Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

the poor old man

• 04-08-2011 5:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭

eamon horan who was attacked in tralee by thugs, and then to have the ordeal of not being admitted to hospital for 6DAYS.
    75years of age, broken jaw, fractured nose,
    he had to hire a taxi to cork university hospital to see a jaw specialist.
    this country is a joke, not only do we treat our elders like crap and then we dont treat him for his injuries

http://www.kerryman.ie/news/brutal-attack-on-pensioner-in-tralee-2838161.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

C'mon man, this is After Hours... You're putting me in a delicate situation here, I'm a prick if I make a funny joke, and if I don't make a joke I won't fit in with the crowd.

C'mon man :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

FunkZ wrote: »
    C'mon man, this is After Hours... You're putting me in a delicate situation here, I'm a prick if I make a funny joke, and if I don't make a joke I won't fit in with the crowd.

man huh? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,691 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Poor Pensioner my arse, there bleedin the feckin country dry!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

Attacked by no good scumbags.

i hope you are taking the piss, cuz if your not, wait til your a pensioner.
    Its absolutely disgusting how this man was treated, thank god for the taxi driver who stopped to help him,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

booboo88 wrote: »
    Its absolutely disgusting how this man was treated, thank god for the taxi driver who stopped to help him,

i hate to say this,but he's right in one way,bertie/cowen/rody molloy/bank managers are "pensioners"!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

eamon horan who was attacked in tralee by thugs, and then to have the ordeal of not being admitted to hospital for 6DAYS.
    this country is a joke, not only do we treat our elders like crap and then we dont treat him for his injuries

It's not even funny the state Tralee is in these days, every time I go home it's worse and worse. 0 jobs and over run with complete and utter scumbags. hey remember <insert name> from school, yeah I do, he's hooked on heroin now. For a small town I don't know how the fcuk it got this bad in such a short time.

i hate to say this,but he's right in one way,bertie/cowen/rody molloy/bank managers are "pensioners"!.

in one way
    maybe, but this is man isnt a banker, politican he's a retired journo ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭ILikeBananas

I was reading about this today. Three 'heroes' approached him and asked him for money outside a pub and then beat the ****e out of him for fifty euro.

If they catch them I'd be happy to see them thrown in the sea with weights ties to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

really?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

Even more sickening the yobs if they are caught for this act will get either-

A-year in prison.
    B-Month in prison.
    C-Suspended sentence.

really?

words fail me,
    speaking figuratively as I dont believe in god :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

My jaw dropped when I heard about this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

You're due a hole kicking, you know that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

There should be mandatory and harsh sentencing for anyone convicted of attacking a pensioner. It's a fcuking low thing to do.. even by scumbag standards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

he won't like that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Who the fuck is Eamon Horan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

The man was 75 years of age, he'll probably be terrified for the rest of his 'golden' years.

I think that any cunt (3 of them :mad:) that is sick enough to attack a defenseless old man who was on his way home from having a few pints deserves to have their head danced on.

Beatings, battery and vigilante justice are not common enough entities in this country, seeing stories like this fairly boils the blood.

I mean the man who was attacked handed them the 50 euro, and begged them to stop beating him, but they just kept at it. Scum of the earth.

If a regular junkie scummer knew that there was a good possibility he would have the absolute shite kicked outta him for his crime it might deter them from picking on societies weakest.

Not a fucking 3 week holiday courtesy of the state.

*and this keyboard warrier returns to his hermitage after his mighty rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

There was no need for the violence. He was one guy against three.

Scumbags are scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

I was just talking about this. During lunch, I listened to the radio where callers were in tears over what seems like the collapse of Home Payments.

Then, when I came home, I switched on the news and saw this poor guy talking about what happened to him. He looks like a strong man - you would think he was in his 50s, rather than 75 - but to hear him talking about how these guys rained punches on him and he was trying to understand whether it was actually happening or if it was just an awful dream - it was so upsetting.

These are only two sad events in the litany of disasters that is current affairs. I'm wondering should I stop following the news. Does anything good happen anymore???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

has anyone been caught or charged for this?

I propose we e-harass them forever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Who the fuck is Eamon Horan?

RTE sports presenter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

FunkZ wrote: »

There's also the simple option of not posting in this thread, that will solve you dilemma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

These low lives would beat up their own grandparents for a few quid and think nothing of it. . .

Any chance of a link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

mackg wrote: »
    It's not even funny the state Tralee is in these days, every time I go home it's worse and worse. 0 jobs and over run with complete and utter scumbags. hey remember <insert name> from school, yeah I do, he's hooked on heroin now. For a small town I don't know how the fcuk it got this bad in such a short time.

I'm with you 100% on this. My mum grew up in Tralee, as did her mother, and her mother's mother. I lived there myself for a year about 13 years' ago.

I used to love hearing her stories about growing up in Tralee. Things weren't perfect. A lot of people had very little money. But, Jesus Christ, if there was one murder a year, it would have been the headline in the local paper for about 11 months!!!

The speed at which things suddenly went downhill in Tralee is absolutely terrifying, and the changes between one generation and another are just wrong. I'm not an alarmist, but something's got to give. Where the hell is this going to end?

My granny lived in her house in Tralee until she was about the same age as the guy who was attacked. No doubt about it, if it had been her who was attacked, and if I got so much as a hint of who did it, they wouldn't be around to see their jail sentence.

How the fuck have things gone so wrong???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Any chance of a link?

here

now move to a country that doesn't block google plz

Absurdum wrote: »
    here

now move to a country that doesn't block google plz

Was meant for OP, if there was even a link I would have quoted the article when i saw it.

like so...
    THUGS viciously attacked a 75-year-old man in Tralee on Wednesday, breaking his jaw in two places and fracturing his nose as they punched and kicked him to the ground in an assault that lasted over two minutes.

The incident has led to massive outrage in Tralee. Gardaí say they are now following a number of lines of inquiry in their hunt for the vicious scumbags responsible for the shocking attack.

Former Kerryman sports journalist Eamon Horan — who suffers from a mild heart condition — was jumped by three thugs as he was walking home from the Munster Bar in Ballymullen late on Wednesday night.

Seconds after he exited the bar, Mr Horan heard a voice from behind ordering him to hand over money. Before he had a chance to respond he was jumped by the three scumbags and subjected to a brutal assault that lasted over two minutes. He was knocked to the ground, punched and kicked and his attackers continued their violent assault even as he pleaded with them to take a €50 note he had.

The scumbags fled as a passing taxi driver pulled up and ran to the aid of the stricken pensioner. Mr Horan suffered a fractured nose, a jawbone broken in two places as well as extensive bruising and some bleeding.

He is being treated in Cork University Hospital at present after he suffered a heavy nose bleed on Monday night — six days after the attack.

"How could anyone do this to a 75-year-old man?" daughter Carla asked. "He was minding his own business on his way home when he had the living daylights beaten out of him. It was pure GBH."

Ms Horan said the attackers didn't even stop when he told them he had €50 in his inside pocket. "They weren't even interested in the money, they just kept punching and kicking him."

Ms Horan was also very critical of the health system. Her father was treated in A and E on Wednesday night, but as no beds were available was kept on a trolley. He then had to be rushed to Cork University Hospital on Thursday morning, but could not get an ambulance under the VHI as he had not been admitted.

Cork University Hospital could not admit him either as no beds were available there. He was treated and returned home by train. Mr Horan was finally admitted to CUH on Tuesday morning.

His attackers are described as wearing dark clothes with white runners. "This was a particularly nasty attack on one of our senior citizens as they were going about their own business. We are taking this very seriously and the investigation is progressing with a number of leads being followed," a spokesperson for gardaí in Tralee told The Kerryman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Wheres the ra when you need them. Scum should be disciplined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,691 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

You're due a hole kicking, you know that?

Me and you the back of Sally's Saturday night, bring your friends tough guy:P

Last man standing gets to keep the funny hat!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Wheres the ra when you need them. Scum should be disciplined.

The Ra only get involved with disciplining scum when the scum are outdealing them, these days.
    Me and you the back of Sally's Saturday night, bring your friends tough guy:P

Last man standing gets to keep the funny hat!!

You'll be coughing up toenails when I'm done kicking your arse >.>

policarp wrote: »
    These low lives would beat up their own grandparents for a few quid and think nothing of it. . .
    as sad as it is, its true, its no longer look after your own
    xoxyx wrote: »
    I'm with you 100% on this. My mum grew up in Tralee, as did her mother, and her mother's mother. I lived there myself for a year about 13 years' ago.

I used to love hearing her stories about growing up in Tralee. Things weren't perfect. A lot of people had very little money. But, Jesus Christ, if there was one murder a year, it would have been the headline in the local paper for about 11 months!!!

The speed at which things suddenly went downhill in Tralee is absolutely terrifying, and the changes between one generation and another are just wrong. I'm not an alarmist, but something's got to give. Where the hell is this going to end?

My granny lived in her house in Tralee until she was about the same age as the guy who was attacked. No doubt about it, if it had been her who was attacked, and if I got so much as a hint of who did it, they wouldn't be around to see their jail sentence.

How the fuck have things gone so wrong???
    how did things go so wrong every where,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I'm just after watching Eamon Horan on the news and I couldn't stop thinking of my own granny and grandad. It is sad the lengths that some thugs will go for €50, it is truly awful stuff. I hope Eamon makes a speedy recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

The Ra only get involved with disciplining scum when the scum are outdealing them, these days.

I don't think vigilantism works, but the above statement is pure nonsense. Republicans in Kerry were actively anti-drugs.

rang a friend at home and he said word around town is they were caught later the description was probably looking for witnesses to their movements. Not definite but that's the story at the minute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

Any chance of a link?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bcbQ1RIStus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

what? I dont see any reference to that here :confused:

Saila wrote: »
    what? I dont see any reference to that here :confused:

it was on rte news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,416 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

makes me ashamed to be from tralee :( this town is such a cesspit these days, full of druggies and scumbags who would kill their own mothers for 10 euro

booboo88 wrote:
    it was on rte news.

ok I watched it just now, but it wasnt quite the drama you made it sound, not many know the difference on here between being admitted to hospital [in patient stay]
    and arriving there Id say , and the way you have said it it makes it sound like there were no ambulances available/wasnt deemed worthy and he had to get a taxi to hospital by himself after the assault! :rolleyes:

and it took six days to get a bed in hospital [which it did]
    but he was seen within hours of the assault in the initial hospital he was taken to and was on a trolly

just clearing up some facts for those who dont have rte player

I imagine the lads involved were not dressed as smartly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

I don't know, I am more and more beleiving that vigilantism is the way to go. Don't get me wrong the Garda Shicks do their best and break their balls to try and get these scum (and all the while the scummers can break their jaws) and yet when they get to court - suspended sentences, community service - and the scummers laugh their way home.

Violence begets violence? Fúck that, time for ordinary people to feel safe so if we cant physically maim people then its about time that non violent methods should be made acceptable to use (e.g. Pepper Spray, Taser). Age old arguement if you have them they have them, but at least the table is level.

Saila wrote: »
    ok I watched it just now, but it wasnt quite the drama you made it sound, not many know the difference on here between being admitted to hospital [in patient stay]
    and arriving there Id say , and the way you have said it it makes it sound like there were no ambulances available/wasnt deemed worthy and he had to get a taxi to hospital by himself after the assault! :rolleyes:

and it took six days to get a bed in hospital [which it did]
    but he was seen within hours of the assault in the initial hospital he was taken to and was on a trolly

just clearing up some facts for those who dont have rte player
    thats exactly what my issue is, it doesnt seem worthy why? he's 75 year old man ffs?
    so we had an elderly man who was viciously attacked on a trolly, but no thats not drama at all, its only a slight scuffle. are you serious?
    even his own daughter said the staff were amazing its the system thats at fault

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Tralee is a awful rough spot always has been and always will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭Damokc

they ran in the direction of Mitchels Crescent............enough said:rolleyes:

Tralee is a awful rough spot always has been and always will be.

It was always a little rough but it has gotten worse at an alarming rate, even 5 years ago it is not a patch on what it is today. Coke has done serious damage to the town. I remember when the festival was brilliant craic now it's just a fcukin mess. In court in tralee a scumbag walked up and boxed a bangard in the nose recently.

Damokc wrote: »
    they ran in the direction of Mitchels Crescent............enough said:rolleyes:

I thought they moved all those pricks out of there and dispersed around north Kerry?

thats exactly what my issue is, it doesnt seem worthy why? he's 75 year old man ffs?
    so we had an elderly man who was viciously attacked on a trolly, but no thats not drama at all, its only a slight scuffle. are you serious?
    even his own daughter said the staff were amazing its the system thats at fault

we are clearly talking at cross purposes, I was just filling in the possible misunderstandings which your post could have created, you are now making me sounds like the bad guy.

lets clear a few things up

1 the assault was terrible, poor man.
    2 a taxi driver took him to hospital, after assault [there was never a mention of an ambulance being called or not arriving]
    3 when he got to hospital he was on a trolley and seen to
    4 he decided to get a taxi to another hospital to see a jaw specialist

you seem way to emotionally involved to talk about this, so Ill leave it there and urge anyone who hasnt seen it to go to the rte player and watch the six one news to see all I have written is the way it is

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Not too fond of that town myself, it's gone only one way and thats down south. AGS have no control in that town and people get away with some ridiculous ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

In many parts of the country, that I've travelled, I've seen "Community Alert Area" " Neighbourhood Watch" Signs, but I don't think people actually pull together under these banners.
    We complain about lack of Garda presense, government indifference, anti-social behaviour etc. but the little bit most of us should do, we don't.