Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you steal glasses from pubs???

• 04-08-2011 11:39am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭fro9etb8j5qsl2

I do. Gotta nice little collection of them and all (including a beautiful ancient carling one that I swiped last year). Have extra large handbags dedicated to the cause. Aaaaaahhhh there's nowt can beat sitting down to watch the 9 o clock news with a can of carlesberg carefully drafted into it's own glass.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

So *you're* why the price of drink goes up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭carefulnow100

I do too, press is full of them! Good collection with about 20 random glasses!:D

Not all my own I might add.

Yeah, stealing things is mad craic altogether

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

I have a nice little collection of lovely glasses I've "collected" when I'm away. Sometimes when you're abroad the glasses are pretty or have nice writing or whatever so I have taken them as presents... for myself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

No But I used to steal the Branded Ashtrays

I used to work in the Pub though

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

I do. Gotta nice little collection of them and all (including a beautiful ancient carling one that I swiped last year). Have extra large handbags dedicated to the cause. Aaaaaahhhh there's nowt can beat sitting down to watch the 9 o clock news with a can of carlesberg carefully drafted into it's own glass.....

Jaysus, people must seem like neanderthals to you. . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Just one big pitcher glass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭uncle-mofo

Yeah at a fiver a pint I feel entitled to a free glass. Especially when I've had a few in me. Almost got in trouble with the guards when the night club ended and I had a pint glass in my back pocket. They thought I had the intention of glassing somebody. I had a nice Guinness limited edition collection going for a while there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭silly

My mother used to always wonder why all the glasses didn't fit in the press anymore....
    One morning my sister woke to find a spoon and a small glass jug in her bag from the local.
    That same glass jug was given to the priest a few yrs later when do the station in our house, to use as part of the mass...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

No I don't, and I have a large enough collection too, by you know, buying them. I have been gifted a few in pubs though, tends not to work in Ireland but have been given a few for nothing abroad when I've approached the staff wondering where I could buy one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,163 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

I have a couple of nice ones. But usually if I comment on the glass the barman will give me a clean one to take home! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Havnt done it in a while but i noticed lately we have been running low so i must pay a visit to my local drinking establishment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Pubs get glasses for free anyway, doubt they'd be bothered if someone stole one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Got some lovely square jack daniels tumblers and some nice jameson ones too :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭fro9etb8j5qsl2

Jaysus, people must seem like neanderthals to you. . .

It was an ancient glass from about 20 years ago when it used to be served on tap. 'twas on a major session in an auld country pub and I think yer one behind the bar just couldn't be arsed washing the dirty glasses so we got the ones from the back shelf. We got drink out of everything from harp glasses to the really old Guinness glasses that night :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭hamsterboy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

Yes I used to, but couldn't be bothered anymore.

And although I don't condone stealing, I don't see the harm in whipping a few glasses here and there; the pub gets them for free (usually) from the brewer/beer conglomerate.

You may be thinking "but the manufacturer has to pay for those glasses" - yes, true. But if you look at it like this - they are getting a subtle dose of 'free' advertising and marketing out of this. As the OP says, they sat down with a Carlsberg glass and drank a nice can of Carlsberg out of it. Carlsberg would be delighted with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

prinz wrote: »
    No I don't, and I have a large enough collection too, by you know, buying them. I have been gifted a few in pubs though, tends not to work in Ireland but have been given a few for nothing abroad when I've approached the staff wondering where I could buy one.

Well aren't you an inspirational upstanding member of the community.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,043 ✭✭✭Wossack

just go to a busy pub in a black polo shirt, and you can walk around making a 4ft tower of pint glasses and noone will bat an eyelid. Well, other then the doormen, and the taxi driver when your making your escape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭uncle-mofo

And although I don't condone stealing, I don't see the harm in whipping a few glasses here and there; the pub gets them for free (usually) from the brewer/beer conglomerate.

You may be thinking "but the manufacturer has to pay for those glasses" - yes, true. But if you look at it like this - they are getting a subtle dose of 'free' advertising and marketing out of this. As the OP says, they sat down with a Carlsberg glass and drank a nice can of Carlsberg out of it. Carlsberg would be delighted with this.

And when you're in a ****hole nightclub where glasses are being smashed left right and centre, one going missing is really not going to bother anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Thankfully my glass theft is consigned to the distant days of spunk and Koka noddle odoured student flats.

Anybody over 21 doing it needs to be forcibly rehabilitated in a gulag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Well aren't you an inspirational upstanding member of the community.

Eh yes, ever have he head eaten off you by some tosser because you didn't serve his drink in the proper glass, when the reason you didn't was because all the glasses for particular drinks had been robbed? I'm not talking about bog standard pint/shot glasses, I'm talking twats who nick speciality glasses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭hypermuse

*Top Tip*

If your ever wanting to rob a pint glass but afraid it'll soil your bag (or whatever you put it in) then just buy a small tub of delicious pringles!!

With some pint glasses, the lid of the pringles can will fit on top and create a perfect seal!! Wont work with all pint glasses but give it a go!

A pint to go please!!

*disclaimer - regardless of how perfect the fits.. dont be an idot and try put half a pint in your gearbag*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭bonerjams03

hamsterboy wrote: »

You frequent Against the Grain or those Galway pubs?

I wouldn't steal a Trouble Brewing glass though, threy're cool, but it's a little fledgling brewery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Will liberate a decent glass from a boozer abroad given half a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

No, here's a top tip.

Try actually asking the owner/manager for the glass. 9/10 times he'll appreciate being asked as opposed to you sticking it in your friend's handbag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭fro9etb8j5qsl2

hypermuse wrote: »
    *Top Tip*

If your ever wanting to rob a pint glass but afraid it'll soil your bag (or whatever you put it in) then just buy a small tub of delicious pringles!!

With some pint glasses, the lid of the pringles can will fit on top and create a perfect seal!! Wont work with all pint glasses but give it a go!

A pint to go please!!

*disclaimer - regardless of how perfect the fits.. dont be an idot and try put half a pint in your gearbag*

Classic!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

Every student house is full of them, the mysterious cupboard contents from previous tenants :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

When I was in college we used to have competitions to see who could get the most out of a pub.
    I make a point of not stealing them from my own local. Don't shít on your own doorstep and all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Magic Beans

No need to steal glasses from pubs, go to SpecSavers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

hamsterboy wrote: »

Lol @ the Bay Brewing glass on the right. I picked one of those up at the weekend.

My favourite one was a Chimay chalice like this:

http://www.beerables.net/ProductImages/chimay/glassware/Chimay%20Glass.jpg

I used to get a box of pringles and pretend I was saying Mass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

The only problem is ,that you start with glasses......

and end up with chairs,barstools,tables.....:o
    But that was manys years ago before I saw the error of ways.

Ps:the tables/chairs ended up in a convent.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭amacca

and end up with chairs,barstools,tables.....:o

I stole/borrowed a barstool from doyles one night.....walked right out the door past the doorman/bouncer in a crowd with it under my coat (one of those long ones)...I returned it undetected later that night after having a whale of a time sitting on it in unusual places....some tourists though it was performance art and gave me some money (either that or they felt intimidated by my advanced drunkeness...good times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

Absolutely. I've lots of pint glasses from pubs. They expect you to do it, or at least they should.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

pif glasses... knicking the loungegirls tray is where its at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

prinz wrote: »
    Eh yes, ever have he head eaten off you by some tosser because you didn't serve his drink in the proper glass, when the reason you didn't was because all the glasses for particular drinks had been robbed? I'm not talking about bog standard pint/shot glasses, I'm talking twats who nick speciality glasses.

Im one of those twats and I work in a bar but I needed that Erdinger glass and it's the only time I ever lifted one :o. I agree in general if you ask for a guinness or other common drink glasses you'll often be given one because there's boxes full of them in a store and the reps always want their beer served in a branded glass and will get you more if you are running low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭amacca

pif glasses... knicking the loungegirls tray is where its at.

you're escalating......next step will be abducting the lounge girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

pif glasses... knickshaging the loungegirls tray is where its at.

FYP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭scotty_irish

stole a glass once in france, f*cker sent his rottweiler down the street after me. had teeth marks on my ass for a few days after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

baz2009 wrote: »
    Pubs get glasses for free anyway, doubt they'd be bothered if someone stole one.
    Only branded glasses like Carlsberg, Budweiser and Heineken are free. Even then in limited quantities. Unbranded glasses and Guinness glasses are not free.
    For "speciality" glasses like Erdinger, you might get a couple of boxes (12 glasses) but then you're on your own.
    What I really hate are the people who steal cocktails glasses like Hurricanes etc. They cost a small fortune to replace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Tehachapi

Does anyone else not find it disgusting having glasses in your house that probably 100 or so people have had their mouths on. You don't know if people with hepatitis, cold sores, etc were drinking out of them. I only buy bottles in the pub anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭carefulnow100

Tehachapi wrote: »
    Does anyone else not find it disgusting having glasses in your house that probably 100 or so people have had their mouths on. You don't know if people with hepatitis, cold sores, etc were drinking out of them. I only buy bottles in the pub anyway.

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

Dishwasher,but some glasses shatter after a while from washing i notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Glasses are given to reps and marketing companies every 2-3 months with new marketing campaigns. Theses are entirely free for the pubs and in many cases the glasses are refused by the proprieter due to lack of space for them.

They have too many..... Rob away people rob away, they are a marketing gift so to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

No I do not steal glasses from the pub ,but then again ,I am not a pikey scumbag so you would not expect me too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Do Shot Glasses count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

Assuming the place has a decent glasswasher, I wouldn't worry about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Tehachapi

Adyx wrote: »
    Assuming the place has a decent glasswasher, I wouldn't worry about it.

Fair enough but I've seen enough friends getting a pint glass in the pub with lipstick still on it not to trust their dishwashers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

Did you ever feel the heat coming from one of those dishwashers in a pub, they'd scald the hand off ya. I used to have to get dishtowels just to take the glasses out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

Alchol is a good sterilisation agent so pints should be safe
    I would be more worried about the Rats peeing on the bottle down in the storage basement or Depot, if I was the type of person who worried about these things