
    Remember George Lee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

We do need a president.. I wish people would stop saying that we don't. It may be mostly a ceremonial role but it's also vital to ensure that there's a proper separation of powers in the state.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

I know this is AH and all but people seem to moan for the sake of moaning.

AH reply: yore ma should run

Says the person that gave themselves the username rubberdiddies…

And Gay Byrne is a condescending little bollix whose too smart I reckon to put himself under the public scrutiny that occurs with inclusion in the presidential race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

BONE-OH FOR PREZ!

What a pointless Race for a Pointless office!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Uncle Gaybo could probably use the salary, what with losing all his cash. Again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭LK_Dave

....and be subjected to the cult of Gay Byrne for the next 7 years. No way. RTE would be turned (more) into a shrine for Gaybo. Is there any end to the persecution me Irish have to suffer?????

DDC1990 wrote: »
    BONE-OH FOR PREZ!

What a pointless Race for a Pointless office!

Think Bono only has room to be prez of his own ego!

I used to think it was an important role but yeah it should really be merged with the role of taoiseach like in some other countries.

But that's not gonna happen for at least another 14 years, change of constitution etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Oh sweet baby jesus, he'd spend his whole time sticking poppies everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,058 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Is Constantin Gurdgiev an Irish citizen ?
    I would vote for someone like that who tells it how it is.
    Would stir up the voters anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

As he arrives in Saudi Arabia as an envoy from Ireland and is introduced to King Abdullah as President GAY Byrne, who immediately has him deported

cosmicfart wrote: »
    As he arrives in Saudi Arabia as an envoy from Ireland and is introduced to King Abdullah as President GAY Byrne, who immediately has him deported

Hiwawious…

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

If Gay Byrne puts himself foreward and becomes president , he'lll turn up at the Dail to give his acceptance speech , with bags of shamrock in hand and declare '' there's one for everybody in the house '' .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

I would vote for someone like that who tells it how it is.
    Would stir up the voters anyway.

don't you have to be born in ireland to be eligible like in the us where arnie can't become president. anyway constantin would probably do quite well if he's eligible , as for gaybo , no way. there is no decent candidates in it atm.

don't you have to be born in ireland to be eligible like in the us where arnie can't become president.

No, sure you could say Norris was African then

Sure look at Dev, born in New York

Yes

Are there not any other jokes that people can make about Gay Byrne besides ones involving his first name and ones involving the punchline '…and there's one for everyone in the audience'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

If he runs under the banner of The Soldiers of Bankruptcy he can f!ck right off.

Plazaman wrote: »
    Gay Mitchell, Gay Byrne, Gayvid Norris..... the Presidency just ain't what it used to be.

Although I agree with Terry Mc Geehan in todays Star where he says we should scrap the Presidency for a few years and save over €3 mill a year. Keep Mary on on a contract basis in case Obama or someone else comes back that we need to wheel her out for but scrap the Aras, the fulltime staff, the fulltime mignons that flap around her.

:o

Are there not any other jokes that people can make about Gay Byrne besides ones involving his first name and ones involving the punchline '…and there's one for everyone in the audience'?

stop rollin' it there Róisín, yer killing the buzz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Gay is not in tune with the Irish people unfortunately. I'm sure he's a nice man on a personal level, but under no circumstances is his presidential material. Besides, he's 77 and has a 50/50 chance of making it through his first term.

Dick Spring?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

prinz wrote: »
    stop rollin' it there Róisín, yer killing the buzz.
    Róisín ? ...it used to be Collete ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Latchy wrote: »

So you gave up watching in the eighties as well

Latchy wrote: »

I'm not that old. Róisín replaced Colette...

Róisín Harkin, who went on to work on the Late Late Show as a P.A. Róisín would later become known as "Roll it there, Róisín" when she took over the P.A. job from the legendary Collette Farmer.

http://www.irish-tv.com/hist70s.asp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

he had one point of view his own, if one dared to offer another, one was cut off immediatly and ignored,
    has he not got enough money out of the country to be called a quango