Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards outing - Macreddin Saturday 27th August

• 05-08-2011 8:54am
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭

You in?

Will you be attending? 24 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 24 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Terry365

Chalk me down to attend Keano

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭d2ww

What teetime slots are available keano?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Still to be confirmed but I reckon from around 12

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Just found out i'm not around on the 27th (kids showjumping & my club has a fundraising classic on that weekend so will have to make an appearance.)

Best of luck. Next time!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

Will there be buggies?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

We received this from David this morning.

Fantastic to hear boards.ie will be (hopefully) taming Macreddin later on this month, we're delighted to have you guys on board.

Food & Accommodation Options:

I can get two courses with tea/coffee for 15pp with a reserved prize-giving area in Acton's Pub & The Orchard Cafe (part of the Macreddin Village Resort) which is on the way back to the carpark from the 18th green. It's all fully organic food, fish and chips, steak sandwich, beef burger, that sort of thing. Massive portions too so you won't starve!

The Brooklodge & Well's Spa (Also in Macreddin Resort) do accomodation but the last time I quoted for a Saturday it was 100pps :O. We're right in high season for weddings so rooms are at a premium, if it wasn't a Saturday I could get a MUCH lower rate, but these things happen I guess. One of our member's actually operates a pub/restaurant/B&B in Aughrim (3km) and he could accomodate up to about 10 people sharing for 40 to include a Full Irish.

Tee-Times:

I have the tee free from 10.50. I'm going to put a 4 slot buffer from 10.50 to 11.20 as the previous group will all be in 4's to assist a reasonable pace of play. I would prefer not to have single guys on buggies if we were to go out in 3's, we're just about covering our costs at 25pps. If there are enough (one third) guys willing to walk there's no problem.

The demand has been overwhelming to play Macreddin at this rate, we sold out our last Open Singles (3 entire days, 7.30-17.00 in 5 days). I'm blocking off from 11.30-14.00 just in case on the 27th. That's up to 48 guys in threes as I expect a big uptake from the greater Dublin crew.

I've done a little Google Timesheet to let guys book themselves in. Full public access and edit, if you have the link. Feel free to chop and change.

https://spreadsheets.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AgQzzCycHBuKdF9YQjlnbm9JZW1MaTRyZ214QlZxcUE&hl=en_US#gid=0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

Wont be able to make this outing but it has to be said a massive congrats to David and Macreddin for all they have offered and are putting on. If every club in Ireland had the foresight to apply themselves like you have..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

I'm going,but if I play like I did yesterday in Killeen I pity Macreddin:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭sternpeak

Cya's there :DD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭scubapro

Looking forward to the 27th. Big thanks to Macreddin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

I'll be there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Beaulieu

Cant make it Im afraid but what superb customer service by Macreddin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

Have arranged to be in Dublin that weekend so will make it on the 27th. Looking forward to it. Looked at the fly-overs of the course .... Stiff test by the looks of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Fair play to ya Keano. Your small idea of setting up a boards golf outing seems to be getting bigger & bigger. It will be a great way for lads to get to know each other and also to experience different golf courses.
    I was disappointed to miss out on Dundrum due to dislocted thumb and would love to be par of the boards group.

i know would like to wish you and the other members the best of luck with all the outings in the future and hopefully by the time i come back from OZ it will still be up & running and ill show yee how this game is really played :D:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Holy Diver

Hopefully can make this - Couldnt make the last one unfortunately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Lad GAGA

Really looking forward to this, couldn't make the last one, fair play to you Keano for starting the whole thing and to Dave for a really great deal, especially for a Saturday.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Myself and sheehanshiners are in , cant wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 sheehanshiners

Yea cant wait. Should be a great day. Might try and sneak a game on the course before the 27th.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Yea cant wait. Should be a great day. Might try and sneak a game on the course before the 27th.

I like your thinking !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

Cant wait to play and defend my title !!, its a great course and a ton of fun to play.

Buggy please for me.

Again we will sponsor a prize of some sort.

J

You'll be hard pushed to bring in 36 points there GG,tough looking course!!
    Just did a flyover there again,some interesting* looking holes there...

*interesting meaning bloody tough:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭david

Great to see this shaping up nicely.

Anyone looking for practice rounds (this is getting competitive!!!) can send me a PM with a rough time/date preference. I'll do the best possible rate depending on how busy the course is.

Send me a PM with your time/date preference.

I've been in discussion with The BrookLodge and have managed to get any hungry boardsies a fully organic main course, AND a pint of homebrew beer for just a tenner on the 27th. Happy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Corkblowin

Well done guys, good choice - I was going to ask could I change my vote when I saw Davids offer - even tho it adds 4 hours to the round trip I think it'll be worth it.

Even tho I may regret it.....I'll walk!! :)

Just looking at the timesheet - Is it OK if all 3 want to walk?

Also am i reading it correctly that it's €15 without a buggy and €25 with???

Ya that's correct.

A steal!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭nocal

Just stuck my name on the timesheet as others have - presumably if we do not get 50 people interested then the sheet will become more compressed time wise? And presumably it is ok to put names on the sheet??? . Put myself down for a buggy but happy enough to walk if it works out that way and there is a rush on buggies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭MiniGolf

david wrote: »

I've been in discussion with The BrookLodge and have managed to get any hungry boardsies a fully organic main course, AND a pint of homebrew beer for just a tenner on the 27th. Happy days.

That is an amazing price for super food!!
    I stayed and played there last week and we treated ourselves to the full organic evening meal... not cheap but worth it for the real food flavours and the service!! Breakfast was fantastic too!!

The golf course was in superb condition and luckily wasn't too busy when we played so we could enjoy it to the full. For those of you walking it..... beware it is a fair old trek. If you have or have access to an electric trolley... use it!! (I am not unfit BTW!!!)

Unfortunately I won't be able to attend the boards outing as I will be in Galway at another sporting event. A pity as it is only 35 minutes from home.

Best of luck lads and enjoy it as I know you will :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

Put myself and sternpeak in for 1pm on the time sheet, just so our name is down,although we'll go out at whatever time suits.

Anyone looking for practice rounds (this is getting competitive!!!) can send me a PM with a rough time/date preference. I'll do the best possible rate depending on how busy the course is.

Send me a PM with your time/date preference.

Great stuff david, Great support from yous guys :) cant wait for this

We might need to reduce the time slots depending on demand. Great turnout of over 40 groups for our Open Team today, feedback on the course was great. Packed to capacity again tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

... Packed to capacity ...

As is Brooklodge David. Was planning to stay there with better half on Saturday night (27th) but no availability. Do you know anywhere else nice in the vicinity?

Myksyk wrote: »
    As is Brooklodge David. Was planning to stay there with better half on Saturday night (27th) but no availability. Do you know anywhere else nice in the vicinity?

As was I...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 MagsF

Count me in, I don't mind either way re a buggy and I'm flexible on a time though an earlier time would suit me better,

Cheers,
    Mags

Hi folks,

It's a shame BrookLodge are booked out, it's an amazing hotel right on site.

Alternatives include:

Phelan's Meath Arms B&B (Proprieter, Gerry Phelan is a member, tell him David sent you ;)) 0402 36460. About 2km away (Aughrim)
    Macreddin Rock B&B 0402 36369. About 0.5km away (Macreddin)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

I Won't be able to make this one I'd say as the President's Prize is on at my club that day. Fair play to David & Macreddin for the deal they put together though. Hope ye get a good day for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭ballyk

Count me in Keano. Fairly flexible on tee times.

Walked the last few times I played Macreddin and was wrecked afterwards so I think I'll go with a buggy this time!

Fair play to David for the offer and the food/beer. Great value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Joeyjoejoe43

Unfortunately I am away that weekend, but I look forward to the next outing. Great work Keano and David

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

The poll seems to be closed, but I'd like to join the group - any time is good for me, but the earlier the better. I'll bring a couple of books as prizes if that helps.

Looking forward to playing that 12th again - maybe from the back tee for a laugh.
    K

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭dwd

put myself down on the timesheet, looking forward to getting out on the course, looks like a great track.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Figo69

The poll seems to be closed, but I'd like to join the group - any time is good for me, but the earlier the better. I'll bring a couple of books as prizes if that helps.

Looking forward to playing that 12th again - maybe from the back tee for a laugh.
    K

Actually i think the course set out to be a lot easier if we played off the back tee, in my opinion.

It depends, I hit my driver straighter than my 4 wood. You rarely need driver off the yellow/whites as it brings a world of trouble into play (bunkers and gorse). Position is much more important than distance.

The 12th is probably the most daunting tee-shot in the country when you're standing on the Pro tees. Serious carry unless you lay up in the first cut of rough before the ravine and play it as a par 5 :p

Two-stroke penalty for anyone who wimps out :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Figo69

It depends, I hit my driver straighter than my 4 wood. You rarely need driver off the yellow/whites as it brings a world of trouble into play (bunkers and gorse). Position is much more important than distance.

The 12th is probably the most daunting tee-shot in the country when you're standing on the Pro tees. Serious carry unless you lay up in the first cut of rough before the ravine and play it as a par 5 :p

Two-stroke penalty for anyone who wimps out :D

Not wimping out this time. Going for glory!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Freemount09

Poll is closed - I didn't vote cause I have a fear of commitment but thats a whole other forum !

I'm up around the 75% - 80% sure I will be going !

I haven't put my name on timesheet yet but not too pushed about time if I do make it up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Is it €25 for the golf?. Does one just put their handle/name down on that google timesheet?. I take it one can bring a pal who might not necessarily be a boards.ie frequenter?.

15 for the golf , 25 with a buggy

20 confirmed on the time sheet now , shaping up nicely !

weres the timesheet ?

edit - found it, didnt look hard enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭0161allin

Love to be able to go guys, got 2 outings next to saturdays, dont think i'll be able to manage the 3rd as much as i'd love to.. Enjoy the day sounds like it will be a cracker, great organising fair play to ya all!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

poll cosed; dam it; im will play this if there is a place still available;

again am flexible on time. if you want to put me out early again ill do the cards if you want;

if you have the last outings cards i will look at the score and adjust the non-gui players h/c's some were nowhere near an 18 and deserve bonus shots imo

golfgraffix also deserver to be cut for winning :D jking

gerire wrote: »
    poll cosed; dam it; im will play this if there is a place still available;

again am flexible on time. if you want to put me out early again ill do the cards if you want;

if you have the last outings cards i will look at the score and adjust the non-gui players h/c's some were nowhere near an 18 and deserve bonus shots imo

golfgraffix also deserver to be cut for winning :D jking

click on David's link on pg 1 and log yourself in!!

I think it's great the poll is closed,he who persists to the 4th? post will play McCreddin!!