Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gay Byrne refuses to rule out running for the Park

• 05-08-2011 12:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,290 ✭✭✭✭

Gaybo has refused to rule out running for the Park in an interview with Tubridy.

Who's next...Mary Byrne?

Gaybo will certainly win if he does run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

I think he'd be a welcome participant to the race - through the LLS not only did Byrne chronicle a changing Ireland over a crucial period in its history, but he participated in its role as a forum for controversial debate.

Plus anyone who a bishop condemned as 'immoral' must be worth a shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Byrne would make a great president.

"Hand me the keys you fúcking cócksucker".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭Laminations

He also didn't bother wearing a seatbelt while spokesman for the RSA. What a maverick.

Still I think he'd be a welcome addition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

Sure why not!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 joan mack

I think he would bring a certain panache to the post. He is dignified and yet is not ashamed of his Dublin Roots, His wife Kathleen could play the harp and They would be a wonderful couple to hold such high office

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

later10 wrote: »
    I think he'd be a welcome participant to the race - through the LLS not only did Byrne chronicle a changing Ireland over a crucial period in its history, but he participated in its role as a forum for controversial debate.

Please

By the eighties is was way past its sell by date , and controversial debates were the exception.

Week after week of the Turks loved my red hair Gaybo, or when we were in Australia this mad Kagaroo like ran off with our jackets. :rolleyes:

Big fish small pond no competition that be Gaberial Mary Byrne

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,823 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Please

By the eighties is was way past its sell by date , and controversial debates were the exception.

Week after week of the Turks loved my red hair Gaybo, or when we were in Australia this mad Kagaroo like ran off with our jackets. :rolleyes:

Liquid lunch? :confused:

Tabnabs wrote: »
    Liquid lunch? :confused:

I wish

Time to head to the pub when I was a teenager was the opening credits of that boring old fart show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭wayfarers

Please

LMAO at the ''Turks loved my red hair Gaybo", please tell me this relates to an actual interview on the LLS??!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭Teclo

And with RTE on his side he wouldn't have to worry about campaign finances. :rolleyes:

Please

I'm not an expert on the Late Late, but I would imagine it was closer to the 1990s that controversial debates ended. Didn't the LLS run a condom/ AIDS special? I seem to remember old/ Reeling in the Years footage of Gay Byrne with a condom over his finger. Maybe that was just a 1980s trend.

Also, the exposure of the Annie murphy/ Eamonn Casey story, which perhaps made the Catholic Church a little less infallible in the eyes of Irish people. In fact, I can't think of any controversies before the 1980s on the late late show, but maybe I'm wrong.

wayfarers wrote: »
    LMAO at the ''Turks loved my red hair Gaybo", please tell me this relates to an actual interview on the LLS??!

I associate it with Linda Martin, but it became a standard for any red head what ever toured Turkey

I'm not an expert on the Late Late, but I would imagine it was closer to the 1990s that controversial debates ended. Didn't the LLS run a condom/ AIDS special? I seem to remember old/ Reeling in the Years footage of Gay Byrne with a condom over his finger. Maybe that was just a 1980s trend.

Also, the exposure of the Annie murphy/ Eamonn Casey story, which perhaps made the Catholic Church a little less infallible in the eyes of Irish people. In fact, I can't think of any controversies before the 1980s on the late late show, but maybe I'm wrong.

You could be right as I left in 88, and nobody except the old wans and kids watched it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Once Gaybo doesn't run on a FF ticket he has my vote.
    The one thing that will be used against him is his age (he's 76). And the last time anybody tried anything that snide it was a certain FFer (Pee Flynn) who thought Mary Robinson would be best suited to the kitchen.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Well - in defense of the grey-hairs, Ronald Reagan was an excellent US president.

Manach wrote: »
    Well - in defense of the grey-hairs, Ronald Reagan was an excellent US president.

Except for the balancing the books bit

Manach wrote: »

He had his moments and certainly was in 80-84. The Irish prez is a mainly meet n' greet affair and I think GB has the other candidates trumped on that front.
    Gaybo probably was just taking the piss though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭teol

Gay Byrne needs the money. He is broke. Again!

What be his excuse this time

teol wrote: »
    Gay Byrne needs the money. He is broke. Again!
    How can he be broke, he's 76. What do 76 year olds spend money on? Complan?

I don't think Gay's age should go against him. He looks to be in fine shape for a man of his age. And perhaps if we keep drawing candidates named 'Gay' into the contest, nobody can accuse Ireland of being homophobic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭teol

How can he be broke, he's 76. What do 76 year olds spend money on? Complan?

I don't think Gay's age should go against him. He looks to be in fine shape for a man of his age. And perhaps if we keep drawing candidates named 'Gay' into the contest, nobody can accuse Ireland of being homophobic.

In the 90s or something his accountant blew all of his money. Recently his property investment company has gone bust. He also invested heavily in the banks. He is broke and that is why he is back doing TV shows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

id vote for gaybo in a heartbeat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

joan mack wrote: »
    . He is dignified and yet is not ashamed of his Dublin Roots,
    Is this somehow remarkable?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

He had Gerry Adams on in the 90s after the ban was lifted, I say that was controversial enough? Its on youtube, its good viewing.

Gay Byrne as president? God no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Once Gaybo doesn't run on a FF ticket he has my vote.
    The one thing that will be used against him is his age (he's 76). And the last time anybody tried anything that snide it was a certain FFer (Pee Flynn) who thought Mary Robinson would be best suited to the kitchen.

It is reputedly FF that are trying to get him to run...if it is, I plead with the Irish electorate to embarrass them both!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

One of Gay Byrne's less admirable shows was the one in which he treated Annie Murphy in a rather shabby manner - he was so biased towards Casey. Eamon Casey had been one of Byrne's favourite clerics on his show - cant decide whether singing priest Ml Cleary was more popular with Byrne than Casey.

Is this somehow remarkable?
    No it is not but it is a grat deal easier to be proud of your roots when you are wealthy enough to able to live far above them !
    Look at Bill Cullen - for ever talking about them, but where does he live ?

To cut the bull**** - after being ripped off by Russell Murphy, his accountant he was semi - broke but left with a high paying job. He did another ten - fifteen years of Late Late Shows. He rebuilt his money and at the time wisely invested it in bluechips - i.e Irish Banks. Ha ****ing Ha. So did many other people of his age. He lost....laugh freely if it makes you feel big.

As for his record on social change, he never really expressed an opinion of his own, merely allowed others who would never have had a voice to do so. In that sense, he was a true showman and journalist. The same qualities go into being a President.

I cannot vote for him if he takes the FF option. If he refuses to do that and still campaigns, I will go door to door for the guy.

As for his record on social change, he never really expressed an opinion of his own, merely allowed others who would never have had a voice to do so. In that sense, he was a true showman and journalist. The same qualities go into being a President.

I cannot vote for him if he takes the FF option. If he refuses to do that and still campaigns, I will go door to door for the guy.
    Agree with the part about Byrne's impartiality. I'm so sick of interviewers who spend half of their question shoving their own ideology or opinions down their interviewee's or their listeners' throats (Pat Kenny, Tubridy, Talktojoooe). One of the only high profile broadcasters who do not do this in RTE is Marian Finucane. It's really hard to pinpoint her ideology or opinions or character because she focuses on portraying those of her interviewees. Her and Gay Byrne are true old fashioned broadcasters.

As for FF, Gay Byrne has already politely declined the party's support.

http://www.irishcentral.com/news/Gay-Byrne-turns-down-Fianna-Fail-approach-to-run-for-President-126080693.html

You will all be shocked and saddened to learn that Mammy O'Rourke has said that she is not interested in running for the Presidency herself.
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/orourke-ff-should-not-run-presidential-candidate-515485.html

As for his record on social change, he never really expressed an opinion of his own, merely allowed others who would never have had a voice to do so.

like the show he for Brian (we can't all live on a small island) Lenhihan.

jumped up ickle bollix of a Granada newsreader, who got lucky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Elections are an expensive business, I'd rather we minimised the chances of needing to hold one in less than 7 years by getting someone who isn't a coffin dodger.

In addition Gay Byrne is a fantastic broadcaster, but outside of a studio is an outspoken twit who loves the sound of his own voice...actually scratch the outside of the studio bit.

If I didn't plan on voting before I certainly would go out and vote for anyone but Gay Byrne.

I find him and his drivel repugnant.

ninty9er wrote: »
    Elections are an expensive business, I'd rather we minimised the chances of needing to hold one in less than 7 years by getting someone who isn't a coffin dodger.

In addition Gay Byrne is a fantastic broadcaster, but outside of a studio is an outspoken twit who loves the sound of his own voice...actually scratch the outside of the studio bit.

If I didn't plan on voting before I certainly would go out and vote for anyone but Gay Byrne.

I find him and his drivel repugnant.

As is your right. However my other option is Michael D. and I don't rate him as a poet. The coffin dodging bit is nice and predicted on page 1. AH is doing a thread on this too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

I would vote for Gay.. can we have a poll?

sollar wrote: »
    Just get twenty nominations

However my other option is Michael D. and I don't rate him as a poet.
    The Presidential Election is not a poetry slam... unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

like the show he for Brian (we can't all live on a small island) Lenhihan.

And the years defending the Christian Brothers...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭theg81der

Agh ffs this countries a joke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Nodin wrote: »

That is one of my abiding memories of him, patronizing, defending the clergy no matter what, and he is a symbol of the repressive priest ridden Ireland that we have left behind. Its seems any old git can run for President. I thought he had retired...and there he is tonight( late late night) interviewing wee Daniel. Give us a rest Byrne and you will never get my vote.

Nodin wrote: »
    Perhaps, but as I recall he didn't defend those who he knew to have been child abusers, and certainly not in the style of David Norris, who so many seem to feel was 'hard done by'.

Gay Byrne made the point that there are an awfully lot of very good and upstanding teaching clergy, and having been taught by religiously ordained teachers for one part of my schooling life, I would strongly agree.

sollar wrote: »
    You have my support for this - how do we nominate him for a poll ?

theg81der wrote: »
    Agh ffs this countries a joke!

Why do you say that ? Look at england's head of state - Lizzie Windsor who has raised what most surely be the most dysfunctional family of Any head of state - she refused to allow her sister marry a divorcee and insisted her son, the tree hugger and adulterer, marry a virgin !

Look at Berlusconi - !

I always find it sort of curious when people come out with statements like 'this country's a joke' or 'we're the laughing stock of Europe'... like do these people actually think that other Europeans actually sit around laughing at 'us'? Do they really think these foreigners read the Irish Times online just for the laff?

Sounds like a pretty bizarre sense of other people's taste in humour, or a pretty huge chip on the shoulder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 PrettyButch

http://www.thejournal.ie/gaybo-for-the-aras-byrne-wont-rule-out-presidential-run-194940-Aug2011/

And they are talking about it on Radio 1 all morning.

Is this just one step too far (Ok, the 1,000th step further)? Why would anyone even suggest this?
    Is our presidency, that irrelevant? If so, then why should we bother voting?
    Fianna fail apparently, are urging Gay Byrne to run as president, as a candidate for their party.

Dana keeps running. :confused:

Amanda Brunker may as well give it a go.

Is it just me, or does anyone else think this is a mockery.
    Fianna Fail, couldn't find a single candidate from inside their own party?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

ffs will he ever give up work
    gay go home take a chill pill your 77 now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Anyone with no association with a political party is a potential winner of the ballot.

Btw, Gay didn't rule it out this morning either. Maybe Mitchell won't be the only gay in the village..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭juuge

What is it with the Presidential Election that it's attracting so many gays?;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 764 ✭✭✭beagle001

He would not be a poor candidate for the office,but i think Michael D will be getting my vote.
    The man is a true gent and would represent the country very well.
    I rmember a few years back i had to call in on something and he was very curtious and intelligent to deal with.
    Anyone but a fianna fail crony or side kick is what is needed ad he represents none of those,Gaybo I am not sure where is political allegiance stands but it could be a dangerous precedent to set,what next Ryan annoying Tubridy going for ambassador.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭maynooth_rules

Gaybo I am not sure where is political allegiance
    Surely every Irish person knows he is a FF apologist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

I wouldn't vote for Gaybo in a fit, condescending relic that he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,290 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

He said today that he would run if the masses wanted him to run, or words to that effect. How much does this guy love himself?