Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

National Lottery Half Marathon 17/9/11

• 05-08-2011 11:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭

Race website
    Last year's thread

The route has finally been announced (see attachment)
    First 6 miles the same as the Frank Duffy 10, but then we double back before the Phoenix monument, loop around North Road, and go back down Ordnance Survey and Upper Glen, before finishing up Acres Road. Interesting...

There will be pace groups for the half-marathon -

1:30
    Krusty Clown
    theRoadRunner

1:40
    leCheile
    liamo123
    Village Runner

1:50
    Macanri
    Jackyback
    menoscemo

2:00
    Oisin11718
    Kandikane
    Wallyruns

Rate this race based on, Scenery, PB potential, Atmosphere, Value, Organisation 66 votes

5 stars (excellent)
    0%
    4 stars (good)
    50%
    tHE vAGGABONDhappygoosehardCopyergonomicsronanmachf4z6sqo7vjngiantomagoopistol_75WHIP IT!hawkwingOisin11178TomD101bart simpsongwjones427milecwgatlingkit3pconn062madonVan.Bosch 33 votes
    3 stars (average)
    46%
    StarkDigiJemBuck28064212misty floydstrifeitsalltrueTec DiverKenHyjprendermenoscemohuskerdud11gunneraz2wp0sye65487pilot1087liamogSeressmoochie06drquirkydazed+confused 31 votes
    2 stars (poor)
    3%
    AlicanoHusavik 2 votes
    1 star (terrible)
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

3 stars (average)
    I wonder will any of the fastest runners be able to catch up with the slowest walkers on the second lap? The walkers have to get past the 4 mile mark before the runners get to 13 - and the runners will have a 10 minute head start. There probably will be a few people who have to be stewarded over to the right hand side of the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Thanks for that Ray.

Doesn't look too bad a course but not gone on the looped/switchback sections on Chesterfield Ave...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

3 stars (average)
    Going by that map, the finish line looks to be a long way from the 13 mile mark :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

3 stars (average)
    how does it compare to last year ? where are the hairy bits ? is anymore of the frank duffy 10 covered other than first 6 miles ( not that this isnt loads ) ? plannin to do the 10miler

3 stars (average)
    Seres wrote: »
    how does it compare to last year ? where are the hairy bits ? is anymore of the frank duffy 10 covered other than first 6 miles ( not that this isnt loads ) ? plannin to do the 10miler

Last year we ran up the Kyber, and through the Furry Glen.
    This year we go up Wellington Road and the short steep uphill to Acres Road.
    So the noticeable hills are easier this year.
    On the other hand, on a loop course every gain has to be paid for somewhere.

The only bit of the Frank Duffy that isn't in this route is the stretch along Chesterfield between the two roundabouts. We get a loop around the north side of the park instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

The finish up the Acres road is a tough finish for this and the 10miler:(

3 stars (average)
    RayCun wrote: »
    Last year we ran up the Kyber, and through the Furry Glen.
    This year we go up Wellington Road and the short steep uphill to Acres Road.
    So the noticeable hills are easier this year.
    On the other hand, on a loop course every gain has to be paid for somewhere.

The only bit of the Frank Duffy that isn't in this route is the stretch along Chesterfield between the two roundabouts. We get a loop around the north side of the park instead.
    thats great ! ,better get signed up for the 10miler then , that section your talkin about probably isnt even a mile is it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭jprender

3 stars (average)
    Are there normally pacers for this half marathon, or does that only happen in the full marathon ?

3 stars (average)
    jprender wrote: »
    Are there normally pacers for this half marathon, or does that only happen in the full marathon ?

There'll be pacers for 1'30, 1'40, 1'50 and 2hrs at the half marathon. Make yourself known, all of the HM pacers are Boardsies :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

4 stars (good)

Yeah there should be pacers, there were last year. Not sure of the times but I think it was 1:30, 1:45 and 2:00.

EDIT. Menoscemo got in before me and his info is probably more accurate than mine!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭jprender

3 stars (average)
    That's great !!

I will be shooting for somewhere between 1.45 and 1.50, so I presume I'll run with the 1.50 group.

Best run to date was a 10k in 47.04 (2 days ago) , so I think I am aiming for an achievable time. I suppose it all depends on how training goes over the next 6 weeks though.

I'm getting excited already :rolleyes:

4 stars (good)
    That's great !!

I will be shooting for somewhere between 1.45 and 1.50, so I presume I'll run with the 1.50 group.

Best run to date was a 10k in 47.04 (2 days ago) , so I think I am aiming for an achievable time. I suppose it all depends on how training goes over the next 6 weeks though.

I'm getting excited already :rolleyes:

Yeah start with the 1.50 group and if you still feel good after 9 or 10 miles then push on and chase the 1.45 pacers. Good luck!

3 stars (average)
    pconn062 wrote: »
    Yeah start with the 1.50 group and if you still feel good after 9 or 10 miles then push on and chase the 1.45 pacers. Good luck!

There are no 1'45 pacers but yeah that would be sound advice. Start conservatively and shoot on after 8-9 miles if you are feeling good. I'll be one of the 1'50 pacers so make sure to say hello.

4 stars (good)
    menoscemo wrote: »
    There are no 1'45 pacers but yeah that would be sound advice. Start conservatively and shoot on after 8-9 miles if you are feeling good. I'll be one of the 1'50 pacers so make sure to say hello.

Woops sorry about that, meant to say 1.40! I'll be somewhere around the 1.40 pacers (or slightly ahead of them I hope!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭mfdc

Looking forward to this! This is the first time I've actually stuck to a training plan, so I've been getting fitter and faster for the last few months. That said I'm torn over whether or not to really go for it in the half - it falls on a stepback week in the marathon program so I should take it easy, but I kinda want to test myself and see just how hard I can go :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

This is the one................Sub 2hr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Looking for sub 1hr 40min in this, ran sub 1hr 45min in Clontarf HM thanks to Menoscemo's pacing, think sub 1.40 is a reasonable enough target. Training is going well, covering 60-70 miles a week between running and cycling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

Ireland vs Australia in the rugby WC is on at 9.30am that morning. There goes any chance of me doing this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭dev123

Ireland vs Australia in the rugby WC is on at 9.30am that morning. There goes any chance of me doing this.

Hadn't thought of that!!!

I've entered this already but am strongly thinking of doing the Charleville half the next day instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

No dig intended to yourself Brian but if this match thins out the field numbers a bit then Rubgy will finally have served some purpose in this country.

Tag Rugby is for me the only peeve which seems to be hanging on post celtic tiger era, an excuse for socially retarded lads to perv on young ones :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

NNNNNNNNNNNOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

4 stars (good)

Do race, sky plus match, phone off, and rush back to my gaff to watch on tv after race :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭liamo123

Do race, sky plus match, phone off, and rush back to my gaff to watch on tv after race :cool:

With a McDonalds and a load of cans... happy days :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

Nice plan, but what about the talkative race series commentator who will no doubt be giving updates on the score?

You just know someone like RQ will check the score on their phone and ruin it for everyone :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

What if we see thousands out celebrating when heading back through the city.:D Ok i say thousands, maybe it'll be just one or two people but you just know there's gonna be no way you can avoid hearing the result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

mfdc wrote: »
    Looking forward to this! This is the first time I've actually stuck to a training plan, so I've been getting fitter and faster for the last few months. That said I'm torn over whether or not to really go for it in the half - it falls on a stepback week in the marathon program so I should take it easy, but I kinda want to test myself and see just how hard I can go :pac:

If it is a step back week its pretty perfect as its a mini taper for it. I say go for it racing can bring on your fitness leaps and bounds and provided the rest of week is easy you are still getting the benefits for the most part of the down week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭madon

4 stars (good)
    I entered this- I ran 10 miles in 1.42 so I presume I can start this in the first wave:D .......only joking, just wanted to raise some blood pressure! No what I really want to know is..... I'm going to drive to Dublin but I think I'd be better off leaving the car away from the phoenix park- going to look for somewhere on the Northside- maybe santry and leave the car there and get a bus- any other suggestions? Any better suggestions on how to get to Phoenix Park- I'm coming from the North?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

I've signed up for this.. Done 10miles in 1:45hr :D on Sat (in the lashing rain up and around the hills of rathdrum and surrounds) signing up for a 9 week strength training course which should help me.

Just happy to be taking part.

3 stars (average)
    cant remember what time i entered on registration , is it up to yourself to enter in the correct wave ? any sub 90min pacers out there for this one ?

3 stars (average)
    cant remember what time i entered on registration , is it up to yourself to enter in the correct wave ? any sub 90min pacers out there for this one ?

Yep, Krusty and The Road Runner I believe.

3 stars (average)
    Yep, Krusty and The Road Runner I believe.
    great , havent done a race since mini marathon and dont think i will be gettin one in so am gonna rely on the sub 90 pacers to pull me thru , you doin it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭dk1982

4 stars (good)
    madon wrote: »
    I entered this- I ran 10 miles in 1.42 so I presume I can start this in the first wave:D .......only joking, just wanted to raise some blood pressure! No what I really want to know is..... I'm going to drive to Dublin but I think I'd be better off leaving the car away from the phoenix park- going to look for somewhere on the Northside- maybe santry and leave the car there and get a bus- any other suggestions? Any better suggestions on how to get to Phoenix Park- I'm coming from the North?

I parked in the zoo car park on Saturday and it was basically empty! Dont tell anyone though, dont want my secret getting out :-P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

madon wrote: »

I live in Santry and wouldn't really recommend that plan. Nearest bus stop to the Park would be Phibsborough area.
    I'd recommend driving to the Ashtown gate and parking on one of the side streets closeby. Ususally spaces to be had if you're there 30mins+ before the start.

3 stars (average)
    great , havent done a race since mini marathon and dont think i will be gettin one in so am gonna rely on the sub 90 pacers to pull me thru , you doin it ?

Yep, I'm pacing 1'50.
    I'd love to give 1'30 a bash and it seems like a nice fair course, but I have Berlin Marathon a week later, so i'll leave it until the Waterford Half in december.

3 stars (average)
    dk1982 wrote: »
    I parked in the zoo car park on Saturday and it was basically empty! Dont tell anyone though, dont want my secret getting out :-P

It's easy enought to get a car parking space in the aprk for the races, the problem is getting back out after the race!!

My Advice is to park just outside the park, depending on where you are coming from, either the castlknock or chapelizod side are fine. From either it is just about a mile down to the start line.

3 stars (average)
    Yep, I'm pacing 1'50.
    I'd love to give 1'30 a bash and it seems like a nice fair course, but I have Berlin Marathon a week later, so i'll leave it until the Waterford Half in december.
    is the waterford half not doubling up as the National HM in two weeks ?
    its suppose to be a nice flat course , d'you do it last yr ?

4 stars (good)
    It's easy enought to get a car parking space in the aprk for the races, the problem is getting back out after the race!!

My Advice is to park just outside the park, depending on where you are coming from, either the castlknock or chapelizod side are fine. From either it is just about a mile down to the start line.

I was out of the park after a 74 minute run on Saturday no hassle at all. Barely any traffic. I think because the finishing times are so spread out its much easier getting out after than it is getting in before.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Nice plan, but what about the talkative race series commentator who will no doubt be giving updates on the score?

You just know someone like RQ will check the score on their phone and ruin it for everyone :D

Agreed, he is bound to give away result over and over. If by some miracle he doesn't, then people will be looking for result in finishing chute. Very hard to avoid it. Know a few already who won't be doing race, would say it it will knock a fair few off the numbers running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Going to give this a lash again for the 3rd year in a row. Yet again little training done due to the cycling season but that makes it more fun

3 stars (average)
    is the waterford half not doubling up as the National HM in two weeks ?
    its suppose to be a nice flat course , d'you do it last yr ?

Yeah it's a real flat course. I ran it last january (it was postponed from december due to snow) and got under 1'32, which was a real surprise as i didn't target the race at all and it was very windy that day. I reckon i can knock 2 minutes off on that course next time....

As Far as I know the National half is a seperate race (on the same course), and they are running the waterford half again in january.

3 stars (average)
    dk1982 wrote: »
    I was out of the park after a 74 minute run on Saturday no hassle at all. Barely any traffic. I think because the finishing times are so spread out its much easier getting out after than it is getting in before.

I guess If you got straight out it would be less problem. I know a few guys who hung about after the race on saturday and didn't go to the cars until after 12...ended up taking 45 minute to get out of the park from beside the zoo :eek:

3 stars (average)
    Yeah it's a real flat course. I ran it last january (it was postponed from december due to snow) and got under 1'32, which was a real surprise as i didn't target the race at all and it was very windy that day. I reckon i can knock 2 minutes off on that course next time....

As Far as I know the National half is a seperate race (on the same course), and they are running the waterford half again in january.
    might consider it then , a Jan HM seems like a good idea to kick start the year , did you go with the pacers in that race ? if so how did you find them ? have never gone in a race with pacers before so im not too sure how i will find them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭madon

4 stars (good)

I think I'll be okay most ppl will have left when i finish!

4 stars (good)
    I guess If you got straight out it would be less problem. I know a few guys who hung about after the race on saturday and didn't go to the cars until after 12...ended up taking 45 minute to get out of the park from beside the zoo :eek:

Yep, I was straight to my car as soon as I finished so that must be why I managed a quick traffic free escape!

3 stars (average)
    might consider it then , a Jan HM seems like a good idea to kick start the year , did you go with the pacers in that race ? if so how did you find them ? have never gone in a race with pacers before so im not too sure how i will find them

Sorry, I meant december. according to Run Ireland the waterford Half is scheduled for 10th December.

I didn't go with the pacers in Waterford, I didn't expect to be anywhere near 1'30 tbh.
    I'd say your definitely best to go with the pacers in Dublin for the first half at least and push on then if you are feeling strong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭DOCO12

Hi All

Very interested in doing this however I haven't been very consistent with my training, doing Lsrs etc lately . The only other HM I've done is Connemara.
    Does anyone know how this route compares with Connemara? Easier? :)

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

DOCO12 wrote: »
    Very interested in doing this however I haven't been very consistent with my training, doing Lsrs etc lately . The only other HM I've done is Connemara.
    Does anyone know how this route compares with Connemara? Easier? :)
    Yep, it sure is easier. You don't have the 100m climb towards te latter part of the race. Just a couple of mini-climbs during the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭Tec Diver

3 stars (average)
    I did the Waterford HM in Jan and got 1:5x (can't remember exactly) in bad weather and a twisted ankle from the 17k point. Then did Kildare HM in 1:50:04 (dropping a gel and stopping to pick it up cost me the sub 1:50!!), and that's my PB now.
    I did 1:21 and change in the 16k race last Sat, so sub 1:50 should be easy, with close to 1:45 within my sweaty grasp...
    I've never stuck with a pacer, not sure if I will this time either, we'll see on the day.
    Are we going to predict our times again??

3 stars (average)
    Tec Diver wrote: »
    Are we going to predict our times again??

Sure, why not?

RayCun 1:37

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

RayCun 1:37
    TheRoadRunner 1.29.55